Dining Reviews

DINING: A Utah-based chain deli piles on the meat at CityWay

August 23, 2014
Lou Harry
Gandolfo’s New York Delicatessen fills in the empty spot vacated by Orange Leaf.
More

DINING: Bar should be set a little higher on promising new taqueria

August 16, 2014
Lou Harry
At BarRio Taco & Tequila Bar, the elements are in play but the recipe doesn't quite work yet
More

DINING: Chicago-based Yolk changes the way CityWay does breakfast

August 2, 2014
Lou Harry
Its Chicago prices could use a little modification, but this newcomer shows style.
More

DINING: Cultural Trail lands quirky hops stop

July 26, 2014
Lou Harry
A strip of restaurants has turned a previously anonymous stretch of real estate into a culinary destination. The latest neighbor: Chilly Water Brewing Co.
More

DINING: Newcomer Union 50’s creativity marries cuisines

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Mass Ave around the intersection of Massachusetts Avenue and East Street has been bursting lately with new dining options. Here's the latest.
More

DINING: Pint Room taps into Carmel's burgeoning burger market

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Is it better than Bub's? Livelier than Scotty's? I dodge both questions.
More

DINING: Pub brings Irish fare to Mass Ave

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Nine Irish Brothers brings bangers and mash to Mass Ave. New pub also features live music.
More

DINING: Marsh markets lunchtime meals

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
No fine dining establishments in central Indiana is likely to have as much of an impact on the dining habits of local residents and workers as the new downtown Marsh Cafe.
More

DINING: North End Barbecue brings local farm flavors to Nora

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
The main event, of course, is the meat. The mounds and mounds of meat.
More

DINING: New Anchor at Ambassador could turn around troubled spot

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
Plow & Anchor is the latest eatery on the ground floor of the Ambassador. The pleasures start with Salt Cod Croquettes.
More

DINING: Mass Ave diners finally have opportunity to study Pizzology

June 7, 2014
Lou Harry
Airy atmosphere and friendly service, combined with relatively simplistic combinations built from largely farm-fresh ingredients, help keep this pizzeria from being intimidating.
More

DINING: Locally owned, fast-fired Coalition comes together in Carmel

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
I never tire of pizza. And there are enough subtle and not-so-subtle variations on the American/Italian staple that it never seems to get boring.
More

DINING: Feeling the heat at southside independent burger joint

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Can you be between one thing? Not according to spell check,But I'm guessing grammarians aren't the primary audience for Between the Bun.
More

DINING: Newcomer Chuy’s stands out in crowded Tex-Mex field

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
It's difficult to imagine a chain Tex-Mex restaurant generating much excitement. But crowds are flocking to the Hamilton Town Center newcomer.
More

DINING: Delicia’s ‘little mule’ of a neighbor offers big flavors

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
La Mulita has a roadside cantina vibe, a street-food menu, and an emphasis on lunch.
More

DINING: Indian restaurant offers twist on traditional buffet concept

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
The former Sushi on the Rocks location downtown now houses Haveli, a worthwhile Indian buffet with unique menu options and warm Naan delivered to your table.
More

DINING: Tow Yard Brewing hooks up beer and grub

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Do such dated references as the Tonya Harding and the Sonny Crockett really belong on the menu of such a handsome new drinkery?
More

DINING: Hidden hospital eatery offers calm dining retreat

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Café Soleil on the Eskenazi Hospital campus offers a peaceful, inexpensive lunch that transcends stereotypical hospital fare.
More

DINING: Is Fogo too expensive for you? Meet—or meat—Tucanos

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
Your feelings toward Tucanos Brazilian Grill in Noblesville are likely to be influenced strongly by whether you’ve dined at Fogo de Chao in downtown Indy.
More

DINING: Yats replacement, Liberty Street, has what it takes

March 22, 2014
Lou Harry
With proper care, "the restaurant where Mass Ave Yats used to be" should have its own positive reputation.
More

DINING: Rockstone rolls into Fishers

March 15, 2014
Rockstone Pizzeria & Pub is yet another new northside pizza place. Is it worth a visit?
More

DINING: Graeter’s for beginners

March 8, 2014
Lou Harry
The Cincy ice cream icon comes to Indy. Here's what the uninitiated should know.
More

DINING: Easy-to-overlook second-floor spot houses new eatery

March 1, 2014
Lou Harry
Where exactly is the Labor District? I'm not sure. But I do know that Labor District Cafe is a new second-floor restaurant on Pennsylvania St.
More

DINING: Pick-your-topping pizzeria blazes into Indy 

February 22, 2014
Lou HarryMore

DINING: Thunderbird cruises in with cocktails and creativity

February 15, 2014
Lou Harry
For me, the primary lure was the interesting food lineup, sporting a decidedly southern accent in portions sized in that nether region between full entrée and tapas. A review.

More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I took Bruce's comments to highlight a glaring issue when it comes to a state's image, and therefore its overall branding. An example is Michigan vs. Indiana. Michigan has done an excellent job of following through on its branding strategy around "Pure Michigan", even down to the detail of the rest stops. Since a state's branding is often targeted to visitors, it makes sense that rest stops, being that point of first impression, should be significant. It is clear that Indiana doesn't care as much about the impression it gives visitors even though our branding as the Crossroads of America does place importance on travel. Bruce's point is quite logical and accurate.

  2. I appreciated the article. I guess I have become so accustomed to making my "pit stops" at places where I can ALSO get gasoline and something hot to eat, that I hardly even notice public rest stops anymore. That said, I do concur with the rationale that our rest stops (if we are to have them at all) can and should be both fiscally-responsible AND designed to make a positive impression about our state.

  3. I don't know about the rest of you but I only stop at these places for one reason, and it's not to picnic. I move trucks for dealers and have been to rest areas in most all 48 lower states. Some of ours need upgrading no doubt. Many states rest areas are much worse than ours. In the rest area on I-70 just past Richmond truckers have to hike about a quarter of a mile. When I stop I;m generally in a bit of a hurry. Convenience,not beauty, is a primary concern.

  4. Community Hospital is the only system to not have layoffs? That is not true. Because I was one of the people who was laid off from East. And all of the LPN's have been laid off. Just because their layoffs were not announced or done all together does not mean people did not lose their jobs. They cherry-picked people from departments one by one. But you add them all up and it's several hundred. And East has had a dramatic drop I in patient beds from 800 to around 125. I know because I worked there for 30 years.

  5. I have obtained my 6 gallon badge for my donation of A Positive blood. I'm sorry to hear that my donation was nothing but a profit center for the Indiana Blood Center.

ADVERTISEMENT