Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Midwest vision quest

May 5, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on "Art from the Heartland," Mike Birbiglia and moonlighting by the "Avenue Q" puppets.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No great Shakes

April 28, 2012
Lou Harry
It shouldn’t come as much of a surprise that, with limited resources, IUPUI’s Hoosier Bard Productions doesn’t make a masterpiece out of the most obscure of Shakespeare’s plays—one that may not even be Shakespeare’s play at all. To be sure, “The History of Cardenio” is an oddity.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Broadway beyond musicals

April 21, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on 'One Man, Two Guvnors,' 'Other Desert Cities,' 'Peter and the Starcatcher' and more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Live on Broadway it's ... Larry Bird?

April 14, 2012
Lou Harry
Often stilted, often hokey, and just as often charming, “Magic/Bird” is a Broadway oddball—a biographical drama without romance and without family conflict, but with an ample supply of game clips and a very mobile backboard.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Urban etchings reveal treasures

April 7, 2012
Lou Harry
This week: a small but strong show at the IMA, plus thoughts on the Humana Festival, A&E road trips, and some Disney magic.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Early Noel Coward play suddenly back in vogue

March 31, 2012
Lou Harry
"Fallen Angels” concerns a pair of London gal pals who have in common marriages in need of spark and a past hot-and-heavy relationship with the same man.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The art we leave behind

March 24, 2012
Lou Harry
At services for my daughter, there came an outpouring of support—much of it from the Indy arts community—that I can compare only to my first time looking out over the Grand Canyon.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Cycling through the Eiteljorg a delightful experience

March 17, 2012
Lou Harry
The Eiteljorg's "Steel Ponies" is a rare museum show that feels both surprisingly original and perfectly in line with its mission. Plus thoughts on Dan Barden's new novel and a must-see Sondheim revival in Cincy.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Parents behave badly in 'God of Carnage'

March 10, 2012
Lou Harry
Politics aren’t discussed much in Yasmina Reza’s “God of Carnage” (at the IRT through March 24). But after watching a performance, you might find yourself wondering how global superpowers—let alone political parties or religious groups—can possibly get along when the play’s two seemingly civilized couples can’t even have an 85-minute discussion without leaving emotional shrapnel everywhere.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: God, a monster and Michael

March 1, 2012
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Marian University's military 'Godspell,' the 'Phantom of the Opera' sequel 'Love Never Dies,' and Cirque du Soleil's Michael Jackson tribute.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Osage,' you must see

February 25, 2012
Lou Harry
Phoenix Theater offers Indiana premiere of "August: Osage County," a sprawling, brutally intimate epic both intensely personal and apocalyptic.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pleasures of 'Godspell' are in the details

February 18, 2012
Lou Harry
In Actors Theatre of Indiana's production, the apostles aren't blank slates to write on but, rather, people who have experienced life.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Downtown isn't just for Super Bowl week

February 11, 2012
Lou Harry
Dear Suburban Folks Who Rarely Come Downtown But Did for Super Bowl Activities ...
More

LOU'S VIEWS: This spud's for you

February 4, 2012
Lou Harry

The guy with the detachable eyes and a rear end built for storage is the subject of an interactive exhibition at The Children’s Museum

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Turf's up at downtown art showcase

January 28, 2012
Lou Harry
The art installation exhibition occupying old Indianapolis City Hall doesn't feel like it was created by committee.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City stages home to a trio of theatrical winners

January 21, 2012
Lou Harry
Indiana Repertory Theatre's "Radio Golf," the Phoenix's “Current Economic Conditions,” and Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra rely on character-driven shows.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Very different stages at Theatre on the Square

January 14, 2012
Lou Harry
Where else but TOTS can you choose between a porn musical and a hostage drama? Reviews of "Debbie Does Dallas" and Acting Up's "Two Rooms."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Walls of fame

January 7, 2012
Lou Harry

Have you picked your favorites from among the “46 for XLVI" murals? I have.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Jokes old but spirits high in B&B burlesque show

December 31, 2011
Lou Harry
Taking a break from the typical B&B fare, “Jack Milo’s Baggy Pants Burlesque” begins knowingly, with a wife dragging her husband to the theater.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Best in shows for 2011

December 24, 2011
Lou Harry
Highlights included the ISO's Opening Night Gala, Civic's "Drowsy Chaperone," and the opening of the Miller House.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indiana critics pick flicks for 2011

December 17, 2011
Lou Harry
Discussions of 'bests' in the arts are silly ... and fun. Here are my picks, and those of the Indiana Film Journalists Associations, for the best films of the year.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Yule have choices for holiday entertainment

December 10, 2011
Lou Harry
Looking for live holiday entertainment this season? How edgy do you want it? Thoughts on No Exit's 'The Nutcracker,' ISO's 'Yuletide Celebration,' and 'A Very Phoenix Xmas 6.'
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA shows are worlds apart

December 3, 2011
Lou Harry
Three shows at the Indianapolis Museum of Art display a wide range of artistic approaches.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Sandi Patty, Carrie Newcomer and more from the CD shelf

November 26, 2011
Lou Harry
Thanksgiving, for many, is road-trip time—which also makes it a good time to give a listen to the latest discs from Indiana performers. Here’s a stack I’ve taken pleasure in over the past month.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Biennial Eiteljorg show offers edgy art

November 19, 2011
Lou Harry
In an effort to lead the field in today's Native American art, the Eiteljorg celebrates five artists showcasing very recent work.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT