Restaurant reviews

DINING: Eclectic menu highlights flower-powered eatery

October 10, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It may be situated smack-dab in the middle of a strip mall, but Tulip Noir is not just another cookie-cutter eatery serving up the same old food
More

DINING: 'Bucket' pales next to others at busy intersection

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This month, we’ll hit a quartet of recent restaurant arrivals near the already competitive culinary intersection of 86th Street and Ditch Road. First up: Rusty Bucket Corner Tavern.
More

DINING: In Whitestown, a culinary wonder

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Fourth in IBJ's month-long series of reviews of reborn cafes. This week: L.A. Cafe.
More

DINING: New IMA eatery keeps things new

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The menu changes weekly at the Indianapolis Museum of Art's new eatery, Nourish.
More

DINING: Soup is center stage at revamped downtown eatery

September 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Cafe Zuppa fills in for the departed Gabriel's Cafeteria, offering an ample—and ambitious—menu.
More

DINING: Canal eatery recreated

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It’s called Creation Cafe (337 W. 11th St., 955-2389), but a better name for the restaurant at the top of the downtown canal might be Re-creation Café.
More

DINING: A worthwhile stop on the road to IU

August 29, 2009
Lou Harry
Even the most hard-core local-restaurant advocates make exceptions when they hit the road. But on a recent drive, I found an alternative to fast-food pit stops.
More

DINING: Tomato fare at the fair

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
How do the five finalists in the Indiana State Fair signature food competition hold up for our taste-testers?
More

DINING: Iaria's name may provide jokes, but Italian classics satisfy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
Iaria’s Italian Restaurant has been around since 1933, but that’s no reason to feel guilty about making fun of its name. Go on, chuckle about how it’s only a slightly better name than “Isintary.” You are forgiven.
More

DINING: I Love Sushi feeds raw fish ardor

August 3, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When we chose our review theme for August—The “I”s Have It—I jumped at the chance to try I Love Sushi.
More

DINING: The Eiteljorg cafe where soup is always on

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
If all outdoor dining were as comfortable and stress-free as Sky City Cafe's, maybe I'd do it more often.
More

DINING: We'll take sushi over cigars, now and Zen

July 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
This week, our exploration of the city’s cultural district dining took us to Mass Ave, where the culinary cultural offerings just might outnumber the artsy fartsy stuff. Our destination: Bu Da Lounge (429 Massachusetts Ave., 602-3643), which bills itself as an Asian-inspired cigar bar but is generating buzz for its sushi selection.
More

DINING: (Piz)'Za made for the middle of the night

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
If you’re in Broad Ripple and hungry for pizza, you’ve got lots of options. But what do you do if it’s the middle of the night on a Thursday and you and your entourage have the munchies? Well, for that very specific demographic group of pizza eaters, there’s now ’Za, which is open until 4 a.m. Wednesday to Saturday.
More

DINING: Backward-named eatery, forward-thinking fusion

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
Search the Web for Naisa and you may come up with the North American International Auto Show or the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association. Neither has anything to do with the new Naisa Pan-Asian Cafe (1025 Virginia Ave., 602-3708), where the name comes from simply reversing the letters in the word Asian.
More

DINING: Upscale eatery makes its mark on Shelbyville casino

June 29, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
One of just three Maker’s Mark restaurants in the country—the others are in Louisville, Ky., and Kansas City, Mo.—the upscale eatery would have been a good fit in downtown Indianapolis or in one of the suburban dining-and-shopping meccas.
More

DINING: Game on at food-and-play spot

June 22, 2009
Lou Harry
When you play Skee-ball and aim for the 100-point hole, you miss most of the time. However, if you aim for the 30, you have a much better chance of scoring. You might not get a high score, but you'll win enough tickets to want to play again. How does that translate into my dining experience at the new Dave & Buster's?
More

DINING: No waffling, Maxine's delivers

June 15, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It felt weird to pull into a gas station parking lot in search of lunch. But we forgot we were in a former auto repair shop as soon as we walked into Maxine's Chicken & Waffles, attached to the Citgo station at Ohio and East streets.
More

DINING: Binkley's Kitchen & Bar reclaims former drug store site

June 8, 2009
Lou Harry
Binkley's Drug Store occupied the corner of Kessler and College from 1928 to the early 1970s. Its namesake now occupying the same spot, Binkley's Kitchen & Bar, seems equally built to last—a friendly neighborhood joint that glances back without wallowing in nostalgia and stays progressive without being trendy.
More

DINING: Quick-serve Roscoe's Tacos keeps quality intact

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
I'll make the case that Roscoe's Tacos (642 S. Madison Ave., Greenwood) deserves a spot among those who rotate among the area's many Mexican restaurants. That's because this eatery's operators know what they want to do and do it well.
More

DINING: Cobblestone Grill offers tasty lunch until 5

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry

One of the pleasures—and there are numerous ones—of Zionsville’s Cobblestone Grill (160 S. Main St., Zionsville, 873-4745) is that its lunch menu is offered beyond the traditional midday-meal hours.

More

DINING: East-side retro diner serves up the classics

May 11, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
With a fading classic car painted on the side of the building, Rock Cola 50's Cafe looks a lot older than its 16 years. But that's the idea.
More

DINING: Granite City is a chain champion

May 2, 2009
Lou Harry
People will always make the case that Indianapolis doesn't need any more chain or franchised restaurants. I understand the big-picture argument. I understand the desire for a greater regional culinary identity and the wish for a more adventurous restaurant clientele. To be honest, though, a good meal can temporarily dismantle my regional pride.
More

DINING: At this Fishers find, bacon dominates the menu

April 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Bacon—it's not just for breakfast anymore. At the Old Town Ale House in Fishers, in fact, it's practically the main course. What's not to love about that?
More

DINING: Saffron's food, customer service is exemplary

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
Saffron Cafe's staff is so friendly and courteous and its food so delicious that I am urging everyone to eat at this downtown restaurant.
More

DINING: Stanley's New York Deli serves 86th and Ditch neighborhood

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry

While newcomer Stanley's doesn't have the scale or history of Shapiro's, it's making a valiant effort to bring real deli back to the neighborhoods near 86th Street and Ditch Road.

More
Page  << 11 12 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT