Dining Reviews

DINING: Keeping customers happy an elemental test of eateries

June 5, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Our waiter forgot to ring in our order. Mistakes happen, but how such problems are fixed says a lot about a restaurant’s culture.
More

DINING: Dog days in Broad Ripple at Gourmet Frank's

May 29, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’m a grammar snob, which is one reason it took me so long to make the trek to Broad Ripple to try Gourmet Frank’s. There is no Frank, just an unnecessary apostrophe—which I call the Hoosier possessive—in the simple description of its star menu item: franks, as in hot dogs.
More

DINING: Come fry with me at Fat Dan's

May 22, 2010
Lou Harry
The fries at Fat Dan’s Chicago-style Deli in Broad Ripple are, in short, delicious and enough of a draw on their own to merit a visit (though we realize it’s unlikely you’ll stop with just fries).
More

DINING: Off-the-trail eatery excels

May 15, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
My soiled shirt was a reminder of the best fish tacos I've had outside my dad's kitchen.
More

DINING: Patachou spins off pleasing pizzeria Napolese

May 8, 2010
Lou Harry
Since none of its initials stand for things one would find on a traditional pizzeria-style pizza, let’s break down the P, the F, and the G in the PFG at Napolese.
More

DINING: Nothing fowl at canal-side newcomer

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of new Broad Ripple restaurant reviews. This week: Flatwater.
More

DINING: Experiencing pub style, the Brockway way

April 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Carmel eatery bills itself as the country's first Dublin-inspired "industrial" pub.
More

DINING: Ice House offers cold comfort

April 17, 2010
Lou Harry
One of the advantages of our month-long restaurant themes is that it gives us an excuse to visit old favorites, and this landmark certainly qualifies.
More

DINING: Barbecue joint offers smoked Southern comfort (food)

April 10, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Second in our month-long series of "House" restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Scotty's spin-off offers pier-less dining at Lakehouse

April 3, 2010
Lou Harry
There's no water in view, but Scotty's Lakehouse is true to its subtitle: A Burger Joint.
More

DINING: Fishers diners need not fear Wolfie's Den

March 27, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Just walking into Wolfie’s Den made me want to take up hunting. Well, OK, maybe it just made me want to eat some meat.
More

DINING: Looking back and forward--Inside the Scottish Rite Cathedral at the Double Eagle Cafe

March 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Fourth in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

DINING: Bearcats revs up for diners in the Stutz Building

March 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

DINING: With a bit of pluck, wing chain takes first Indy outpost

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries. This week: Buffalo Wings and Rings.
More

DINING: Mane attraction added to Fountain Square fare

February 27, 2010
Lou Harry
Fish and chips are, of course, a staple at new pub.
More

DINING: Northside Social lives up to its name

February 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries. This week: The Northside Social.
More

DINING: A Taste sensation in 'gourmet ghetto'

February 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries. This week: Taste Cafe and Marketplace.
More

DINING: Exploring a new Broad Ripple "Island"

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries.
More

DINING: Rule-breaker Recess schools Indianapolis diners

January 30, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Greg Hardesty's new restaurant features an ever-changing menu.
More

DINING: New chain wedges in to Indy market

January 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Fox's Pizza Den is latest to set up shop here.
More

DINING: Italia Mia's pie has strong pedigree

January 16, 2010
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of visits to new pizza places.
More

DINING: Pizzology's crust, fresh ingredients delight diners

January 9, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’ve often said that if I had to pick one food to eat every day, it would be pizza. After a couple of visits to restaurateur Neal Brown’s new place in Carmel, I feel compelled to revise that statement: If I had to pick one food to eat every day, it would be Pizzology pizza.
More

DINING: Now you eat 'em, now you don't

December 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Lots changed on the Indy culinary front in 2009.
More

DINING: New Conrad eatery offers a taste of the good life

December 19, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
We take a taste of the offerings at the new wine bar at the Conrad.
More

DINING: Broad Ripple staple expands to downtown

December 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
The restaurant space at 15 E. Maryland St. has come a long way since its beer-drenched days as a Buffalo Wild Wings franchise.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I had read earlier this spring that Noodles & Co was going to open in the Fishers Marketplace (which is SR 37 and 131st St, not 141st St, just FYI). Any word on that? Also, do you happen to know what is being built in Carmel at Pennsylvania and Old Meridian? May just be an office building but I'm not sure.

  2. I'm sorry, but you are flat out wrong. There are few tracks in the world with the history of IMS and probably NO OTHER as widely known and recognized. I don't care what you think about the stat of Indy Car racing, these are pretty hard things to dispute.

  3. Also wondering if there is an update on the Brockway Pub-Danny Boy restaurant/taproom that was planned for the village as well?

  4. Why does the majority get to trample on the rights of the minority? You do realize that banning gay marriage does not rid the world of gay people, right? They are still going to be around and they are still going to continue to exist. The best way to get it all out of the spotlight? LEGALIZE IT! If gay marriage is legal, they will get to stop trying to push for it and you will get to stop seeing it all over the news. Why do Christians get to decide what is moral?? Why do you get to push your religion on others? How would legalizing gay marriage expose their lifestyle to your children? By the way, their lifestyle is going to continue whether gay marriage is legalized or not. It's been legal in Canada for quite a while now and they seem to be doing just fine. What about actual rules handed down by God? What about not working on Sundays? What about obeying your parents? What about adultery? These are in the 10 Commandments, the most important of God's rules. Yet they are all perfectly legal. What about divorce? Only God is allowed to dissolve a marriage so why don't you work hard to get divorce banned? Why do you get to pick and choose the parts of the Bible you care about?

  5. Look at the bright side. With the new Lowe's call center, that means 1000 jobs at $10 bucks an hour. IMS has to be drooling over all that disposable income. If those employees can save all their extra money after bills, in five years they can go to the race LIVE. Can you say attendance boost?

ADVERTISEMENT