Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Art-felt thanks

November 27, 2010
Lou Harry

The ISO opened with "A Thanksgiving Overture" -- which inspired me to offer my thoughts on what I'm thankful for in the world of Indianapolis arts.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Joyful 'Noise!' in Fountain Square

November 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Noise! cabaret, Bands of America's Grand National Championships, and Blue Man Group.
More

LOU'S VIEW: Getting it just right isn't easy

November 13, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, I felt a little like Goldilocks visiting the bear cottage—only in my search of things that were just right, I found everything to be too something or other.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You talkin' to me?

November 6, 2010
Lou Harry
In more and more plays, actors are addressing the audience directly. But when does a device become a crutch?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Old favorites still satisfy

October 30, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, some top picks from Indianapolis museums' and attractions' permanent collections
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Why Gilbert & Sullivan?

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Indianapolis Opera's "The Mikado." Plus, the holiday season arrives early with Beef & Boards' "White Christmas."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's new Warhol exhibit as much about commerce as art

October 16, 2010
Lou Harry
It’s impossible to extricate Andy Warhol and his art from the world of commerce, because the artist himself was so influenced by—and generated so much—money. Plus, season openers from the Indiana Repertory Theatre and Dance Kaleidoscope.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: What to see at this year's Heartland Film Festival

October 9, 2010
Lou Harry
Heartland Freedom
                           WVNot sure how to weed through the 100-plus offerings at this year's Heartland Film Festival? Here are some recommendations from IBJ movie buffs.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art wars

October 2, 2010
Lou Harry
Art vs. Art and the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis set artist against artist
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lost & found at state museum's 'Titanic' exhibit

September 25, 2010
Lou Harry
What is it about the “Titanic” that continues to attract us—through books, films, a stage musical and, in the case of the touring show at the Indiana State Museum, an exhibition of artifacts?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City Ballet benefit rises to the occasion again

September 18, 2010
Lou Harry
Ballet's “An Evening with the Stars” fundraising event featured stars of the Bolshoi Ballet, American Ballet Theatre and much more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two coaches face off in Actors Theatre's 'Rounding Third'

September 11, 2010
Lou Harry
Is "good enough" good enough when it comes to live theater?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Painting the blues in Washington, D.C.

September 4, 2010
Lou Harry
Yes, my mission in Washington, D.C., was to deliver my daughter into the arms of academia. But with the chance to visit the Smithsonian, can you blame me for making an early exit from campus orientation?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beyond the Fringe

August 28, 2010
Lou Harry
Just going to Indy Fringe makes you a part of it. It’s difficult to be a passive observer during the 10-day event, which ends Sunday.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dancing to the classics

August 21, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre uses American lit as a launch pad; plus: books by local authors.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The playing's the thing at GenCon

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
While fantasy role-playing games form the core of GenCon, the convention has a lot to offer casual game players whose comfort zone is closer to Yahtzee and Monopoly than Wizards of Warcraft.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Local music makes 24-hour road trip sound sweet

August 7, 2010
Lou Harry
With apologies to Willie Nelson, the truth is I could wait to get on the road again.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'A Funny Thing' happening at Athenaeum

July 31, 2010
Lou Harry
In most productions of the raucous musical comedy “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum,” the lead character, Pseudolus, is a just-this-side-of desperate middle-age guy with an overactive libido who could break out in a major sweat at any moment.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Record-breaking artist offers the vinyl word on music stars

July 24, 2010
Lou Harry
Seen from a distance, Lobyn Hamilton’s work might seem like something you’d find in a music shop—simple, faithful re-creations of familiar portraits of the likes of Jimi Hendrix and Bob Dylan. Get a little closer, though, and the medium becomes part of the message.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: LaBute's new play 'Pretty' impressive

July 17, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, "Reasons to be Pretty" at the Phoenix Theatre, plus Famous Monsters and InConjunction conventions.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Best of the Fest ... and more

July 10, 2010
Lou Harry
Baseball doc and drama from Finland among strongest offerings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The King without kitsch and other Brown County pleasures

July 3, 2010
Lou Harry
It didn’t occur to me on the drive down Interstate 65 for a Brown County getaway that I’d be returning with praise for an Elvis impersonator.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 100 thoughts on 100 Acres

June 26, 2010
Lou Harry
Watch video icon for 100 Acres100 Acres, a new art and nature park, opened behind the Indianapolis Museum of Art June 19. This major addition to the city’s cultural and social landscape seemed worthy of at least 100 thoughts—and two videos.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: (Jersey) Boy wonders settle in at Murat

June 19, 2010
Lou Harry
“Jersey Boys” is much more than just a tribute show. It delivers the musical goods with impeccable showmanship and style.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein more than fine at Great American Songbook Competition

June 12, 2010
Lou Harry
High school vocal competition soared in second year. Winner landed New York gig.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. The east side does have potential...and I have always thought Washington Scare should become an outlet mall. Anyone remember how popular Eastgate was? Well, Indy has no outlet malls, we have to go to Edinburgh for the deep discounts and I don't understand why. Jim is right. We need a few good eastsiders interested in actually making some noise and trying to change the commerce, culture and stereotypes of the East side. Irvington is very progressive and making great strides, why can't the far east side ride on their coat tails to make some changes?

  2. Boston.com has an article from 2010 where they talk about how Interactions moved to Massachusetts in the year prior. http://www.boston.com/business/technology/innoeco/2010/07/interactions_banks_63_million.html The article includes a link back to that Inside Indiana Business press release I linked to earlier, snarkily noting, "Guess this 2006 plan to create 200-plus new jobs in Indiana didn't exactly work out."

  3. I live on the east side and I have read all your comments. a local paper just did an article on Washington square mall with just as many comments and concerns. I am not sure if they are still around, but there was an east side coalition with good intentions to do good things on the east side. And there is a facebook post that called my eastside indy with many old members of the eastside who voice concerns about the east side of the city. We need to come together and not just complain and moan, but come up with actual concrete solutions, because what Dal said is very very true- the eastside could be a goldmine in the right hands. But if anyone is going damn, and change things, it is us eastside residents

  4. Please go back re-read your economics text book and the fine print on the February 2014 CBO report. A minimum wage increase has never resulted in a net job loss...

  5. The GOP at the Statehouse is more interested in PR to keep their majority, than using it to get anything good actually done. The State continues its downward spiral.

ADVERTISEMENT