Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Wicked Workshop' works across generations

October 20, 2012
Lou Harry
My take on the Children's Museum attraction, plus generation-jumping thoughts on Jonathan Groff at the Cabaret and DK’s Beatles celebration.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Picks from the Heartland

October 13, 2012
Lou Harry
Strong films at the upcoming Heartland Film Festival include a coming-of-age story and a documentary about dancing trucks. Among my favorites: "Starry, Starry Night."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix continues to rise

October 6, 2012
Lou Harry
New experiences are still what's important to the 30-year-old theater.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lessons from Lotus

September 29, 2012
Lou Harry
With all the acts off to their next gigs, this space is better used discussing what we could learn from the Bloomington fest
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Demonstrating nobility (and lack thereof)

September 22, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on "Best of the West" at the Eiteljorg and NoExit Performance's "Closer."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Both sides now

September 15, 2012
Lou Harry
A trio of Indy theater productions looks at the good in the bad and the bad in the good
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Treetop adventure at Eagle Creek Park

September 8, 2012
Lou Harry
The new Go Ape course is an outstanding excuse to revisit Eagle Creek Park, one of the country's largest municipal parks.
More

A&E SEASON PREVIEW: Critically selected highlights

September 1, 2012
A highly selective, very subjective guide to the most promising arts and entertainment events on the way in the 2012-13 season.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Notes from Indy Fringe

September 1, 2012
Lou Harry
One of the most striking things for me this year was the lack of "must miss" shows.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Big game hunting at GenCon

August 25, 2012
Lou Harry
Break out of the Monopoly/Scrabble rut with these new games
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two fledgling arts companies take the stage

August 18, 2012
Lou Harry
Initial productions by Indianapolis Urban Theater and Dance Company and Vagabonds' Bridge Theatre Company inspire hope for the future.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Studio Vonnegut

August 11, 2012
Lou Harry
A new CD combines Kurt Vonnegut's voice with eclectic music with worthwhile results.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Vacationing at the Shaw Festival

August 4, 2012
Lou Harry
In Canada, a top-notch theater festival has been celebrating George Bernard Shaw and company for 50 years. Perfect for a vacation visit.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: On heroes and villains

July 28, 2012
Lou Harry
Subject of superheroes isn't as playful as it was a short time ago.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: When painters snap

July 21, 2012
Lou Harry
Indianapolis Museum of Art’s new ‘Snapshot’ exhibition examines the photography that inspired 7 artists. Plus, ‘Cabaret’ at the Athenaeum.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy International Film Fest favorites worth the weight

July 14, 2012
Lou Harry
A bodybuilder looking for love, high-wire walkers and super heroines are among my favorites at this year’s Indianapolis International Film Festival, set for July 19-29.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Gregory Hancock's 'Hunchback' is back

July 7, 2012
Lou Harry
Plus thoughts on ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hopelessly devoted to divas

June 30, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Idina Menzel, Linda Eder and Theatre on the Square's John Crawford musical.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Chicago second to none as theater town

June 23, 2012
Lou Harry
I love New York. But, frankly, there are more exciting offerings in the alleged "Second City"—including Lookingglass Theatre’s world-premiere “Eastland.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A little something new on the Prairie

June 16, 2012
Lou Harry
I’ve been taking my kids and their pals to Conner Prairie for 15 years. But the most recent visit was the first time they wanted to spend the whole time in Prairietown.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Myth-busting the Indy arts scene

June 9, 2012
Lou Harry
The food at Beef & Boards is pretty good, all Vonnegut movie adaptations are not awful, and Jennie DeVoe doesn't play at every local festival.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Hot Wheels exhibition off track

June 2, 2012
Lou Harry
What you can’t do, alas, is the most fun thing about Hot Wheels: Create and test your own track layouts
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy Zoo's new 'Flights of Fancy' area soars

May 26, 2012
Lou Harry
What's new at the Zoo. Plus thoughts on "Forever Sung" and "Antigone."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In and out at the IMA

May 19, 2012
Lou Harry
Inside the Indianapolis Museum of Art, there's African art. Outside, there's "Oedipus at Colonus."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Special Oed

May 12, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on 'Oedipus Rex' on the grounds of the IMA, Indianapolis Opera's excellent 'Faust,' and more.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT