Arts reviews

Q&A: Ron Spencer

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
After more than 250 productions, Theatre on the Square's executive artistic director exits with a look back.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy International Film Fest 2014 flick picks

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Favorites this year include harrowing drama, amoral comedy, intense historical doc, and much more. Festival begins July 17.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A bang and a whimper end two trilogies

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of the final volumes of Ben H. Winters' end-of-the-world detective series "The Last Policeman" and Walter Wangerin Jr.'s "Dun Cow" books.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein and company raise funds, pay tribute

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
The Feinstein initiative’s Great American Songbook Hall of Fame brings Johnny Mathis and Shirley Jones to the Palladium. Also honors Nat King Cole and Linda Ronstadt.
More

LOU's VIEWS: ‘Cock Fight’ turns Phoenix into barbed-wire arena

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
Minimal staging starkly contrasts with rich characters in "The Cock Fight Play." Local premiere runs through July 6.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Neo-Impressionist show impresses at IMA

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
They shimmer. And that's just the surface appeal of many of the works at this new exhibition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Welcome to the ape house

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
The zoo’s new orangutan house is ready for prime(mate) time. And visiting is addictive.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beef & Boards banks on Disney

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Disney destroyed Broadway. Disney saved Broadway. You hear both sides.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Glick glass exhibition at IMA shimmers with variety

May 17, 2014
Lou Harry
When Dale Chihuly’s work is among the least interesting pieces on display, you know you’ve got a strong glass art show. Such is the case with Indianapolis Museum of Art’s “Masters of Contemporary Glass: Highlights from the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Collection.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Children’s Museum brings 2,200-year-old statues to Indy

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
Terra Cotta Warriors make rare U.S. appearance. Chinese treasures were commissioned by the first emperor of China.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No mystery why IRT closes season with whodunit

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
Sure-footed and with no real desire to explore new territory, Ken Ludwig's 'The Game's Afoot,' grafts a fictional mystery onto a real-life actor.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harry Potter star leads a Broadway stunner—plus more from NY stages

April 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of "The Realistic Joneses," "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," "Les Miserables," and "Violet."
More

LOU's VIEWS: Print Newcomer pens poems, essays

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Since her first album in 1991, I’ve been listening to Carrie Newcomer sharing her musical reflections on the ordinary, lending her rich alto to songs less interested in stories than in moments.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eskenazi Hospital's healthy dose of art

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Here’s just a sampling of the work found in its halls, lobbies and waiting rooms, making a visit worthwhile even if you are in perfect health.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The Cabaret at 5

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
I’m not usually big on anniversary stories, but the fact that the Cabaret's creative gamble paid off—and that its first half-decade has brought so much pleasure—warrants a birthday shout out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dramatically different plays

March 22, 2014
The IRT's "Other Dessert Cities" and Acting Up's "A Streetcar Named Desire" demonstrate how casting choices influence a play's impact.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dance Kaleidoscope explores undiscovered country (& western)

March 15, 2014
Lou Harry
Even saddled with distracting costumes, DK shines in country show. Highlights include choreographer Cynthia Pratt's "If I Needed You."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two young companies brush up on Shakespeare

March 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of Eclectic Pond's "The Comedy of Errors" and IndyShakes/Wisdom Tooth's "The Winter's Tale."
More

TRY THIS: Sarah Urist Green's 'The Art Assignment'

March 1, 2014
On her new PBS online series, the former IMA contemporary art curator (and her best-selling author husband John Green) push creativity.
More

Lou's Views: Pictures perfect Ansel Adams

March 1, 2014
Lou Harry
Ansel Adams, celebrated in an Eiteljorg show, changed the landscape for photography.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying to ‘LOVE’ artist Robert Indiana

February 22, 2014
Lou Harry
"The Essential Robert Indiana," at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, offers guidance in understanding the challenging artist and his work.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IBJ A&E road trip heading for Canada

February 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Stratford Shakespeare Festival, Niagara Falls, and more are on the agenda. Hope you can join us.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT triple play shows gentle side of Vonnegut

February 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Before he was a literary icon, Vonnegut was a struggling writer finding his voice through short stories. Three are woven together into the play "Who Am I This Time?"
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Caving in to 'Caveman' spear pressure

February 1, 2014
Lou Harry

I’ve been avoiding “Defending the Caveman” since the early 1990s, when Rob Becker’s one-man show still featured Rob Becker playing Rob Becker.

