Opinion

BOSMA: Upgraded tech, science education outrank attractionRestricted Content

December 25, 2010
Brian C. Bosma / Special to IBJ
What should be done to attract more young professionals to Indiana? The availability of a talented innovative work force is now as important as low taxes, energy costs and location when entrepreneurs make job-location decisions.
More

KRULL: Daniels got his wish - and should shudderRestricted Content

December 25, 2010
John Krull / Special to IBJ
Barack Obama can tell the governor that nuance is one of the first casualties of a political war.
More

FARGO: Shield laws are beyond party labelsRestricted Content

December 25, 2010
Anthony L. Fargo / Special to IBJ
Good government should be transparent, no matter who’s in charge.
More

HOWEY: Tea partiers imprudently target LugarRestricted Content

December 25, 2010
Brian A. Howey / Special to IBJ
A question that must be posed to the tea partiers intent on taking Sen. Richard Lugar out: Who replaces him?
More

GREGG: A parlor full of possible ‘pub’ nomineesRestricted Content

December 25, 2010
John R. Gregg / Special to IBJ
As I review the list of potential Democratic nominees, none of the Republican hopefuls can keep the Statehouse in Republican hands.
More

BROOKS: Ben Franklin's nation as a world modelRestricted Content

December 25, 2010
David Brooks / New York Times Syndicate
In a world of relative equals, the U.S. will have to learn to define itself by its values.
More

COLLINS: Arizona strikes again, with MedicaidRestricted Content

December 25, 2010
Gail Collins / New York Times Syndicate
Try to imagine what the Republicans would have said if someone in the Obama administration proposed cutting off liver transplants for Medicare recipients.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Mixed bag of 2010 bests

December 24, 2010
Lou Harry
The holiday happenings are behind us. The 2011 offerings are yet to come. That means its time for my annual trek through the IBJ archives for reminders of A&E events that I enthusiastically recommended during the past year.
More

DINING: Local restaurants came and went during 2010

December 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis, Lou Harry
Some offered their inaugural feasts. Others served their last meal. Here’s a rundown of just some of the transitions on the Indy dining scene this year.
More

EDITORIAL: Have faith in fantasy despite real-life woes

December 18, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Some days, it’s hard to believe in Santa Claus. It’s altogether too easy to be “affected by the skepticism of a skeptical age,” as the New York Sun’s Francis Pharcellus Church wrote in his famous response to an 8-year-old girl’s inquiry about the existence of the Jolly Old Elf.
More

MORRIS: These taxing times test my patience

December 18, 2010
Greg Morris
If I really thought a tax increase would dig us out of the debt mess, I would be willing to contribute more.
More

MARCUS: Redistricting key to economic policy

December 18, 2010
Morton Marcus
The key factor determining the change in a county’s representation in the Legislature is the change in its share of the state’s population.
More

DUNN: Banking on daily fairness to customers

December 18, 2010
Peter Dunn
Dear Banking Industry: You hide fees and encourage irresponsible spending, all while touting your “free” checking accounts.
More

ALTOM: 2010 meltdowns, missteps and breaches ... oh my

December 18, 2010
Welcome to the annual Christmas snafu edition of this column. This year’s crop of meltdowns, missteps and breaches reminds us once again that technology is a fickle friend and unreliable ally.
More

HICKS: Inflation delays visit, but it'll arrive eventuallyRestricted Content

December 18, 2010
Mike Hicks
All economists know that, at its core, inflation is caused solely by too much money chasing too few goods.
More

DINING: Byrd is the word in Greenwood

December 18, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in this month's series of fine-feathered restaurant reviews. This week: Jonathan Byrd's Cafeteria.
More

Thanks for support of airport facility

December 18, 2010
We believe the positive turnaround of the Indianapolis Maintenance Center has been a quiet but substantial success—not just for the airport authority but for the greater Indianapolis community.
More

