Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Merits of Barbie exhibit debatable

December 19, 2009
Lou Harry
IBJ Style columnist Gabrielle Poshadlo joins in to discuss the latest Children's Museum show.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Symphony's annual Yuletide show doesn't need Vegas dress-up

December 11, 2009
Lou Harry
When this year’s edition of “Yuletide Celebration” maintains its focus on the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, guest host Maureen McGovern and the tap-dancing Santas, it’s as comforting as the show has ever been.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Oh Christmas plays, oh Christmas plays

December 5, 2009
Lou Harry
Holiday season staples take the stages at the Indiana Repertory Theatre and the Phoenix Theatre.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Escape' artist Steve McQueen stars in new biography

November 28, 2009
Lou Harry
One of the first grown-up movies I attended on my own was “Papillon.” What drove my 10-year-old self to see this brutal 1973 escape film, I still don’t know. Also: Indianapolis Opera's production of "La Boheme."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A new attraction wants to drum up business

November 21, 2009
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Rhythm! Discovery Center and Bands of America.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lurie-ing arts audiences to downtown Carmel

November 14, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, thoughts on exhibitions at Evan Lurie Gallery in Carmel and a new revue at the Cabaret at the Connoisseur Room.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Teaching the ISO new tricks

November 7, 2009
Lou Harry
The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra combined magic and music with "Mysterioso."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A brave new preteen world at IRT

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the young adult best-seller "The Giver" is staged at the Indiana Repertory Theatre. Plus some thoughts on school field trips.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix show shipshape/Marxing time in Chicago

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
The Phoenix Theatre's "Shipwrecked!" and "Animal Crackers" at Chicago's Goodman Theatre offer two kinds of stage pleasures.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graven image conscious

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, Spanish artists explore the sacred and the IRT’s playwright-in-residence presents a haunted Abe Lincoln.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland fest's bests ... and the rest

October 10, 2009
Rebecca Berfanger, Lou Harry
We review this year's Heartland Film Festival offerings. Check back often as we add entries throughout the event, which starts Oct. 15.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Of 'Glee' they sing

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
Fox's musical high school comedy is generating buzz in the A&E world.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Searching for the best in Eiteljorg's West 'Quest'

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
This year's edition of the annual show and sale offers variations on familiar themes.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City Ballet off to stunning start

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The would-be Indianapolis City Ballet raised the bar high with a star-studded gala that brought together some of the top young dancers in the world.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A strong 'Wind' in Bloomington

September 12, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, three plays add up to a terrific start for the central Indiana performing arts season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 7&7 + B&B = remarkable footwork

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It might make some top 10 movie musicals lists, but it’s unlikely that “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers” is on anyone’s list of favorite stage musicals. Which is why Beef & Boards Dinner Theatre’s current production of the show (running through Oct. 4) is so remarkable.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Quality time on the Fringe

August 28, 2009
Lou Harry
By definition, the non-juried IndyFringe festival has a crapshoot quality. My advice to new Fringe-goers is usually to go to at least three shows and be fully prepared to hate at least one of them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying out the games of Gen Con

August 24, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, reviews of new games found at Gen Con and a nostalgic misfire from Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Pump Boys,' the IMA's 'Memory Cloud,' and Tarantino's latest

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
A musical returns with local cast intact, new lobby artwork at the IMA invites revisits, and Tarantino's new WWII movie disappoints.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Leguizamo tries out Indy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, a film and theater star uses Indianapolis as a test market, Shakespeare holds a rain-soaked mob, and a somber ISO plows through a Beatles afternoon.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In 'Smoke on the Mountain,' Sanders family shines

August 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, more smoke on the same mountain at Beef & Boards and time going slowly at the Phoenix.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Thrill parks offer rides of our lives

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, three of my fellow IBJ scribes join me in picking our favorite area amusement park rides
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Abe Lincoln is back at Spencer County theater

July 20, 2009
Lou Harry
After I discovered it one summer, Lincoln Amphitheatre quickly became one of my favorite theaters in the state. Nestled in a state park in Spencer County, the covered-but-still-outdoor theater’s anchoring attraction was a show about young Abraham Lincoln, who spent his formative years just yards away.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Here's the best from International Film Fest

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This year’s Indianapolis International Film Festival gets rolling later this usual, with a bump to summer precipitated in part by the moving on of its founder to the Nashville Film Festival and in part by the move of most of the fest (minus parties) to the Indianapolis Museum of Art. We’ve spent the last few weeks reviewing most of the features in competition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Breaking with the past at Tut show

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
I entered "Tutankhamun: The Golden King and the Great Pharoahs" (at the Children's Museum of Indianapolis through Oct. 25) with a limited knowledge of Egyptian history—and by limited, I mean loose threads picked up from a handful of Mummy movies, the Bible, and a few too many productions of "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat."
More
Page  << 11 12 13 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Hello Dear Are you tired of Seeking Loans and Mortgages,have you Been Turned down constantly By your banks and Other Financial Institutions or Micro Finance scheme. This is let you know with 100% guarantee that we Offer loans ranging from $1,000 Minimum to $1,000,000.00 Maximum at 3% interest rate per Month. We give out LOANS for developing business. a competitive edge/business expansion. email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com We offer the following kinds of loans and many more; * Personal Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Business Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Consolidation Loan * Combination Loan * Home Improvement * Xmas Loans for contact to seek for loan email this email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com Thanks

  2. My name is Mr Henry Josh and i live in the USA California and life is worth living right now for me and my family and all this is because of one man sent by GOD to help me and my family, i once had a life filled with sorrow because my first SON needed a kidney transplant and all our savings were going towards his medications and this normally leaves us with no money to pay our bills or even put enough food on our table and our rent was due and no funds to pay these bills and life felt so unfair to me and every night my wife will cry herself to sleep every night until one day, i was browsing through yahoo answers and i saw a striking advert of a man that gives out personal loans and that the offer is opened to all and i have heard so many things about internet scams but at this point of my life, i was very desperate and ready to take any risk and at the end of the day, i applied for this loan and from one step to another, i got my loan within 12 hours through bank transfer and you know, it was all like a dream and i called Mr Daniel Jones A Man who is the GOD sent lender i found and said, i have received my loan and he smiled stating that to GOD be the glory and i was so shocked as i have never ever seen anyone with such a GOD fearing and kind heart and today, i am the happiest man on earth because by GOD’S grace, my SON kidney transplant was successful and today he is healthy, i and my family are living very comfortable and happy and if you are in my former situation or in serious and legitimate need of a loan, you can reach this GOD sent lender via fidelityloanfirm@outlook.com

  3. Greetings to everyone reading this comment!!! I am Greg William by name. I am out here to recommend the effort of Mark Oscar,I was in need of a consolidation loan amount of 50,000 and as soon as I got in contact with Mark Oscar Loan Firm on Wednesday last week and on Friday last week as well I receive an alert from my bank(Royal Bank of Scotland Group) that the fund was transferred,I want everybody on this site to contact Mark Oscar now via email on how to get a loan because I got my loan from them and I am very happy,so contact them now. Oscarloanfinance@hotmail.com Thanks!!!!!!

  4. Elected officials, like Mourdock, get vested in 8 years. It takes 10 years for all other public employees, most of whom make a lot less money. So much for the promise to finish out his term.

  5. Great state treasurer and a good man!! Just curious if the folks who didn't quite understand his quote would like to tell my daughter-in-law that God didn't intend her! Mourdock's comment was correct but twisted and the article didn't mention that his opponent and the press let the impression stand that Mourdock meant that the rape was intended. Stupid people!!

ADVERTISEMENT