IBJNews

Holiday Wish List

IBJ Staff
November 30, 2013
Back to TopCommentsE-mailPrintBookmark and Share

The following is a list of Indianapolis-area not-for-profit organizations and the things each needs most. This is an opportunity for businesses and individuals to make tax-deductible gifts in the spirit of the season. Anyone who wishes to make a contribution should contact the organization directly.

This list is being published weekly through Dec. 23.

Requests should be limited to five items or services (not cash) and should include a contact name, telephone number and email address. Submit requests by email to bhoffman@ibj.com, fax to 263-5406, or mail to Holiday Wish List, Indianapolis Business Journal, 41 E. Washington St., 46204.

Albert & Sara Reuben Senior and Community Resource Center, Lori Moss, 259-6824, lmoss@jfgi.org. File folders, labels (5161), manila envelopes, cases of white copy paper, oil change certificates and gas cards for vehicles used to transport older adults to medical appointments.

Building Tomorrow Inc., Katie Zarich, 632-3545, ext. 303, Katie@buildingtomorrow.org. Frequent flier miles, GSM phones with good cameras, digital single-lens reflex camera with video capabilities.

Camptown, Don Schafer, 471-8277, don.schaefer@camptown.net. Digital cameras, 4’x8’ white board, waterproof walkie-talkies, graphic design services, Seal-a-Meal and sealer bags.

Cancer Support Community Central Indiana, Brandi Truesdale, 257-1505, brandi@cancersupportindy.org. Projector screen, projector clicker, Google Chromecast, laptop computer, catering cart.

Chaucie’s Place, Toby Stark, 759-8008, toby@chauciesplace.org. Ten Rubbermaid storage containers, 66 quart or larger; vacuum cleaner for carpet and hardwood; personal hand truck/luggage card; Canon ink tanks (Pixma MG6320-251 BK; 251C; 251M; 251Y; 251GY; 250xl PGBK); HP ink cartridges (HP 564XL – black, cyan, magenta, yellow).

Children’s Bureau Inc., Sarah Bradbury, 375-5290, sbradbury@childrensbureau.org. Personal care/hygiene items, toys, clothing (infant-teen sizes), Wal-Mart or grocery store gift cards, school and art supplies.

Dove Harbor, Deanna Zimmer, (765) 642-1853, dzimmer@doveharbor.org. Meijer, Wal-Mart, Kroger, Marsh or gas gift cards; digital camera; DVD players; CD players.

Down Syndrome Indiana, Lisa Wells, 925-7617, lisa@dsindiana.org. Copy paper, stamps, gift certificate for Quill.com office products website, blue pens, hand sanitizer.

Dress for Success Indianapolis, Brandy Wright, 940-3737, brandy@indydfs.org. Closed-toe, interview-appropriate, women’s shoes/boots; women’s suits, blouses and career-wear, especially plus-sizes; portfolios for carrying resumes; interview-appropriate earrings/necklaces; gas cards and bus passes.

Fairbanks, Stacy Traylor, 572-9384, straylor@fairbankscd.org. Bath towels, pillows, blankets, twin bed sheets, kitchen supplies.

Forest Manor Multi-Service Center, Regina Marsh, 545-1204, ext. 180, rmarsh@fmmsc.org. Youth and seniors-friendly tables and chairs, non-perishable food items, G-rated Wii and Xbox games, in-kind staff development, carpet replacement.

Girls Inc. of Greater Indianapolis, Lee Ann Jourdan, 522-2603, ljourdan@girlsincindy.org. Wal-Mart, Target or Sam’s Club gift cards, Hula Hoops, playground balls, playing cards, board games.

Girls on the Run of Hamilton County, Kelley Stokesbary, (859) 396-5612, Kelley@gotrhamiltoncountry.org. Printer and white copier paper; 50 packages of multi-colored construction paper; 20 plastic storage totes, preferably with lids, in sizes ranging from 11 gallon to 35 gallon; 50 boxes of 8-count markers in bright or neon colors; pop-up banner.

Grace Church Care Center, Keith Carlson, 848-2722, keithc@gracechurchin.org. Vehicles that can be repaired and used by families who need transportation to work.

Harbor Light Center, Beckie Stearns, 224-0515, Beckie_Stearns@usc.salvationarmy.org. Nicotine patches or nicotine lozenges, suckers to help with cigarette cravings.

Hendricks County Senior Services, Marina Keers, 745-4303, marina@hendricksseniors.org. Decaf coffee, lemonade mix, paper towels, Ice Melt, copy paper.

Hendricks Regional Health Foundation, Sue Bogan, 745-7376, sebogan@hendricks.org. Video production services, printing/mailing services, 30 cases of bottled water, 220 sleeves of golf balls, gift cards.

Heritage Place, Ruth Ann Schroeder, 283-6662, heritageplaceindy@gmail.com. Dry erase markers and cleaner, 2’ x 3’ dry erase board, copy paper (assorted colors), white adhesive name badges, card stock paper (assorted colors).

