2012 Year in Review

Top 2012 news and newsmakers

December 29, 2012
Reflect on the biggest business news of 2012 with IBJ's complete year-in-review coverage, including a photo gallery, video highlights and A&E recap.
More

Indiana adopts right to work

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Indiana in February became the first state in a decade to pass such a law, and it was all the more significant because of the state’s heavy concentration of manufacturing jobs and sizable union presence.
More

WellPoint investors force Braly ouster

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Braly’s five-year tenure leading the Indianapolis-based health insurer was hurt by the recession but also by repeated missteps.
More

In election shocker, voters bounce schools chief Bennett

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
After becoming a celebrity in national education reform for spearheading sweeping changes in Indiana’s schools, Tony Bennett was bounced out of office by strong opposition from teachers, parents and their friends.
More

City projects move ahead, following clash over TIF

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard charged forward on government-supported downtown development efforts after successfully shepherding an expansion of a TIF district over Democratic opposition.
More

Digital marketer ExactTarget splashed onto NYSE

December 28, 2012
After an aborted attempt to go public in 2007, marketing software giant ExactTarget rang the bell on the New York Stock Exchange last March in an IPO that raised $162 million.
More

Daniels wins presidency ... at Purdue

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
About a year after deciding not to campaign for president of the United States, Gov. Mitch Daniels agreed to become the next president of Purdue University.
More

Indy airport sends CEO Clark packing

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard apparently was unhappy with the pace of economic development at the airport under Clark. The CEO's extensive overseas travels also generated controversy.
More

Bernard bounced as IndyCar Series CEO

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
The ouster of Randy Bernard as IndyCar CEO led to new leadership for Hulman & Co., parent of the series and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
More

ISO reaches new contract, launches fundraising spree

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Negotiations over musicians’ contracts hit a crescendo in September with a month-long lockout that ended when performers agreed to a shorter schedule to save money at the cash-strapped Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra.
More

Developers unleash blitz of apartment projects

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Construction began or was to begin soon on dozens of projects with thousands of units, most quite upscale and aimed at one of two growing segments of the population who increasingly see no stigma in renting: aging boomers and young families.
More

Judge lays into Durham, sentences him to 50 years

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Tim Durham, the Indianapolis businessman who used to dream of becoming the world’s richest man, ended 2012 broke and facing a 50-year prison sentence for orchestrating a $250 million Ponzi scheme.
More

City successfully stages Super Bowl, shoots for another

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
More than 1.1 million people poured into downtown Indianapolis for Super Bowl festivities in the 10 days leading up to the big game, held Feb. 5 at Lucas Oil Stadium.
More

Hoosier voters tap Pence to continue Daniels' legacy

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Pence, who served in the U.S. House of Representatives since 2001, left his strident rhetoric on abortion and other social causes in Washington, D.C., as he toured Indiana in a red pickup truck and talked about his policy “Roadmap.”
More

Other news: From Allison's IPO to Lugar's defeat

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Politics and real estate helped round out 2012's news of note.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: School librarian Ritz won with grass-roots campaign

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Democrat Glenda Ritz pulled off a David-versus-Goliath victory to unseat Republican Tony Bennett as Indiana’s superintendent of public instruction.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Crime stance returns Hogsett to political spotlight

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
U.S. Attorney Joseph Hogsett’s openly tough-on-crime approach has some political insiders speculating whether he’s seeking a higher office.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Council Dem Mahern plays role of antagonist

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
City-County Council Vice President Brian Mahern emerged as the chief foe of Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard’s redevelopment agenda.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: CEO keeps Simon stock surging

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
If there were an MVP for local CEOs, David Simon would again find himself at or near the top of the list in 2012.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Miles adds to diverse business, sports career

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Veteran executive Mark Miles now has one of the most difficult jobs in sports—putting open-wheel racing on sound financial footing.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I am a Lyft driver who is a licensed CDL professional driver. ALL Lyft drivers take pride in providing quality service to the Indianapolis and surrounding areas, and we take the safety of our passengers and the public seriously.(passengers are required to put seat belts on when they get in our cars) We do go through background checks, driving records are checked as are the personal cars we drive, (these are OUR private cars we use) Unlike taxi cabs and their drivers Lyft (and yes Uber) provide passengers with a clean car inside and out, a friendly and courteous driver, and who is dressed appropriately and is groomed appropriately. I go so far as to offer mints, candy and/or small bottle of water to the my customers. It's a mutual respect between driver and passenger. With Best Regards

  2. to be the big fish in the little pond of IRL midwest racin' when yer up against Racin' Gardner

  3. In the first sentance "As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss are build quality & price." need a way to edit

  4. As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss is build quality & price. First none of these places is worth $1100 for a one bedroom. Downtown Carmel or Keystone at the Crossing in Indy. It doesn't matter. All require you to get in your car to get just about anywhere you need to go. I'm in one of the Carmel apartments now where after just 2.5 short years one of the kitchen cabinet doors is crooked and lawn and property maintenance seems to be lacking my old Indianapolis apartment which cost $300 less. This is one of the new star apartments. As they keep building throughout the area "deals" will start popping up creating shoppers. If your property is falling apart after year 3 what will it look like after year 5 or 10??? Why would one stay here if they could move to a new Broad Ripple in 2 to 3 years or another part of the Far Northside?? The complexes aren't going to let the "poor" move in without local permission so that's not that problem, but it the occupancy rate drops suddenly because the "Young" people moved back to Indy then look out.

  5. Why are you so concerned about Ace hardware? I don't understand why anyone goes there! Every time ive gone in the past, they don't have what I need and I end up going to the big box stores. I understand the service aspect and that they try to be helpful but if they are going to survive I think they might need to carry more specialty parts.

ADVERTISEMENT