Dining Reviews

DINING: New chain wedges in to Indy market

January 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Fox's Pizza Den is latest to set up shop here.
More

DINING: Italia Mia's pie has strong pedigree

January 16, 2010
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of visits to new pizza places.
More

DINING: Pizzology's crust, fresh ingredients delight diners

January 9, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’ve often said that if I had to pick one food to eat every day, it would be pizza. After a couple of visits to restaurateur Neal Brown’s new place in Carmel, I feel compelled to revise that statement: If I had to pick one food to eat every day, it would be Pizzology pizza.
More

DINING: Now you eat 'em, now you don't

December 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Lots changed on the Indy culinary front in 2009.
More

DINING: New Conrad eatery offers a taste of the good life

December 19, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
We take a taste of the offerings at the new wine bar at the Conrad.
More

DINING: Broad Ripple staple expands to downtown

December 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
The restaurant space at 15 E. Maryland St. has come a long way since its beer-drenched days as a Buffalo Wild Wings franchise.
More

DINING: Kilroy's is here

December 5, 2009
Lou Harry
Kilroy's Bar n' Grill, the Bloomington college-crowd staple, comes to the big city.
More

DINING: Appetizing name raises restaurant expectations

November 28, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When you name your restaurant Oh Yumm! Bistro, you've set the bar pretty high.
More

DINING: Taking a chance on a casino buffet at Indiana Live!

November 21, 2009
Lou Harry
Indy's closest casino has revamped its dining offerings. We take a taste.
More

DINING: Warm, inviting Italian dining with a Tyler that binds

November 14, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’ve driven by countless strip-mall eateries without giving them a second glance, but there always has been something about Carmel’s Mangia! that has drawn my attention. Maybe it’s the exclamation point.
More

DINING: Frosting is tops at Holy Cow, Cupcakes!

November 7, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At this Rangeline Road cupcakery, it's the sweet stuff that counts.
More

DINING: Zionsville's Oobatz! earns its punctuation

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
New restaurant serves up pizza, pasta and more.
More

DINING: Beyond the bread at new Northside bakery

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
We finish off our 86th and Ditch month of reviews with treats from Great Cooks: The Bakery.
More

DINING: At 86th and Ditch, a revamped pearl among bistros

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
Third in a series of reviews near the north-side intersection.
More

DINING: Eclectic menu highlights flower-powered eatery

October 10, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It may be situated smack-dab in the middle of a strip mall, but Tulip Noir is not just another cookie-cutter eatery serving up the same old food
More

DINING: 'Bucket' pales next to others at busy intersection

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This month, we’ll hit a quartet of recent restaurant arrivals near the already competitive culinary intersection of 86th Street and Ditch Road. First up: Rusty Bucket Corner Tavern.
More

DINING: In Whitestown, a culinary wonder

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Fourth in IBJ's month-long series of reviews of reborn cafes. This week: L.A. Cafe.
More

DINING: New IMA eatery keeps things new

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The menu changes weekly at the Indianapolis Museum of Art's new eatery, Nourish.
More

DINING: Soup is center stage at revamped downtown eatery

September 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Cafe Zuppa fills in for the departed Gabriel's Cafeteria, offering an ample—and ambitious—menu.
More

DINING: Canal eatery recreated

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It’s called Creation Cafe (337 W. 11th St., 955-2389), but a better name for the restaurant at the top of the downtown canal might be Re-creation Café.
More

DINING: A worthwhile stop on the road to IU

August 29, 2009
Lou Harry
Even the most hard-core local-restaurant advocates make exceptions when they hit the road. But on a recent drive, I found an alternative to fast-food pit stops.
More

DINING: Tomato fare at the fair

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
How do the five finalists in the Indiana State Fair signature food competition hold up for our taste-testers?
More

DINING: Iaria's name may provide jokes, but Italian classics satisfy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
Iaria’s Italian Restaurant has been around since 1933, but that’s no reason to feel guilty about making fun of its name. Go on, chuckle about how it’s only a slightly better name than “Isintary.” You are forgiven.
More

DINING: I Love Sushi feeds raw fish ardor

August 3, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When we chose our review theme for August—The “I”s Have It—I jumped at the chance to try I Love Sushi.
More

DINING: The Eiteljorg cafe where soup is always on

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
If all outdoor dining were as comfortable and stress-free as Sky City Cafe's, maybe I'd do it more often.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. How much you wanna bet, that 70% of the jobs created there (after construction) are minimum wage? And Harvey is correct, the vast majority of residents in this project will drive to their jobs, and to think otherwise, is like Harvey says, a pipe dream. Someone working at a restaurant or retail store will not be able to afford living there. What ever happened to people who wanted to build buildings, paying for it themselves? Not a fan of these tax deals.

  2. Uh, no GeorgeP. The project is supposed to bring on 1,000 jobs and those people along with the people that will be living in the new residential will be driving to their jobs. The walkable stuff is a pipe dream. Besides, walkable is defined as having all daily necessities within 1/2 mile. That's not the case here. Never will be.

  3. Brad is on to something there. The merger of the Formula E and IndyCar Series would give IndyCar access to International markets and Formula E access the Indianapolis 500, not to mention some other events in the USA. Maybe after 2016 but before the new Dallara is rolled out for 2018. This give IndyCar two more seasons to run the DW12 and Formula E to get charged up, pun intended. Then shock the racing world, pun intended, but making the 101st Indianapolis 500 a stellar, groundbreaking event: The first all-electric Indy 500, and use that platform to promote the future of the sport.

  4. No, HarveyF, the exact opposite. Greater density and closeness to retail and everyday necessities reduces traffic. When one has to drive miles for necessities, all those cars are on the roads for many miles. When reasonable density is built, low rise in this case, in the middle of a thriving retail area, one has to drive far less, actually reducing the number of cars on the road.

  5. The Indy Star announced today the appointment of a new Beverage Reporter! So instead of insightful reports on Indy pro sports and Indiana college teams, you now get to read stories about the 432nd new brewery open or some obscure Hoosier winery winning a county fair blue ribbon. Yep, that's the coverage we Star readers crave. Not.

ADVERTISEMENT