Praise for tips from Maurer

December 18, 2010
I enjoyed [Mickey Maurer’s Dec. 13] closing commentary on “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School,” along with the previous nine.
More

BOEHM: Gerrymandering causes quiet carnageRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
Those of you who work in manufacturing businesses, and many others, are familiar with the idea that a flawed process produces flawed products.
More

VAUGHN: Strip partisanship from redistrictingRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Hoosier Republican leaders must resist the temptation to play political payback with redistricting and instead create a process that is fair, open and free of partisanship.
More

CLARK: Economy takes precedence over social issuesRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Murray Clark / Special to IBJ
As long as there is an air of uncertainty around the economic picture, we must remain focused on protecting the progress Indiana has made while weathering what’s left of the economic storm.
More

PARKER: Fix Daniels' faltering economy with tax breaksRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Dan Parker / Special to IBJ
With Indiana’s high unemployment, the dismal state of our economy, and a $1 billion budget deficit, social issues should not be our biggest concern.
More

EARLY: Campaigns (for 2012) on the horizonRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
The old unwritten rule would have prohibited campaigning for a 2012 office in 2011. You can forget that rule; the reason is money.
More

HARRIS: Improved charter laws would lure top operatorsRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
David Harris / Special to IBJ
Education reform promises to be central in the upcoming legislative session and many important reforms are on the agenda.
More

MEREDITH: Legislators must ask right questions about educationRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
Indiana politicians clearly are divided on the “silver bullet” that will reform schools, but in reality, there is no simple solution to such a complicated issue.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Angela IS the best RD

  2. We are a nation of speed. All of our younger lives are filled with deadlines, quotas and bottom lines. We start to ease out of the pressured rat-race when we finally see "retirement." The most enjoyable travel on the planet is passenger rail service. Indy to Chicago does not beat Megabus or Southwest Airlines in speed. Passenger rail however has the best seating, mammoth legroon, seat backs that recline to more than 45 degrees and employers that really want you to return as a customer. Indiana municipalities need to maintain subsidies to support this transportation mode. Losing it is loss for all of us.

  3. Good day! I just want to testify how i got my loan from Mr. Eric Lefkofsky after i applied several times from various loan lenders who claimed to also testify right in this forum,i thought the testimonies where real and i applied but they never gave me loan. I was in need of an urgent loan to start a business and i applied from various loan lenders who promised to help but they never gave me the loan. Until a friend of mine introduce me to this popular Mr. Eric Lefkofsky who promised to help me and indeed he did as he promised without any form of delay. I never thought there are still reliable loan lenders until i met Mr. Eric lefkofsky who indeed helped me with the loan and changed my belief. I promised to share this testimony after I got my loan. I don't know if you are in any way in need of a genuine and urgent loan,free feel to contact Mr. Eric Lefkofsky via their email{grouponfunding@hotmail.com}

  4. Its a THUG issue. Bleecker Street and NYX are thug bars. They attract thugs of all races. Places that attract thugs need to be kicked out of Broad Ripple. Ain't nobody got time for that!

  5. Hello everyone, My name is Marian Gareth, I am from the Texas, United State, am here to testify of how i got my loan from Mr Andre Frank {frankloancompany@yahoo.com} after i applied Two times from various loan lenders who claimed to be lenders right in this forum,i thought their lending where real and i applied but they never gave me loan. I was in need of an urgent loan to start a business and i applied from various loan lenders who promised to help but they never gave me the loan.Until a friend of mine introduce me to Mr Andre Frank the C.E.O of Andre Frank Loan Company who promised to help me with a loan of my desire and he really did as he promised without any form of delay, I never thought there are still reliable loan lenders until i met Mr Andre Frank, who really help me with my loan and changed my lief for better. I don't know if you are in need of an urgent loan, free feel to contact Mr Andre Frank on his email{ Frankloancompany@yahoo.com} for help

ADVERTISEMENT