Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: The art we leave behind

March 24, 2012
Lou Harry
At services for my daughter, there came an outpouring of support—much of it from the Indy arts community—that I can compare only to my first time looking out over the Grand Canyon.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Cycling through the Eiteljorg a delightful experience

March 17, 2012
Lou Harry
The Eiteljorg's "Steel Ponies" is a rare museum show that feels both surprisingly original and perfectly in line with its mission. Plus thoughts on Dan Barden's new novel and a must-see Sondheim revival in Cincy.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Parents behave badly in 'God of Carnage'

March 10, 2012
Lou Harry
Politics aren’t discussed much in Yasmina Reza’s “God of Carnage” (at the IRT through March 24). But after watching a performance, you might find yourself wondering how global superpowers—let alone political parties or religious groups—can possibly get along when the play’s two seemingly civilized couples can’t even have an 85-minute discussion without leaving emotional shrapnel everywhere.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: God, a monster and Michael

March 1, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Marian University's military 'Godspell,' the 'Phantom of the Opera' sequel 'Love Never Dies,' and Cirque du Soleil's Michael Jackson tribute.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Osage,' you must see

February 25, 2012
Lou Harry
Phoenix Theater offers Indiana premiere of "August: Osage County," a sprawling, brutally intimate epic both intensely personal and apocalyptic.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pleasures of 'Godspell' are in the details

February 18, 2012
Lou Harry
In Actors Theatre of Indiana's production, the apostles aren't blank slates to write on but, rather, people who have experienced life.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Downtown isn't just for Super Bowl week

February 11, 2012
Lou Harry
Dear Suburban Folks Who Rarely Come Downtown But Did for Super Bowl Activities ...
More

LOU'S VIEWS: This spud's for you

February 4, 2012
Lou Harry

The guy with the detachable eyes and a rear end built for storage is the subject of an interactive exhibition at The Children’s Museum

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Turf's up at downtown art showcase

January 28, 2012
Lou Harry
The art installation exhibition occupying old Indianapolis City Hall doesn't feel like it was created by committee.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City stages home to a trio of theatrical winners

January 21, 2012
Lou Harry
Indiana Repertory Theatre's "Radio Golf," the Phoenix's “Current Economic Conditions,” and Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra rely on character-driven shows.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Very different stages at Theatre on the Square

January 14, 2012
Lou Harry
Where else but TOTS can you choose between a porn musical and a hostage drama? Reviews of "Debbie Does Dallas" and Acting Up's "Two Rooms."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Walls of fame

January 7, 2012
Lou Harry

Have you picked your favorites from among the “46 for XLVI" murals? I have.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Jokes old but spirits high in B&B burlesque show

December 31, 2011
Lou Harry
Taking a break from the typical B&B fare, “Jack Milo’s Baggy Pants Burlesque” begins knowingly, with a wife dragging her husband to the theater.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Best in shows for 2011

December 24, 2011
Lou Harry
Highlights included the ISO's Opening Night Gala, Civic's "Drowsy Chaperone," and the opening of the Miller House.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indiana critics pick flicks for 2011

December 17, 2011
Lou Harry
Discussions of 'bests' in the arts are silly ... and fun. Here are my picks, and those of the Indiana Film Journalists Associations, for the best films of the year.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Yule have choices for holiday entertainment

December 10, 2011
Lou Harry
Looking for live holiday entertainment this season? How edgy do you want it? Thoughts on No Exit's 'The Nutcracker,' ISO's 'Yuletide Celebration,' and 'A Very Phoenix Xmas 6.'
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA shows are worlds apart

December 3, 2011
Lou Harry
Three shows at the Indianapolis Museum of Art display a wide range of artistic approaches.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Sandi Patty, Carrie Newcomer and more from the CD shelf

November 26, 2011
Lou Harry
Thanksgiving, for many, is road-trip time—which also makes it a good time to give a listen to the latest discs from Indiana performers. Here’s a stack I’ve taken pleasure in over the past month.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Biennial Eiteljorg show offers edgy art

November 19, 2011
Lou Harry
In an effort to lead the field in today's Native American art, the Eiteljorg celebrates five artists showcasing very recent work.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indianapolis Opera production takes wing

November 12, 2011
Lou Harry
Unfamiliarity breeds appreciation at intimate double bill: "A Water Bird Talk" and "Bon Appetit!" paired at Basile Opera Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Blood, spoof and fears

November 5, 2011
Lou Harry
Indiana Repertory Theatre, Actors Theatre of Indiana and newcomer Acting Up mix it up.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Adieu, Anderson

October 29, 2011
Lou Harry
Are we better off, as arts patrons, then we were five years or so ago when Maxwell Anderson joined the Indianapolis Museum of Art?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Exhibition on ice

October 22, 2011
Lou Harry
When I tell you the Indiana State Museum’s exhibition “The Endurance: Shackleton’s Legendary Antarctic Expedition” isn’t a tactile show, don’t let that turn you off.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: More flick picks from Heartland Film Fest

October 15, 2011
Lou Harry
An intense documentary, a romantic comedy, and even a horror film for your consideration.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: It takes a circus

October 15, 2011
-Lou Harry
A team of collegiate collaborators turns Cathy Day's acclaimed book into a stage musical
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Of what value is selling alcoholic beverages to State Fair patrons when there are many families with children attending. Is this the message we want to give children attending and participating in the Fair, another venue with alooholic consumption onsite. Is this to promote beer and wine production in the state which are great for the breweries and wineries, but where does this end up 10-15 years from now, lots more drinkers for the alcoholic contents. If these drinks are so important, why not remove the alcohol content and the flavor and drink itself similar to soft drinks would be the novelty, not the alcoholic content and its affects on the drinker. There is no social or material benefit from drinking alcoholic beverages, mostly people want to get slightly or highly drunk.

  2. I did;nt know anyone in Indiana could count- WHY did they NOT SAY just HOW this would be enforced? Because it WON;T! NOW- with that said- BIG BROTHER is ALIVE in this Article-why take any comment if it won't appease YOU PEOPLE- that's NOT American- with EVERYTHING you indicated is NOT said-I can see WHY it say's o Comments- YOU are COMMIES- BIG BROTHER and most likely- voted for Obama!

  3. In Europe there are schools for hairdressing but you don't get a license afterwards but you are required to assist in turkey and Italy its 7 years in japan it's 10 years England 2 so these people who assist know how to do hair their not just anybody and if your an owner and you hire someone with no experience then ur an idiot I've known stylist from different countries with no license but they are professional clean and safe they have no license but they have experience a license doesn't mean anything look at all the bad hairdressers in the world that have fried peoples hair okay but they have a license doesn't make them a professional at their job I think they should get rid of it because stateboard robs stylist and owners and they fine you for the dumbest f***ing things oh ur license isn't displayed 100$ oh ur wearing open toe shoes fine, oh there's ONE HAIR IN UR BRUSH that's a fine it's like really? So I think they need to go or ease up on their regulations because their too strict

  4. Exciting times in Carmel.

  5. Twenty years ago when we moved to Indy I was a stay at home mom and knew not very many people.WIBC was my family and friends for the most part. It was informative, civil, and humerous with Dave the KING. Terri, Jeff, Stever, Big Joe, Matt, Pat and Crumie. I loved them all, and they seemed to love each other. I didn't mind Greg Garrison, but I was not a Rush fan. NOW I can't stand Chicks and all their giggly opinions. Tony Katz is to abrasive that early in the morning(or really any time). I will tune in on Saturday morning for the usual fun and priceless information from Pat and Crumie, mornings it will be 90.1

ADVERTISEMENT