Dining Reviews

DINING: Sideman BeBop Pizza worthy of headliner The Jazz Kitchen

January 11, 2014
Lou Harry
What might be a secret to some is that the city's leading jazz club shares its kitchen with a pizza joint. Second in a month-long series of theme-free restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Ember attempts Cultural Trail culinary spark

January 4, 2014
Lou Harry
Former chain pizza place transforms into neighborhood eat/drinkery. First in a month of theme-free restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Carmel adds Mex to Main Street mix

December 21, 2013
Lou Harry
Review of Agave Bar & Grill. Fourth in a month-long series of new-in-2013 restaurants that we hadn’t previously reviewed.
More

DINING: One lunch in Bangkok (OK, two)

December 14, 2013
Lou Harry
Reviewing Bangkok Restaurant and Jazz Bar. Third in a month-long series of new-in-2013 restaurants that we hadn’t previously covered.
More

DINING: Shoefly lands on near North side

November 30, 2013
First in a month-long series of new-in-2013 restaurants that we somehow missed in previous months.
More

DINING: Hamming it up at new Broad Ripple Cuban sandwich spot

November 23, 2013
Lou Harry
if you eat its delicious 2-foot sandwich—loaded but not overstuffed with roasted pork, ham and cheese—by yourself, you get your photo on the wall. I brought a friend
More

DINING: Currying flavor

November 9, 2013
Lou Harry
Curries & Chutneys serves Indian favorites, quickly. Second in a month-long series of reviews of full-flavored restaurants.
More

DINING: A biggie-size Yats is back on Mass Ave

November 2, 2013
Lou Harry
The menu is familiar, but the space is significantly expanded at Yats’ new Mass Ave digs.
More

DINING: New Carmel eatery joins upper crust of local pizzerias

October 19, 2013
Lou Harry
And the housemade sauce is great for dipping. Third in a month-long series of reviews of restaurants in recently rehabbed spaces
More

DINING: More than Irish luck needed for newcomer to troubled spot

October 12, 2013
Lou Harry
36 East opens on Washington St. Second in a month-long series of reviews of restaurants in recently rehabbed spaces.
More

DINING: La Dolce Chipotle? Piada gives burritos an Italian twist

October 5, 2013
Lou Harry
The Columbus-based chain stakes a claim in Central Indiana. First in a month-long series of reviews of restaurants in recently rehabbed spaces.
More

DINING: Price buffers pleasure of The Alexander's buffet

September 28, 2013
Lou Harry
Market Table now open to the public for breakfast, lunch and brunch. Last in a month-long series of just-out-of-downtown dining reviews.
More

DINING: Thirsty Scholar schools 16th Street on cafe culture

September 21, 2013
Lou Harry
Limited menu best suited for grazing. Fourth in a month-long series of just-out-of-downtown dining reviews.
More

DINING: Battered location gets new pancake house

September 14, 2013
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Reviewing Lincoln Square Pancake House. Third in a month-long series of just-out-of-downtown dining reviews.
More

DINING: City Barbecue smoked meats upgrade IUPUI dining options

September 7, 2013
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of just-out-of-downtown dining reviews.
More

DINING: Foundry pushes geographical boundaries on 16th Street

August 31, 2013
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of just-out-of-downtown dining reviews.
More

DINING: Wherefore art Chou? Patachou spin-off shines in Carmel

August 24, 2013
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Last in a month-long series of mall restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: More than popcorn at the Indiana State Fair

August 10, 2013
Lou Harry
Food vendors get creative with burger and donut variations. Plus newcomer MCL and the latest from the Dairy Barn.
More

DINING: Flavor missing from mall sushi

August 3, 2013
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series (with time out for a State Fair trek, of course) of new-mall-restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Sandwiches are aces—and the fish is golden—at Irish pub

July 25, 2013
Lou Harry
At the Golden Ace, you don’t have to spend much time thinking about what you are going to order. But limited menu yields pleasures.
More

