Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEW: Getting it just right isn't easy

November 13, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, I felt a little like Goldilocks visiting the bear cottage—only in my search of things that were just right, I found everything to be too something or other.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You talkin' to me?

November 6, 2010
Lou Harry
In more and more plays, actors are addressing the audience directly. But when does a device become a crutch?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Old favorites still satisfy

October 30, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, some top picks from Indianapolis museums' and attractions' permanent collections
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Why Gilbert & Sullivan?

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Indianapolis Opera's "The Mikado." Plus, the holiday season arrives early with Beef & Boards' "White Christmas."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's new Warhol exhibit as much about commerce as art

October 16, 2010
Lou Harry
It’s impossible to extricate Andy Warhol and his art from the world of commerce, because the artist himself was so influenced by—and generated so much—money. Plus, season openers from the Indiana Repertory Theatre and Dance Kaleidoscope.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: What to see at this year's Heartland Film Festival

October 9, 2010
Lou Harry
Heartland Freedom
                           WVNot sure how to weed through the 100-plus offerings at this year's Heartland Film Festival? Here are some recommendations from IBJ movie buffs.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art wars

October 2, 2010
Lou Harry
Art vs. Art and the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis set artist against artist
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lost & found at state museum's 'Titanic' exhibit

September 25, 2010
Lou Harry
What is it about the “Titanic” that continues to attract us—through books, films, a stage musical and, in the case of the touring show at the Indiana State Museum, an exhibition of artifacts?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City Ballet benefit rises to the occasion again

September 18, 2010
Lou Harry
Ballet's “An Evening with the Stars” fundraising event featured stars of the Bolshoi Ballet, American Ballet Theatre and much more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two coaches face off in Actors Theatre's 'Rounding Third'

September 11, 2010
Lou Harry
Is "good enough" good enough when it comes to live theater?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Painting the blues in Washington, D.C.

September 4, 2010
Lou Harry
Yes, my mission in Washington, D.C., was to deliver my daughter into the arms of academia. But with the chance to visit the Smithsonian, can you blame me for making an early exit from campus orientation?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Beyond the Fringe

August 28, 2010
Lou Harry
Just going to Indy Fringe makes you a part of it. It’s difficult to be a passive observer during the 10-day event, which ends Sunday.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dancing to the classics

August 21, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre uses American lit as a launch pad; plus: books by local authors.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The playing's the thing at GenCon

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
While fantasy role-playing games form the core of GenCon, the convention has a lot to offer casual game players whose comfort zone is closer to Yahtzee and Monopoly than Wizards of Warcraft.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Local music makes 24-hour road trip sound sweet

August 7, 2010
Lou Harry
With apologies to Willie Nelson, the truth is I could wait to get on the road again.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'A Funny Thing' happening at Athenaeum

July 31, 2010
Lou Harry
In most productions of the raucous musical comedy “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum,” the lead character, Pseudolus, is a just-this-side-of desperate middle-age guy with an overactive libido who could break out in a major sweat at any moment.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Record-breaking artist offers the vinyl word on music stars

July 24, 2010
Lou Harry
Seen from a distance, Lobyn Hamilton’s work might seem like something you’d find in a music shop—simple, faithful re-creations of familiar portraits of the likes of Jimi Hendrix and Bob Dylan. Get a little closer, though, and the medium becomes part of the message.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: LaBute's new play 'Pretty' impressive

July 17, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, "Reasons to be Pretty" at the Phoenix Theatre, plus Famous Monsters and InConjunction conventions.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Best of the Fest ... and more

July 10, 2010
Lou Harry
Baseball doc and drama from Finland among strongest offerings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The King without kitsch and other Brown County pleasures

July 3, 2010
Lou Harry
It didn’t occur to me on the drive down Interstate 65 for a Brown County getaway that I’d be returning with praise for an Elvis impersonator.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 100 thoughts on 100 Acres

June 26, 2010
Lou Harry
Watch video icon for 100 Acres100 Acres, a new art and nature park, opened behind the Indianapolis Museum of Art June 19. This major addition to the city’s cultural and social landscape seemed worthy of at least 100 thoughts—and two videos.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: (Jersey) Boy wonders settle in at Murat

June 19, 2010
Lou Harry
“Jersey Boys” is much more than just a tribute show. It delivers the musical goods with impeccable showmanship and style.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein more than fine at Great American Songbook Competition

June 12, 2010
Lou Harry
High school vocal competition soared in second year. Winner landed New York gig.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Race to Indianapolis Zoo's new cheetah exhibit

June 5, 2010
Lou Harry
Cheetahs: Race for Survival” is a terrific addition to the Indianapolis Zoo, even though its primary selling point—speed—can’t actually be seen.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Theatrical distractions abound, both in audience and in wings

May 29, 2010
Lou Harry
Complaints of cell phones, texters and candy wrappers are common. But what about seeing into the wings?
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Of what value is selling alcoholic beverages to State Fair patrons when there are many families with children attending. Is this the message we want to give children attending and participating in the Fair, another venue with alooholic consumption onsite. Is this to promote beer and wine production in the state which are great for the breweries and wineries, but where does this end up 10-15 years from now, lots more drinkers for the alcoholic contents. If these drinks are so important, why not remove the alcohol content and the flavor and drink itself similar to soft drinks would be the novelty, not the alcoholic content and its affects on the drinker. There is no social or material benefit from drinking alcoholic beverages, mostly people want to get slightly or highly drunk.

  2. I did;nt know anyone in Indiana could count- WHY did they NOT SAY just HOW this would be enforced? Because it WON;T! NOW- with that said- BIG BROTHER is ALIVE in this Article-why take any comment if it won't appease YOU PEOPLE- that's NOT American- with EVERYTHING you indicated is NOT said-I can see WHY it say's o Comments- YOU are COMMIES- BIG BROTHER and most likely- voted for Obama!

  3. In Europe there are schools for hairdressing but you don't get a license afterwards but you are required to assist in turkey and Italy its 7 years in japan it's 10 years England 2 so these people who assist know how to do hair their not just anybody and if your an owner and you hire someone with no experience then ur an idiot I've known stylist from different countries with no license but they are professional clean and safe they have no license but they have experience a license doesn't mean anything look at all the bad hairdressers in the world that have fried peoples hair okay but they have a license doesn't make them a professional at their job I think they should get rid of it because stateboard robs stylist and owners and they fine you for the dumbest f***ing things oh ur license isn't displayed 100$ oh ur wearing open toe shoes fine, oh there's ONE HAIR IN UR BRUSH that's a fine it's like really? So I think they need to go or ease up on their regulations because their too strict

  4. Exciting times in Carmel.

  5. Twenty years ago when we moved to Indy I was a stay at home mom and knew not very many people.WIBC was my family and friends for the most part. It was informative, civil, and humerous with Dave the KING. Terri, Jeff, Stever, Big Joe, Matt, Pat and Crumie. I loved them all, and they seemed to love each other. I didn't mind Greg Garrison, but I was not a Rush fan. NOW I can't stand Chicks and all their giggly opinions. Tony Katz is to abrasive that early in the morning(or really any time). I will tune in on Saturday morning for the usual fun and priceless information from Pat and Crumie, mornings it will be 90.1

ADVERTISEMENT