Dining Reviews

DINING: No waffling, Maxine's delivers

June 15, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It felt weird to pull into a gas station parking lot in search of lunch. But we forgot we were in a former auto repair shop as soon as we walked into Maxine's Chicken & Waffles, attached to the Citgo station at Ohio and East streets.
More

DINING: Binkley's Kitchen & Bar reclaims former drug store site

June 8, 2009
Lou Harry
Binkley's Drug Store occupied the corner of Kessler and College from 1928 to the early 1970s. Its namesake now occupying the same spot, Binkley's Kitchen & Bar, seems equally built to last—a friendly neighborhood joint that glances back without wallowing in nostalgia and stays progressive without being trendy.
More

DINING: Quick-serve Roscoe's Tacos keeps quality intact

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
I'll make the case that Roscoe's Tacos (642 S. Madison Ave., Greenwood) deserves a spot among those who rotate among the area's many Mexican restaurants. That's because this eatery's operators know what they want to do and do it well.
More

DINING: Cobblestone Grill offers tasty lunch until 5

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry

One of the pleasures—and there are numerous ones—of Zionsville’s Cobblestone Grill (160 S. Main St., Zionsville, 873-4745) is that its lunch menu is offered beyond the traditional midday-meal hours.

More

DINING: East-side retro diner serves up the classics

May 11, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
With a fading classic car painted on the side of the building, Rock Cola 50's Cafe looks a lot older than its 16 years. But that's the idea.
More

DINING: Granite City is a chain champion

May 2, 2009
Lou Harry
People will always make the case that Indianapolis doesn't need any more chain or franchised restaurants. I understand the big-picture argument. I understand the desire for a greater regional culinary identity and the wish for a more adventurous restaurant clientele. To be honest, though, a good meal can temporarily dismantle my regional pride.
More

DINING: At this Fishers find, bacon dominates the menu

April 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Bacon—it's not just for breakfast anymore. At the Old Town Ale House in Fishers, in fact, it's practically the main course. What's not to love about that?
More

DINING: Saffron's food, customer service is exemplary

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
Saffron Cafe's staff is so friendly and courteous and its food so delicious that I am urging everyone to eat at this downtown restaurant.
More

DINING: Stanley's New York Deli serves 86th and Ditch neighborhood

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry

While newcomer Stanley's doesn't have the scale or history of Shapiro's, it's making a valiant effort to bring real deli back to the neighborhoods near 86th Street and Ditch Road.

More

DINING: In Irvington, an eatery that lives up to its 'Legend' name

March 30, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
With a name like The Legend, expectations run high. Luckily for us, The Legend Classic Irvington Cafe (5614 E. Washington St., 536-2028) met them.
More

DINING: Zionsville eatery 'Noahs' how to please diners

March 23, 2009
Lou Harry
This Noah Grant character knows how to entertain and provide an exceptional meal.
More

DINING: Mudsocks Grill doesn't mess around

March 16, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Mudsocks Grill offers a delicious grilled tilapia sandwich, blue-cheese-laden-pasta and Chili Con Queso. Try the fried cheesecake too.
More

DINING: Rooting for Broad Ripple's Canal Bistro

March 9, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, our month-long experiment with the iPhone Urban Spoon feature (type in a region, shake, and get a restaurant recommendation) led us to Canal Bistro International Grille (6349 N. Guilford Ave., 254-8700).
More

DINING: iPhone app leads us to Siam Square

March 2, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
This month, we threw caution — and dining preferences — to the wind and employed the help of the Urban Spoon iPhone application to make our dining choices.
More

DINING: Adobo Grill's fresh guac, ceviche delicious

February 23, 2009
Lou Harry
About everything we tried on visits to Adobo Grill was delicious and suitable for sharing, and that's good because I'd like to try a taste of as many dishes there as possible.
More

DINING: Buffalo Wild Wings offers lots of flavorful sauces

February 16, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I recommend diners try out crisp wings in spicy garlic and Asian zing sauces. The non-wing choices, such as pulled pork sandwiches, are also delicious.
More

DINING: Taste of Tango delivers Argentinian food with little fanfare

February 9, 2009
Lou Harry
The Taste of Tango offers Argentinean food in an elegant atmosphere in an old downtown building. Try the empanadas.
More

Scotty's Brewhouse is hip, but food and service is so-soRestricted Content

February 2, 2009
Lou Harry
Everything we sampled at Scotty's Brewhouse was—and has been in the past—fine, but not above the fare at other bar/eateries.
More