More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Apologies for the wall of text. I promise I had this nicely formatted in paragraphs in Notepad before pasting here.

  2. I believe that is incorrect Sir, the people's tax-dollars are NOT paying for the companies investment. Without the tax-break the company would be paying an ADDITIONAL $11.1 million in taxes ON TOP of their $22.5 Million investment (Building + IT), for a total of $33.6M or a 50% tax rate. Also, the article does not specify what the total taxes were BEFORE the break. Usually such a corporate tax-break is a 'discount' not a 100% wavier of tax obligations. For sake of example lets say the original taxes added up to $30M over 10 years. $12.5M, New Building $10.0M, IT infrastructure $30.0M, Total Taxes (Example Number) == $52.5M ININ's Cost - $1.8M /10 years, Tax Break (Building) - $0.75M /10 years, Tax Break (IT Infrastructure) - $8.6M /2 years, Tax Breaks (against Hiring Commitment: 430 new jobs /2 years) == 11.5M Possible tax breaks. ININ TOTAL COST: $41M Even if you assume a 100% break, change the '30.0M' to '11.5M' and you can see the Company will be paying a minimum of $22.5, out-of-pocket for their capital-investment - NOT the tax-payers. Also note, much of this money is being spent locally in Indiana and it is creating 430 jobs in your city. I admit I'm a little unclear which tax-breaks are allocated to exactly which expenses. Clearly this is all oversimplified but I think we have both made our points! :) Sorry for the long post.

  3. Clearly, there is a lack of a basic understanding of economics. It is not up to the company to decide what to pay its workers. If companies were able to decide how much to pay their workers then why wouldn't they pay everyone minimum wage? Why choose to pay $10 or $14 when they could pay $7? The answer is that companies DO NOT decide how much to pay workers. It is the market that dictates what a worker is worth and how much they should get paid. If Lowe's chooses to pay a call center worker $7 an hour it will not be able to hire anyone for the job, because all those people will work for someone else paying the market rate of $10-$14 an hour. This forces Lowes to pay its workers that much. Not because it wants to pay them that much out of the goodness of their heart, but because it has to pay them that much in order to stay competitive and attract good workers.

  4. GOOD DAY to you I am Mr Howell Henry, a Reputable, Legitimate & an accredited money Lender. I loan money out to individuals in need of financial assistance. Do you have a bad credit or are you in need of money to pay bills? i want to use this medium to inform you that i render reliable beneficiary assistance as I'll be glad to offer you a loan at 2% interest rate to reliable individuals. Services Rendered include: *Refinance *Home Improvement *Inventor Loans *Auto Loans *Debt Consolidation *Horse Loans *Line of Credit *Second Mortgage *Business Loans *Personal Loans *International Loans. Please write back if interested. Upon Response, you'll be mailed a Loan application form to fill. (No social security and no credit check, 100% Guaranteed!) I Look forward permitting me to be of service to you. You can contact me via e-mail howellhenryloanfirm@gmail.com Yours Sincerely MR Howell Henry(MD)

  5. It is sad to see these races not have a full attendance. The Indy Car races are so much more exciting than Nascar. It seems to me the commenters here are still a little upset with Tony George from a move he made 20 years ago. It was his decision to make, not yours. He lost his position over it. But I believe the problem in all pro sports is the escalating price of admission. In todays economy, people have to pay much more for food and gas. The average fan cannot attend many events anymore. It's gotten priced out of most peoples budgets.

ADVERTISEMENT