Arts reviews

IMA, $3 Bill, symphony and opera deliver drama, comedy, fine music

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, challenging work at the IMA, an impressive operatic collaboration, and laugh-out-loud silliness.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rickey's sculptures, Phoenix's 'Zoomerville' advance Indy's art reputation

May 18, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, art in the wind and an original musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rate expectations ... reviewing without stars

May 11, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two community theater productions reinforce my decision not to give "star" ratings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Booking art on the library's pedestals

May 4, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, new artwork in front of the Central Library, and a Pulitzer-winning play at IRT.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two ambitious shows yield mixed results

April 20, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two ambitious shows—a new musical at Beef & Boards and magic realism at the Phoenix
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's artbabble.org offers visual art videos

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an online visit with a new Indianapolis Museum of Art, plus a local take on "Forbidden Broadway."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Come (back) to the Cabaret

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the reborn American Cabaret Theatre and a symphonic circus draw packed houses.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Block party at the Children's Museum

March 30, 2009
Lou Harry
At the Children's Museum of Indianapolis, I spent quality time at "Lego Castle Adventure," which features impressively massive Lego sculptures, a dress-up area, some instructional sessions on castle construction and lots of tables and lego pieces for building.
More

'Pirates' anchored by strong performances

March 23, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, pirates take over Indianapolis Opera, and a trio of plays isn't the half of it at the Humana Festival of New American Plays.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At IMA, the shape of things that came

March 16, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the IMA celebrates design, the IRT attempts a rewritten French farce, and the Phoenix puts its stamp on "Mauritius."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indianapolis Art Center turns the familiar into new art

March 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, familiar objects take on new looks and meaning at the Indianapolis Art Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Crimes' at the IRT

February 23, 2009
Lou Harry
For a terrific example of an adaptation that works, go no further than the Indiana Repertory Theatre and see...
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hahn for the record books

February 16, 2009
Lou Harry

This week, emptying the notebook on recent work at the ISO, the Phoenix and the IRT.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Kondrat gives inspired performance in 'Menagerie' spoof

February 9, 2009
Lou Harry
Playwright Christopher Durang can deliver hilarious results, but in the case of InterAction Theatre's "Durang-O-Rama," he disappoints the audience with too much outrageous, exhausting behavior.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A trio of terrific leading ladies in NYC theater

February 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an ogre's beloved, a troubled and troubling mother, and a cad's catch highlight a sampling of the current Broadway season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A fun Xscape to Lafayette Square

January 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Ever since Xscape took over a sizable chunk of Lafayette Square Mall late last year, I've heard speculation about what goes on behind its walls.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: New comedy group carries a big schtick

January 19, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the debut of sketch comedy group Three Dollar Bills, a good enough bedroom farce, dancing to the Beatles, and a word about "Happy Days: A New Musical."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harrison showcases recent additions to the Overman oeuvre

January 12, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, great characters pop off the wall at the Harrison Center, the audience upstages the Civic cast, and a fledgling company fumbles.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA acquires 50 head-scratching works

January 5, 2009
Lou Harry
"My 6-year-old could do that." Stand around the Indianapolis Museum of Art's Forefront Gallery long enough and you are likely to hear some variation on that contemporary-art-bashing cliche.
More

Year in review: 10 reasons I loved my job in '08Restricted Content

December 29, 2008
Lou Harry
Traditionally, as the year winds down, critics' thoughts tend toward "best of the year" lists. But I'm feeling the need for a more accurate label.
More

A&ERestricted Content

December 22, 2008
Lou Harry
This week, thoughts on three holiday shows-and one in-your-face alternative.
More

Enjoy the latest wit from Bob & Tom on CD; relish the voice of Claire Wilcher at 'Cabaret'Restricted Content

December 8, 2008
Lou Harry
This week, another stocking stuffer from the Bob and Tom crew and holiday-country music fusion at American Cabaret Theatre.
More

Lion King, Hansel & Gretel excel in music, staging and dancingRestricted Content

December 1, 2008
Lou Harry
This week, a return visit is made to review "The Lion King" and a Sendak-ed "Hansel and Gretel."
More

Spark your holiday spirit with IRT's creative version of 'Carol'Restricted Content

November 24, 2008
Lou Harry
Despite its annual appearance for many years during the holidays, "A Christmas Carol" continues to be produced creatively by fine actors, directors and designers at the Indiana Repertory Theatre.
More

Symphony tries out textingRestricted Content

November 17, 2008
Sean Newhouse, associate conductor of the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, invited concert goers to send a text message to vote for their finale favorite.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. So much for Eric Holder's conversation about race. If white people have got something to say, they get sued over it. Bottom line: white people have un-freer speech than others as a consequence of the misnamed "Civil rights laws."

  2. I agree, having seen three shows, that I was less than wowed. Disappointing!!

  3. Start drilling, start fracking, and start using our own energy. Other states have enriched their citizens and nearly elminated unemployment by using these resources that are on private land. If you are against the 'low prices' of discount stores, the best way to allow shoppers more choice is to empower them with better earnings. NOT through manipulated gov mandated min wage hikes, but better jobs and higher competitive pay. This would be direct result of using our own energy resources, yet Obama knows that Americans who arent dependent of gov welfare are much less likely to vote Dem, so he looks for ways to ensure America's decline and keep its citizens dependent of gov.

  4. Say It Loud, I'm Black and Ashamed: It's too bad that with certain "black" entertainment events, it seems violence and thuggery follows and the collateral damage that it leaves behinds continues to be a strain on the city in terms of people getting hurt, killed or becoming victims of crimes and/or stretching city resources. I remember shopping in the Meadows area years ago until violence and crime ended make most of the business pack you and leave as did with Lafayette Square and Washington Square. Over the past 10 to 12 years, I remember going to the Indiana Black Expo Soul Picnic in Washington Park. Violence, gang fights and homicides ended that. My great grandmother still bears the scares on her leg from when she was trampled by a group of thugs running from gun fire from a rival gang. With hundreds of police offices downtown still multiple shootings, people getting shot downtown during Black Expo. A number of people getting shots or murdered at black clubs around the city like Club Six on the west side, The Industry downtown, Jamal Tinsley's shot out in front of the Conrad, multiple fights and shootings at the skating rinks, shootings at Circle Center Mall and shooting and robberies and car jackings at Lafayette Mall. Shootings and gang violence and the State Fair. I can go on and on and on. Now Broad Ripple. (Shaking head side to side) Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Ashamed.

  5. Ballard Administration. Too funny. This is the least fiscally responsive administration I have ever seen. One thing this article failed to mention, is that the Hoosier State line delivers rail cars to the Amtrak Beech Grove maintenance facility for refurbishment. That's an economic development issue. And the jobs there are high-paying. That alone is worth the City's investment.

ADVERTISEMENT