Dining Reviews

DINING: Cultural Trail lands quirky hops stop

July 26, 2014
Lou Harry
A strip of restaurants has turned a previously anonymous stretch of real estate into a culinary destination. The latest neighbor: Chilly Water Brewing Co.
More

DINING: Newcomer Union 50’s creativity marries cuisines

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Mass Ave around the intersection of Massachusetts Avenue and East Street has been bursting lately with new dining options. Here's the latest.
More

DINING: Pint Room taps into Carmel's burgeoning burger market

July 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Is it better than Bub's? Livelier than Scotty's? I dodge both questions.
More

DINING: Pub brings Irish fare to Mass Ave

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Nine Irish Brothers brings bangers and mash to Mass Ave. New pub also features live music.
More

DINING: Marsh markets lunchtime meals

June 28, 2014
Lou Harry
No fine dining establishments in central Indiana is likely to have as much of an impact on the dining habits of local residents and workers as the new downtown Marsh Cafe.
More

DINING: North End Barbecue brings local farm flavors to Nora

June 21, 2014
Lou Harry
The main event, of course, is the meat. The mounds and mounds of meat.
More

DINING: New Anchor at Ambassador could turn around troubled spot

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
Plow & Anchor is the latest eatery on the ground floor of the Ambassador. The pleasures start with Salt Cod Croquettes.
More

DINING: Mass Ave diners finally have opportunity to study Pizzology

June 7, 2014
Lou Harry
Airy atmosphere and friendly service, combined with relatively simplistic combinations built from largely farm-fresh ingredients, help keep this pizzeria from being intimidating.
More

DINING: Locally owned, fast-fired Coalition comes together in Carmel

May 31, 2014
Lou Harry
I never tire of pizza. And there are enough subtle and not-so-subtle variations on the American/Italian staple that it never seems to get boring.
More

DINING: Feeling the heat at southside independent burger joint

May 24, 2014
Lou Harry
Can you be between one thing? Not according to spell check,But I'm guessing grammarians aren't the primary audience for Between the Bun.
More

DINING: Newcomer Chuy’s stands out in crowded Tex-Mex field

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
It's difficult to imagine a chain Tex-Mex restaurant generating much excitement. But crowds are flocking to the Hamilton Town Center newcomer.
More

DINING: Delicia’s ‘little mule’ of a neighbor offers big flavors

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
La Mulita has a roadside cantina vibe, a street-food menu, and an emphasis on lunch.
More

DINING: Indian restaurant offers twist on traditional buffet concept

April 19, 2014
Lou Harry
The former Sushi on the Rocks location downtown now houses Haveli, a worthwhile Indian buffet with unique menu options and warm Naan delivered to your table.
More

DINING: Tow Yard Brewing hooks up beer and grub

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Do such dated references as the Tonya Harding and the Sonny Crockett really belong on the menu of such a handsome new drinkery?
More

DINING: Hidden hospital eatery offers calm dining retreat

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Café Soleil on the Eskenazi Hospital campus offers a peaceful, inexpensive lunch that transcends stereotypical hospital fare.
More

DINING: Is Fogo too expensive for you? Meet—or meat—Tucanos

March 29, 2014
Lou Harry
Your feelings toward Tucanos Brazilian Grill in Noblesville are likely to be influenced strongly by whether you’ve dined at Fogo de Chao in downtown Indy.
More

DINING: Yats replacement, Liberty Street, has what it takes

March 22, 2014
Lou Harry
With proper care, "the restaurant where Mass Ave Yats used to be" should have its own positive reputation.
More

DINING: Rockstone rolls into Fishers

March 15, 2014
Rockstone Pizzeria & Pub is yet another new northside pizza place. Is it worth a visit?
More

DINING: Graeter’s for beginners

March 8, 2014
Lou Harry
The Cincy ice cream icon comes to Indy. Here's what the uninitiated should know.
More

DINING: Easy-to-overlook second-floor spot houses new eatery

March 1, 2014
Lou Harry
Where exactly is the Labor District? I'm not sure. But I do know that Labor District Cafe is a new second-floor restaurant on Pennsylvania St.
More

DINING: Pick-your-topping pizzeria blazes into Indy 

February 22, 2014
Lou HarryMore

DINING: Thunderbird cruises in with cocktails and creativity

February 15, 2014
Lou Harry
For me, the primary lure was the interesting food lineup, sporting a decidedly southern accent in portions sized in that nether region between full entrée and tapas. A review.

More

DINING: Husk-y newcomer The Tamale Place added to market options

February 8, 2014
Lou Harry
The place Guy Fieri visited on "Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives" opens a City Market spot. Here's a review.
More

DINING: The bowl and the beautiful

February 1, 2014
Lou Harry
For many eateries, soup is an afterthought. But not for Soupremacy, where it's the main event.
More

DINING: Time marches on at recently revamped Tick Tock Lounge

January 25, 2014
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of theme-less restaurant reviews.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. So much for Eric Holder's conversation about race. If white people have got something to say, they get sued over it. Bottom line: white people have un-freer speech than others as a consequence of the misnamed "Civil rights laws."

  2. I agree, having seen three shows, that I was less than wowed. Disappointing!!

  3. Start drilling, start fracking, and start using our own energy. Other states have enriched their citizens and nearly elminated unemployment by using these resources that are on private land. If you are against the 'low prices' of discount stores, the best way to allow shoppers more choice is to empower them with better earnings. NOT through manipulated gov mandated min wage hikes, but better jobs and higher competitive pay. This would be direct result of using our own energy resources, yet Obama knows that Americans who arent dependent of gov welfare are much less likely to vote Dem, so he looks for ways to ensure America's decline and keep its citizens dependent of gov.

  4. Say It Loud, I'm Black and Ashamed: It's too bad that with certain "black" entertainment events, it seems violence and thuggery follows and the collateral damage that it leaves behinds continues to be a strain on the city in terms of people getting hurt, killed or becoming victims of crimes and/or stretching city resources. I remember shopping in the Meadows area years ago until violence and crime ended make most of the business pack you and leave as did with Lafayette Square and Washington Square. Over the past 10 to 12 years, I remember going to the Indiana Black Expo Soul Picnic in Washington Park. Violence, gang fights and homicides ended that. My great grandmother still bears the scares on her leg from when she was trampled by a group of thugs running from gun fire from a rival gang. With hundreds of police offices downtown still multiple shootings, people getting shot downtown during Black Expo. A number of people getting shots or murdered at black clubs around the city like Club Six on the west side, The Industry downtown, Jamal Tinsley's shot out in front of the Conrad, multiple fights and shootings at the skating rinks, shootings at Circle Center Mall and shooting and robberies and car jackings at Lafayette Mall. Shootings and gang violence and the State Fair. I can go on and on and on. Now Broad Ripple. (Shaking head side to side) Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Ashamed.

  5. Ballard Administration. Too funny. This is the least fiscally responsive administration I have ever seen. One thing this article failed to mention, is that the Hoosier State line delivers rail cars to the Amtrak Beech Grove maintenance facility for refurbishment. That's an economic development issue. And the jobs there are high-paying. That alone is worth the City's investment.

ADVERTISEMENT