Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie balloon ride marred by corporate logosRestricted Content

June 15, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, balloons take visitors into Conner Prairie airspace, a wizard to and from Oz, and a grieving curmudgeon to animated adventures.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT's 'Interpreting William' needs rewriting

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, William Conner on stage at the IRT and another chorus of  "Tomorrow," courtesy of Beef & Boards.
More

IMA, $3 Bill, symphony and opera deliver drama, comedy, fine music

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, challenging work at the IMA, an impressive operatic collaboration, and laugh-out-loud silliness.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rickey's sculptures, Phoenix's 'Zoomerville' advance Indy's art reputation

May 18, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, art in the wind and an original musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rate expectations ... reviewing without stars

May 11, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two community theater productions reinforce my decision not to give "star" ratings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Booking art on the library's pedestals

May 4, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, new artwork in front of the Central Library, and a Pulitzer-winning play at IRT.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two ambitious shows yield mixed results

April 20, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two ambitious shows—a new musical at Beef & Boards and magic realism at the Phoenix
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's artbabble.org offers visual art videos

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an online visit with a new Indianapolis Museum of Art, plus a local take on "Forbidden Broadway."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Come (back) to the Cabaret

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the reborn American Cabaret Theatre and a symphonic circus draw packed houses.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Block party at the Children's Museum

March 30, 2009
Lou Harry
At the Children's Museum of Indianapolis, I spent quality time at "Lego Castle Adventure," which features impressively massive Lego sculptures, a dress-up area, some instructional sessions on castle construction and lots of tables and lego pieces for building.
More

'Pirates' anchored by strong performances

March 23, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, pirates take over Indianapolis Opera, and a trio of plays isn't the half of it at the Humana Festival of New American Plays.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At IMA, the shape of things that came

March 16, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the IMA celebrates design, the IRT attempts a rewritten French farce, and the Phoenix puts its stamp on "Mauritius."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indianapolis Art Center turns the familiar into new art

March 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, familiar objects take on new looks and meaning at the Indianapolis Art Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Crimes' at the IRT

February 23, 2009
Lou Harry
For a terrific example of an adaptation that works, go no further than the Indiana Repertory Theatre and see...
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hahn for the record books

February 16, 2009
Lou Harry

This week, emptying the notebook on recent work at the ISO, the Phoenix and the IRT.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Kondrat gives inspired performance in 'Menagerie' spoof

February 9, 2009
Lou Harry
Playwright Christopher Durang can deliver hilarious results, but in the case of InterAction Theatre's "Durang-O-Rama," he disappoints the audience with too much outrageous, exhausting behavior.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A trio of terrific leading ladies in NYC theater

February 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an ogre's beloved, a troubled and troubling mother, and a cad's catch highlight a sampling of the current Broadway season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A fun Xscape to Lafayette Square

January 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Ever since Xscape took over a sizable chunk of Lafayette Square Mall late last year, I've heard speculation about what goes on behind its walls.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: New comedy group carries a big schtick

January 19, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the debut of sketch comedy group Three Dollar Bills, a good enough bedroom farce, dancing to the Beatles, and a word about "Happy Days: A New Musical."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harrison showcases recent additions to the Overman oeuvre

January 12, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, great characters pop off the wall at the Harrison Center, the audience upstages the Civic cast, and a fledgling company fumbles.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA acquires 50 head-scratching works

January 5, 2009
Lou Harry
"My 6-year-old could do that." Stand around the Indianapolis Museum of Art's Forefront Gallery long enough and you are likely to hear some variation on that contemporary-art-bashing cliche.
More

Year in review: 10 reasons I loved my job in '08Restricted Content

December 29, 2008
Lou Harry
Traditionally, as the year winds down, critics' thoughts tend toward "best of the year" lists. But I'm feeling the need for a more accurate label.
More

A&ERestricted Content

December 22, 2008
Lou Harry
This week, thoughts on three holiday shows-and one in-your-face alternative.
More

Enjoy the latest wit from Bob & Tom on CD; relish the voice of Claire Wilcher at 'Cabaret'Restricted Content

December 8, 2008
Lou Harry
This week, another stocking stuffer from the Bob and Tom crew and holiday-country music fusion at American Cabaret Theatre.
More

Lion King, Hansel & Gretel excel in music, staging and dancingRestricted Content

December 1, 2008
Lou Harry
This week, a return visit is made to review "The Lion King" and a Sendak-ed "Hansel and Gretel."
More
Page  << 11 12 13 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Gay marriage is coming, whether or not these bigots and zealots like it or not. We must work to ensure future generations remember the likes of Greg Zoeller like they do the racists of our past...in shame.

  2. Perhaps a diagram of all the network connections of all politicians to their supporters and those who are elite/wealthy and how they have voted on bills that may have benefited their supporters. The truth may hurt, but there are no non-disclosures in government.

  3. I'm sure these lawyers were having problems coming up with any non-religious reason to ban same-sex marriage. I've asked proponents of this ban the question many times and the only answers I have received were religious reasons. Quite often the reason had to do with marriage to a pet or marriage between a group even though those have nothing at all to do with this. I'm looking forward to less discrimination in our state soon!

  4. They never let go of the "make babies" argument. It fails instantaneously because a considerable percentage of heterosexual marriages don't produce any children either. Although if someone wants to pass a law that any couple, heterosexual or homosexual, cannot be legally married (and therefore not utilize all legal, financial, and tax benefits that come with it) until they have produced a biological child, that would be fun to see as a spectator. "All this is a reflection of biology," Fisher answered. "Men and women make babies, same-sex couples do not... we have to have a mechanism to regulate that, and marriage is that mechanism." The civil contract called marriage does NOTHING to regulate babymaking, whether purposefully or accidental. These conservatives really need to understand that sex education and access to birth control do far more to regulate babymaking in this country. Moreover, last I checked, same-sex couples can make babies in a variety of ways, and none of them are by accident. Same-sex couples often foster and adopt the children produced by the many accidental pregnancies from mixed-sex couples who have failed at self-regulating their babymaking capabilities.

  5. Every parent I know with kids from 6 -12 has 98.3 on its car radio all the time!! Even when my daughter isn't in the car I sometimes forget to change stations. Not everybody wants to pay for satellite radio. This will be a huge disappointment to my 9 year old. And to me - there's so many songs on the radio that I don't want her listening to.

ADVERTISEMENT