Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: The critics are coming … the critics are coming

March 16, 2013
Lou Harry
Journalists from San Francisco to D.C. and from New Haven to New Orleans descend on Indy for a first-ever critical mass of theater.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eiteljorg shows how the West was strummed

March 9, 2013
Lou Harry
While I could look at most of the instruments on display at the new “Guitars: Roundups to Rockers” exhibition at the Eiteljorg with cool detachment, Woody Guthrie’s Martin 000-18 acoustic guitar stopped me.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Barging in

March 2, 2013
Lou Harry
IU fills a spot in Indianapolis Opera’s schedule with Philip Glass’ challenging “Akhnaten.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lincoln exhibit highlights presidential precedents

February 23, 2013
Lou Harry
It’s the fringes where those of us not steeped in Lincoln lore might find the freshest material.
More

IBJ A&E ROAD TRIP: Heading to Chicago for some ‘Big Fish’

February 16, 2013
Lou Harry
The latest IBJ A&E road trip features a world premiere, heading-for-Broadway musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Making it up for 20 years

February 16, 2013
Lou Harry
At an awards-show parodying gala, ComedySportz celebrated two decades of spontaneous laugh-making.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Say it isn't so, Diane

February 9, 2013
Lou Harry
When a region stands to lose one of its finest actresses, a critic can't be too proud to beg
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Team playing from ensemble highlights IRT's 'Night Music'

February 2, 2013
Lou Harry
Opera star Sylvia McNair offers subtle take on "Send in the Clowns."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Copy that

January 26, 2013
Lou Harry
By letting it be, The Fab Faux honors the music of the Beatles
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hoosier writers' novels transcend novelty

January 19, 2013
Lou Harry
Recently, I dug into the books of three Indiana writers who beat the odds.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pictures perfect at the Eiteljorg show

January 12, 2013
Lou Harry
Whether in a dog-eared magazine or on the gallery walls of the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art, the photography from National Geographic magazine continues to stun.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'The Book of Mormon' and shock values

January 5, 2013
Lou Harry
Language and content aren't the only thing shocking about the hit musical, now playing in Chicago.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 2012 A&E favorites

December 28, 2012
Lou Harry
With so much to choose from, it's impossible to say what was best. Instead, here are some of my favorites of the year.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Beasts' among movie bests

December 22, 2012
Lou Harry
Unlike similar lists for the live arts, movie top 10 lists tend to generate more push-back. That’s because audiences have greater opportunity to see the work for themselves and formulate their own opinions.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graphite the power

December 15, 2012
Lou Harry
The Indianapolis Museum of Art proves that the mineral isn't just for pencils. Plus new shows at the Indianapolis Art Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Three long-running holiday shows offer degrees of variation

December 8, 2012
Lou Harry
Tradition, by definition, involves familiarity. And three of the top Indy on-stage holiday offerings embrace tradition in their own way.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dean demystified

December 1, 2012
Lou Harry
A new show at the Indiana State Museum includes memorabilia, film clips and more from the legendary James Dean.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Not your average movie book

November 24, 2012
Lou Harry
Lou Harry is on vacation this week. In lieu of his regular column, here’s an excerpt from his new e-book, “The Movie Uncyclopedia: Everything You Think You Know About Movies is Wrong, Wrong, Wrong.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art centers focus more on creating than on creation

November 17, 2012
Lou Harry
In this week of Thanksgiving, I’d like to focus on places more centered on the creating than the creations and more about community than about artistic results.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: God is in the details

November 10, 2012
Lou Harry
At the IMA, an Islamic art show holds glorious surprises.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Michael Feinstein shines in book on the brothers Gershwin

November 3, 2012
Lou Harry
For me, the highlights of any Michael Feinstein concert come in between the numbers, when the cabaret and concert star—and artistic director of the Center for the Performing Arts—shares anecdotes and insight about the composer and lyricists who crafted the tunes. His storytelling style translates nicely to the printed page.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art + theater made for memorable road trip

October 27, 2012
Lou Harry
George Seurat’s painting “A Sunday on La Grande Jatte—1884” provided the inspiration for the musical “Sunday in the Park with George.” For an Oct. 20 visit to both the painting and the musical, I was in the company of 35 participants in the first IBJ A&E Road Trip, an exercise in arts connectivity.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Wicked Workshop' works across generations

October 20, 2012
Lou Harry
My take on the Children's Museum attraction, plus generation-jumping thoughts on Jonathan Groff at the Cabaret and DK’s Beatles celebration.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Picks from the Heartland

October 13, 2012
Lou Harry
Strong films at the upcoming Heartland Film Festival include a coming-of-age story and a documentary about dancing trucks. Among my favorites: "Starry, Starry Night."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix continues to rise

October 6, 2012
Lou Harry
New experiences are still what's important to the 30-year-old theater.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT