Opinion

BENNER: Indiana State football reigns ... and other thoughtsRestricted Content

November 6, 2010
Bill Benner
Tony Dungy's class act, the possibilities of NFL expansion, and more.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You talkin' to me?

November 6, 2010
Lou Harry
In more and more plays, actors are addressing the audience directly. But when does a device become a crutch?
More

Township government has a purpose

November 6, 2010
Our townships are not business competitors; they are governing for the people—not for greed, not for profit.
More

Lung cancer strikes nonsmokers

November 6, 2010
Last November I was hospitalized with H1N1 and pneumonia. In January I had a biopsy that confirmed non-small-cell lung cancer, stage IV.
More

EDITORIAL: A last chance for City Market

October 30, 2010
 IBJ Staff
We like the changes afoot at City Market. But if the latest attempt to reposition it doesn’t work, the city should consider mothballing the beloved old building until its surroundings become a benefit rather than a liability.
More

MAURER: Have patience with profitsRestricted Content

October 30, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School.”—Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the eighth installment.
More

MARCUS: Only tell the good news; why excite people?

October 30, 2010
Morton Marcus
You have to love them—the professional spinners, public and private. These are not the public relations people who work for large companies and government agencies. No. These are the corporate leaders and the public officials who listen to the PR people.
More

HENDERSON: Thinking outside the neurotypical hiring box

October 30, 2010
Tom Henderson
There’s a screening process we often use in the human resources process that’s meant to identify prospective candidates. It needs re-thinking.
More

SKARBECK: Changes on horizon for mutual fund fees

October 30, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is proposing significant changes to the structure of the annual marketing or distribution fee on mutual funds known as a 12(b)-1 fee.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Old favorites still satisfy

October 30, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, some top picks from Indianapolis museums' and attractions' permanent collections
More

DINING: Jazz Kitchen also makes beautiful music

October 30, 2010
Lou Harry
Is it fair to review a restaurant when it is trying to serve a packed house of customers who all have arrived and leave at roughly the same time?
More

BENNER: Misperceptions swirl around college agent issueRestricted Content

October 30, 2010
Bill Benner
How many collegians accept money? The percentage could not possibly rise above the low single digits, if that.
More

Time for townships has passed

October 30, 2010
I am in agreement with the IBJ position [stated in the Oct. 25 editorial]. It is time to abolish townships and shift their revenue and responsibilities to their respective counties.
More

WEB REVIEW: With Groupon and its ilk, daily deals drive demand

October 30, 2010
Jim Cota
All of these work on the same basic premise: Make an offer to customers that is at or better than 50-percent off, use the power of the deal and their social networks to spread the word, and wait for the sales to roll in.
More

Meter deal not in city's interest

October 30, 2010
It’s easy to see that a deal that gives away billions of dollars over 50 years to a private company might not be the best deal for the citizens of our city.
More

EDITORIAL: State can't afford to keep townships

October 23, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Indiana lawmakers are gearing up for another legislative session, and township government reform will return to the agenda. We hope proponents can finally hit a home run.
More

MORRIS: Not all economic news is bad news

October 23, 2010
Greg Morris
If we listen too much to the financial channels, it will make us want to bury our money in a hole in the yard and get a Rottweiler to guard it.
More

MARCUS: A penny is not worth a cent anymore

October 23, 2010
Morton Marcus
Ordinary saving by the ordinary citizen became a self-destructive activity in the 1970s and has shown only little improvement since then.
More

GIGERICH: Education, economy are closely tied

October 23, 2010
Larry Gigerich
Ten years into the 21st century, most people understand that a strong education system is vital to ensuring long-term economic development success. Where things become fuzzy is in defining what comprises a strong education system and, more important, the required outcomes of that system.
More

ALTOM: Can new technology make a toilet cleaner?

October 23, 2010
Tim Altom
In a previous issue of IBJ, another columnist wrote that technology can raise the productivity of toilet cleaners. It wasn’t a central part of his argument, but as you might imagine, it caught my eye. I couldn’t resist looking into bathroom technology.
More

BENNER: Will Pacers put up wins and finally win back fans?Restricted Content

October 23, 2010
Bill Benner
The Indiana Pacers open their National Basketball Association season Wednesday night with two questions overriding other concerns.
More

HETRICK: You gotta be civil on the long road out of EdenRestricted Content

October 23, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Etiquette at Eagles concert in short supply.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Why Gilbert & Sullivan?

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Indianapolis Opera's "The Mikado." Plus, the holiday season arrives early with Beef & Boards' "White Christmas."
More

DINING: Easy-to-miss eatery deserves a look ... and taste

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of "street" restaurants. This week: 106th St. Grill.
More

City can improve meters itself

October 23, 2010
You do not have to sell off the parking meters to bring the rates and service hours up to par with other Midwest cities.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. PJ - Mall operators like Simon, and most developers/ land owners, establish individual legal entities for each property to avoid having a problem location sink the ship, or simply structure the note to exclude anything but the property acting as collateral. Usually both. The big banks that lend are big boys that know the risks and aren't mad at Simon for forking over the deed and walking away.

  2. Do any of the East side residence think that Macy, JC Penny's and the other national tenants would have letft the mall if they were making money?? I have read several post about how Simon neglected the property but it sounds like the Eastsiders stopped shopping at the mall even when it was full with all of the national retailers that you want to come back to the mall. I used to work at the Dick's at Washington Square and I know for a fact it's the worst performing Dick's in the Indianapolis market. You better start shopping there before it closes also.

  3. How can any company that has the cash and other assets be allowed to simply foreclose and not pay the debt? Simon, pay the debt and sell the property yourself. Don't just stiff the bank with the loan and require them to find a buyer.

  4. If you only knew....

  5. The proposal is structured in such a way that a private company (who has competitors in the marketplace) has struck a deal to get "financing" through utility ratepayers via IPL. Competitors to BlueIndy are at disadvantage now. The story isn't "how green can we be" but how creative "financing" through captive ratepayers benefits a company whose proposal should sink or float in the competitive marketplace without customer funding. If it was a great idea there would be financing available. IBJ needs to be doing a story on the utility ratemaking piece of this (which is pretty complicated) but instead it suggests that folks are whining about paying for being green.

ADVERTISEMENT