Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: A tour winds down while local talent gears up

January 9, 2010
Lou Harry
"The Color Purple" tour visits Clowes Hall while "New Beginnings" offers next-generation Broadway songs.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Love Letters' requires reading between the lines

January 2, 2010
Lou Harry
Indiana Repertory Theatre gives a rare, full staging of A.R. Gurney's epistolary play.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A ballet blockbuster tops 2009's list of favorites

December 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Here are the 10 offerings that I most enthusiastically recommended to friends and readers in the past year.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Merits of Barbie exhibit debatable

December 19, 2009
Lou Harry
IBJ Style columnist Gabrielle Poshadlo joins in to discuss the latest Children's Museum show.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Symphony's annual Yuletide show doesn't need Vegas dress-up

December 11, 2009
Lou Harry
When this year’s edition of “Yuletide Celebration” maintains its focus on the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, guest host Maureen McGovern and the tap-dancing Santas, it’s as comforting as the show has ever been.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Oh Christmas plays, oh Christmas plays

December 5, 2009
Lou Harry
Holiday season staples take the stages at the Indiana Repertory Theatre and the Phoenix Theatre.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Escape' artist Steve McQueen stars in new biography

November 28, 2009
Lou Harry
One of the first grown-up movies I attended on my own was “Papillon.” What drove my 10-year-old self to see this brutal 1973 escape film, I still don’t know. Also: Indianapolis Opera's production of "La Boheme."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A new attraction wants to drum up business

November 21, 2009
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Rhythm! Discovery Center and Bands of America.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lurie-ing arts audiences to downtown Carmel

November 14, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, thoughts on exhibitions at Evan Lurie Gallery in Carmel and a new revue at the Cabaret at the Connoisseur Room.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Teaching the ISO new tricks

November 7, 2009
Lou Harry
The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra combined magic and music with "Mysterioso."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A brave new preteen world at IRT

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the young adult best-seller "The Giver" is staged at the Indiana Repertory Theatre. Plus some thoughts on school field trips.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix show shipshape/Marxing time in Chicago

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
The Phoenix Theatre's "Shipwrecked!" and "Animal Crackers" at Chicago's Goodman Theatre offer two kinds of stage pleasures.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graven image conscious

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, Spanish artists explore the sacred and the IRT’s playwright-in-residence presents a haunted Abe Lincoln.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland fest's bests ... and the rest

October 10, 2009
Rebecca Berfanger, Lou Harry
We review this year's Heartland Film Festival offerings. Check back often as we add entries throughout the event, which starts Oct. 15.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Of 'Glee' they sing

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
Fox's musical high school comedy is generating buzz in the A&E world.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Searching for the best in Eiteljorg's West 'Quest'

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
This year's edition of the annual show and sale offers variations on familiar themes.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City Ballet off to stunning start

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The would-be Indianapolis City Ballet raised the bar high with a star-studded gala that brought together some of the top young dancers in the world.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A strong 'Wind' in Bloomington

September 12, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, three plays add up to a terrific start for the central Indiana performing arts season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 7&7 + B&B = remarkable footwork

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It might make some top 10 movie musicals lists, but it’s unlikely that “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers” is on anyone’s list of favorite stage musicals. Which is why Beef & Boards Dinner Theatre’s current production of the show (running through Oct. 4) is so remarkable.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Quality time on the Fringe

August 28, 2009
Lou Harry
By definition, the non-juried IndyFringe festival has a crapshoot quality. My advice to new Fringe-goers is usually to go to at least three shows and be fully prepared to hate at least one of them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying out the games of Gen Con

August 24, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, reviews of new games found at Gen Con and a nostalgic misfire from Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Pump Boys,' the IMA's 'Memory Cloud,' and Tarantino's latest

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
A musical returns with local cast intact, new lobby artwork at the IMA invites revisits, and Tarantino's new WWII movie disappoints.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Leguizamo tries out Indy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, a film and theater star uses Indianapolis as a test market, Shakespeare holds a rain-soaked mob, and a somber ISO plows through a Beatles afternoon.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In 'Smoke on the Mountain,' Sanders family shines

August 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, more smoke on the same mountain at Beef & Boards and time going slowly at the Phoenix.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Thrill parks offer rides of our lives

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, three of my fellow IBJ scribes join me in picking our favorite area amusement park rides
More
Page  << 11 12 13 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT