Opinion

MORRIS: Not all economic news is bad news

October 23, 2010
Greg Morris
If we listen too much to the financial channels, it will make us want to bury our money in a hole in the yard and get a Rottweiler to guard it.
More

MARCUS: A penny is not worth a cent anymore

October 23, 2010
Morton Marcus
Ordinary saving by the ordinary citizen became a self-destructive activity in the 1970s and has shown only little improvement since then.
More

GIGERICH: Education, economy are closely tied

October 23, 2010
Larry Gigerich
Ten years into the 21st century, most people understand that a strong education system is vital to ensuring long-term economic development success. Where things become fuzzy is in defining what comprises a strong education system and, more important, the required outcomes of that system.
More

ALTOM: Can new technology make a toilet cleaner?

October 23, 2010
Tim Altom
In a previous issue of IBJ, another columnist wrote that technology can raise the productivity of toilet cleaners. It wasn’t a central part of his argument, but as you might imagine, it caught my eye. I couldn’t resist looking into bathroom technology.
More

BENNER: Will Pacers put up wins and finally win back fans?Restricted Content

October 23, 2010
Bill Benner
The Indiana Pacers open their National Basketball Association season Wednesday night with two questions overriding other concerns.
More

HETRICK: You gotta be civil on the long road out of EdenRestricted Content

October 23, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Etiquette at Eagles concert in short supply.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Why Gilbert & Sullivan?

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Indianapolis Opera's "The Mikado." Plus, the holiday season arrives early with Beef & Boards' "White Christmas."
More

DINING: Easy-to-miss eatery deserves a look ... and taste

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of "street" restaurants. This week: 106th St. Grill.
More

City can improve meters itself

October 23, 2010
You do not have to sell off the parking meters to bring the rates and service hours up to par with other Midwest cities.
More

Maurer columns hit home

October 23, 2010
I want to express how much I’ve enjoyed reading [Mickey Maurer’s] commentaries the last few weeks.
More

EDITORIAL: Judge North of South project on its merits

October 16, 2010
The city’s plan to provide an $86 million loan for the mixed-use North of South real estate development adjacent to the Eli Lilly and Co. campus has drawn criticism from those who think the city should focus first on other needs, such as IndyGo and public libraries.
More

MAURER: Make a statement this HalloweenRestricted Content

October 16, 2010
Mickey Maurer
What to wear? What to wear? You are probably having difficulty trying to decide on a costume for Halloween. Lady Gaga is reported to be the best-selling costume this year, but if you cannot abide her wacky style, here are some better choices.
More

MARCUS: Just ignore ill-conceived rankings

October 16, 2010
Morton Marcus
The 24/7 Wall St. website asks the question, “How well-run are America’s 50 states?” To answer this complex question, “we chose what we considered to be the 10 most important ranking [sic] of financial and overall government management.”
More

GUY: Do meter-contract critics have a plan?

October 16, 2010
John Guy
If clear certainty were a business criterion, nothing ever would happen.
More

STYLE: The eyes have it as Kiralee Hubbard lashes out

October 16, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
All 108 eye shadows, every shade of lip gloss and even the makeup brushes lining the walls of her Broad Ripple Studio were designed by Kiralee Hubbard.
More

DINING: Inside or out, Shelbi Street Cafe & Bistro eatery shines

October 16, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Salmon and bacon work together at this Fountain Square eatery.
More

BENNER: How will NFL's labor dispute play out? No one knowsRestricted Content

October 16, 2010
Bill Benner
With the National Football League season in full swing, it is easy to forget the gathering storm clouds of a labor impasse that threaten the 2011 schedule.
More

Online retailers should collect taxes

October 16, 2010
This is not just a matter of fairness. It is the law in most states that consumers pay sales taxes on Internet and catalog purchases.
More

Praise for 'Q' column

October 16, 2010
I agree with [Mickey Maurer’s Oct. 4] thoughts on the “Q factor.” In the first 14 years of my career, I never considered it. The result was seven relocations and our kids being in three schools by fifth grade.
More

EDITORIAL: Time to change utility regulation

October 9, 2010
Conflicts of interest shouldn’t happen, but one that made news this month should inspire legislation to slow the revolving door between the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission and the utilities it is supposed to watch.
More

COMMENTARY: Dear IPS, parents are not the enemy

October 9, 2010
Tawn Parent
Indianapolis Public Schools needs a top-down, system-wide mandate to treat parents as valuable partners.
More

MARCUS: Dirty toilets signal mismanagement

October 9, 2010
Morton Marcus
Most people take toilets seriously. A dirty toilet is an affront to people who care about themselves, their families and their fellow citizens. Management can always blame the users of the toilets for persistent filth and disarray, but ultimately it’s management’s responsibility.
More

WILLIAMS: Rebuilding a sustainable Indianapolis

October 9, 2010
Brian Williams
Rather than simply building and repairing streets, sidewalks, bridges and parks, ratepayers and taxpayers should demand that these projects set standards for construction in Indianapolis by reusing or recycling materials, using environmentally friendly products, and designing public spaces to encourage physical activity.
More

ALTOM: Office defibrillators are worth the expense

October 9, 2010
Tim Altom
Few pieces of business technology can lay claim to saving lives. One gadget can, but odds are you don’t have one. It’s called an “automated external defibrillator,” or AED.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: What to see at this year's Heartland Film Festival

October 9, 2010
Lou Harry
Heartland Freedom
                           WVNot sure how to weed through the 100-plus offerings at this year's Heartland Film Festival? Here are some recommendations from IBJ movie buffs.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Yes sir keep cashing those 300K a year checks direct to IMS, while millions disappear from the teams like Rahal's. Guess there wasn't enough ka- ching going around to keep Sarah Fisher in business without their "merger". LOL._____.Meanwhile back in Realville the series with the "best racing in the world" drew what appeared to be about 5000 live spectators ( and probably 1500 of those Target "freebies", and was beaten in the ratings by a series that reportedly consists of "parades" and aired while most people are still sleeping. That will generate those big ka-chings for sure. :-). But, hey, as long as the Speedway gets the cash who gives a damn about the teams?

  2. Welcome to PETERSON LOAN AGENCY Company (A Personalized Service for All Your Financial Needs) We, Liberal Investment Company Providers offers loan at a very low interest rate of 2%, we offer Personal loans, Debt Consolidation Loan, Venture Capital, Business Loan, Educational Loan, Home Loan, and Loan for any reason and urgent needs!. with a maximum duration of 30 years. Have you been turned down by your bank? Do you have bad credit? Do you have unpaid bills? Are you in debt? Do you need to set up a business? Worry no more as we are here to offer you a low interest loan. Our loan ranges from $5,000-USD (Five Thousand US dollars) to $50, 000,000.00.(Fifty Million US dollars). We also lend in USA DOLLARS EURO and POUNDS ! Fill in this form and forward it to our email: PETERSONLOANAGENCY@GMAIL.COM 1. Your Full names:_______ 2. Contact address:_______ 3. Country Of Residence:______ 4. Loan Amount Required:________ 5. Duration:_____ 6. Gender:_____ 7. Occupation:________ 8. Monthly Income:_______ 9. Date Of Birth:________ 10.Telephone Number:________ 11. Purpose of loan:_________ Yours In Service, MR PERRY, PETERSONLOANAGENCY@GMAIL.COM

  3. If I could actually get the prices...I would do this on my own. We need laws that force provides to publish the costs they will charge. Everyone else gives you the price in advance...except hospitals.

  4. I was under the impression that fencing is not allowed on a front yard and that on a corner, both sides are considered "front" yards, therefore can't be fenced without a variance. Also impedes the visibility for drivers at the intersection. Am I understanding this correctly? Might be why a fence was not included in the plans and a request for a variance will have to be made?.

  5. I was a big fan of Cowards and Carrots, which I got a chance to see at the show. It's currently on Kickstarter, but the designer also put out What's He Building in There last year, which got a fair amount of buzz.

ADVERTISEMENT