Hope Academy, Stacy Traylor, 572-9384, straylor@fairbankscd.org. Flash drives, composition notebooks, spiral notebooks, scientific calculators, Alcoholics Anonymous and Narcotics Anonymous books.

Horizon House, Mary Stickelmaier, 396-6342, marys@horizonhouse.cc. Winter hats, gloves and scarves; deodorant; disposable razors; men’s and women’s long underwear, size M to XXL; men’s and women’s coats, size L to XXL.

Horizons at St. Richard’s Episcopal School, Emily Schroeder, 926-0425, eschroeder@strichardsschool.org. Artist and/or scientist to teach enrichment activities (2-5 hrs/wk for five weeks in summer),120 swimming goggles, design and printing services for 150 t-shirts, $5-10 gift cards, MacBook Pro.

HVAF of Indiana Inc., Debra Des Vignes, 951-0688, DDesVignes@HVAF.org. Men’s long johns, all sizes; men’s coats, all sizes; men’s winter gloves, all sizes; canned goods, twin sheets.

Ian Smith Foundation, Ian Smith, 319-9513, iansmithfoundation@gmail.com. Twelve-passenger van, volunteers to help with fundraising, school supplies, access to a facility to host a summer camp, videographer for programs and events.

Indiana Blind Children’s Foundation, Theresa Brun, 554-2742, TBrun@isbvik12.org. Printer/scanner in good working condition, volunteer recognition items (for example, gift cards), office supplies, printing services, volunteer with financial services expertise.

IndyFringe Festival, Pauline Moffat, 522-8099, Pauline@indyfringe.org. Five tablet computers to be used for signing up volunteers, collecting database information and box office accounting.

Indy Reads, Alyssa Newerth, 275-4048, anewerth@indysreads.org. Digital video projector, Keurig coffee pods, graphic design assistance, iPad mini, coat tree.

Institute for Affordable Transportation, Will Austin, 213-1088, will.austin@driveBUV.org. Retractable banner for exhibit displays, gas station gift cards, Africa or mobility-themed artwork for new offices, thank you gifts for volunteers (value around $10), drill press for Tanzania partner.

Jameson Camp, Yvonne Matlock, 241-2661, ext. 12, yvonne@jamesoncamp.org. Full-size work truck in good mechanical condition, snow blower(s), blender(s), projector(s), laptop(s) with Windows 7.0 OS.

JCC Indianapolis, Martha Karatz, 251-9467, ext. 2209, mkaratz@jccindy.org. Web designer to create an entirely new website; paper cutter with 11x17 capability; large bookshelves; adult table(s) and chairs; equipment for early childhood physical education program including gymnastic mats, cones, balls and youth-size trampoline.

Keep Indianapolis Beautiful Inc., Beth Kloote, 264-7555, ext. 107, bkloote@kibi.org. Wheelbarrows, gift cards for volunteer recognition, hand pruners, five-gallon buckets, 75-lb ice machine.

Kids Against Hunger of Central Indiana, Angie Mollenkopf, 843-9353, angie@kidsagainsthunger.net. iPads for registration at events, cargo van, sound system, cabinetry, new website design and implementation.

Little Red Door Cancer Agency, Zina Kumok, 550-2226, zkumok@littlereddoor.org. Nutritional supplements (preferably Boost or Ensure); any color or length wigs, in new or good condition; hats/scarves/turbans; incontinence supplies (adult diapers in new or unopened packages); ostomy supplies (wafers and pouches).

Mary Rigg Neighborhood Center, Jess Laumann, 639-6106, ext. 205, jlaumann@maryrigg.org. Utility van for food pantry pick-ups; up to 20,000 square feet of carpet tiles; six-foot white, plastic tables; four foldable, pop-up canopy tents; commercial-quality freezer or refrigerator.

My Sister’s Place, Carol Wellman, 509-1219, urbanrecycle@mail.com. Vacuum cleaner, clothing baler, assistance with marketing brochure and/or PSA’s, sponsorship for printer ink for one year, sponsorship for payment of internet for one year.

National Kidney Foundation of Indiana, Nicki Howard, 722-5640, nhoward@kidneyindiana.org. Two portable cholesterol testing machines and 200 testing strips.

National Youth Advocate Program, Ashleigh Markoff, 376-9831, amarkoff@nyap.org. Touch screen monitor(s); laptop computers; Cisco wireless conference station; cribs/toddler beds; Wal-Mart, Target or Visa gift cards.

New Life Development Ministries, Eric Calvert, 890-1228, nldmenterprises@aol.com. Computers (laptop or desktop), overhead projector with laptop connection, broadcast quality Sony video camera, flat-screen TV with DVD player, pickup trucks.

Noble of Indiana, Rita Davis, 375-4256, Rita.Davis@nobleofindiana.org. Adjustable tables, handicap-adaptable gardening equipment, iPads, rocking chairs or gliders, six-foot white plastic tables with folding legs

Peace Learning Center, Stacy Robinson, 327-7144, srobinson@peacelearningcenter.org. Gift cards to help with food and holiday gifts for children, handyman to clean gutters, art supplies, deep sink with counter, electrician to help install lighting and displays.

People for Urban Progress, Michael Bricker, (512) 289-9244, michael@peopleup.org. Industrial sewing machine with an arm, hi-res projector, industrial washing machine, color laser printer, billboard space.

Pink Ribbon Connection, Dori Sparks-Unsworth, 255-7465, dsparksunsworth@gmail.com. Electrical wiring for office stove installation, 1,000 pink ink pens with our logo for marketing, carpet installation, 100 8x12 cardboard photograph envelopes, three reams of 20 lb. letter-size pink copy paper.

Rock Steady Boxing, Joyce Johnson, 205-9198, jjohnson@rocksteadyboxing.org. Hand weights (less than 15 lbs), Frisbees, boomerangs, basketballs, rowing exercise machine.

The Salvation Army Ruth Lilly Women and Children’s Center, Pamela Fleck, 224-1066, Pam_Fleck@usc.salvationarmy.org. Rocking chair for nursery, diapers, twin blankets, twin sheets, pillows.

Second Helpings Inc., Betsy Whitmore, 632-2664, ext. 12, betsy@secondhelpings.org. IndyGo bus passes, Kroger gift cards, postage stamps, industrial vacuum cleaner, 20” or larger flat-screen TV.

The Social of Greenwood, Liz McKinley, 882-4810, liz@thesocialofgreenwood.org. Copy paper, new or used passenger van, conference table with chairs, 12 matching folding tables, commercial grade serving utensils.

Spay-Neuter Services of Indiana Inc., Cheri Storms, 767-7771, info@GetThemFixed.org. Postage stamps, 20-lb bright white letter-size copy paper in 500-sheet reams, 4 1/8 x 9 ½-inch left window security tinted white envelopes, Brother TN420 black toner cartridge, Epson DURABrite T126120 Ultra 126 high-capacity black inkjet cartridge.

St. Mary’s Child Center, Shannon Marschak, 361-4882, smarschak@stmaryschildcenter.org. Wal-Mart gift cards, copy paper, paint, boys and girls underwear size 4-6, unisex sweatpants size 4-6.

Teachers Treasures, Barb Sweeney, 264-1758, barb@teacherstreasures.org. Awning to cover the donation drop-off area, forklift walk-behind, 12-phone phone system, paper/poster board in any size or color, new or gently used office supplies.

Traders Point Christian Academy, Fred Means, 769-2450, ext. 238, fmeans@tpcs.org. School bus in good condition; non-CDL box truck; South Bend commercial double convection oven; 10-foot conference table with chairs; 50-inch, 16-channel XLR snake and stage lights.

Trinity Free Clinic, Maggie Charnoski, 819-0773, director@trinityfreeclinic.org. Black ink pens, adult-size toothbrushes, toothpaste, copier paper, first-class postage stamps.

The Villages, Katee Franson, 775-6500, KFranson@villages.org. New toys, books, and games for children in foster care; gift cards for Wal-Mart, Meijer and local grocery stores; video production services; coats, hats, and gloves/mittens in all sizes and colors.

Volunteers of America of Indiana Inc., Mary Leffler, 686-9871, mleffler@voain.org. IndyGo bus passes; small color printer; treadmill; winter hats, gloves and scarves (men’s and women’s) and umbrellas; personal hygiene items.

WaterStep Indy, CoraLyn Turentine, 354-6491, CoraLyn.Turentine@waterstep.org. Multi-function printer, Magic jack equipment, new donor management software, new promotional video, spot graphic for box truck.

Wings for West Africa, Kathleen Lattimer, 407-8289, wafwings@yahoo.com. Working flat-panel computer monitors, laptop computers with current adapters, duo core computers, computer mice, extra sturdy corrugated cardboard 40”x46” or larger.•

ADVERTISEMENT

Post a comment to this story

COMMENTS POLICY
We reserve the right to remove any post that we feel is obscene, profane, vulgar, racist, sexually explicit, abusive, or hateful.
 
You are legally responsible for what you post and your anonymity is not guaranteed.
 
Posts that insult, defame, threaten, harass or abuse other readers or people mentioned in IBJ editorial content are also subject to removal. Please respect the privacy of individuals and refrain from posting personal information.
 
No solicitations, spamming or advertisements are allowed. Readers may post links to other informational websites that are relevant to the topic at hand, but please do not link to objectionable material.
 
We may remove messages that are unrelated to the topic, encourage illegal activity, use all capital letters or are unreadable.
 

Messages that are flagged by readers as objectionable will be reviewed and may or may not be removed. Please do not flag a post simply because you disagree with it.

Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT