Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Escape' artist Steve McQueen stars in new biography

November 28, 2009
Lou Harry
One of the first grown-up movies I attended on my own was “Papillon.” What drove my 10-year-old self to see this brutal 1973 escape film, I still don’t know. Also: Indianapolis Opera's production of "La Boheme."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A new attraction wants to drum up business

November 21, 2009
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Rhythm! Discovery Center and Bands of America.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lurie-ing arts audiences to downtown Carmel

November 14, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, thoughts on exhibitions at Evan Lurie Gallery in Carmel and a new revue at the Cabaret at the Connoisseur Room.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Teaching the ISO new tricks

November 7, 2009
Lou Harry
The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra combined magic and music with "Mysterioso."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A brave new preteen world at IRT

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the young adult best-seller "The Giver" is staged at the Indiana Repertory Theatre. Plus some thoughts on school field trips.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix show shipshape/Marxing time in Chicago

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
The Phoenix Theatre's "Shipwrecked!" and "Animal Crackers" at Chicago's Goodman Theatre offer two kinds of stage pleasures.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graven image conscious

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, Spanish artists explore the sacred and the IRT’s playwright-in-residence presents a haunted Abe Lincoln.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland fest's bests ... and the rest

October 10, 2009
Rebecca Berfanger, Lou Harry
We review this year's Heartland Film Festival offerings. Check back often as we add entries throughout the event, which starts Oct. 15.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Of 'Glee' they sing

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
Fox's musical high school comedy is generating buzz in the A&E world.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Searching for the best in Eiteljorg's West 'Quest'

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
This year's edition of the annual show and sale offers variations on familiar themes.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City Ballet off to stunning start

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The would-be Indianapolis City Ballet raised the bar high with a star-studded gala that brought together some of the top young dancers in the world.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A strong 'Wind' in Bloomington

September 12, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, three plays add up to a terrific start for the central Indiana performing arts season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 7&7 + B&B = remarkable footwork

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It might make some top 10 movie musicals lists, but it’s unlikely that “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers” is on anyone’s list of favorite stage musicals. Which is why Beef & Boards Dinner Theatre’s current production of the show (running through Oct. 4) is so remarkable.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Quality time on the Fringe

August 28, 2009
Lou Harry
By definition, the non-juried IndyFringe festival has a crapshoot quality. My advice to new Fringe-goers is usually to go to at least three shows and be fully prepared to hate at least one of them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying out the games of Gen Con

August 24, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, reviews of new games found at Gen Con and a nostalgic misfire from Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Pump Boys,' the IMA's 'Memory Cloud,' and Tarantino's latest

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
A musical returns with local cast intact, new lobby artwork at the IMA invites revisits, and Tarantino's new WWII movie disappoints.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Leguizamo tries out Indy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, a film and theater star uses Indianapolis as a test market, Shakespeare holds a rain-soaked mob, and a somber ISO plows through a Beatles afternoon.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In 'Smoke on the Mountain,' Sanders family shines

August 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, more smoke on the same mountain at Beef & Boards and time going slowly at the Phoenix.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Thrill parks offer rides of our lives

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, three of my fellow IBJ scribes join me in picking our favorite area amusement park rides
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Abe Lincoln is back at Spencer County theater

July 20, 2009
Lou Harry
After I discovered it one summer, Lincoln Amphitheatre quickly became one of my favorite theaters in the state. Nestled in a state park in Spencer County, the covered-but-still-outdoor theater’s anchoring attraction was a show about young Abraham Lincoln, who spent his formative years just yards away.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Here's the best from International Film Fest

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This year’s Indianapolis International Film Festival gets rolling later this usual, with a bump to summer precipitated in part by the moving on of its founder to the Nashville Film Festival and in part by the move of most of the fest (minus parties) to the Indianapolis Museum of Art. We’ve spent the last few weeks reviewing most of the features in competition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Breaking with the past at Tut show

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
I entered "Tutankhamun: The Golden King and the Great Pharoahs" (at the Children's Museum of Indianapolis through Oct. 25) with a limited knowledge of Egyptian history—and by limited, I mean loose threads picked up from a handful of Mummy movies, the Bible, and a few too many productions of "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Must-sea Phoenix drama

June 27, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, catching "Octopus" at the Phoenix and opening night on the Prairie.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie balloon ride marred by corporate logosRestricted Content

June 15, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, balloons take visitors into Conner Prairie airspace, a wizard to and from Oz, and a grieving curmudgeon to animated adventures.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT's 'Interpreting William' needs rewriting

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, William Conner on stage at the IRT and another chorus of  "Tomorrow," courtesy of Beef & Boards.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. The Walgreens did not get a lot of traffic. It was not located on the corner of the intersection, and not really visible from Emerson. Meanwhile the CVS there is huge and right on the corner. I am guessing a lot of people drove by a million times and never knew the Walgreens was there. Although, with the new Walmart market going in, that area could really see a lot of increase in traffic soon.

  2. You folks don't have a clue. There is a legal way to enter this country and to get aid. This left unchecked could run us to ruin quickly. I also heard that 'supporters' were getting major $$ to take them in? Who's monitoring this and guess who pays the bill? I support charitable organizations... but this is NOT the way to do it!

  3. Apparently at some time before alcohol has been served at the fair. The problem is that beer or wine used to be a common drink for people before soft drinks and was not thought to be that unusual. Since many folks now only drink to see how much they can drink or what kind of condition they can end up in it becomes more problematic. Go to Europe and its no big deal just as if you had sodas of milk to drink everyday. Its using common sense that is lacking now days.

  4. To address the epic failure of attracting race fans to both the Indy 500 and Brickyard 400 would take too much of my time to write. Bottom line Boles is clueless and obviously totally out of touch with the real paying fan base. I see nothing but death spin coming for the Brickyard, just like Indy. Get somebody in a place of power that understands what race fans want.

  5. I am a race fan through & through. It doesn't matter if it's Indy cars or Nascar. I love a great race. I go to several other tracks each year and you can see the entire track. I know Indy has tradition, but fans want to see the entire race. I sit in the Penthouse, am almost 60 years old, and would like to see a better TV screen in turn 1 so you can see the entire race. Then I think Indy needs to install an escalator so us old folks can make it up to the Penthouse and down again if we want more options to purchase food and drinks. Just a race fans opinion. Lights won't make the race any better, but you might be able to see the TV better at night. Turn 1's screen needs replaced with a better and bigger screen.

ADVERTISEMENT