Dining Reviews

DINING: Not-so-great Scots

January 28, 2012
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of newish downtown eateries. This week: Tilted Kilt.
More

DINING: Heidenreich resurfaces at Chef Joseph's

January 21, 2012
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Fourth in a month-long series of looks at newer downtown eateries. This Week: Chef Joseph’s at the Connoisseur Room.
More

DINING: Ambassador bar gets Mexican makeover

January 14, 2012
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of looks at newer downtown eateries. This week: Azul.
More

DINING: Et tu, Bru?

January 7, 2012
Lou Harry
There’s very little that hasn’t been piled betwixt beef and bun, but while Bru Burger Bar doesn’t break any new ground, it does bring a shot of dining energy to mid-Mass Ave.
More

DINING: Winner's is a place to show

December 31, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of looks at newer downtown eateries.
More

DINING: Fountain Square eatery gets a turnaround

December 17, 2011
Lou Harry
Last in a series of visits to eateries that have recently moved into the digs of former eateries. This week: End of the Line Public House.
More

DINING: CPK gives CPR to downtown dining spot

December 10, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a series of visits to eateries that have recently movedinto the digs of former eateries.
More

DINING: Restaurant refills brighten landscape

December 3, 2011
Lou Harry
New Orleans on the Avenue and DJ's Hot Dog Co. take over where others have departed.
More

DINING: Pho sizzles up flavorful Vietnamese comfort food

November 26, 2011
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of new ethnic eateries. This week: Pho Asian.
More

DINING: Tucked away in Dunaway's, a minimal Mexican lunchery

November 19, 2011
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of reviews of new ethnic eateries.
More

DINING: Mama Irma earns high praise

November 12, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of reviews of new ethnic eateries. This week: Fountain Square Peruvian.
More

DINING: Naan finer than Clay Oven's hot bread

November 5, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of reviews of new ethnic eateries.
More

DINING: Yes, Virginia, there's another good local doughnut shop

October 29, 2011
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of "en route" eateries. This week: Virginia Kay's Doughnuts.
More

DINING: It's all Greek (and Italian and dinery) to me

October 22, 2011
Lou Harry
Fourth in our month-long series of reviews of “en-route” restaurants. This week: Dimitri's Restaurant.
More

DINING: In local dining void, Pike's Mike shows grill skill

October 15, 2011
Lou Harry
Third in our month long series of reviews of “en route” restaurants.
More

DINING: Drive-by Carmel newcomer worth a stop

October 8, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of “en route” restaurants. This week: J. Razzo's.
More

DINING: Tortas reform

October 1, 2011
First in a month-long series of “en route” restaurants.
More

DINING: Closed encounter makes it a Blue Wednesday

September 24, 2011
Lou Harry
Last in a series of “game on” restaurants. This week: Blue Crew Sports Grill
More

DINING: Chicken chain wings in from Fort Wayne

September 17, 2011
Lou Harry
Third in a series of "game on" restaurants. This week: Wings Etc.
More

DINING: New downtown restaurant tries for Colt following

September 10, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of “game-on” restaurants. This week: Indianapolis Colts Grille.
More

DINING: Sports bar at JW Marriott is Super-Bowl-ready

September 3, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of “game on” eatery reviews.
More

DINING: Fountain Square eatery is taqueria of the town

August 27, 2011
Lou Harry
Fourth in a month-long series of reviews of new arts district eateries. This week: Revolucion.
More

DINING: Broad Ripple's new binary eatery hides in plain sight

August 20, 2011
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of reviews of new arts district eateries. This week: 10-01 Food & Drink.
More

DINING: When boy meets soy at Indiana State Fair

August 13, 2011
Lou Harry
It's the Year of Soybeans, which means different things to different vendors.
More

DINING: Carmel's new Detour dares diners to overdo it

August 6, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of reviews of new arts district eateries.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. to mention the rest of Molly's experience- she served as Communications Director for the Indianapolis Department of Public Works and also did communications for the state. She's incredibly qualified for this role and has a real love for Indianapolis and Indiana. Best of luck to her!

  2. Shall we not demand the same scrutiny for law schools, med schools, heaven forbid, business schools, etc.? How many law school grads are servers? How many business start ups fail and how many business grads get low paying jobs because there are so few high paying positions available? Why does our legislature continue to demean public schools and give taxpayer dollars to charters and private schools, ($171 million last year), rather than investing in our community schools? We are on a course of disaster regarding our public school attitudes unless we change our thinking in a short time.

  3. I agree with the other reader's comment about the chunky tomato soup. I found myself wanting a breadstick to dip into it. It tasted more like a marinara sauce; I couldn't eat it as a soup. In general, I liked the place... but doubt that I'll frequent it once the novelty wears off.

  4. The Indiana toll road used to have some of the cleanest bathrooms you could find on the road. After the lease they went downhill quickly. While not the grossest you'll see, they hover a bit below average. Am not sure if this is indicative of the entire deal or merely a portion of it. But the goals of anyone taking over the lease will always be at odds. The fewer repairs they make, the more money they earn since they have a virtual monopoly on travel from Cleveland to Chicago. So they only comply to satisfy the rules. It's hard to hand public works over to private enterprise. The incentives are misaligned. In true competition, you'd have multiple roads, each build by different companies motivated to make theirs more attractive. Working to attract customers is very different than working to maximize profit on people who have no choice but to choose your road. Of course, we all know two roads would be even more ridiculous.

  5. The State is in a perfect position. The consortium overpaid for leasing the toll road. Good for the State. The money they paid is being used across the State to upgrade roads and bridges and employ people at at time most of the country is scrambling to fund basic repairs. Good for the State. Indiana taxpayers are no longer subsidizing the toll roads to the tune of millions a year as we had for the last 20 years because the legislature did not have the guts to raise tolls. Good for the State. If the consortium fails, they either find another operator, acceptable to the State, to buy them out or the road gets turned back over to the State and we keep the Billions. Good for the State. Pat Bauer is no longer the Majority or Minority Leader of the House. Good for the State. Anyway you look at this, the State received billions of dollars for an assett the taxpayers were subsidizing, the State does not have to pay to maintain the road for 70 years. I am having trouble seeing the downside.

ADVERTISEMENT