Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying to ‘LOVE’ artist Robert Indiana

February 22, 2014
Lou Harry
"The Essential Robert Indiana," at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, offers guidance in understanding the challenging artist and his work.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IBJ A&E road trip heading for Canada

February 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Stratford Shakespeare Festival, Niagara Falls, and more are on the agenda. Hope you can join us.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT triple play shows gentle side of Vonnegut

February 8, 2014
Lou Harry
Before he was a literary icon, Vonnegut was a struggling writer finding his voice through short stories. Three are woven together into the play "Who Am I This Time?"
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Caving in to 'Caveman' spear pressure

February 1, 2014
Lou Harry

I’ve been avoiding “Defending the Caveman” since the early 1990s, when Rob Becker’s one-man show still featured Rob Becker playing Rob Becker.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Sound scenic decisions highlight deafness drama 'Tribes'

January 25, 2014
Lou Harry
The most powerful moment, for me, in the acclaimed play at the Phoenix may have been accidental. And it happened when an actor got in my way.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: GershWin-Win as DK doubles up on classic American music

January 18, 2014
Lou Harry
In “American Rhapsody”, Dance Kaleidoscope paired a new take on “An American in Paris” with a revival of his 2006 “Rhapsody.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Funky furniture, slamming doors and more

January 11, 2014
Lou Harry
This week, I empty the notebook with thoughts on the IMA's contemporary galleries, a furniture show at the State Museum, a Beef &Boards farce and an ambitious new CD.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 50 years, 50 shows

January 4, 2014
Lou Harry
Broadway's "Ragtime," Butler's "Lamentations," and two Icemen among half a century of theater-going highlights
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lou Harry's year-end A&E bests

December 28, 2013
Lou Harry
The Eiteljorg Museum, the Indianapolis Museum of Art and the Children's Museum of Indianapolis all get props in IBJ art critic Lou Harry's recap of 2013.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hefty books weigh in on Columbus and Crown Hill

December 21, 2013
Lou Harry
Reinforced coffee-table legs might be required if you are giving these impressive Indiana-focused books
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Holiday Xtremes via ISO and NoExit

December 14, 2013
Lou Harry
Holiday offerings range from the pious to the perverse. A review, of sorts, of "Yuletide Celebration" with Sandi Patty and a twisted "Nutcracker"
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Farce the herald angels sing

December 7, 2013
Lou Harry
Holiday spirit, solid acting, and a great Christmas song, populate this year's installment of "A Very Phoenix Xmas."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No bones about it, State Museum mounts a mammoth show

November 30, 2013
Lou Harry
No bones about it, State Museum mounts a mammoth show. Thoughts on the exhibit that focuses on beasts that once roamed Indiana.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Life after ‘Wicked’: What to do once you’ve seen the blockbuster musical

November 23, 2013
Lou Harry
The national tour of “Wicked” continues to draw crowds to the Murat Theatre, where it runs through Dec. 1. If you’ve already seen it this time around, you might be wondering what to do now to maintain your Elphaba fix until the show flies back into town in a few years.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eiteljorg show is a go

November 16, 2013
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Eiteljorg's biennial contemporary art show. Plus reviews of ATI’s ‘Odd Couple’ and John Lithgow’s solo show.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: ‘How do you pick what you review?’

November 9, 2013
Lou Harry
"Don't you hate it when people disagree with your opinion?" …and other frequently asked questions.
More

LOU'S VIEW: A pair of trios with DK and the Phoenix

November 2, 2013
Lou Harry
Three choreographers make magic while three couples mine marital misery.
More

DINING: A biggie-size Yats is back on Mass Ave

November 2, 2013
Lou Harry
The menu is familiar, but the space is significantly expanded at Yats’ new Mass Ave digs.
More

LOU'S VIEWS/DINING: Studio Movie Grill makes reel changes to moviegoing experience

October 26, 2013
Lou Harry
Since it’s selling itself as both an entertainment venue and a dining spot, I thought I’d take its lead and combine my A&E and dining columns this week.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: On Matisse and Macheath

October 19, 2013
Lou Harry
The IMA offers a brilliantly colored blockbuster while the opera presents a shark with no teeth
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beef & Boards' 'Les Miz' is ready for its close up

October 12, 2013
Lou Harry
Experiencing the blockbuster from 12 feet from the stage, I appreciated it even more. And, no, I didn't steal any bread from the buffet.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In new novel, downsizing is the least of couple’s problems

October 5, 2013
Lou Harry
Strong writing, an interesting situation, and infuriating characters lead me uncertain how I feel about “Exiles,” the new novel by Butler University’s Allison Lynn.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indiana Repertory Theatre finds what's crucial in 'The Crucible'

September 28, 2013
Lou Harry
Plus season openering reviews for "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike" at the Phoenix and NoExit's "Big Bad Wolf."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At Eiteljorg show, honesty is the ‘West’ policy

September 21, 2013
Lou Harry
It would be foolish to go to the Eiteljorg Museum’s “Quest for the West” show (through Oct. 6) looking for surprises. This is, after all, an invitational show focused on pleasing collectors of conservative western art who, in Indy for the show’s opening, purchase most of what’s shown.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Civic Theatre's ‘Pippin’ lacks magic

September 14, 2013
Exceptional production values stand out from rest of an unfocused production. Fun added by brief 3D sequence.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Why not take some time to do some research before traveling to that Indiana town or city, and find the ones that are no smoking either inside, or have a patio? People like yourself are just being selfish, and unnecessarily trying to take away all indoor venues that smokers can enjoy themselves at. Last time I checked, it is still a free country, and businesses do respond to market pressure and will ban smoking, if there's enough demand by customers for it(i.e. Linebacker Lounge in South Bend, and Rack and Helen's in New Haven, IN, outside of Fort Wayne). Indiana law already unnecessarily forced restaurants with a bar area to be no smoking, so why not support those restaurants that were forced to ban smoking against their will? Also, I'm always surprised at the number of bars that chose to ban smoking on their own, in non-ban parts of Indiana I'll sometimes travel into. Whiting, IN(just southeast of Chicago) has at least a few bars that went no smoking on their own accord, and despite no selfish government ban forcing those bars to make that move against their will! I'd much rather have a balance of both smoking and non-smoking bars, rather than a complete bar smoking ban that'll only force more bars to close their doors. And besides IMO, there are much worser things to worry about, than cigarette smoke inside a bar. If you feel a bar is too smoky, then simply walk out and take your business to a different bar!

  2. As other states are realizing the harm in jailing offenders of marijuana...Indiana steps backwards into the script of Reefer Madness. Well...you guys voted for your Gov...up to you to vote him out. Signed, Citizen of Florida...the next state to have medical marijuana.

  3. It's empowering for this niche community to know that they have an advocate on their side in case things go awry. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lrst9VXVKfE

  4. Apparently the settlement over Angie's List "bundling" charges hasn't stopped the practice! My membership is up for renewal, and I'm on my third email trying to get a "basic" membership rather than the "bundled" version they're trying to charge me for. Frustrating!!

  5. Well....as a vendor to both of these builders I guess I have the right to comment. Davis closed his doors with integrity.He paid me every penny he owed me. Estridge,STILL owes me thousands and thousands of dollars. The last few years of my life have been spent working 2 jobs, paying off the suppliers I used to work on Estridge jobs and just struggling to survive. Shame on you Paul...and shame on you IBJ! Maybe you should have contacted the hundreds of vendors that Paul stiffed. I'm sure your "rises from the ashes" spin on reporting would have contained true stories of real people who have struggled to find work and pay of their debts (something that Paul didn't even attempt to do).

ADVERTISEMENT