Opinion

EDITORIAL: Hogsett could spark debateRestricted Content

July 19, 2014
Joe Hogsett’s July 14 announcement that he’ll step down as U.S. attorney for the Southern District of Indiana at the end of the month renewed speculation that he will run for mayor of Indianapolis next year. And to that prospect we can only say, bring it on
More

RUSTHOVEN: Lawsuit could rein in Obama overreachRestricted Content

July 19, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
Speaker John Boehner’s plans to have the House file a lawsuit challenging President Obama’s refusals to enforce federal laws has elicited predictable derision in liberal and media circles (which overlap on a Venn diagram).
More

BROWNING: How to fix Broad Ripple

July 19, 2014
Jamie Browning / Special to IBJ
It is a tragedy that the senseless shootings in Broad Ripple earlier this month might define one of the most important destination districts in Indianapolis.
More

LOPRESTI: With a few quick pen strokes, Pacers fans have new enemies

July 19, 2014
In a league where rivalries come and go, Cleveland has target on its back. So does Stephenson.
More

MAURER: Bob Lauth persevered and won

July 19, 2014
Developer comes out on top after recession, legal battle with investor.
More

Q&A: Ron Spencer

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
After more than 250 productions, Theatre on the Square's executive artistic director exits with a look back.
More

Hicks: Falling state income tax revenue is bad omenRestricted Content

July 19, 2014
Mike Hicks
Nationally, from July through September 2013, growth in state income tax collections slowed appreciably. Only a few states were spared, and here in Indiana they actually shrank slightly, as they did in five other states.
More

Kim: Midterm election years challenging for stocksRestricted Content

July 19, 2014
Mickey Kim
A persistent seasonal anomaly for stocks is the “presidential cycle,” a pattern of performance coinciding with various years of a presidency.
More

DINING: Newcomer Union 50’s creativity marries cuisines

July 19, 2014
Lou Harry
Mass Ave around the intersection of Massachusetts Avenue and East Street has been bursting lately with new dining options. Here's the latest.
More

More taxes to fund copsRestricted Content

July 19, 2014
The idea of more police is a great idea. However, the idea to take away the homestead exemption to fund it shows how out of touch the politicians are. Removing the exemption only places the onus on homeowners.
More

WFYI isn’t unbiasedRestricted Content

July 19, 2014
Anthony Schoettle’s [June 23] article “Less news, more talk” bemoans the loss of Steve Simpson and states, “With Simpson’s departure, the only local station that still employs non-opinion-oriented news hosts is WFYI.”
More

LOPRESTI: Minor leagues are a home run across state

July 12, 2014
Five ballparks, from South Bend to Evansville, pack 'em in with baseball, promotions.
More

Hicks: Indiana good, but not optimal, for small firmsRestricted Content

July 12, 2014
Mike Hicks
a recen studied of states' friendliness to small businesses gave Indiana poor grades for ease in finding workers, leveling blame on networking and training programs. This is interesting, but almost certainly not the actual problem.
More

Skarbeck: Lots of reasons to avoid 'liquid-alt' mutual fundsRestricted Content

July 12, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
Considering that annual fees can run 3 percent or more, and investment performance for the vast majority of these funds has been subpar, if offered a liquid-alt mutual fund, our decision would be to pass.
More

RACE: The Indy travel experience: Is improvement in sight?

July 5, 2014
Bruce Race / Special to IBJ
The city needs a strategy to transform into a destination visitors would recognize.
More

LOPRESTI: Miller’s Butler team, and its venue, are a work in progressRestricted Content

July 5, 2014
Bulldogs and historic Hinkle Fieldhouse both need work before second season in Big East.
More

RUSTHOVEN: Things you don’t know about Hobby LobbyRestricted Content

July 5, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
From reaction on the left to the Supreme Court’s Hobby Lobby decision, you’d think it ruled that corporations have First Amendment “free exercise of religion” rights, allowing them to refuse contraceptive coverage for women employees despite the Affordable Care Act’s statutory command. You’d be wrong. Literally none of this is true.
More

MOSELEY: A new way to finance collegeRestricted Content

July 5, 2014
We need a fundamentally new approach to financing college education. Price resistance and over-reliance on student loans are not going away.
More

Autistic children still denied benefitsRestricted Content

July 5, 2014
Imagine your child had a chronic condition requiring on-going treatment, like diabetes, epilepsy or cystic fibrosis, and every six months you had to fight for weeks in order to continue medical treatment, even though your child’s entire clinical team and physicians agree that treatment is medically necessary.
More

