2012 Year in Review

Top 2012 news and newsmakers

December 29, 2012
Reflect on the biggest business news of 2012 with IBJ's complete year-in-review coverage, including a photo gallery, video highlights and A&E recap.
More

Indiana adopts right to work

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Indiana in February became the first state in a decade to pass such a law, and it was all the more significant because of the state’s heavy concentration of manufacturing jobs and sizable union presence.
More

WellPoint investors force Braly ouster

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Braly’s five-year tenure leading the Indianapolis-based health insurer was hurt by the recession but also by repeated missteps.
More

In election shocker, voters bounce schools chief Bennett

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
After becoming a celebrity in national education reform for spearheading sweeping changes in Indiana’s schools, Tony Bennett was bounced out of office by strong opposition from teachers, parents and their friends.
More

City projects move ahead, following clash over TIF

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard charged forward on government-supported downtown development efforts after successfully shepherding an expansion of a TIF district over Democratic opposition.
More

Digital marketer ExactTarget splashed onto NYSE

December 28, 2012
After an aborted attempt to go public in 2007, marketing software giant ExactTarget rang the bell on the New York Stock Exchange last March in an IPO that raised $162 million.
More

Daniels wins presidency ... at Purdue

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
About a year after deciding not to campaign for president of the United States, Gov. Mitch Daniels agreed to become the next president of Purdue University.
More

Indy airport sends CEO Clark packing

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard apparently was unhappy with the pace of economic development at the airport under Clark. The CEO's extensive overseas travels also generated controversy.
More

Bernard bounced as IndyCar Series CEO

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
The ouster of Randy Bernard as IndyCar CEO led to new leadership for Hulman & Co., parent of the series and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
More

ISO reaches new contract, launches fundraising spree

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Negotiations over musicians’ contracts hit a crescendo in September with a month-long lockout that ended when performers agreed to a shorter schedule to save money at the cash-strapped Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra.
More

Developers unleash blitz of apartment projects

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Construction began or was to begin soon on dozens of projects with thousands of units, most quite upscale and aimed at one of two growing segments of the population who increasingly see no stigma in renting: aging boomers and young families.
More

Judge lays into Durham, sentences him to 50 years

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Tim Durham, the Indianapolis businessman who used to dream of becoming the world’s richest man, ended 2012 broke and facing a 50-year prison sentence for orchestrating a $250 million Ponzi scheme.
More

City successfully stages Super Bowl, shoots for another

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
More than 1.1 million people poured into downtown Indianapolis for Super Bowl festivities in the 10 days leading up to the big game, held Feb. 5 at Lucas Oil Stadium.
More

Hoosier voters tap Pence to continue Daniels' legacy

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Pence, who served in the U.S. House of Representatives since 2001, left his strident rhetoric on abortion and other social causes in Washington, D.C., as he toured Indiana in a red pickup truck and talked about his policy “Roadmap.”
More

Other news: From Allison's IPO to Lugar's defeat

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Politics and real estate helped round out 2012's news of note.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: School librarian Ritz won with grass-roots campaign

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Democrat Glenda Ritz pulled off a David-versus-Goliath victory to unseat Republican Tony Bennett as Indiana’s superintendent of public instruction.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Crime stance returns Hogsett to political spotlight

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
U.S. Attorney Joseph Hogsett’s openly tough-on-crime approach has some political insiders speculating whether he’s seeking a higher office.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Council Dem Mahern plays role of antagonist

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
City-County Council Vice President Brian Mahern emerged as the chief foe of Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard’s redevelopment agenda.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: CEO keeps Simon stock surging

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
If there were an MVP for local CEOs, David Simon would again find himself at or near the top of the list in 2012.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Miles adds to diverse business, sports career

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Veteran executive Mark Miles now has one of the most difficult jobs in sports—putting open-wheel racing on sound financial footing.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Hello Dear Are you tired of Seeking Loans and Mortgages,have you Been Turned down constantly By your banks and Other Financial Institutions or Micro Finance scheme. This is let you know with 100% guarantee that we Offer loans ranging from $1,000 Minimum to $1,000,000.00 Maximum at 3% interest rate per Month. We give out LOANS for developing business. a competitive edge/business expansion. email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com We offer the following kinds of loans and many more; * Personal Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Business Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Consolidation Loan * Combination Loan * Home Improvement * Xmas Loans for contact to seek for loan email this email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com Thanks

  2. My name is Mr Henry Josh and i live in the USA California and life is worth living right now for me and my family and all this is because of one man sent by GOD to help me and my family, i once had a life filled with sorrow because my first SON needed a kidney transplant and all our savings were going towards his medications and this normally leaves us with no money to pay our bills or even put enough food on our table and our rent was due and no funds to pay these bills and life felt so unfair to me and every night my wife will cry herself to sleep every night until one day, i was browsing through yahoo answers and i saw a striking advert of a man that gives out personal loans and that the offer is opened to all and i have heard so many things about internet scams but at this point of my life, i was very desperate and ready to take any risk and at the end of the day, i applied for this loan and from one step to another, i got my loan within 12 hours through bank transfer and you know, it was all like a dream and i called Mr Daniel Jones A Man who is the GOD sent lender i found and said, i have received my loan and he smiled stating that to GOD be the glory and i was so shocked as i have never ever seen anyone with such a GOD fearing and kind heart and today, i am the happiest man on earth because by GOD’S grace, my SON kidney transplant was successful and today he is healthy, i and my family are living very comfortable and happy and if you are in my former situation or in serious and legitimate need of a loan, you can reach this GOD sent lender via fidelityloanfirm@outlook.com

  3. Greetings to everyone reading this comment!!! I am Greg William by name. I am out here to recommend the effort of Mark Oscar,I was in need of a consolidation loan amount of 50,000 and as soon as I got in contact with Mark Oscar Loan Firm on Wednesday last week and on Friday last week as well I receive an alert from my bank(Royal Bank of Scotland Group) that the fund was transferred,I want everybody on this site to contact Mark Oscar now via email on how to get a loan because I got my loan from them and I am very happy,so contact them now. Oscarloanfinance@hotmail.com Thanks!!!!!!

  4. Elected officials, like Mourdock, get vested in 8 years. It takes 10 years for all other public employees, most of whom make a lot less money. So much for the promise to finish out his term.

  5. Great state treasurer and a good man!! Just curious if the folks who didn't quite understand his quote would like to tell my daughter-in-law that God didn't intend her! Mourdock's comment was correct but twisted and the article didn't mention that his opponent and the press let the impression stand that Mourdock meant that the rape was intended. Stupid people!!

ADVERTISEMENT