Opinion

EDITORIAL: Simon isn’t the problemRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Recent criticism of Washington Square decision is misdirected.
More

MAURER: Purple hats? There’s still timeRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Let's not be persecuting people.
More

RUSTHOVEN: A president dangerously in denialRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
The videotaped beheading of American journalist James Foley by ISIS terrorists is a gruesome reminder of the reality of evil—a reality our president and many Americans are reluctant to face.
More

DEBOY: Let’s fix our leaky water pipesRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Alan DeBoy / Special to IBJ
As challenging as developing and preserving water supplies for the next 50 years might be, as identified recently in a water resources study by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, another significant challenge looms just as large for most water utilities.
More

RACE: Rest areas, welcome centers send negative message

August 30, 2014
Bruce Race / Special to IBJ
Indiana has branded itself as the Crossroads of America. We take pride in being an automotive and industrial state. You’d think we’d embrace the idea of rest stops that welcome visitors and celebrate the car culture.
More

Small schools, big football expectations

August 30, 2014
Hoosier football thrives away from the spotlight. Paying visits to Franklin College, University of Indianapolis, and Wabash College.
More

Hicks: Liberalism on campus is mostly irrelevantRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Mike Hicks
That academia is a creature of the left is hardly in question. Voting patterns and political contributions of professors are widely studied, and astonishingly leftist. Diversity efforts seek to build a cadre of people who look different but think exactly alike. Still, I wonder how much it really matters.
More

Kim: With colleges, higher cost doesn't mean greater valueRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Mickey Kim
A college education is one of life’s costliest investments, so you want to maximize your return on that investment.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Contradictions key to ‘bad feminist’ author Roxane Gay

August 30, 2014
Lou Harry
Her harrowing first novel "An Untamed State" and essay collection "Bad Feminist" together send a clear message that the new Purdue University assistant professor is one of Indiana's leading literary lights.
More

DINING: DIY restaurant Sushi Boss creates new roll model

August 30, 2014
Lou Harry
It seems like every month, a new "pick-your-own-ingredients-and-move-down-the-line" eatery is opening, putting the pressure on diners rather than a chef to get the combination just right.
More

Study Indianapolis criminal justice centerRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
The IBJ is correct [Aug. 18 editorial]. There are too many unanswered questions about the proposed half-billion-dollar criminal justice center and the little-tested public/private partnership (P3) contracting model under which a private consortium would design, build, finance, maintain and operate the facility in return for predetermined annual payments.
More

Daniels attacks bloatRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Lucky are we that Mitch Daniels is helping Purdue return to the premier, student-centered university it once was.
More

Pence should own upRestricted Content

August 30, 2014
Apparently Mickey Maurer hit a nerve in his Aug. 18 column regarding Pence’s position on children looking for a better life [Pence letter, Aug. 25].
More

MORRIS: Beering sells good coffee for a good causeRestricted Content

August 23, 2014
Greg Morris
Help yourself to some Mission Coffee and help the poor Panamanians who put it in your cup.
More

KENNEDY: Daniels diminishing higher learningRestricted Content

August 23, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
The current political focus on what we used to call “vocational education” not only minimizes the value of a liberal education, it ignores the reality of today’s job market.
More

Hicks: Who actually pays the taxes? Good questionRestricted Content

August 23, 2014
Mike Hicks
Among the most misunderstood concepts in public policy is the burden of taxes. One unfortunate result is a good bit of bitterness and calumny over who pays their fair share.
More

Skarbeck: New rules could take shine off money market fundsRestricted Content

August 23, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
The Securities and Exchange Commission last month approved new rules for money market funds, which require institutional “prime” money funds and municipal funds to have a floating net asset value, or NAV.
More

LOPRESTI: Catching up with an exclusive Colts group, the 21 QB club

August 23, 2014
We know all about Manning and Luck, but what about the others who've lined up under center?
More

DINING: A Utah-based chain deli piles on the meat at CityWay

August 23, 2014
Lou Harry
Gandolfo’s New York Delicatessen fills in the empty spot vacated by Orange Leaf.
More

