Dining Reviews

DINING: Pizzology's crust, fresh ingredients delight diners

January 9, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’ve often said that if I had to pick one food to eat every day, it would be pizza. After a couple of visits to restaurateur Neal Brown’s new place in Carmel, I feel compelled to revise that statement: If I had to pick one food to eat every day, it would be Pizzology pizza.
More

DINING: Now you eat 'em, now you don't

December 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Lots changed on the Indy culinary front in 2009.
More

DINING: New Conrad eatery offers a taste of the good life

December 19, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
We take a taste of the offerings at the new wine bar at the Conrad.
More

DINING: Broad Ripple staple expands to downtown

December 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
The restaurant space at 15 E. Maryland St. has come a long way since its beer-drenched days as a Buffalo Wild Wings franchise.
More

DINING: Kilroy's is here

December 5, 2009
Lou Harry
Kilroy's Bar n' Grill, the Bloomington college-crowd staple, comes to the big city.
More

DINING: Appetizing name raises restaurant expectations

November 28, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When you name your restaurant Oh Yumm! Bistro, you've set the bar pretty high.
More

DINING: Taking a chance on a casino buffet at Indiana Live!

November 21, 2009
Lou Harry
Indy's closest casino has revamped its dining offerings. We take a taste.
More

DINING: Warm, inviting Italian dining with a Tyler that binds

November 14, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’ve driven by countless strip-mall eateries without giving them a second glance, but there always has been something about Carmel’s Mangia! that has drawn my attention. Maybe it’s the exclamation point.
More

DINING: Frosting is tops at Holy Cow, Cupcakes!

November 7, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At this Rangeline Road cupcakery, it's the sweet stuff that counts.
More

DINING: Zionsville's Oobatz! earns its punctuation

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
New restaurant serves up pizza, pasta and more.
More

DINING: Beyond the bread at new Northside bakery

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
We finish off our 86th and Ditch month of reviews with treats from Great Cooks: The Bakery.
More

DINING: At 86th and Ditch, a revamped pearl among bistros

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
Third in a series of reviews near the north-side intersection.
More

DINING: Eclectic menu highlights flower-powered eatery

October 10, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It may be situated smack-dab in the middle of a strip mall, but Tulip Noir is not just another cookie-cutter eatery serving up the same old food
More

DINING: 'Bucket' pales next to others at busy intersection

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This month, we’ll hit a quartet of recent restaurant arrivals near the already competitive culinary intersection of 86th Street and Ditch Road. First up: Rusty Bucket Corner Tavern.
More

DINING: In Whitestown, a culinary wonder

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Fourth in IBJ's month-long series of reviews of reborn cafes. This week: L.A. Cafe.
More

DINING: New IMA eatery keeps things new

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The menu changes weekly at the Indianapolis Museum of Art's new eatery, Nourish.
More

DINING: Soup is center stage at revamped downtown eatery

September 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Cafe Zuppa fills in for the departed Gabriel's Cafeteria, offering an ample—and ambitious—menu.
More

DINING: Canal eatery recreated

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It’s called Creation Cafe (337 W. 11th St., 955-2389), but a better name for the restaurant at the top of the downtown canal might be Re-creation Café.
More

DINING: A worthwhile stop on the road to IU

August 29, 2009
Lou Harry
Even the most hard-core local-restaurant advocates make exceptions when they hit the road. But on a recent drive, I found an alternative to fast-food pit stops.
More

DINING: Tomato fare at the fair

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
How do the five finalists in the Indiana State Fair signature food competition hold up for our taste-testers?
More

DINING: Iaria's name may provide jokes, but Italian classics satisfy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
Iaria’s Italian Restaurant has been around since 1933, but that’s no reason to feel guilty about making fun of its name. Go on, chuckle about how it’s only a slightly better name than “Isintary.” You are forgiven.
More

DINING: I Love Sushi feeds raw fish ardor

August 3, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When we chose our review theme for August—The “I”s Have It—I jumped at the chance to try I Love Sushi.
More

DINING: The Eiteljorg cafe where soup is always on

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
If all outdoor dining were as comfortable and stress-free as Sky City Cafe's, maybe I'd do it more often.
More

DINING: We'll take sushi over cigars, now and Zen

July 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
This week, our exploration of the city’s cultural district dining took us to Mass Ave, where the culinary cultural offerings just might outnumber the artsy fartsy stuff. Our destination: Bu Da Lounge (429 Massachusetts Ave., 602-3643), which bills itself as an Asian-inspired cigar bar but is generating buzz for its sushi selection.
More

DINING: (Piz)'Za made for the middle of the night

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
If you’re in Broad Ripple and hungry for pizza, you’ve got lots of options. But what do you do if it’s the middle of the night on a Thursday and you and your entourage have the munchies? Well, for that very specific demographic group of pizza eaters, there’s now ’Za, which is open until 4 a.m. Wednesday to Saturday.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. The $104K to CRC would go toward debts service on $486M of existing debt they already have from other things outside this project. Keystone buys the bonds for 3.8M from CRC, and CRC in turn pays for the parking and site work, and some time later CRC buys them back (with interest) from the projected annual property tax revenue from the entire TIF district (est. $415K / yr. from just this property, plus more from all the other property in the TIF district), which in theory would be about a 10-year term, give-or-take. CRC is basically betting on the future, that property values will increase, driving up the tax revenue to the limit of the annual increase cap on commercial property (I think that's 3%). It should be noted that Keystone can't print money (unlike the Federal Treasury) so commercial property tax can only come from consumers, in this case the apartment renters and consumers of the goods and services offered by the ground floor retailers, and employees in the form of lower non-mandatory compensation items, such as bonuses, benefits, 401K match, etc.

  2. $3B would hurt Lilly's bottom line if there were no insurance or Indemnity Agreement, but there is no way that large an award will be upheld on appeal. What's surprising is that the trial judge refused to reduce it. She must have thought there was evidence of a flagrant, unconscionable coverup and wanted to send a message.

  3. As a self-employed individual, I always saw outrageous price increases every year in a health insurance plan with preexisting condition costs -- something most employed groups never had to worry about. With spouse, I saw ALL Indiana "free market answer" plans' premiums raise 25%-45% each year.

  4. It's not who you chose to build it's how they build it. Architects and engineers decide how and what to use to build. builders just do the work. Architects & engineers still think the tarp over the escalators out at airport will hold for third time when it snows, ice storms.

  5. http://www.abcactionnews.com/news/duke-energy-customers-angry-about-money-for-nothing

ADVERTISEMENT