Opinion

ALTOM: Why Microsoft Word has so many questionable features

January 29, 2011
Tim Altom
The out-of-the-box, standard interface wasn’t primarily for boosting productivity, but for giving demonstrations. It was marketing, and not usability, that was driving interface design.
More

HICKS: President should focus on reducing debt burdenRestricted Content

January 29, 2011
Mike Hicks
What worried me most about the president’s speech was not what he said, but what he didn’t.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Lawmakers wrestle with when and how to regulate

January 29, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
What may be appropriate regulatory reform to one person or industry may be anathema to another.
More

DINING: Delicious deli ideal for pre- or post-show nosh

January 29, 2011
Lou Harry
In 2002, the 86th Street staple relocated to Carmel. Now, that move could pay off as Shapiro's becomes the unofficial cafeteria for the new Center for the Performing Arts.
More

EDITORIAL: Let districts decide when to start classes

January 29, 2011
 IBJ Staff
It isn’t difficult to understand why state Sen. Mike Delph wants to force school districts to start their academic years after Labor Day; what’s perplexing is why Delph would want to slap a restriction on districts at a time they need more freedom to manage their own affairs.
More

We keep taxes low at our peril

January 29, 2011
As we have seen our already poor-quality educational system and libraries cut every year, while raising expectations—it is darkly ironic that the same politicians are making these contradictory decisions.
More

Renn adds value

January 29, 2011
Congrats to IBJ for publishing the article, “Indianapolis must reinvent itself—again” by Aaron Renn [in the Jan. 10 Forefront].
More

Volunteer today

January 29, 2011
Thank you for [Greg Morris’ Jan. 17 column]. Like a lot of adults, I’ve had “volunteer” on my to-do list for quite some time, and that time just never seems to come.
More

EDITORIAL: Time for mayor to clear the air, back smoking ban

January 22, 2011
 IBJ Staff
Another year, another parade of editorials, opinion pieces and studies that call for Indiana to join its neighbors in banning smoking in all workplaces.
More

MAURER: This is a broker's tale worth readingRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Mickey Maurer
“Twelve years after I popped out, I learned to sell. During the next three, I began to write. Fifty years later, I discovered how to kill.” Thus begins the journal of investment adviser Jack Chap, protagonist in John Guy’s novel “Middle Man, a Broker’s Tale.”
More

MARCUS: A good bill benefits dinosaur buildings

January 22, 2011
Morton Marcus
Building owners or developers use the Indiana Industrial Recovery Income Tax Credit to reduce their costs in restoring or rehabilitating dinosaur industrial structures.
More

COX: Shrinking government can increase costs

January 22, 2011
Wendell Cox
Legislation will likely be introduced in the Indiana General Assembly to abolish township governments and consolidate their functions into counties. As in the past, the proponents claim this would save money for taxpayers. Nothing could be further from the truth.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Daniels experiences pushback even from Republicans

January 22, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Assorted issues advanced by Republican Gov. Mitch Daniels are confronting political pushback—from his Republican legislative majority.
More

HICKS: Earmarks need overhaul, but they aren't entirely badRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Mike Hicks
Our influential senior senator, Richard Lugar, and 6th District congressman, Mike Pence, disagree on an outright ban on earmarks. This is a rare case in which the differing concerns of both men are right.
More

SKARBECK: Big banks still face issues over soured mortgagesRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
The U.S. banking system continues on its path toward healing—with many thanks to the ongoing generosity of U.S. taxpayers.
More

DINING: Come, sit, eat with Donatello's Italian family

January 22, 2011
-Andrea Davis
Located just west of Range Line Road in Carmel’s Art & Design District, Donatello’s Italian Restaurant is a true family affair.
More

BENNER: Athletes, like politicians, should dial down the rhetoricRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Bill Benner
Trash talk seems so silly. Pointless. Childish.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Many are talented, but few are stars ... what makes the difference?

January 22, 2011
Lou Harry
As someone addicted to the arts, I’ve seen a lot of talent on stage. Every once in a while, though, I see star power.
More

HETRICK: From Indiana and Tucson, a tale of two tragedies

January 22, 2011
Bruce Hetrick
The biggest killer of all—cigarette smoke—knocks off 450,000 Americans a year—400,000 of those smokers themselves, 50,000 innocent bystanders.
More

GIBSON: A multi-part plan to address wide swathe of issuesRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Ron Gibson / Special to IBJ
My vision and passion for Indianapolis and all of its citizens will clearly separate me from my opponents.
More

KENNEDY: Public safety, economic development demand attentionRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Melina Kennedy / Special to IBJ
Above all, I will continue to listen to the needs, hopes and ideas of residents across the city. That diversity of ideas, opinion and people will help define my campaign.
More

KRULL: School choice not as simple as it seemsRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
John Krull / Special to IBJ
The fight over public education has become a way for entrenched interests—the business community and teachers’ unions—to lob shells at each other.
More

HOWEY: Daniels still thinking outside the rutRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Brian A. Howey / Special to IBJ
With just two years left in his second term—and beginning only his third year with Republican legislative majorities—Gov. Mitch Daniels presides over a state that has been trapped in a jobless rate hovering around 10 percent for two years.
More

MUTZ: Improve our existing utility regulationsRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
John Mutz / Special to IBJ
The actions by utility representatives, the regulatory commission chairman and one of his employees created the appearance of impropriety.
More

LADWIG: Local property rights, Zimbabwe styleRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Craig Ladwig / Special to IBJ
Is it hyperbolic to relate anti-colonialism in the African Corn Belt to the machinations of the Capital Improvement Board, the Metropolitan Development Commission or the Indianapolis mayor’s office?
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT