Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Here's the best from International Film Fest

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This year’s Indianapolis International Film Festival gets rolling later this usual, with a bump to summer precipitated in part by the moving on of its founder to the Nashville Film Festival and in part by the move of most of the fest (minus parties) to the Indianapolis Museum of Art. We’ve spent the last few weeks reviewing most of the features in competition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Breaking with the past at Tut show

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
I entered "Tutankhamun: The Golden King and the Great Pharoahs" (at the Children's Museum of Indianapolis through Oct. 25) with a limited knowledge of Egyptian history—and by limited, I mean loose threads picked up from a handful of Mummy movies, the Bible, and a few too many productions of "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Must-sea Phoenix drama

June 27, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, catching "Octopus" at the Phoenix and opening night on the Prairie.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie balloon ride marred by corporate logosRestricted Content

June 15, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, balloons take visitors into Conner Prairie airspace, a wizard to and from Oz, and a grieving curmudgeon to animated adventures.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT's 'Interpreting William' needs rewriting

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, William Conner on stage at the IRT and another chorus of  "Tomorrow," courtesy of Beef & Boards.
More

IMA, $3 Bill, symphony and opera deliver drama, comedy, fine music

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, challenging work at the IMA, an impressive operatic collaboration, and laugh-out-loud silliness.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rickey's sculptures, Phoenix's 'Zoomerville' advance Indy's art reputation

May 18, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, art in the wind and an original musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rate expectations ... reviewing without stars

May 11, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two community theater productions reinforce my decision not to give "star" ratings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Booking art on the library's pedestals

May 4, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, new artwork in front of the Central Library, and a Pulitzer-winning play at IRT.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two ambitious shows yield mixed results

April 20, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two ambitious shows—a new musical at Beef & Boards and magic realism at the Phoenix
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's artbabble.org offers visual art videos

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an online visit with a new Indianapolis Museum of Art, plus a local take on "Forbidden Broadway."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Come (back) to the Cabaret

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the reborn American Cabaret Theatre and a symphonic circus draw packed houses.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Block party at the Children's Museum

March 30, 2009
Lou Harry
At the Children's Museum of Indianapolis, I spent quality time at "Lego Castle Adventure," which features impressively massive Lego sculptures, a dress-up area, some instructional sessions on castle construction and lots of tables and lego pieces for building.
More

'Pirates' anchored by strong performances

March 23, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, pirates take over Indianapolis Opera, and a trio of plays isn't the half of it at the Humana Festival of New American Plays.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At IMA, the shape of things that came

March 16, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the IMA celebrates design, the IRT attempts a rewritten French farce, and the Phoenix puts its stamp on "Mauritius."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indianapolis Art Center turns the familiar into new art

March 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, familiar objects take on new looks and meaning at the Indianapolis Art Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Crimes' at the IRT

February 23, 2009
Lou Harry
For a terrific example of an adaptation that works, go no further than the Indiana Repertory Theatre and see...
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hahn for the record books

February 16, 2009
Lou Harry

This week, emptying the notebook on recent work at the ISO, the Phoenix and the IRT.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Kondrat gives inspired performance in 'Menagerie' spoof

February 9, 2009
Lou Harry
Playwright Christopher Durang can deliver hilarious results, but in the case of InterAction Theatre's "Durang-O-Rama," he disappoints the audience with too much outrageous, exhausting behavior.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A trio of terrific leading ladies in NYC theater

February 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an ogre's beloved, a troubled and troubling mother, and a cad's catch highlight a sampling of the current Broadway season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A fun Xscape to Lafayette Square

January 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Ever since Xscape took over a sizable chunk of Lafayette Square Mall late last year, I've heard speculation about what goes on behind its walls.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: New comedy group carries a big schtick

January 19, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the debut of sketch comedy group Three Dollar Bills, a good enough bedroom farce, dancing to the Beatles, and a word about "Happy Days: A New Musical."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harrison showcases recent additions to the Overman oeuvre

January 12, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, great characters pop off the wall at the Harrison Center, the audience upstages the Civic cast, and a fledgling company fumbles.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA acquires 50 head-scratching works

January 5, 2009
Lou Harry
"My 6-year-old could do that." Stand around the Indianapolis Museum of Art's Forefront Gallery long enough and you are likely to hear some variation on that contemporary-art-bashing cliche.
More

Year in review: 10 reasons I loved my job in '08Restricted Content

December 29, 2008
Lou Harry
Traditionally, as the year winds down, critics' thoughts tend toward "best of the year" lists. But I'm feeling the need for a more accurate label.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. You are correct that Obamacare requires health insurance policies to include richer benefits and protects patients who get sick. That's what I was getting at when I wrote above, "That’s because Obamacare required insurers to take all customers, regardless of their health status, and also established a floor on how skimpy the benefits paid for by health plans could be." I think it's vital to know exactly how much the essential health benefits are costing over previous policies. Unless we know the cost of the law, we can't do a cost-benefit analysis. Taxes were raised in order to offset a 31% rise in health insurance premiums, an increase that paid for richer benefits. Are those richer benefits worth that much or not? That's the question we need to answer. This study at least gets us started on doing so.

  2. *5 employees per floor. Either way its ridiculous.

  3. Jim, thanks for always ready my stuff and providing thoughtful comments. I am sure that someone more familiar with research design and methods could take issue with Kowalski's study. I thought it was of considerable value, however, because so far we have been crediting Obamacare for all the gains in coverage and all price increases, neither of which is entirely fair. This is at least a rigorous attempt to sort things out. Maybe a quixotic attempt, but it's one of the first ones I've seen try to do it in a sophisticated way.

  4. In addition to rewriting history, the paper (or at least your summary of it) ignores that Obamacare policies now must provide "essential health benefits". Maybe Mr Wall has always been insured in a group plan but even group plans had holes you could drive a truck through, like the Colts defensive line last night. Individual plans were even worse. So, when you come up with a study that factors that in, let me know, otherwise the numbers are garbage.

  5. You guys are absolutely right: Cummins should build a massive 80-story high rise, and give each employee 5 floors. Or, I suppose they could always rent out the top floors if they wanted, since downtown office space is bursting at the seams (http://www.ibj.com/article?articleId=49481).

ADVERTISEMENT