Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland Film Fest starter set

October 8, 2011
Lou Harry
Having trouble picking from the more than 100 films at this year's event? Try these critic's picks.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Productions, written 100 years apart, explore teen sex

October 1, 2011
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Phoenix Theatre's "Spring Awakening" and Indianapolis Opera's "Madama Butterfly."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Urbanski renewal for Indianapolis Symphony

September 24, 2011
Lou Harry
A new maestro sparks the ISO, plus thoughts on Indiana Repertory Theatre's "Dracula" and Beef &Boards' "Singin' in the Rain."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The 2011/2012 arts season begins ...

September 17, 2011
Lou Harry
Indianapolis City Ballet's "Evening with the Stars" and Civic's "The Drowsy Chaperone" get things off to a great start.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Verse comes to verse

September 10, 2011
Lou Harry
Indiana-connected poets fill new book from Indiana Historical Society Press.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Right actors, right material can make theatrical magic

September 3, 2011
Lou Harry
The HART/Butler production of "The Exonerated" didn't need costumes or sets to deliver solid drama.
More

A&E SEASON PREVIEW: Critically selected highlightsRestricted Content

September 3, 2011
Lou Harry
From Earth Wind and Fire to Ernest Shackleton and from Mike Birbiglia to Martin Sheen, this promises to be a season to remember.
More

A&E SEASON PREVIEW: Talking points for local arts communityRestricted Content

September 3, 2011
Kathleen McLaughlin
A sudden change in leadership at the Palladium, a new maestro for the ISO, and the impact of a big football game promise to have the Indy arts scene buzzing.
More

A&E SEASON PREVIEW: Clutch hitters guarantee a good timeRestricted Content

September 3, 2011
Lou Harry
Introducing a subjective short-list of Indy’s clutch-hitting actors, all of whom have created magic in the past and will be seen on local stages this season. (with videos)
More

LOU'S VIEWS: I've looked at Fringe from both sides now

August 27, 2011
Lou Harry
For me, the biggest challenge in wearing the hats of both playwright and critic was not being able to fully embrace the camaraderie of the festival,
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Summer movie rewind

August 20, 2011
Lou Harry
Thoughts on "The Help," "Crazy Stupid Love," "The Tree of Life" and other summer releases.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The best games from GenCon

August 13, 2011
Lou Harry
For years, I’ve been telling Hoosiers that GenCon isn’t just for hard-core game geeks committed to multi-hour games of World of Warcraft or Dungeons and Dragons. For every elf-costumed, sword-wielding aficionado, there’s also someone who just likes to play games socially with friends.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The artists of summer

August 6, 2011
Lou Harry
Baseball and football are both celebrated in shows at the National Art Museum of Sport.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Playing catch-up with Indy stage productions

July 30, 2011
Lou Harry
Reports on shows by Actors Theatre of Indiana, the Phoenix, ComedySportz, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra and more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Spidey crashes, other Broadway shows soar

July 23, 2011
Lou Harry
Thoughts on "Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark," "Catch Me If You Can," Shakespeare in the Park, and more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Ife sculptures at IMA paint a thousand words

July 16, 2011
Lou Harry
I love a good creation story, and the Yoruba people of the ancient city of Ife, in what is now Nigeria, have a doozy. It involves a god indulging in a bit too much palm wine, a snail-shell full of soil, a chameleon, and a chicken (with five toes).
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Get a jump start on Indy International Film Festival

July 9, 2011
Lou Harry
The festival, which runs July 14-24 at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, offers a diverse line-up, from mainstream films to innovative cinema.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie's best raid plans

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
If you asked me a week ago what I knew about Indiana’s direct involvement in the Civil War, you would have been met with a blank stare. Then I was part of the regiment that helped kick the raiding party out of Indiana as part of the new “1863 Civil War Journey: Raid on Indiana” interactive exhibit at Conner Prairie.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In the City of Angels, the stars aren't only on screen

June 25, 2011
Lou Harry
Greetings from California, where the question of the week was, “Is L.A. a theater town?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Exploring museum's new discovery channels

June 18, 2011
Lou Harry
It’s impossible for those of us who have raised kids with the Children’s Museum of Indianapolis to imagine what it’s like to enter it, as a child, for the first time.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Soul searching on 'Avenue Q'

June 11, 2011
Lou Harry
The R-rating-worthy, 'Sesame Street'-style show gets its regional theater premiere at the Phoenix.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Performing arts summer preview

June 4, 2011
Lou Harry
Summer is no longer a time when an Indy A&E lover has to put aesthetics and adventurousness on hold.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Urbanski impresses during weekend with symphony

May 28, 2011
Lou Harry
While his official tenure doesn’t begin until September, Krzysztof Urbanski’s unofficial coming-out party came May 20-21 when he led the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra for the first time since being named music director.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 2011 Field Guide to 500 Festival celebrity spotting

May 21, 2011
Lou Harry
Even if most of them aren’t showing off any talent beyond waving from a car on the parade route, there’s no denying that celebrities visiting Indy for the 500 add a kick to the month of May. Of course, one person’s celebrity is another’s “Who’s that?”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Home is where the art is

May 14, 2011
Lou Harry
With the Miller House open, Columbus becomes even more of a design draw.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. So much for Eric Holder's conversation about race. If white people have got something to say, they get sued over it. Bottom line: white people have un-freer speech than others as a consequence of the misnamed "Civil rights laws."

  2. I agree, having seen three shows, that I was less than wowed. Disappointing!!

  3. Start drilling, start fracking, and start using our own energy. Other states have enriched their citizens and nearly elminated unemployment by using these resources that are on private land. If you are against the 'low prices' of discount stores, the best way to allow shoppers more choice is to empower them with better earnings. NOT through manipulated gov mandated min wage hikes, but better jobs and higher competitive pay. This would be direct result of using our own energy resources, yet Obama knows that Americans who arent dependent of gov welfare are much less likely to vote Dem, so he looks for ways to ensure America's decline and keep its citizens dependent of gov.

  4. Say It Loud, I'm Black and Ashamed: It's too bad that with certain "black" entertainment events, it seems violence and thuggery follows and the collateral damage that it leaves behinds continues to be a strain on the city in terms of people getting hurt, killed or becoming victims of crimes and/or stretching city resources. I remember shopping in the Meadows area years ago until violence and crime ended make most of the business pack you and leave as did with Lafayette Square and Washington Square. Over the past 10 to 12 years, I remember going to the Indiana Black Expo Soul Picnic in Washington Park. Violence, gang fights and homicides ended that. My great grandmother still bears the scares on her leg from when she was trampled by a group of thugs running from gun fire from a rival gang. With hundreds of police offices downtown still multiple shootings, people getting shot downtown during Black Expo. A number of people getting shots or murdered at black clubs around the city like Club Six on the west side, The Industry downtown, Jamal Tinsley's shot out in front of the Conrad, multiple fights and shootings at the skating rinks, shootings at Circle Center Mall and shooting and robberies and car jackings at Lafayette Mall. Shootings and gang violence and the State Fair. I can go on and on and on. Now Broad Ripple. (Shaking head side to side) Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Ashamed.

  5. Ballard Administration. Too funny. This is the least fiscally responsive administration I have ever seen. One thing this article failed to mention, is that the Hoosier State line delivers rail cars to the Amtrak Beech Grove maintenance facility for refurbishment. That's an economic development issue. And the jobs there are high-paying. That alone is worth the City's investment.

ADVERTISEMENT