Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT triple play shows gentle side of Vonnegut

February 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Before he was a literary icon, Vonnegut was a struggling writer finding his voice through short stories. Three are woven together into the play "Who Am I This Time?"
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Caving in to 'Caveman' spear pressure

February 1, 2014
Lou Harry

I’ve been avoiding “Defending the Caveman” since the early 1990s, when Rob Becker’s one-man show still featured Rob Becker playing Rob Becker.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Sound scenic decisions highlight deafness drama 'Tribes'

January 25, 2014
Lou Harry
The most powerful moment, for me, in the acclaimed play at the Phoenix may have been accidental. And it happened when an actor got in my way.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: GershWin-Win as DK doubles up on classic American music

January 18, 2014
Lou Harry
In “American Rhapsody”, Dance Kaleidoscope paired a new take on “An American in Paris” with a revival of his 2006 “Rhapsody.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Funky furniture, slamming doors and more

January 11, 2014
Lou Harry
This week, I empty the notebook with thoughts on the IMA's contemporary galleries, a furniture show at the State Museum, a Beef &Boards farce and an ambitious new CD.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 50 years, 50 shows

January 4, 2014
Lou Harry
Broadway's "Ragtime," Butler's "Lamentations," and two Icemen among half a century of theater-going highlights
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lou Harry's year-end A&E bests

December 28, 2013
Lou Harry
The Eiteljorg Museum, the Indianapolis Museum of Art and the Children's Museum of Indianapolis all get props in IBJ art critic Lou Harry's recap of 2013.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hefty books weigh in on Columbus and Crown Hill

December 21, 2013
Lou Harry
Reinforced coffee-table legs might be required if you are giving these impressive Indiana-focused books
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Holiday Xtremes via ISO and NoExit

December 14, 2013
Lou Harry
Holiday offerings range from the pious to the perverse. A review, of sorts, of "Yuletide Celebration" with Sandi Patty and a twisted "Nutcracker"
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Farce the herald angels sing

December 7, 2013
Lou Harry
Holiday spirit, solid acting, and a great Christmas song, populate this year's installment of "A Very Phoenix Xmas."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No bones about it, State Museum mounts a mammoth show

November 30, 2013
Lou Harry
No bones about it, State Museum mounts a mammoth show. Thoughts on the exhibit that focuses on beasts that once roamed Indiana.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Life after ‘Wicked’: What to do once you’ve seen the blockbuster musical

November 23, 2013
Lou Harry
The national tour of “Wicked” continues to draw crowds to the Murat Theatre, where it runs through Dec. 1. If you’ve already seen it this time around, you might be wondering what to do now to maintain your Elphaba fix until the show flies back into town in a few years.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eiteljorg show is a go

November 16, 2013
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Eiteljorg's biennial contemporary art show. Plus reviews of ATI’s ‘Odd Couple’ and John Lithgow’s solo show.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: ‘How do you pick what you review?’

November 9, 2013
Lou Harry
"Don't you hate it when people disagree with your opinion?" …and other frequently asked questions.
More

LOU'S VIEW: A pair of trios with DK and the Phoenix

November 2, 2013
Lou Harry
Three choreographers make magic while three couples mine marital misery.
More

DINING: A biggie-size Yats is back on Mass Ave

November 2, 2013
Lou Harry
The menu is familiar, but the space is significantly expanded at Yats’ new Mass Ave digs.
More

LOU'S VIEWS/DINING: Studio Movie Grill makes reel changes to moviegoing experience

October 26, 2013
Lou Harry
Since it’s selling itself as both an entertainment venue and a dining spot, I thought I’d take its lead and combine my A&E and dining columns this week.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: On Matisse and Macheath

October 19, 2013
Lou Harry
The IMA offers a brilliantly colored blockbuster while the opera presents a shark with no teeth
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beef & Boards' 'Les Miz' is ready for its close up

October 12, 2013
Lou Harry
Experiencing the blockbuster from 12 feet from the stage, I appreciated it even more. And, no, I didn't steal any bread from the buffet.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In new novel, downsizing is the least of couple’s problems

October 5, 2013
Lou Harry
Strong writing, an interesting situation, and infuriating characters lead me uncertain how I feel about “Exiles,” the new novel by Butler University’s Allison Lynn.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indiana Repertory Theatre finds what's crucial in 'The Crucible'

September 28, 2013
Lou Harry
Plus season openering reviews for "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike" at the Phoenix and NoExit's "Big Bad Wolf."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At Eiteljorg show, honesty is the ‘West’ policy

September 21, 2013
Lou Harry
It would be foolish to go to the Eiteljorg Museum’s “Quest for the West” show (through Oct. 6) looking for surprises. This is, after all, an invitational show focused on pleasing collectors of conservative western art who, in Indy for the show’s opening, purchase most of what’s shown.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Civic Theatre's ‘Pippin’ lacks magic

September 14, 2013
Exceptional production values stand out from rest of an unfocused production. Fun added by brief 3D sequence.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Larger scope for Children's Museum's Playscape

September 7, 2013
Lou Harry
When an outstanding temporary exhibition opens, that’s cause for excitement. When a permanent exhibition gets an outstanding upgrade, that’s cause for celebration.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pigeon Forge on a roll with new ways to lure tourists

August 31, 2013
Lou Harry
In the Smokies, you can tumble down a hill in a Zorb, cheer on feuding lumberjacks, or take pictures with waxen Hollywood stars. And, of course, there's Dollywood.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I think the poster was being sarcastic and only posting or making fun of what is usually posted on here about anything being built in BR or d'town for that matter.

  2. Great news IRL fans: TURBO the IMS sanctioned movie about slugs running the Indy 500 has caught the Securities and Exchange Commission because Dreamworks had to take a $132MILLION write down...because the movie was such a flop. See, the Indy/IMS magic soiled another pair of drawers. Bwahahahahahaha! How's CARTOWN doing? HAHAHAHA...Indy is for losers.

  3. So disappointed in WIBC. This is the last straw to lose a good local morning program. I used to be able to rely on WIBC to give me good local information, news, weather and traffic on my 45 minute commute.Two incidents when I needed local, accurate information regarding severe weather were the first signs I could not now rely on WIBC. I work weekend 12 hour nights for a downtown hospital. This past winter when we had the worst snowfall in my 50 years of life, I came home on a Sunday morning, went to sleep (because I was to go back in Sunday night for another 12 hour shift), and woke up around 1 p.m. to a house with no electricity. I keep an old battery powered radio around and turned on WIBC to see what was going on with the winter storm and the roads and the power outage. Sigh. Only policital stuff. Not even a break in to update on the winter storm warning. The second weather incident occurred when I was driving home during a severe thunderstorm a few months ago. I had already gotten a call from my husband that a tornado warning was just southwest of where I had been. I turned to WIBC to find out what direction the storm was headed so I could figure out a route home, only to find Rush on the air, and again, no breaking away from this stupidity to give me information. Thank God for my phone, which gave me the warning that I was driving in an area where a tornado was seen. Thanks for nothing WIBC. Good luck to you, Steve! We need more of you and not the politics of hatred that WIBC wants to shove at us. Good thing I have Satellite radio.

  4. I read the retail roundup article and tried Burritos and Beers tonight. I'm glad I did, for the food was great. Fresh authentic Mexican food. Great seasoning on the carne asada. A must try!!! Thanks for sharing.

  5. John, unfortunately CTRWD wants to put the tank(s) right next to a nature preserve and at the southern entrance to Carmel off of Keystone. Not exactly the kind of message you want to send to residents and visitors (come see our tanks as you enter our city and we build stuff in nature preserves...

ADVERTISEMENT