DINING: Walk into wiener wonderland at King David

July 20, 2013
Andrea Muirragui Davis
How can the culinarily curious say no to topping choices like fried egg, pineapple relish, and macaroni and cheese? Fourth in a month-long series of game piece restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Ciao-ing down in Greenwood courtesy of Cannoli Queen

July 13, 2013
Lou Harry
Don't let its name fool you: There's more than treats here. Third in a month-long series of reviews of game-piece restaurants.
More

DINING: At Pawn Shop Pub, the smoke has cleared on good bar food

July 6, 2013
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of reviews of game-piece restaurants.
More

DINING: Rook doesn’t go by the book

June 29, 2013
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of game-piece restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: The food truck stops here

June 22, 2013
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of D-restaurant reviews.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Apologies for the wall of text. I promise I had this nicely formatted in paragraphs in Notepad before pasting here.

  2. I believe that is incorrect Sir, the people's tax-dollars are NOT paying for the companies investment. Without the tax-break the company would be paying an ADDITIONAL $11.1 million in taxes ON TOP of their $22.5 Million investment (Building + IT), for a total of $33.6M or a 50% tax rate. Also, the article does not specify what the total taxes were BEFORE the break. Usually such a corporate tax-break is a 'discount' not a 100% wavier of tax obligations. For sake of example lets say the original taxes added up to $30M over 10 years. $12.5M, New Building $10.0M, IT infrastructure $30.0M, Total Taxes (Example Number) == $52.5M ININ's Cost - $1.8M /10 years, Tax Break (Building) - $0.75M /10 years, Tax Break (IT Infrastructure) - $8.6M /2 years, Tax Breaks (against Hiring Commitment: 430 new jobs /2 years) == 11.5M Possible tax breaks. ININ TOTAL COST: $41M Even if you assume a 100% break, change the '30.0M' to '11.5M' and you can see the Company will be paying a minimum of $22.5, out-of-pocket for their capital-investment - NOT the tax-payers. Also note, much of this money is being spent locally in Indiana and it is creating 430 jobs in your city. I admit I'm a little unclear which tax-breaks are allocated to exactly which expenses. Clearly this is all oversimplified but I think we have both made our points! :) Sorry for the long post.

  3. Clearly, there is a lack of a basic understanding of economics. It is not up to the company to decide what to pay its workers. If companies were able to decide how much to pay their workers then why wouldn't they pay everyone minimum wage? Why choose to pay $10 or $14 when they could pay $7? The answer is that companies DO NOT decide how much to pay workers. It is the market that dictates what a worker is worth and how much they should get paid. If Lowe's chooses to pay a call center worker $7 an hour it will not be able to hire anyone for the job, because all those people will work for someone else paying the market rate of $10-$14 an hour. This forces Lowes to pay its workers that much. Not because it wants to pay them that much out of the goodness of their heart, but because it has to pay them that much in order to stay competitive and attract good workers.

  4. GOOD DAY to you I am Mr Howell Henry, a Reputable, Legitimate & an accredited money Lender. I loan money out to individuals in need of financial assistance. Do you have a bad credit or are you in need of money to pay bills? i want to use this medium to inform you that i render reliable beneficiary assistance as I'll be glad to offer you a loan at 2% interest rate to reliable individuals. Services Rendered include: *Refinance *Home Improvement *Inventor Loans *Auto Loans *Debt Consolidation *Horse Loans *Line of Credit *Second Mortgage *Business Loans *Personal Loans *International Loans. Please write back if interested. Upon Response, you'll be mailed a Loan application form to fill. (No social security and no credit check, 100% Guaranteed!) I Look forward permitting me to be of service to you. You can contact me via e-mail howellhenryloanfirm@gmail.com Yours Sincerely MR Howell Henry(MD)

  5. It is sad to see these races not have a full attendance. The Indy Car races are so much more exciting than Nascar. It seems to me the commenters here are still a little upset with Tony George from a move he made 20 years ago. It was his decision to make, not yours. He lost his position over it. But I believe the problem in all pro sports is the escalating price of admission. In todays economy, people have to pay much more for food and gas. The average fan cannot attend many events anymore. It's gotten priced out of most peoples budgets.

ADVERTISEMENT