Dining Reviews

DINING: Kilroy's is here

December 5, 2009
Lou Harry
Kilroy's Bar n' Grill, the Bloomington college-crowd staple, comes to the big city.
More

DINING: Appetizing name raises restaurant expectations

November 28, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When you name your restaurant Oh Yumm! Bistro, you've set the bar pretty high.
More

DINING: Taking a chance on a casino buffet at Indiana Live!

November 21, 2009
Lou Harry
Indy's closest casino has revamped its dining offerings. We take a taste.
More

DINING: Warm, inviting Italian dining with a Tyler that binds

November 14, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’ve driven by countless strip-mall eateries without giving them a second glance, but there always has been something about Carmel’s Mangia! that has drawn my attention. Maybe it’s the exclamation point.
More

DINING: Frosting is tops at Holy Cow, Cupcakes!

November 7, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At this Rangeline Road cupcakery, it's the sweet stuff that counts.
More

DINING: Zionsville's Oobatz! earns its punctuation

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
New restaurant serves up pizza, pasta and more.
More

DINING: Beyond the bread at new Northside bakery

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
We finish off our 86th and Ditch month of reviews with treats from Great Cooks: The Bakery.
More

DINING: At 86th and Ditch, a revamped pearl among bistros

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
Third in a series of reviews near the north-side intersection.
More

DINING: Eclectic menu highlights flower-powered eatery

October 10, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It may be situated smack-dab in the middle of a strip mall, but Tulip Noir is not just another cookie-cutter eatery serving up the same old food
More

DINING: 'Bucket' pales next to others at busy intersection

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This month, we’ll hit a quartet of recent restaurant arrivals near the already competitive culinary intersection of 86th Street and Ditch Road. First up: Rusty Bucket Corner Tavern.
More

DINING: In Whitestown, a culinary wonder

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Fourth in IBJ's month-long series of reviews of reborn cafes. This week: L.A. Cafe.
More

DINING: New IMA eatery keeps things new

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The menu changes weekly at the Indianapolis Museum of Art's new eatery, Nourish.
More

DINING: Soup is center stage at revamped downtown eatery

September 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Cafe Zuppa fills in for the departed Gabriel's Cafeteria, offering an ample—and ambitious—menu.
More

DINING: Canal eatery recreated

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It’s called Creation Cafe (337 W. 11th St., 955-2389), but a better name for the restaurant at the top of the downtown canal might be Re-creation Café.
More

DINING: A worthwhile stop on the road to IU

August 29, 2009
Lou Harry
Even the most hard-core local-restaurant advocates make exceptions when they hit the road. But on a recent drive, I found an alternative to fast-food pit stops.
More

DINING: Tomato fare at the fair

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
How do the five finalists in the Indiana State Fair signature food competition hold up for our taste-testers?
More

DINING: Iaria's name may provide jokes, but Italian classics satisfy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
Iaria’s Italian Restaurant has been around since 1933, but that’s no reason to feel guilty about making fun of its name. Go on, chuckle about how it’s only a slightly better name than “Isintary.” You are forgiven.
More

DINING: I Love Sushi feeds raw fish ardor

August 3, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When we chose our review theme for August—The “I”s Have It—I jumped at the chance to try I Love Sushi.
More

DINING: The Eiteljorg cafe where soup is always on

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
If all outdoor dining were as comfortable and stress-free as Sky City Cafe's, maybe I'd do it more often.
More

DINING: We'll take sushi over cigars, now and Zen

July 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
This week, our exploration of the city’s cultural district dining took us to Mass Ave, where the culinary cultural offerings just might outnumber the artsy fartsy stuff. Our destination: Bu Da Lounge (429 Massachusetts Ave., 602-3643), which bills itself as an Asian-inspired cigar bar but is generating buzz for its sushi selection.
More

DINING: (Piz)'Za made for the middle of the night

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
If you’re in Broad Ripple and hungry for pizza, you’ve got lots of options. But what do you do if it’s the middle of the night on a Thursday and you and your entourage have the munchies? Well, for that very specific demographic group of pizza eaters, there’s now ’Za, which is open until 4 a.m. Wednesday to Saturday.
More

DINING: Backward-named eatery, forward-thinking fusion

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
Search the Web for Naisa and you may come up with the North American International Auto Show or the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association. Neither has anything to do with the new Naisa Pan-Asian Cafe (1025 Virginia Ave., 602-3708), where the name comes from simply reversing the letters in the word Asian.
More

DINING: Upscale eatery makes its mark on Shelbyville casino

June 29, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
One of just three Maker’s Mark restaurants in the country—the others are in Louisville, Ky., and Kansas City, Mo.—the upscale eatery would have been a good fit in downtown Indianapolis or in one of the suburban dining-and-shopping meccas.
More

DINING: Game on at food-and-play spot

June 22, 2009
Lou Harry
When you play Skee-ball and aim for the 100-point hole, you miss most of the time. However, if you aim for the 30, you have a much better chance of scoring. You might not get a high score, but you'll win enough tickets to want to play again. How does that translate into my dining experience at the new Dave & Buster's?
More

DINING: No waffling, Maxine's delivers

June 15, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It felt weird to pull into a gas station parking lot in search of lunch. But we forgot we were in a former auto repair shop as soon as we walked into Maxine's Chicken & Waffles, attached to the Citgo station at Ohio and East streets.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I had read earlier this spring that Noodles & Co was going to open in the Fishers Marketplace (which is SR 37 and 131st St, not 141st St, just FYI). Any word on that? Also, do you happen to know what is being built in Carmel at Pennsylvania and Old Meridian? May just be an office building but I'm not sure.

  2. I'm sorry, but you are flat out wrong. There are few tracks in the world with the history of IMS and probably NO OTHER as widely known and recognized. I don't care what you think about the stat of Indy Car racing, these are pretty hard things to dispute.

  3. Also wondering if there is an update on the Brockway Pub-Danny Boy restaurant/taproom that was planned for the village as well?

  4. Why does the majority get to trample on the rights of the minority? You do realize that banning gay marriage does not rid the world of gay people, right? They are still going to be around and they are still going to continue to exist. The best way to get it all out of the spotlight? LEGALIZE IT! If gay marriage is legal, they will get to stop trying to push for it and you will get to stop seeing it all over the news. Why do Christians get to decide what is moral?? Why do you get to push your religion on others? How would legalizing gay marriage expose their lifestyle to your children? By the way, their lifestyle is going to continue whether gay marriage is legalized or not. It's been legal in Canada for quite a while now and they seem to be doing just fine. What about actual rules handed down by God? What about not working on Sundays? What about obeying your parents? What about adultery? These are in the 10 Commandments, the most important of God's rules. Yet they are all perfectly legal. What about divorce? Only God is allowed to dissolve a marriage so why don't you work hard to get divorce banned? Why do you get to pick and choose the parts of the Bible you care about?

  5. Look at the bright side. With the new Lowe's call center, that means 1000 jobs at $10 bucks an hour. IMS has to be drooling over all that disposable income. If those employees can save all their extra money after bills, in five years they can go to the race LIVE. Can you say attendance boost?

ADVERTISEMENT