DINING: Rockstar and Gusto! are put to the pizza test

January 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Brownsburg's Rockstar Pizza and Fountain Square's Gusto! are put to the test.
More

DINING: Tomato Pie offers ambitious pizza toppings

January 19, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
As restaurant locations go, Tomato Pie's is far from ideal, tucked away in an aging strip mall in the shadow of Interstate 465 (9611 College Ave., 815-0011). But the pizza menu at this locally owned bistro aims to be noticed, with an ambitious array of unusual toppings like boiled eggs, linguine noodles and lentil beans that almost dare diners to give them a try.
More

DINING: Maria's and Greek's pizzerias stake out new territory

January 12, 2009
Lou Harry
Context can have nearly as much to do with a pizza's success as dough, tomato sauce, and cheese. As evidence, let's consider two established pizza purveyors staking out new territory.
More

DINING: Agustino's and Magoo's illustrate pizza diversity

January 5, 2009
Lou Harry
Not long ago, there was a dearth of quality pizza in Indianapolis. But with new pizza joints opening all the time, this this month we're catching up on newer pizzerias (and some we missed).
More

DINING: A year of changes on the Indy culinary scene

December 29, 2008
Lou Harry
Some things never change on the local dining scene. We'll ignore those for now. Instead, here are some key events that affected eating habits of both locals and visitors to Indianapolis in 2008.
More

DINING: Puck Express offers herb-seasoned fries at airport

December 22, 2008
Lou Harry
For our final airport dining excursion—the fourth in this month's series—we step into Concourse B, home to American, Southwest, United, USAir and more.
More

DINING: Harry & Izzy's, 96th Street Steakburgers offer mixed bag to flyers

December 15, 2008
Andrea Muirragui Davis
We eschewed the national chains in favor of a couple homegrown hangouts to review for this month's look at airport dining—Harry & Izzy's and 96th Street Steakburgers.
More
Page  << 11 12 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Of what value is selling alcoholic beverages to State Fair patrons when there are many families with children attending. Is this the message we want to give children attending and participating in the Fair, another venue with alooholic consumption onsite. Is this to promote beer and wine production in the state which are great for the breweries and wineries, but where does this end up 10-15 years from now, lots more drinkers for the alcoholic contents. If these drinks are so important, why not remove the alcohol content and the flavor and drink itself similar to soft drinks would be the novelty, not the alcoholic content and its affects on the drinker. There is no social or material benefit from drinking alcoholic beverages, mostly people want to get slightly or highly drunk.

  2. I did;nt know anyone in Indiana could count- WHY did they NOT SAY just HOW this would be enforced? Because it WON;T! NOW- with that said- BIG BROTHER is ALIVE in this Article-why take any comment if it won't appease YOU PEOPLE- that's NOT American- with EVERYTHING you indicated is NOT said-I can see WHY it say's o Comments- YOU are COMMIES- BIG BROTHER and most likely- voted for Obama!

  3. In Europe there are schools for hairdressing but you don't get a license afterwards but you are required to assist in turkey and Italy its 7 years in japan it's 10 years England 2 so these people who assist know how to do hair their not just anybody and if your an owner and you hire someone with no experience then ur an idiot I've known stylist from different countries with no license but they are professional clean and safe they have no license but they have experience a license doesn't mean anything look at all the bad hairdressers in the world that have fried peoples hair okay but they have a license doesn't make them a professional at their job I think they should get rid of it because stateboard robs stylist and owners and they fine you for the dumbest f***ing things oh ur license isn't displayed 100$ oh ur wearing open toe shoes fine, oh there's ONE HAIR IN UR BRUSH that's a fine it's like really? So I think they need to go or ease up on their regulations because their too strict

  4. Exciting times in Carmel.

  5. Twenty years ago when we moved to Indy I was a stay at home mom and knew not very many people.WIBC was my family and friends for the most part. It was informative, civil, and humerous with Dave the KING. Terri, Jeff, Stever, Big Joe, Matt, Pat and Crumie. I loved them all, and they seemed to love each other. I didn't mind Greg Garrison, but I was not a Rush fan. NOW I can't stand Chicks and all their giggly opinions. Tony Katz is to abrasive that early in the morning(or really any time). I will tune in on Saturday morning for the usual fun and priceless information from Pat and Crumie, mornings it will be 90.1

ADVERTISEMENT