Arts reviews

LOU's VIEWS: Great game hunting at GenCon 2014

August 23, 2014
Lou Harry
GenCon has left behind a trail of games acquired by more than 56,000 attendees...including me. Here are my favorites, with options to please the game aficionado without scaring off the Apples to Apples crowd.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At the Cabaret, Karen Irwin’s Janis Joplin tribute transcends

August 2, 2014
Lou Harry
Sans wig, sans period costumes, sans impersonation, Irwin found the beauty in Joplin's not-pretty styling, filtering it through her own persona and sensibilities. What emerged was a show celebrating two artists
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Discovering a new festival—and new musicals—at Ball State

July 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Thanks to the Discovery New Musical Theatre Festival, an uphill climb for new tuners has gotten just a little bit easier. Not easy, mind you, just easier.
More

Q&A: Ron Spencer

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
After more than 250 productions, Theatre on the Square's executive artistic director exits with a look back.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy International Film Fest 2014 flick picks

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Favorites this year include harrowing drama, amoral comedy, intense historical doc, and much more. Festival begins July 17.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A bang and a whimper end two trilogies

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of the final volumes of Ben H. Winters' end-of-the-world detective series "The Last Policeman" and Walter Wangerin Jr.'s "Dun Cow" books.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein and company raise funds, pay tribute

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
The Feinstein initiative’s Great American Songbook Hall of Fame brings Johnny Mathis and Shirley Jones to the Palladium. Also honors Nat King Cole and Linda Ronstadt.
More

LOU's VIEWS: ‘Cock Fight’ turns Phoenix into barbed-wire arena

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
Minimal staging starkly contrasts with rich characters in "The Cock Fight Play." Local premiere runs through July 6.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Neo-Impressionist show impresses at IMA

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
They shimmer. And that's just the surface appeal of many of the works at this new exhibition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Welcome to the ape house

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
The zoo’s new orangutan house is ready for prime(mate) time. And visiting is addictive.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beef & Boards banks on Disney

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Disney destroyed Broadway. Disney saved Broadway. You hear both sides.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Glick glass exhibition at IMA shimmers with variety

May 17, 2014
Lou Harry
When Dale Chihuly’s work is among the least interesting pieces on display, you know you’ve got a strong glass art show. Such is the case with Indianapolis Museum of Art’s “Masters of Contemporary Glass: Highlights from the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Collection.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Children’s Museum brings 2,200-year-old statues to Indy

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
Terra Cotta Warriors make rare U.S. appearance. Chinese treasures were commissioned by the first emperor of China.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No mystery why IRT closes season with whodunit

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
Sure-footed and with no real desire to explore new territory, Ken Ludwig's 'The Game's Afoot,' grafts a fictional mystery onto a real-life actor.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harry Potter star leads a Broadway stunner—plus more from NY stages

April 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of "The Realistic Joneses," "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," "Les Miserables," and "Violet."
More

LOU's VIEWS: Print Newcomer pens poems, essays

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Since her first album in 1991, I’ve been listening to Carrie Newcomer sharing her musical reflections on the ordinary, lending her rich alto to songs less interested in stories than in moments.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eskenazi Hospital's healthy dose of art

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Here’s just a sampling of the work found in its halls, lobbies and waiting rooms, making a visit worthwhile even if you are in perfect health.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The Cabaret at 5

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
I’m not usually big on anniversary stories, but the fact that the Cabaret's creative gamble paid off—and that its first half-decade has brought so much pleasure—warrants a birthday shout out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dramatically different plays

March 22, 2014
The IRT's "Other Dessert Cities" and Acting Up's "A Streetcar Named Desire" demonstrate how casting choices influence a play's impact.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dance Kaleidoscope explores undiscovered country (& western)

March 15, 2014
Lou Harry
Even saddled with distracting costumes, DK shines in country show. Highlights include choreographer Cynthia Pratt's "If I Needed You."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two young companies brush up on Shakespeare

March 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of Eclectic Pond's "The Comedy of Errors" and IndyShakes/Wisdom Tooth's "The Winter's Tale."
More

TRY THIS: Sarah Urist Green's 'The Art Assignment'

March 1, 2014
On her new PBS online series, the former IMA contemporary art curator (and her best-selling author husband John Green) push creativity.
More

Lou's Views: Pictures perfect Ansel Adams

March 1, 2014
Lou Harry
Ansel Adams, celebrated in an Eiteljorg show, changed the landscape for photography.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying to ‘LOVE’ artist Robert Indiana

February 22, 2014
Lou Harry
"The Essential Robert Indiana," at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, offers guidance in understanding the challenging artist and his work.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Yes sir keep cashing those 300K a year checks direct to IMS, while millions disappear from the teams like Rahal's. Guess there wasn't enough ka- ching going around to keep Sarah Fisher in business without their "merger". LOL._____.Meanwhile back in Realville the series with the "best racing in the world" drew what appeared to be about 5000 live spectators ( and probably 1500 of those Target "freebies", and was beaten in the ratings by a series that reportedly consists of "parades" and aired while most people are still sleeping. That will generate those big ka-chings for sure. :-). But, hey, as long as the Speedway gets the cash who gives a damn about the teams?

  2. Welcome to PETERSON LOAN AGENCY Company (A Personalized Service for All Your Financial Needs) We, Liberal Investment Company Providers offers loan at a very low interest rate of 2%, we offer Personal loans, Debt Consolidation Loan, Venture Capital, Business Loan, Educational Loan, Home Loan, and Loan for any reason and urgent needs!. with a maximum duration of 30 years. Have you been turned down by your bank? Do you have bad credit? Do you have unpaid bills? Are you in debt? Do you need to set up a business? Worry no more as we are here to offer you a low interest loan. Our loan ranges from $5,000-USD (Five Thousand US dollars) to $50, 000,000.00.(Fifty Million US dollars). We also lend in USA DOLLARS EURO and POUNDS ! Fill in this form and forward it to our email: PETERSONLOANAGENCY@GMAIL.COM 1. Your Full names:_______ 2. Contact address:_______ 3. Country Of Residence:______ 4. Loan Amount Required:________ 5. Duration:_____ 6. Gender:_____ 7. Occupation:________ 8. Monthly Income:_______ 9. Date Of Birth:________ 10.Telephone Number:________ 11. Purpose of loan:_________ Yours In Service, MR PERRY, PETERSONLOANAGENCY@GMAIL.COM

  3. If I could actually get the prices...I would do this on my own. We need laws that force provides to publish the costs they will charge. Everyone else gives you the price in advance...except hospitals.

  4. I was under the impression that fencing is not allowed on a front yard and that on a corner, both sides are considered "front" yards, therefore can't be fenced without a variance. Also impedes the visibility for drivers at the intersection. Am I understanding this correctly? Might be why a fence was not included in the plans and a request for a variance will have to be made?.

  5. I was a big fan of Cowards and Carrots, which I got a chance to see at the show. It's currently on Kickstarter, but the designer also put out What's He Building in There last year, which got a fair amount of buzz.

ADVERTISEMENT