Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Rock solid ‘American Idiot’ works for more than just Green Day fans

April 6, 2013
Lou Harry
Angst-ridden musical a highlight of the Broadway in Indianapolis season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A critical mass of theater critics descend on Indy

March 30, 2013
Lou Harry
A pack of conferencing critics had their eyes opened to Indy’s arts pleasures. In turn, they opened my eyes to some things I shouldn’t take for granted.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Catching up with a kaleidoscope of reviews

March 23, 2013
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the latest from DK, Acting Up, and an American Pianists Association fellow.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The critics are coming … the critics are coming

March 16, 2013
Lou Harry
Journalists from San Francisco to D.C. and from New Haven to New Orleans descend on Indy for a first-ever critical mass of theater.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eiteljorg shows how the West was strummed

March 9, 2013
Lou Harry
While I could look at most of the instruments on display at the new “Guitars: Roundups to Rockers” exhibition at the Eiteljorg with cool detachment, Woody Guthrie’s Martin 000-18 acoustic guitar stopped me.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Barging in

March 2, 2013
Lou Harry
IU fills a spot in Indianapolis Opera’s schedule with Philip Glass’ challenging “Akhnaten.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lincoln exhibit highlights presidential precedents

February 23, 2013
Lou Harry
It’s the fringes where those of us not steeped in Lincoln lore might find the freshest material.
More

IBJ A&E ROAD TRIP: Heading to Chicago for some ‘Big Fish’

February 16, 2013
Lou Harry
The latest IBJ A&E road trip features a world premiere, heading-for-Broadway musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Making it up for 20 years

February 16, 2013
Lou Harry
At an awards-show parodying gala, ComedySportz celebrated two decades of spontaneous laugh-making.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Say it isn't so, Diane

February 9, 2013
Lou Harry
When a region stands to lose one of its finest actresses, a critic can't be too proud to beg
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Team playing from ensemble highlights IRT's 'Night Music'

February 2, 2013
Lou Harry
Opera star Sylvia McNair offers subtle take on "Send in the Clowns."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Copy that

January 26, 2013
Lou Harry
By letting it be, The Fab Faux honors the music of the Beatles
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hoosier writers' novels transcend novelty

January 19, 2013
Lou Harry
Recently, I dug into the books of three Indiana writers who beat the odds.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pictures perfect at the Eiteljorg show

January 12, 2013
Lou Harry
Whether in a dog-eared magazine or on the gallery walls of the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art, the photography from National Geographic magazine continues to stun.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'The Book of Mormon' and shock values

January 5, 2013
Lou Harry
Language and content aren't the only thing shocking about the hit musical, now playing in Chicago.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 2012 A&E favorites

December 28, 2012
Lou Harry
With so much to choose from, it's impossible to say what was best. Instead, here are some of my favorites of the year.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Beasts' among movie bests

December 22, 2012
Lou Harry
Unlike similar lists for the live arts, movie top 10 lists tend to generate more push-back. That’s because audiences have greater opportunity to see the work for themselves and formulate their own opinions.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graphite the power

December 15, 2012
Lou Harry
The Indianapolis Museum of Art proves that the mineral isn't just for pencils. Plus new shows at the Indianapolis Art Center.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Three long-running holiday shows offer degrees of variation

December 8, 2012
Lou Harry
Tradition, by definition, involves familiarity. And three of the top Indy on-stage holiday offerings embrace tradition in their own way.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dean demystified

December 1, 2012
Lou Harry
A new show at the Indiana State Museum includes memorabilia, film clips and more from the legendary James Dean.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Not your average movie book

November 24, 2012
Lou Harry
Lou Harry is on vacation this week. In lieu of his regular column, here’s an excerpt from his new e-book, “The Movie Uncyclopedia: Everything You Think You Know About Movies is Wrong, Wrong, Wrong.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art centers focus more on creating than on creation

November 17, 2012
Lou Harry
In this week of Thanksgiving, I’d like to focus on places more centered on the creating than the creations and more about community than about artistic results.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: God is in the details

November 10, 2012
Lou Harry
At the IMA, an Islamic art show holds glorious surprises.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Michael Feinstein shines in book on the brothers Gershwin

November 3, 2012
Lou Harry
For me, the highlights of any Michael Feinstein concert come in between the numbers, when the cabaret and concert star—and artistic director of the Center for the Performing Arts—shares anecdotes and insight about the composer and lyricists who crafted the tunes. His storytelling style translates nicely to the printed page.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art + theater made for memorable road trip

October 27, 2012
Lou Harry
George Seurat’s painting “A Sunday on La Grande Jatte—1884” provided the inspiration for the musical “Sunday in the Park with George.” For an Oct. 20 visit to both the painting and the musical, I was in the company of 35 participants in the first IBJ A&E Road Trip, an exercise in arts connectivity.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Here are a few candidates for this new group, "ripped from the headlines." First up, that bizzaro State Senator Brent Waltz; secondly, the unethical Todd Huston, and his contractual arrangements scheme; Finally, but not least of all, the dishonorable Eric Turner. What sayeth you Greg Zoeller?

  2. Good day. I can't hide this great testimony that take place in my life I will love everyone to know it and be partaker that is why I always place it on answer, I am Mrs,Natalie Cuttaia by name, I live in Texas, United State Of America, I want to thank (Mr.Bruce Brandon) for his kindness upon my family life. I never knew that there is still nice lender like this on internet and earth here. Just some Months Back, I was in search for a loan of $100,000,00 as I was running out of money for feeding and rent. I was scammed $6,800 Dollars and I decided not to involve my self in such business again but a Friend of my introduced me to a loan firm due to my appearance and doings. And I told him that I am not interested of any loan deal anymore but he told me that there is still a nice lender who he will recommend me to, and I made a trial and I am most grateful lucky am I today, I was given a loan amount of $100,000.00usd, by this great Company (Bruce Brandon Loan Company) managed by (Mr.Bruce Brandon) If you are in need of a genuine or legit loan or financial assistance and you can be reliable and trusted of capable of paying back at the due time of the funds I will advice you to, contact him via: ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com ) And you will be free from scams in the internet. All thanks to Mr.Bruce Brandon You are the one who remove me and my family out of poverty. The reason why i am doing this is that, i promise Mr.Bruce Brandon that if i truly got my loan, i will advertize his company and bring customers to his company. Contact him via ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com )for the Loan you have been looking for..

  3. Hello, We are firm Organization formed to help people in needs of helps,such as financial help. So if you are going through financial difficulty or you are in any financial mess,and you need funds to start up your own business,or you need loan to settle your debt or pay off your bills,start a nice business, or you are finding it hard to obtain capital loan from local banks,contact us today via email mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com So do not let these opportunity pass you by because Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever more. Please these is for serious minded and God fearing People. Your Name: Loan Amount: Loan Duration: Valid Cell Phone Number: Thanks for your understanding to your contact as we Await Regards Management Email:mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com

  4. The question is, where could they build a new stadium? It seems in the past year, all the prime spots have been spoken for with potential projects. Maybe in the industrial wasteland area a block past Lucas Oil? I think it needs to be close to the core, if a new stadium is built.

  5. Aldi is generally a great shopping experience. Still, I'm sure YOU wouldn't want to shop there, which I consider a positive.

ADVERTISEMENT