HOOPER: Ritz didn’t politicize public educationRestricted Content

August 23, 2014
Glenda Ritz isn’t responsible for politicizing education policy. That distinction goes to her predecessor, Tony Bennett, the Republican she unseated two years ago.
More

Maurer distorted Pence positionRestricted Content

August 23, 2014
When I read Mickey Maurer's [Aug. 25 column] “Is there room for compassion in politics?” I was simply taken aback.
More

LOU's VIEWS: Great game hunting at GenCon 2014

August 23, 2014
Lou Harry
GenCon has left behind a trail of games acquired by more than 56,000 attendees...including me. Here are my favorites, with options to please the game aficionado without scaring off the Apples to Apples crowd.
More

EDITORIAL: Public deserves full disclosure

August 16, 2014
The city might be negotiating a sweet deal for Indianapolis taxpayers over the proposed $500 million justice center to be built across from the Indianapolis Zoo on the former site of General Motors’ stamping plant. Or, taxpayers might be getting a bad deal.
More

RUSTHOVEN: Carter keeps the world ‘enlightened’Restricted Content

August 16, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
Former President Jimmy Carter recently volunteered his wisdom on the conflict between Israel and Hamas. In Carter’s view, hostilities were not sparked by Hamas’ firing rockets at Israeli citizens, nor tunneling from Gaza into Israel to kill and kidnap civilians.
More

LAMKIN: Tax tips for a reform-minded PenceRestricted Content

August 16, 2014
Ned Lamkin
Determining governmental and tax structures is a major responsibility of state government. But, as we proceed into the 21st century, it is important to note that the size, density and distribution of our population have changed over the last 1-1/2 centuries.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Why not take some time to do some research before traveling to that Indiana town or city, and find the ones that are no smoking either inside, or have a patio? People like yourself are just being selfish, and unnecessarily trying to take away all indoor venues that smokers can enjoy themselves at. Last time I checked, it is still a free country, and businesses do respond to market pressure and will ban smoking, if there's enough demand by customers for it(i.e. Linebacker Lounge in South Bend, and Rack and Helen's in New Haven, IN, outside of Fort Wayne). Indiana law already unnecessarily forced restaurants with a bar area to be no smoking, so why not support those restaurants that were forced to ban smoking against their will? Also, I'm always surprised at the number of bars that chose to ban smoking on their own, in non-ban parts of Indiana I'll sometimes travel into. Whiting, IN(just southeast of Chicago) has at least a few bars that went no smoking on their own accord, and despite no selfish government ban forcing those bars to make that move against their will! I'd much rather have a balance of both smoking and non-smoking bars, rather than a complete bar smoking ban that'll only force more bars to close their doors. And besides IMO, there are much worser things to worry about, than cigarette smoke inside a bar. If you feel a bar is too smoky, then simply walk out and take your business to a different bar!

  2. As other states are realizing the harm in jailing offenders of marijuana...Indiana steps backwards into the script of Reefer Madness. Well...you guys voted for your Gov...up to you to vote him out. Signed, Citizen of Florida...the next state to have medical marijuana.

  3. It's empowering for this niche community to know that they have an advocate on their side in case things go awry. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lrst9VXVKfE

  4. Apparently the settlement over Angie's List "bundling" charges hasn't stopped the practice! My membership is up for renewal, and I'm on my third email trying to get a "basic" membership rather than the "bundled" version they're trying to charge me for. Frustrating!!

  5. Well....as a vendor to both of these builders I guess I have the right to comment. Davis closed his doors with integrity.He paid me every penny he owed me. Estridge,STILL owes me thousands and thousands of dollars. The last few years of my life have been spent working 2 jobs, paying off the suppliers I used to work on Estridge jobs and just struggling to survive. Shame on you Paul...and shame on you IBJ! Maybe you should have contacted the hundreds of vendors that Paul stiffed. I'm sure your "rises from the ashes" spin on reporting would have contained true stories of real people who have struggled to find work and pay of their debts (something that Paul didn't even attempt to do).

ADVERTISEMENT