Dining Reviews

DINING: Blu lunch just pretense for dessert

July 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At Blue Moon Cafe, the difficult-to-resist pastry case is right inside the front door.
More

DINING: A chorizo line forms for Westfield Mexican eatery

July 17, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
There was nothing fancy about the neighborhood restaurant, but Queso Blanco was packing them in despite nearby competition from two of the nearly ubiquitous strip-mall chains.
More

DINING: Eye has new Broad Ripple focus

July 10, 2010
Lou Harry
The new edition of The Red Eye is only a short designated-driver ride from most Broad Ripple night spots.
More

DINING: Clubhouse serves mixed messages

July 3, 2010
Lou Harry
Southside newcomer serves a memorable burger.
More

DINING: Nothing alarming at sub shop

June 19, 2010
Lou Harry
Third in our month-long series of "elemental" restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Spice is nice at Main St. Carmel Cajun

June 12, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of "elemental" eateries.
More

DINING: Keeping customers happy an elemental test of eateries

June 5, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Our waiter forgot to ring in our order. Mistakes happen, but how such problems are fixed says a lot about a restaurant’s culture.
More

DINING: Dog days in Broad Ripple at Gourmet Frank's

May 29, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’m a grammar snob, which is one reason it took me so long to make the trek to Broad Ripple to try Gourmet Frank’s. There is no Frank, just an unnecessary apostrophe—which I call the Hoosier possessive—in the simple description of its star menu item: franks, as in hot dogs.
More

DINING: Come fry with me at Fat Dan's

May 22, 2010
Lou Harry
The fries at Fat Dan’s Chicago-style Deli in Broad Ripple are, in short, delicious and enough of a draw on their own to merit a visit (though we realize it’s unlikely you’ll stop with just fries).
More

DINING: Off-the-trail eatery excels

May 15, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
My soiled shirt was a reminder of the best fish tacos I've had outside my dad's kitchen.
More

DINING: Patachou spins off pleasing pizzeria Napolese

May 8, 2010
Lou Harry
Since none of its initials stand for things one would find on a traditional pizzeria-style pizza, let’s break down the P, the F, and the G in the PFG at Napolese.
More

DINING: Nothing fowl at canal-side newcomer

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of new Broad Ripple restaurant reviews. This week: Flatwater.
More

DINING: Experiencing pub style, the Brockway way

April 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Carmel eatery bills itself as the country's first Dublin-inspired "industrial" pub.
More

DINING: Ice House offers cold comfort

April 17, 2010
Lou Harry
One of the advantages of our month-long restaurant themes is that it gives us an excuse to visit old favorites, and this landmark certainly qualifies.
More

DINING: Barbecue joint offers smoked Southern comfort (food)

April 10, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Second in our month-long series of "House" restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Scotty's spin-off offers pier-less dining at Lakehouse

April 3, 2010
Lou Harry
There's no water in view, but Scotty's Lakehouse is true to its subtitle: A Burger Joint.
More

DINING: Fishers diners need not fear Wolfie's Den

March 27, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Just walking into Wolfie’s Den made me want to take up hunting. Well, OK, maybe it just made me want to eat some meat.
More

DINING: Looking back and forward--Inside the Scottish Rite Cathedral at the Double Eagle Cafe

March 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Fourth in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

DINING: Bearcats revs up for diners in the Stutz Building

March 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

DINING: With a bit of pluck, wing chain takes first Indy outpost

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries. This week: Buffalo Wings and Rings.
More

DINING: Mane attraction added to Fountain Square fare

February 27, 2010
Lou Harry
Fish and chips are, of course, a staple at new pub.
More

DINING: Northside Social lives up to its name

February 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries. This week: The Northside Social.
More

DINING: A Taste sensation in 'gourmet ghetto'

February 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries. This week: Taste Cafe and Marketplace.
More

DINING: Exploring a new Broad Ripple "Island"

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries.
More

DINING: Rule-breaker Recess schools Indianapolis diners

January 30, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Greg Hardesty's new restaurant features an ever-changing menu.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. to mention the rest of Molly's experience- she served as Communications Director for the Indianapolis Department of Public Works and also did communications for the state. She's incredibly qualified for this role and has a real love for Indianapolis and Indiana. Best of luck to her!

  2. Shall we not demand the same scrutiny for law schools, med schools, heaven forbid, business schools, etc.? How many law school grads are servers? How many business start ups fail and how many business grads get low paying jobs because there are so few high paying positions available? Why does our legislature continue to demean public schools and give taxpayer dollars to charters and private schools, ($171 million last year), rather than investing in our community schools? We are on a course of disaster regarding our public school attitudes unless we change our thinking in a short time.

  3. I agree with the other reader's comment about the chunky tomato soup. I found myself wanting a breadstick to dip into it. It tasted more like a marinara sauce; I couldn't eat it as a soup. In general, I liked the place... but doubt that I'll frequent it once the novelty wears off.

  4. The Indiana toll road used to have some of the cleanest bathrooms you could find on the road. After the lease they went downhill quickly. While not the grossest you'll see, they hover a bit below average. Am not sure if this is indicative of the entire deal or merely a portion of it. But the goals of anyone taking over the lease will always be at odds. The fewer repairs they make, the more money they earn since they have a virtual monopoly on travel from Cleveland to Chicago. So they only comply to satisfy the rules. It's hard to hand public works over to private enterprise. The incentives are misaligned. In true competition, you'd have multiple roads, each build by different companies motivated to make theirs more attractive. Working to attract customers is very different than working to maximize profit on people who have no choice but to choose your road. Of course, we all know two roads would be even more ridiculous.

  5. The State is in a perfect position. The consortium overpaid for leasing the toll road. Good for the State. The money they paid is being used across the State to upgrade roads and bridges and employ people at at time most of the country is scrambling to fund basic repairs. Good for the State. Indiana taxpayers are no longer subsidizing the toll roads to the tune of millions a year as we had for the last 20 years because the legislature did not have the guts to raise tolls. Good for the State. If the consortium fails, they either find another operator, acceptable to the State, to buy them out or the road gets turned back over to the State and we keep the Billions. Good for the State. Pat Bauer is no longer the Majority or Minority Leader of the House. Good for the State. Anyway you look at this, the State received billions of dollars for an assett the taxpayers were subsidizing, the State does not have to pay to maintain the road for 70 years. I am having trouble seeing the downside.

ADVERTISEMENT