Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Contradictions key to ‘bad feminist’ author Roxane Gay

August 30, 2014
Lou Harry
Her harrowing first novel "An Untamed State" and essay collection "Bad Feminist" together send a clear message that the new Purdue University assistant professor is one of Indiana's leading literary lights.
More

LOU's VIEWS: Great game hunting at GenCon 2014

August 23, 2014
Lou Harry
GenCon has left behind a trail of games acquired by more than 56,000 attendees...including me. Here are my favorites, with options to please the game aficionado without scaring off the Apples to Apples crowd.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At the Cabaret, Karen Irwin’s Janis Joplin tribute transcends

August 2, 2014
Lou Harry
Sans wig, sans period costumes, sans impersonation, Irwin found the beauty in Joplin's not-pretty styling, filtering it through her own persona and sensibilities. What emerged was a show celebrating two artists
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Discovering a new festival—and new musicals—at Ball State

July 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Thanks to the Discovery New Musical Theatre Festival, an uphill climb for new tuners has gotten just a little bit easier. Not easy, mind you, just easier.
More

Q&A: Ron Spencer

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
After more than 250 productions, Theatre on the Square's executive artistic director exits with a look back.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy International Film Fest 2014 flick picks

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Favorites this year include harrowing drama, amoral comedy, intense historical doc, and much more. Festival begins July 17.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A bang and a whimper end two trilogies

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of the final volumes of Ben H. Winters' end-of-the-world detective series "The Last Policeman" and Walter Wangerin Jr.'s "Dun Cow" books.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein and company raise funds, pay tribute

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
The Feinstein initiative’s Great American Songbook Hall of Fame brings Johnny Mathis and Shirley Jones to the Palladium. Also honors Nat King Cole and Linda Ronstadt.
More

LOU's VIEWS: ‘Cock Fight’ turns Phoenix into barbed-wire arena

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
Minimal staging starkly contrasts with rich characters in "The Cock Fight Play." Local premiere runs through July 6.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Neo-Impressionist show impresses at IMA

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
They shimmer. And that's just the surface appeal of many of the works at this new exhibition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Welcome to the ape house

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
The zoo’s new orangutan house is ready for prime(mate) time. And visiting is addictive.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beef & Boards banks on Disney

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Disney destroyed Broadway. Disney saved Broadway. You hear both sides.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Glick glass exhibition at IMA shimmers with variety

May 17, 2014
Lou Harry
When Dale Chihuly’s work is among the least interesting pieces on display, you know you’ve got a strong glass art show. Such is the case with Indianapolis Museum of Art’s “Masters of Contemporary Glass: Highlights from the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Collection.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Children’s Museum brings 2,200-year-old statues to Indy

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
Terra Cotta Warriors make rare U.S. appearance. Chinese treasures were commissioned by the first emperor of China.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No mystery why IRT closes season with whodunit

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
Sure-footed and with no real desire to explore new territory, Ken Ludwig's 'The Game's Afoot,' grafts a fictional mystery onto a real-life actor.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harry Potter star leads a Broadway stunner—plus more from NY stages

April 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of "The Realistic Joneses," "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," "Les Miserables," and "Violet."
More

LOU's VIEWS: Print Newcomer pens poems, essays

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Since her first album in 1991, I’ve been listening to Carrie Newcomer sharing her musical reflections on the ordinary, lending her rich alto to songs less interested in stories than in moments.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eskenazi Hospital's healthy dose of art

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Here’s just a sampling of the work found in its halls, lobbies and waiting rooms, making a visit worthwhile even if you are in perfect health.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The Cabaret at 5

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
I’m not usually big on anniversary stories, but the fact that the Cabaret's creative gamble paid off—and that its first half-decade has brought so much pleasure—warrants a birthday shout out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dramatically different plays

March 22, 2014
The IRT's "Other Dessert Cities" and Acting Up's "A Streetcar Named Desire" demonstrate how casting choices influence a play's impact.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dance Kaleidoscope explores undiscovered country (& western)

March 15, 2014
Lou Harry
Even saddled with distracting costumes, DK shines in country show. Highlights include choreographer Cynthia Pratt's "If I Needed You."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two young companies brush up on Shakespeare

March 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of Eclectic Pond's "The Comedy of Errors" and IndyShakes/Wisdom Tooth's "The Winter's Tale."
More

TRY THIS: Sarah Urist Green's 'The Art Assignment'

March 1, 2014
On her new PBS online series, the former IMA contemporary art curator (and her best-selling author husband John Green) push creativity.
More

Lou's Views: Pictures perfect Ansel Adams

March 1, 2014
Lou Harry
Ansel Adams, celebrated in an Eiteljorg show, changed the landscape for photography.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Why not take some time to do some research before traveling to that Indiana town or city, and find the ones that are no smoking either inside, or have a patio? People like yourself are just being selfish, and unnecessarily trying to take away all indoor venues that smokers can enjoy themselves at. Last time I checked, it is still a free country, and businesses do respond to market pressure and will ban smoking, if there's enough demand by customers for it(i.e. Linebacker Lounge in South Bend, and Rack and Helen's in New Haven, IN, outside of Fort Wayne). Indiana law already unnecessarily forced restaurants with a bar area to be no smoking, so why not support those restaurants that were forced to ban smoking against their will? Also, I'm always surprised at the number of bars that chose to ban smoking on their own, in non-ban parts of Indiana I'll sometimes travel into. Whiting, IN(just southeast of Chicago) has at least a few bars that went no smoking on their own accord, and despite no selfish government ban forcing those bars to make that move against their will! I'd much rather have a balance of both smoking and non-smoking bars, rather than a complete bar smoking ban that'll only force more bars to close their doors. And besides IMO, there are much worser things to worry about, than cigarette smoke inside a bar. If you feel a bar is too smoky, then simply walk out and take your business to a different bar!

  2. As other states are realizing the harm in jailing offenders of marijuana...Indiana steps backwards into the script of Reefer Madness. Well...you guys voted for your Gov...up to you to vote him out. Signed, Citizen of Florida...the next state to have medical marijuana.

  3. It's empowering for this niche community to know that they have an advocate on their side in case things go awry. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lrst9VXVKfE

  4. Apparently the settlement over Angie's List "bundling" charges hasn't stopped the practice! My membership is up for renewal, and I'm on my third email trying to get a "basic" membership rather than the "bundled" version they're trying to charge me for. Frustrating!!

  5. Well....as a vendor to both of these builders I guess I have the right to comment. Davis closed his doors with integrity.He paid me every penny he owed me. Estridge,STILL owes me thousands and thousands of dollars. The last few years of my life have been spent working 2 jobs, paying off the suppliers I used to work on Estridge jobs and just struggling to survive. Shame on you Paul...and shame on you IBJ! Maybe you should have contacted the hundreds of vendors that Paul stiffed. I'm sure your "rises from the ashes" spin on reporting would have contained true stories of real people who have struggled to find work and pay of their debts (something that Paul didn't even attempt to do).

ADVERTISEMENT