Arts reviews

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein more than fine at Great American Songbook Competition

June 12, 2010
Lou Harry
High school vocal competition soared in second year. Winner landed New York gig.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Race to Indianapolis Zoo's new cheetah exhibit

June 5, 2010
Lou Harry
Cheetahs: Race for Survival” is a terrific addition to the Indianapolis Zoo, even though its primary selling point—speed—can’t actually be seen.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Theatrical distractions abound, both in audience and in wings

May 29, 2010
Lou Harry
Complaints of cell phones, texters and candy wrappers are common. But what about seeing into the wings?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: At Eiteljorg, it's all in the family

May 22, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, free-associating across the arts landscape from the “Generations” show at the Eiteljorg Museum to “Heartland Art” and a one-man play at the Indiana State Museum to the Broad Ripple Art Fair.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix premiere is more than a John Prine tribute show

May 15, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, a tribute that transcends at the Phoenix Theatre, plus thoughts on this year's Spotlight benefit.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT's 'Around the World in 80 Days'

May 8, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Indiana Repertory Theatre's season closer ... and an average day at Conner Prairie.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Take a seat for 2010/2011

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
It's not too early to think about next season at the Indiana Repertory Theatre, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, and more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You won't be bored with Weegee

April 24, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, photographs by the legendary Weegee at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Plus a visit from the national tour of “A Chorus Line.”
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Chicago joins the 'Billy' club

April 17, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, the Broadway sensation “Billy Elliot” dances into Chicago for an extended run. And, closer to home, the Phoenix indulges in some conspiracy theorizing.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Tara Donovan at the IMA and thoughts on 'spoilers'

April 10, 2010
Lou Harry
In this artist's world, millions of cups blend into massive waves, pencils become an alien landscape, and stacks of tar paper evoke the apocalypse.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Bottoms Up Burlesque offers a strip down memory lane

April 3, 2010
Lou Harry
Retro event proves more playful than provocative.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Historical Society casts the past to bring photos to life

March 27, 2010
Lou Harry
Watch
                           video INDexperienceThis week, the “Indiana Experience” at the Indiana History Center (with a video tour through Indiana's past), plus theatrical experiences at Humana Fest in Louisville.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In Defense of Rodgers and Hammerstein

March 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Indianapolis Civic Theatre and Footlite Musicals take on musical theater milestones "Oklahoma!" and "Carousel."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dog days at Clowes with national tour of 'Dalmatians' musical

March 13, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, canines at Clowes, sisters in the suburbs, pals searching for Paul, and the Cabaret's new digs at the Columbia Club.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Bill T. Jones' company dances through history at IU

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
A few weeks back, I wrote about the two collections of Abraham Lincoln memorabilia on display at the Indiana State Museum. Over the past week, two additional encounters with Abe reminded me that there is no shortage of material to be mined from the life of the 16th president.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Thinking magically at the Indiana Repertory Theatre

February 27, 2010
Lou Harry
“It will happen to you.” That’s what Joan Didion tells us right up front in “The Year of Magical Thinking,” the one-woman play based on her memoir of the same name.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The Bard dances, the ISO swings, and more

February 20, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, I empty the notebook with thoughts on Indiana Ballet Com.'s "From Shakespeare with Love," the ISO Pops concert with Tony DeSare, Beef & Boards' "Footloose" and Indianapolis Civic Theatre's "My Fair Lady."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lincoln shows take over State Museum galleries

February 13, 2010
Lou Harry

I took my first look through the then-yet-to-be-opened pair of Abraham Lincoln exhibitions at the Indiana State Museum before the galleries were available to the general public.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Best-selling author's words take center stage

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Cincinnati’s Playhouse in the Park launches novelist Walter Mosley’s first play,"The Fall of Heaven," just in time for my cultural road trip.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Race colors IRT's 'Romeo and Juliet'

January 30, 2010
Lou Harry
Shakespeare's iconic show gets a post-WWII redo.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Flagrant fouls make Globetrotter win dubious

January 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Globetrotters, Phoenix Theatre's "Housewives of Mannheim," and Beef & Boards' "The Foreigner."
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dylan tribute Bob-bob-bobs along

January 16, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, a Bob Dylan tribute at the Athenaeum and tell-all tales at Theatre on the Square.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A tour winds down while local talent gears up

January 9, 2010
Lou Harry
"The Color Purple" tour visits Clowes Hall while "New Beginnings" offers next-generation Broadway songs.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Love Letters' requires reading between the lines

January 2, 2010
Lou Harry
Indiana Repertory Theatre gives a rare, full staging of A.R. Gurney's epistolary play.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A ballet blockbuster tops 2009's list of favorites

December 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Here are the 10 offerings that I most enthusiastically recommended to friends and readers in the past year.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT