Opinion

HICKS: Inflation delays visit, but it'll arrive eventuallyRestricted Content

December 18, 2010
Mike Hicks
All economists know that, at its core, inflation is caused solely by too much money chasing too few goods.
More

DINING: Byrd is the word in Greenwood

December 18, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in this month's series of fine-feathered restaurant reviews. This week: Jonathan Byrd's Cafeteria.
More

Thanks for support of airport facility

December 18, 2010
We believe the positive turnaround of the Indianapolis Maintenance Center has been a quiet but substantial success—not just for the airport authority but for the greater Indianapolis community.
More

Praise for tips from Maurer

December 18, 2010
I enjoyed [Mickey Maurer’s Dec. 13] closing commentary on “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School,” along with the previous nine.
More

BOEHM: Gerrymandering causes quiet carnageRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
Those of you who work in manufacturing businesses, and many others, are familiar with the idea that a flawed process produces flawed products.
More

VAUGHN: Strip partisanship from redistrictingRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Hoosier Republican leaders must resist the temptation to play political payback with redistricting and instead create a process that is fair, open and free of partisanship.
More

CLARK: Economy takes precedence over social issuesRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Murray Clark / Special to IBJ
As long as there is an air of uncertainty around the economic picture, we must remain focused on protecting the progress Indiana has made while weathering what’s left of the economic storm.
More

PARKER: Fix Daniels' faltering economy with tax breaksRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Dan Parker / Special to IBJ
With Indiana’s high unemployment, the dismal state of our economy, and a $1 billion budget deficit, social issues should not be our biggest concern.
More

EARLY: Campaigns (for 2012) on the horizonRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
The old unwritten rule would have prohibited campaigning for a 2012 office in 2011. You can forget that rule; the reason is money.
More

HARRIS: Improved charter laws would lure top operatorsRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
David Harris / Special to IBJ
Education reform promises to be central in the upcoming legislative session and many important reforms are on the agenda.
More

MEREDITH: Legislators must ask right questions about educationRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
Indiana politicians clearly are divided on the “silver bullet” that will reform schools, but in reality, there is no simple solution to such a complicated issue.
More

SULLIVAN: Odds for education reform are betterRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Mary Ann Sullivan / Special to IBJ
If there were a full public accounting of our education system’s failure, inadequacy and resulting costs, there would be widespread outrage.
More

HEIN: Meet the underreported Dan CoatsRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Jay Hein / Special to IBJ
In a campaign where Dan Coats’ primary and general election opponents questioned his Hoosier bona fides, why didn’t the former senator regale us with his Indiana policy success stories?
More

KETZENBERGER: Property tax quandary still in fluxRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
An initial drop in local property taxes overall is likely to increase over time. The questions are when and how?
More

RENN: Indiana builds through the hard timesRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Aaron M. Renn / Special to IBJ
Major infrastructure investment at the state and local level is a significant reason for optimism for the long-term competitive positioning for the city and state.
More

CAMPBELL: A primer for government reformersRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Steve Campbell / Special to IBJ
Proponents have to connect government reform to the real pocketbook issues that drive people.
More

SHELLA: Spoils of redistricting go to the victorRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Indiana politicians have never shown an interest in leaving the redistricting duty to others, and don’t look for it to happen anytime soon.
More

TENBARGE: Act now to build a better IndianaRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Barrett Tenbarge / Special to IBJ
Indiana cannot endure without serious reform, and this session must be approached with the urgency it deserves.
More

EDITORIAL: Airport victory just a warm-up

December 11, 2010
Not all success stories are flashy. Witness the quiet resurrection of the former United Airlines maintenance facility at Indianapolis International Airport.
More

MAURER: A final lesson for entrepreneursRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved from my experience “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School.” Over the course of 10 columns, I have featured each of these essential principles. This is the final installment.
More

MARCUS: Elves to vote on unionization at the North Pole

December 11, 2010
Morton Marcus
Hard times make for hard work. The elves feel that Santa has not given them sufficient credit for the work they have done these past few years, when goodness and kindness were hard to find.
More

FAENZI: Look for simple solution to complex immigration problem

December 11, 2010
Carol Faenzi
Today’s sorry state of affairs around immigration seems to have no resolution. Cries of “it’s not fair” to any proposed idea come from all sides.
More

DINING: Drinks or not, Cooper's Hawk Winery shines

December 11, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Second in a month-long series of fine-feathered restaurant reviews.
More

HETRICK: All I know of equality I learned from RudolphRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Like Donner, we find ourselves advocating lies and abetting coverups of our good soldiers'; true identities, rather than celebrating the unique talents of every American willing to serve
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Home on the range for the holidays

December 11, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on this year's holidays shows from the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Actors Theatre of Indiana, the Cabaret at the Columbia Club and more.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT