Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Picks from the Heartland

October 13, 2012
Lou Harry
Strong films at the upcoming Heartland Film Festival include a coming-of-age story and a documentary about dancing trucks. Among my favorites: "Starry, Starry Night."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix continues to rise

October 6, 2012
Lou Harry
New experiences are still what's important to the 30-year-old theater.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lessons from Lotus

September 29, 2012
Lou Harry
With all the acts off to their next gigs, this space is better used discussing what we could learn from the Bloomington fest
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Demonstrating nobility (and lack thereof)

September 22, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on "Best of the West" at the Eiteljorg and NoExit Performance's "Closer."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Both sides now

September 15, 2012
Lou Harry
A trio of Indy theater productions looks at the good in the bad and the bad in the good
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Treetop adventure at Eagle Creek Park

September 8, 2012
Lou Harry
The new Go Ape course is an outstanding excuse to revisit Eagle Creek Park, one of the country's largest municipal parks.
More

A&E SEASON PREVIEW: Critically selected highlights

September 1, 2012
A highly selective, very subjective guide to the most promising arts and entertainment events on the way in the 2012-13 season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Notes from Indy Fringe

September 1, 2012
Lou Harry
One of the most striking things for me this year was the lack of "must miss" shows.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Big game hunting at GenCon

August 25, 2012
Lou Harry
Break out of the Monopoly/Scrabble rut with these new games
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two fledgling arts companies take the stage

August 18, 2012
Lou Harry
Initial productions by Indianapolis Urban Theater and Dance Company and Vagabonds' Bridge Theatre Company inspire hope for the future.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Studio Vonnegut

August 11, 2012
Lou Harry
A new CD combines Kurt Vonnegut's voice with eclectic music with worthwhile results.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Vacationing at the Shaw Festival

August 4, 2012
Lou Harry
In Canada, a top-notch theater festival has been celebrating George Bernard Shaw and company for 50 years. Perfect for a vacation visit.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: On heroes and villains

July 28, 2012
Lou Harry
Subject of superheroes isn't as playful as it was a short time ago.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: When painters snap

July 21, 2012
Lou Harry
Indianapolis Museum of Art’s new ‘Snapshot’ exhibition examines the photography that inspired 7 artists. Plus, ‘Cabaret’ at the Athenaeum.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy International Film Fest favorites worth the weight

July 14, 2012
Lou Harry
A bodybuilder looking for love, high-wire walkers and super heroines are among my favorites at this year’s Indianapolis International Film Festival, set for July 19-29.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Gregory Hancock's 'Hunchback' is back

July 7, 2012
Lou Harry
Plus thoughts on ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hopelessly devoted to divas

June 30, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Idina Menzel, Linda Eder and Theatre on the Square's John Crawford musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Chicago second to none as theater town

June 23, 2012
Lou Harry
I love New York. But, frankly, there are more exciting offerings in the alleged "Second City"—including Lookingglass Theatre’s world-premiere “Eastland.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A little something new on the Prairie

June 16, 2012
Lou Harry
I’ve been taking my kids and their pals to Conner Prairie for 15 years. But the most recent visit was the first time they wanted to spend the whole time in Prairietown.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Myth-busting the Indy arts scene

June 9, 2012
Lou Harry
The food at Beef & Boards is pretty good, all Vonnegut movie adaptations are not awful, and Jennie DeVoe doesn't play at every local festival.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hot Wheels exhibition off track

June 2, 2012
Lou Harry
What you can’t do, alas, is the most fun thing about Hot Wheels: Create and test your own track layouts
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy Zoo's new 'Flights of Fancy' area soars

May 26, 2012
Lou Harry
What's new at the Zoo. Plus thoughts on "Forever Sung" and "Antigone."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In and out at the IMA

May 19, 2012
Lou Harry
Inside the Indianapolis Museum of Art, there's African art. Outside, there's "Oedipus at Colonus."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Special Oed

May 12, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on 'Oedipus Rex' on the grounds of the IMA, Indianapolis Opera's excellent 'Faust,' and more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Midwest vision quest

May 5, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on "Art from the Heartland," Mike Birbiglia and moonlighting by the "Avenue Q" puppets.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I never thought I'd see the day when a Republican Mayor would lead the charge in attempting to raise every tax we have to pay. Now it's income taxes and property taxes that Ballard wants to increase. And to pay for a pre-K program? Many studies have shown that pre-K offer no long-term educational benefits whatsoever. And Ballard is pitching it as a way of fighting crime? Who is he kidding? It's about government provided day care. It's a shame that we elected a Republican who has turned out to be a huge big spending, big taxing, big borrowing liberal Democrat.

  2. Why do we blame the unions? They did not create the 11 different school districts that are the root of the problem.

  3. I was just watching an AOW race from cleveland in 1997...in addition to the 65K for the race, there were more people in boats watching that race from the lake than were IndyCar fans watching the 2014 IndyCar season finale in the Fontana grandstands. Just sayin...That's some resurgence modern IndyCar has going. Almost profitable, nobody in the grandstands and TV ratings dropping 61% at some tracks in the series. Business model..."CRAZY" as said by a NASCAR track general manager. Yup, this thing is purring like a cat! Sponsors...send them your cash, pronto!!! LOL, not a chance.

  4. I'm sure Indiana is paradise for the wealthy and affluent, but what about the rest of us? Over the last 40 years, conservatives and the business elite have run this country (and state)into the ground. The pendulum will swing back as more moderate voters get tired of Reaganomics and regressive social policies. Add to that the wave of minority voters coming up in the next 10 to 15 years and things will get better. unfortunately we have to suffer through 10 more years of gerrymandered districts and dispropionate representation.

  5. Funny thing....rich people telling poor people how bad the other rich people are wanting to cut benefits/school etc and that they should vote for those rich people that just did it. Just saying..............

ADVERTISEMENT