Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Rock solid ‘American Idiot’ works for more than just Green Day fans

April 6, 2013
Lou Harry
Angst-ridden musical a highlight of the Broadway in Indianapolis season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A critical mass of theater critics descend on Indy

March 30, 2013
Lou Harry
A pack of conferencing critics had their eyes opened to Indy’s arts pleasures. In turn, they opened my eyes to some things I shouldn’t take for granted.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Catching up with a kaleidoscope of reviews

March 23, 2013
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the latest from DK, Acting Up, and an American Pianists Association fellow.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The critics are coming … the critics are coming

March 16, 2013
Lou Harry
Journalists from San Francisco to D.C. and from New Haven to New Orleans descend on Indy for a first-ever critical mass of theater.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eiteljorg shows how the West was strummed

March 9, 2013
Lou Harry
While I could look at most of the instruments on display at the new “Guitars: Roundups to Rockers” exhibition at the Eiteljorg with cool detachment, Woody Guthrie’s Martin 000-18 acoustic guitar stopped me.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Barging in

March 2, 2013
Lou Harry
IU fills a spot in Indianapolis Opera’s schedule with Philip Glass’ challenging “Akhnaten.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lincoln exhibit highlights presidential precedents

February 23, 2013
Lou Harry
It’s the fringes where those of us not steeped in Lincoln lore might find the freshest material.
More

IBJ A&E ROAD TRIP: Heading to Chicago for some ‘Big Fish’

February 16, 2013
Lou Harry
The latest IBJ A&E road trip features a world premiere, heading-for-Broadway musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Making it up for 20 years

February 16, 2013
Lou Harry
At an awards-show parodying gala, ComedySportz celebrated two decades of spontaneous laugh-making.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Say it isn't so, Diane

February 9, 2013
Lou Harry
When a region stands to lose one of its finest actresses, a critic can't be too proud to beg
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Team playing from ensemble highlights IRT's 'Night Music'

February 2, 2013
Lou Harry
Opera star Sylvia McNair offers subtle take on "Send in the Clowns."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Copy that

January 26, 2013
Lou Harry
By letting it be, The Fab Faux honors the music of the Beatles
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hoosier writers' novels transcend novelty

January 19, 2013
Lou Harry
Recently, I dug into the books of three Indiana writers who beat the odds.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pictures perfect at the Eiteljorg show

January 12, 2013
Lou Harry
Whether in a dog-eared magazine or on the gallery walls of the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art, the photography from National Geographic magazine continues to stun.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'The Book of Mormon' and shock values

January 5, 2013
Lou Harry
Language and content aren't the only thing shocking about the hit musical, now playing in Chicago.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 2012 A&E favorites

December 28, 2012
Lou Harry
With so much to choose from, it's impossible to say what was best. Instead, here are some of my favorites of the year.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Beasts' among movie bests

December 22, 2012
Lou Harry
Unlike similar lists for the live arts, movie top 10 lists tend to generate more push-back. That’s because audiences have greater opportunity to see the work for themselves and formulate their own opinions.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graphite the power

December 15, 2012
Lou Harry
The Indianapolis Museum of Art proves that the mineral isn't just for pencils. Plus new shows at the Indianapolis Art Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Three long-running holiday shows offer degrees of variation

December 8, 2012
Lou Harry
Tradition, by definition, involves familiarity. And three of the top Indy on-stage holiday offerings embrace tradition in their own way.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dean demystified

December 1, 2012
Lou Harry
A new show at the Indiana State Museum includes memorabilia, film clips and more from the legendary James Dean.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Not your average movie book

November 24, 2012
Lou Harry
Lou Harry is on vacation this week. In lieu of his regular column, here’s an excerpt from his new e-book, “The Movie Uncyclopedia: Everything You Think You Know About Movies is Wrong, Wrong, Wrong.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art centers focus more on creating than on creation

November 17, 2012
Lou Harry
In this week of Thanksgiving, I’d like to focus on places more centered on the creating than the creations and more about community than about artistic results.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: God is in the details

November 10, 2012
Lou Harry
At the IMA, an Islamic art show holds glorious surprises.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Michael Feinstein shines in book on the brothers Gershwin

November 3, 2012
Lou Harry
For me, the highlights of any Michael Feinstein concert come in between the numbers, when the cabaret and concert star—and artistic director of the Center for the Performing Arts—shares anecdotes and insight about the composer and lyricists who crafted the tunes. His storytelling style translates nicely to the printed page.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art + theater made for memorable road trip

October 27, 2012
Lou Harry
George Seurat’s painting “A Sunday on La Grande Jatte—1884” provided the inspiration for the musical “Sunday in the Park with George.” For an Oct. 20 visit to both the painting and the musical, I was in the company of 35 participants in the first IBJ A&E Road Trip, an exercise in arts connectivity.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT