Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Abe Lincoln is back at Spencer County theater

July 20, 2009
Lou Harry
After I discovered it one summer, Lincoln Amphitheatre quickly became one of my favorite theaters in the state. Nestled in a state park in Spencer County, the covered-but-still-outdoor theater’s anchoring attraction was a show about young Abraham Lincoln, who spent his formative years just yards away.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Here's the best from International Film Fest

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This year’s Indianapolis International Film Festival gets rolling later this usual, with a bump to summer precipitated in part by the moving on of its founder to the Nashville Film Festival and in part by the move of most of the fest (minus parties) to the Indianapolis Museum of Art. We’ve spent the last few weeks reviewing most of the features in competition.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Breaking with the past at Tut show

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
I entered "Tutankhamun: The Golden King and the Great Pharoahs" (at the Children's Museum of Indianapolis through Oct. 25) with a limited knowledge of Egyptian history—and by limited, I mean loose threads picked up from a handful of Mummy movies, the Bible, and a few too many productions of "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Must-sea Phoenix drama

June 27, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, catching "Octopus" at the Phoenix and opening night on the Prairie.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie balloon ride marred by corporate logosRestricted Content

June 15, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, balloons take visitors into Conner Prairie airspace, a wizard to and from Oz, and a grieving curmudgeon to animated adventures.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT's 'Interpreting William' needs rewriting

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, William Conner on stage at the IRT and another chorus of  "Tomorrow," courtesy of Beef & Boards.
More

IMA, $3 Bill, symphony and opera deliver drama, comedy, fine music

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, challenging work at the IMA, an impressive operatic collaboration, and laugh-out-loud silliness.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rickey's sculptures, Phoenix's 'Zoomerville' advance Indy's art reputation

May 18, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, art in the wind and an original musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rate expectations ... reviewing without stars

May 11, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two community theater productions reinforce my decision not to give "star" ratings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Booking art on the library's pedestals

May 4, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, new artwork in front of the Central Library, and a Pulitzer-winning play at IRT.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two ambitious shows yield mixed results

April 20, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two ambitious shows—a new musical at Beef & Boards and magic realism at the Phoenix
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's artbabble.org offers visual art videos

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an online visit with a new Indianapolis Museum of Art, plus a local take on "Forbidden Broadway."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Come (back) to the Cabaret

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the reborn American Cabaret Theatre and a symphonic circus draw packed houses.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Block party at the Children's Museum

March 30, 2009
Lou Harry
At the Children's Museum of Indianapolis, I spent quality time at "Lego Castle Adventure," which features impressively massive Lego sculptures, a dress-up area, some instructional sessions on castle construction and lots of tables and lego pieces for building.
More

'Pirates' anchored by strong performances

March 23, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, pirates take over Indianapolis Opera, and a trio of plays isn't the half of it at the Humana Festival of New American Plays.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At IMA, the shape of things that came

March 16, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the IMA celebrates design, the IRT attempts a rewritten French farce, and the Phoenix puts its stamp on "Mauritius."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indianapolis Art Center turns the familiar into new art

March 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, familiar objects take on new looks and meaning at the Indianapolis Art Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Crimes' at the IRT

February 23, 2009
Lou Harry
For a terrific example of an adaptation that works, go no further than the Indiana Repertory Theatre and see...
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hahn for the record books

February 16, 2009
Lou Harry

This week, emptying the notebook on recent work at the ISO, the Phoenix and the IRT.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Kondrat gives inspired performance in 'Menagerie' spoof

February 9, 2009
Lou Harry
Playwright Christopher Durang can deliver hilarious results, but in the case of InterAction Theatre's "Durang-O-Rama," he disappoints the audience with too much outrageous, exhausting behavior.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A trio of terrific leading ladies in NYC theater

February 2, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an ogre's beloved, a troubled and troubling mother, and a cad's catch highlight a sampling of the current Broadway season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A fun Xscape to Lafayette Square

January 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Ever since Xscape took over a sizable chunk of Lafayette Square Mall late last year, I've heard speculation about what goes on behind its walls.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: New comedy group carries a big schtick

January 19, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, the debut of sketch comedy group Three Dollar Bills, a good enough bedroom farce, dancing to the Beatles, and a word about "Happy Days: A New Musical."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Harrison showcases recent additions to the Overman oeuvre

January 12, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, great characters pop off the wall at the Harrison Center, the audience upstages the Civic cast, and a fledgling company fumbles.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA acquires 50 head-scratching works

January 5, 2009
Lou Harry
"My 6-year-old could do that." Stand around the Indianapolis Museum of Art's Forefront Gallery long enough and you are likely to hear some variation on that contemporary-art-bashing cliche.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Here are a few candidates for this new group, "ripped from the headlines." First up, that bizzaro State Senator Brent Waltz; secondly, the unethical Todd Huston, and his contractual arrangements scheme; Finally, but not least of all, the dishonorable Eric Turner. What sayeth you Greg Zoeller?

  2. Good day. I can't hide this great testimony that take place in my life I will love everyone to know it and be partaker that is why I always place it on answer, I am Mrs,Natalie Cuttaia by name, I live in Texas, United State Of America, I want to thank (Mr.Bruce Brandon) for his kindness upon my family life. I never knew that there is still nice lender like this on internet and earth here. Just some Months Back, I was in search for a loan of $100,000,00 as I was running out of money for feeding and rent. I was scammed $6,800 Dollars and I decided not to involve my self in such business again but a Friend of my introduced me to a loan firm due to my appearance and doings. And I told him that I am not interested of any loan deal anymore but he told me that there is still a nice lender who he will recommend me to, and I made a trial and I am most grateful lucky am I today, I was given a loan amount of $100,000.00usd, by this great Company (Bruce Brandon Loan Company) managed by (Mr.Bruce Brandon) If you are in need of a genuine or legit loan or financial assistance and you can be reliable and trusted of capable of paying back at the due time of the funds I will advice you to, contact him via: ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com ) And you will be free from scams in the internet. All thanks to Mr.Bruce Brandon You are the one who remove me and my family out of poverty. The reason why i am doing this is that, i promise Mr.Bruce Brandon that if i truly got my loan, i will advertize his company and bring customers to his company. Contact him via ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com )for the Loan you have been looking for..

  3. Hello, We are firm Organization formed to help people in needs of helps,such as financial help. So if you are going through financial difficulty or you are in any financial mess,and you need funds to start up your own business,or you need loan to settle your debt or pay off your bills,start a nice business, or you are finding it hard to obtain capital loan from local banks,contact us today via email mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com So do not let these opportunity pass you by because Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever more. Please these is for serious minded and God fearing People. Your Name: Loan Amount: Loan Duration: Valid Cell Phone Number: Thanks for your understanding to your contact as we Await Regards Management Email:mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com

  4. The question is, where could they build a new stadium? It seems in the past year, all the prime spots have been spoken for with potential projects. Maybe in the industrial wasteland area a block past Lucas Oil? I think it needs to be close to the core, if a new stadium is built.

  5. Aldi is generally a great shopping experience. Still, I'm sure YOU wouldn't want to shop there, which I consider a positive.

ADVERTISEMENT