Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Actors Theatre creates a loverly ‘My Fair Lady’

September 18, 2014
Lou Harry
A good production needs to treat these familiar characters as people instead of icons and the songs as spontaneous bursts of emotional truth, not as a greatest-hits package.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eiteljorg show evokes many stories

September 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Annual "Quest for the West" exhibition stresses the familiar over the innovative. And that's just how collectors like it.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: New/old Lichtenstein sculpture dominates IMA front yard

September 6, 2014
Lou Harry
No question about it, "Five Brushstrokes" is bold. It's also playful and welcoming.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Contradictions key to ‘bad feminist’ author Roxane Gay

August 30, 2014
Lou Harry
Her harrowing first novel "An Untamed State" and essay collection "Bad Feminist" together send a clear message that the new Purdue University assistant professor is one of Indiana's leading literary lights.
More

LOU's VIEWS: Great game hunting at GenCon 2014

August 23, 2014
Lou Harry
GenCon has left behind a trail of games acquired by more than 56,000 attendees...including me. Here are my favorites, with options to please the game aficionado without scaring off the Apples to Apples crowd.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At the Cabaret, Karen Irwin’s Janis Joplin tribute transcends

August 2, 2014
Lou Harry
Sans wig, sans period costumes, sans impersonation, Irwin found the beauty in Joplin's not-pretty styling, filtering it through her own persona and sensibilities. What emerged was a show celebrating two artists
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Discovering a new festival—and new musicals—at Ball State

July 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Thanks to the Discovery New Musical Theatre Festival, an uphill climb for new tuners has gotten just a little bit easier. Not easy, mind you, just easier.
More

Q&A: Ron Spencer

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
After more than 250 productions, Theatre on the Square's executive artistic director exits with a look back.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy International Film Fest 2014 flick picks

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Favorites this year include harrowing drama, amoral comedy, intense historical doc, and much more. Festival begins July 17.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A bang and a whimper end two trilogies

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of the final volumes of Ben H. Winters' end-of-the-world detective series "The Last Policeman" and Walter Wangerin Jr.'s "Dun Cow" books.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein and company raise funds, pay tribute

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
The Feinstein initiative’s Great American Songbook Hall of Fame brings Johnny Mathis and Shirley Jones to the Palladium. Also honors Nat King Cole and Linda Ronstadt.
More

LOU's VIEWS: ‘Cock Fight’ turns Phoenix into barbed-wire arena

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
Minimal staging starkly contrasts with rich characters in "The Cock Fight Play." Local premiere runs through July 6.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Neo-Impressionist show impresses at IMA

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
They shimmer. And that's just the surface appeal of many of the works at this new exhibition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Welcome to the ape house

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
The zoo’s new orangutan house is ready for prime(mate) time. And visiting is addictive.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beef & Boards banks on Disney

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Disney destroyed Broadway. Disney saved Broadway. You hear both sides.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Glick glass exhibition at IMA shimmers with variety

May 17, 2014
Lou Harry
When Dale Chihuly’s work is among the least interesting pieces on display, you know you’ve got a strong glass art show. Such is the case with Indianapolis Museum of Art’s “Masters of Contemporary Glass: Highlights from the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Collection.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Children’s Museum brings 2,200-year-old statues to Indy

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
Terra Cotta Warriors make rare U.S. appearance. Chinese treasures were commissioned by the first emperor of China.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No mystery why IRT closes season with whodunit

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
Sure-footed and with no real desire to explore new territory, Ken Ludwig's 'The Game's Afoot,' grafts a fictional mystery onto a real-life actor.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harry Potter star leads a Broadway stunner—plus more from NY stages

April 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of "The Realistic Joneses," "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," "Les Miserables," and "Violet."
More

LOU's VIEWS: Print Newcomer pens poems, essays

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Since her first album in 1991, I’ve been listening to Carrie Newcomer sharing her musical reflections on the ordinary, lending her rich alto to songs less interested in stories than in moments.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eskenazi Hospital's healthy dose of art

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Here’s just a sampling of the work found in its halls, lobbies and waiting rooms, making a visit worthwhile even if you are in perfect health.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The Cabaret at 5

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
I’m not usually big on anniversary stories, but the fact that the Cabaret's creative gamble paid off—and that its first half-decade has brought so much pleasure—warrants a birthday shout out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dramatically different plays

March 22, 2014
The IRT's "Other Dessert Cities" and Acting Up's "A Streetcar Named Desire" demonstrate how casting choices influence a play's impact.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dance Kaleidoscope explores undiscovered country (& western)

March 15, 2014
Lou Harry
Even saddled with distracting costumes, DK shines in country show. Highlights include choreographer Cynthia Pratt's "If I Needed You."
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Here are a few candidates for this new group, "ripped from the headlines." First up, that bizzaro State Senator Brent Waltz; secondly, the unethical Todd Huston, and his contractual arrangements scheme; Finally, but not least of all, the dishonorable Eric Turner. What sayeth you Greg Zoeller?

  2. Good day. I can't hide this great testimony that take place in my life I will love everyone to know it and be partaker that is why I always place it on answer, I am Mrs,Natalie Cuttaia by name, I live in Texas, United State Of America, I want to thank (Mr.Bruce Brandon) for his kindness upon my family life. I never knew that there is still nice lender like this on internet and earth here. Just some Months Back, I was in search for a loan of $100,000,00 as I was running out of money for feeding and rent. I was scammed $6,800 Dollars and I decided not to involve my self in such business again but a Friend of my introduced me to a loan firm due to my appearance and doings. And I told him that I am not interested of any loan deal anymore but he told me that there is still a nice lender who he will recommend me to, and I made a trial and I am most grateful lucky am I today, I was given a loan amount of $100,000.00usd, by this great Company (Bruce Brandon Loan Company) managed by (Mr.Bruce Brandon) If you are in need of a genuine or legit loan or financial assistance and you can be reliable and trusted of capable of paying back at the due time of the funds I will advice you to, contact him via: ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com ) And you will be free from scams in the internet. All thanks to Mr.Bruce Brandon You are the one who remove me and my family out of poverty. The reason why i am doing this is that, i promise Mr.Bruce Brandon that if i truly got my loan, i will advertize his company and bring customers to his company. Contact him via ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com )for the Loan you have been looking for..

  3. Hello, We are firm Organization formed to help people in needs of helps,such as financial help. So if you are going through financial difficulty or you are in any financial mess,and you need funds to start up your own business,or you need loan to settle your debt or pay off your bills,start a nice business, or you are finding it hard to obtain capital loan from local banks,contact us today via email mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com So do not let these opportunity pass you by because Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever more. Please these is for serious minded and God fearing People. Your Name: Loan Amount: Loan Duration: Valid Cell Phone Number: Thanks for your understanding to your contact as we Await Regards Management Email:mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com

  4. The question is, where could they build a new stadium? It seems in the past year, all the prime spots have been spoken for with potential projects. Maybe in the industrial wasteland area a block past Lucas Oil? I think it needs to be close to the core, if a new stadium is built.

  5. Aldi is generally a great shopping experience. Still, I'm sure YOU wouldn't want to shop there, which I consider a positive.

ADVERTISEMENT