Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy International Film Fest 2014 flick picks

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Favorites this year include harrowing drama, amoral comedy, intense historical doc, and much more. Festival begins July 17.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A bang and a whimper end two trilogies

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of the final volumes of Ben H. Winters' end-of-the-world detective series "The Last Policeman" and Walter Wangerin Jr.'s "Dun Cow" books.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein and company raise funds, pay tribute

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
The Feinstein initiative’s Great American Songbook Hall of Fame brings Johnny Mathis and Shirley Jones to the Palladium. Also honors Nat King Cole and Linda Ronstadt.
More

LOU's VIEWS: ‘Cock Fight’ turns Phoenix into barbed-wire arena

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
Minimal staging starkly contrasts with rich characters in "The Cock Fight Play." Local premiere runs through July 6.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Neo-Impressionist show impresses at IMA

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
They shimmer. And that's just the surface appeal of many of the works at this new exhibition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Welcome to the ape house

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
The zoo’s new orangutan house is ready for prime(mate) time. And visiting is addictive.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beef & Boards banks on Disney

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Disney destroyed Broadway. Disney saved Broadway. You hear both sides.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Glick glass exhibition at IMA shimmers with variety

May 17, 2014
Lou Harry
When Dale Chihuly’s work is among the least interesting pieces on display, you know you’ve got a strong glass art show. Such is the case with Indianapolis Museum of Art’s “Masters of Contemporary Glass: Highlights from the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Collection.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Children’s Museum brings 2,200-year-old statues to Indy

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
Terra Cotta Warriors make rare U.S. appearance. Chinese treasures were commissioned by the first emperor of China.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No mystery why IRT closes season with whodunit

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
Sure-footed and with no real desire to explore new territory, Ken Ludwig's 'The Game's Afoot,' grafts a fictional mystery onto a real-life actor.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harry Potter star leads a Broadway stunner—plus more from NY stages

April 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of "The Realistic Joneses," "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," "Les Miserables," and "Violet."
More

LOU's VIEWS: Print Newcomer pens poems, essays

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Since her first album in 1991, I’ve been listening to Carrie Newcomer sharing her musical reflections on the ordinary, lending her rich alto to songs less interested in stories than in moments.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eskenazi Hospital's healthy dose of art

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Here’s just a sampling of the work found in its halls, lobbies and waiting rooms, making a visit worthwhile even if you are in perfect health.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The Cabaret at 5

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
I’m not usually big on anniversary stories, but the fact that the Cabaret's creative gamble paid off—and that its first half-decade has brought so much pleasure—warrants a birthday shout out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dramatically different plays

March 22, 2014
The IRT's "Other Dessert Cities" and Acting Up's "A Streetcar Named Desire" demonstrate how casting choices influence a play's impact.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dance Kaleidoscope explores undiscovered country (& western)

March 15, 2014
Lou Harry
Even saddled with distracting costumes, DK shines in country show. Highlights include choreographer Cynthia Pratt's "If I Needed You."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two young companies brush up on Shakespeare

March 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of Eclectic Pond's "The Comedy of Errors" and IndyShakes/Wisdom Tooth's "The Winter's Tale."
More

TRY THIS: Sarah Urist Green's 'The Art Assignment'

March 1, 2014
On her new PBS online series, the former IMA contemporary art curator (and her best-selling author husband John Green) push creativity.
More

Lou's Views: Pictures perfect Ansel Adams

March 1, 2014
Lou Harry
Ansel Adams, celebrated in an Eiteljorg show, changed the landscape for photography.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying to ‘LOVE’ artist Robert Indiana

February 22, 2014
Lou Harry
"The Essential Robert Indiana," at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, offers guidance in understanding the challenging artist and his work.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IBJ A&E road trip heading for Canada

February 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Stratford Shakespeare Festival, Niagara Falls, and more are on the agenda. Hope you can join us.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT triple play shows gentle side of Vonnegut

February 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Before he was a literary icon, Vonnegut was a struggling writer finding his voice through short stories. Three are woven together into the play "Who Am I This Time?"
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Caving in to 'Caveman' spear pressure

February 1, 2014
Lou Harry

I’ve been avoiding “Defending the Caveman” since the early 1990s, when Rob Becker’s one-man show still featured Rob Becker playing Rob Becker.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Sound scenic decisions highlight deafness drama 'Tribes'

January 25, 2014
Lou Harry
The most powerful moment, for me, in the acclaimed play at the Phoenix may have been accidental. And it happened when an actor got in my way.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I am a Lyft driver who is a licensed CDL professional driver. ALL Lyft drivers take pride in providing quality service to the Indianapolis and surrounding areas, and we take the safety of our passengers and the public seriously.(passengers are required to put seat belts on when they get in our cars) We do go through background checks, driving records are checked as are the personal cars we drive, (these are OUR private cars we use) Unlike taxi cabs and their drivers Lyft (and yes Uber) provide passengers with a clean car inside and out, a friendly and courteous driver, and who is dressed appropriately and is groomed appropriately. I go so far as to offer mints, candy and/or small bottle of water to the my customers. It's a mutual respect between driver and passenger. With Best Regards

  2. to be the big fish in the little pond of IRL midwest racin' when yer up against Racin' Gardner

  3. In the first sentance "As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss are build quality & price." need a way to edit

  4. As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss is build quality & price. First none of these places is worth $1100 for a one bedroom. Downtown Carmel or Keystone at the Crossing in Indy. It doesn't matter. All require you to get in your car to get just about anywhere you need to go. I'm in one of the Carmel apartments now where after just 2.5 short years one of the kitchen cabinet doors is crooked and lawn and property maintenance seems to be lacking my old Indianapolis apartment which cost $300 less. This is one of the new star apartments. As they keep building throughout the area "deals" will start popping up creating shoppers. If your property is falling apart after year 3 what will it look like after year 5 or 10??? Why would one stay here if they could move to a new Broad Ripple in 2 to 3 years or another part of the Far Northside?? The complexes aren't going to let the "poor" move in without local permission so that's not that problem, but it the occupancy rate drops suddenly because the "Young" people moved back to Indy then look out.

  5. Why are you so concerned about Ace hardware? I don't understand why anyone goes there! Every time ive gone in the past, they don't have what I need and I end up going to the big box stores. I understand the service aspect and that they try to be helpful but if they are going to survive I think they might need to carry more specialty parts.

ADVERTISEMENT