DINING: Pub brings Irish fare to Mass Ave

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Nine Irish Brothers brings bangers and mash to Mass Ave. New pub also features live music.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A bang and a whimper end two trilogies

July 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Reviews of the final volumes of Ben H. Winters' end-of-the-world detective series "The Last Policeman" and Walter Wangerin Jr.'s "Dun Cow" books.
More

MAURER: Upon reflection, some personal adviceRestricted Content

July 5, 2014
Mickey Maurer
There are certain things you should do before it's too late.
More

EDITORIAL: Choose roadwork based on need, not politicsRestricted Content

July 5, 2014
The City-County Council has turned infrastructure repair into a political battleground, with Democrats and Republicans touting competing proposals for how to finance and assign a vital round of major public infrastructure needs.
More

Kim: Investors fleeing market as stocks hit record highsRestricted Content

July 5, 2014
Mickey Kim
It’s amazing how the 24/7 media bombardment of random noise and sound bites on the economy and markets has investors continually on tenterhooks. It seems Armageddon is always lurking around the corner.
More

Hicks: Rulings limit state power, embrace freedomRestricted Content

July 2, 2014
Mike Hicks
This past couple of weeks has offered a rare series of court rulings that have implications for both households and businesses.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Apologies for the wall of text. I promise I had this nicely formatted in paragraphs in Notepad before pasting here.

  2. I believe that is incorrect Sir, the people's tax-dollars are NOT paying for the companies investment. Without the tax-break the company would be paying an ADDITIONAL $11.1 million in taxes ON TOP of their $22.5 Million investment (Building + IT), for a total of $33.6M or a 50% tax rate. Also, the article does not specify what the total taxes were BEFORE the break. Usually such a corporate tax-break is a 'discount' not a 100% wavier of tax obligations. For sake of example lets say the original taxes added up to $30M over 10 years. $12.5M, New Building $10.0M, IT infrastructure $30.0M, Total Taxes (Example Number) == $52.5M ININ's Cost - $1.8M /10 years, Tax Break (Building) - $0.75M /10 years, Tax Break (IT Infrastructure) - $8.6M /2 years, Tax Breaks (against Hiring Commitment: 430 new jobs /2 years) == 11.5M Possible tax breaks. ININ TOTAL COST: $41M Even if you assume a 100% break, change the '30.0M' to '11.5M' and you can see the Company will be paying a minimum of $22.5, out-of-pocket for their capital-investment - NOT the tax-payers. Also note, much of this money is being spent locally in Indiana and it is creating 430 jobs in your city. I admit I'm a little unclear which tax-breaks are allocated to exactly which expenses. Clearly this is all oversimplified but I think we have both made our points! :) Sorry for the long post.

  3. Clearly, there is a lack of a basic understanding of economics. It is not up to the company to decide what to pay its workers. If companies were able to decide how much to pay their workers then why wouldn't they pay everyone minimum wage? Why choose to pay $10 or $14 when they could pay $7? The answer is that companies DO NOT decide how much to pay workers. It is the market that dictates what a worker is worth and how much they should get paid. If Lowe's chooses to pay a call center worker $7 an hour it will not be able to hire anyone for the job, because all those people will work for someone else paying the market rate of $10-$14 an hour. This forces Lowes to pay its workers that much. Not because it wants to pay them that much out of the goodness of their heart, but because it has to pay them that much in order to stay competitive and attract good workers.

  4. GOOD DAY to you I am Mr Howell Henry, a Reputable, Legitimate & an accredited money Lender. I loan money out to individuals in need of financial assistance. Do you have a bad credit or are you in need of money to pay bills? i want to use this medium to inform you that i render reliable beneficiary assistance as I'll be glad to offer you a loan at 2% interest rate to reliable individuals. Services Rendered include: *Refinance *Home Improvement *Inventor Loans *Auto Loans *Debt Consolidation *Horse Loans *Line of Credit *Second Mortgage *Business Loans *Personal Loans *International Loans. Please write back if interested. Upon Response, you'll be mailed a Loan application form to fill. (No social security and no credit check, 100% Guaranteed!) I Look forward permitting me to be of service to you. You can contact me via e-mail howellhenryloanfirm@gmail.com Yours Sincerely MR Howell Henry(MD)

  5. It is sad to see these races not have a full attendance. The Indy Car races are so much more exciting than Nascar. It seems to me the commenters here are still a little upset with Tony George from a move he made 20 years ago. It was his decision to make, not yours. He lost his position over it. But I believe the problem in all pro sports is the escalating price of admission. In todays economy, people have to pay much more for food and gas. The average fan cannot attend many events anymore. It's gotten priced out of most peoples budgets.

ADVERTISEMENT