Dining Reviews

DINING: Washington Street staple rises again under new name

September 18, 2014
Lou Harry
Javier's Hacienda takes over the spot formerly occupied by El Sol. And, yes, the donkey is still there.
More

DINING: Sandwich shop pleases with cheeses

September 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Thanks to a "Shark Tank" score, Tom + Chee is spreading. Thoughts on its first Indy location.
More

DINING: In the outpost of Zionsville, a trailblazing Cowboy gets cooking

September 6, 2014
Lou Harry
While it might sound like a naughty "Blazing Saddles" villain, Salty Cowboy is actually a worthy addition to the town's dining lineup.
More

DINING: A Utah-based chain deli piles on the meat at CityWay

August 23, 2014
Lou Harry
Gandolfo’s New York Delicatessen fills in the empty spot vacated by Orange Leaf.
More

DINING: Bar should be set a little higher on promising new taqueria

August 16, 2014
Lou Harry
At BarRio Taco & Tequila Bar, the elements are in play but the recipe doesn't quite work yet
More

DINING: Chicago-based Yolk changes the way CityWay does breakfast

August 2, 2014
Lou Harry
Its Chicago prices could use a little modification, but this newcomer shows style.
More

DINING: Cultural Trail lands quirky hops stop

July 26, 2014
Lou Harry
A strip of restaurants has turned a previously anonymous stretch of real estate into a culinary destination. The latest neighbor: Chilly Water Brewing Co.
More

DINING: Newcomer Union 50’s creativity marries cuisines

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Mass Ave around the intersection of Massachusetts Avenue and East Street has been bursting lately with new dining options. Here's the latest.
More

DINING: Pint Room taps into Carmel's burgeoning burger market

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Is it better than Bub's? Livelier than Scotty's? I dodge both questions.
More

DINING: Pub brings Irish fare to Mass Ave

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Nine Irish Brothers brings bangers and mash to Mass Ave. New pub also features live music.
More

DINING: Marsh markets lunchtime meals

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
No fine dining establishments in central Indiana is likely to have as much of an impact on the dining habits of local residents and workers as the new downtown Marsh Cafe.
More

DINING: North End Barbecue brings local farm flavors to Nora

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
The main event, of course, is the meat. The mounds and mounds of meat.
More

DINING: New Anchor at Ambassador could turn around troubled spot

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
Plow & Anchor is the latest eatery on the ground floor of the Ambassador. The pleasures start with Salt Cod Croquettes.
More

DINING: Mass Ave diners finally have opportunity to study Pizzology

June 7, 2014
Lou Harry
Airy atmosphere and friendly service, combined with relatively simplistic combinations built from largely farm-fresh ingredients, help keep this pizzeria from being intimidating.
More

DINING: Locally owned, fast-fired Coalition comes together in Carmel

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
I never tire of pizza. And there are enough subtle and not-so-subtle variations on the American/Italian staple that it never seems to get boring.
More

DINING: Feeling the heat at southside independent burger joint

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Can you be between one thing? Not according to spell check,But I'm guessing grammarians aren't the primary audience for Between the Bun.
More

DINING: Newcomer Chuy’s stands out in crowded Tex-Mex field

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
It's difficult to imagine a chain Tex-Mex restaurant generating much excitement. But crowds are flocking to the Hamilton Town Center newcomer.
More

DINING: Delicia’s ‘little mule’ of a neighbor offers big flavors

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
La Mulita has a roadside cantina vibe, a street-food menu, and an emphasis on lunch.
More

DINING: Indian restaurant offers twist on traditional buffet concept

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
The former Sushi on the Rocks location downtown now houses Haveli, a worthwhile Indian buffet with unique menu options and warm Naan delivered to your table.
More

DINING: Tow Yard Brewing hooks up beer and grub

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Do such dated references as the Tonya Harding and the Sonny Crockett really belong on the menu of such a handsome new drinkery?
More

DINING: Hidden hospital eatery offers calm dining retreat

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Café Soleil on the Eskenazi Hospital campus offers a peaceful, inexpensive lunch that transcends stereotypical hospital fare.
More

DINING: Is Fogo too expensive for you? Meet—or meat—Tucanos

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
Your feelings toward Tucanos Brazilian Grill in Noblesville are likely to be influenced strongly by whether you’ve dined at Fogo de Chao in downtown Indy.
More

DINING: Yats replacement, Liberty Street, has what it takes

March 22, 2014
Lou Harry
With proper care, "the restaurant where Mass Ave Yats used to be" should have its own positive reputation.
More

DINING: Rockstone rolls into Fishers

March 15, 2014
Rockstone Pizzeria & Pub is yet another new northside pizza place. Is it worth a visit?
More

DINING: Graeter’s for beginners

March 8, 2014
Lou Harry
The Cincy ice cream icon comes to Indy. Here's what the uninitiated should know.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT