Opinion

DINING: The Elk stops at Main Street Organic Bistro

October 2, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of "street" restaurants.
More

SKARBECK: Short sellers maligned, but play a useful roleRestricted Content

October 2, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
True professional short sellers are typically intelligent, above-board investors who often alert the markets and investors to overvalued securities and, in some cases, to fraud.
More

Duke Energy maintains trust

October 2, 2010
A [Sept. 27] IBJ article reported on a settlement Duke Energy and several customer groups have reached on costs associated with construction of the company’s clean-coal technology power plant in Edwardsport.
More

WEB REVIEW: Out of kid party ideas? How to skip Chuck E. Cheese

October 2, 2010
Jim Cota
BirthdayPartyIdeas.com is full of ideas for parties of all kinds, for all ages.
More

Indiana missed stimulus opportunity

October 2, 2010
Kudos to Mary Dieter and IBJ for the investigative journalism that led to the [Sept. 27] publication of the disturbing disclosure that the Daniels administration failed to pursue up to $103 million in federal stimulus money that would benefit Hoosier small businesses and workers.
More

Indiana Sports Corp. intimidates IBJ

October 2, 2010
Make no mistake about it, we are calling you out, in your own publication. Indiana Sports Corp. has about 30 staffers; we both run the event and run in the event. We want to go head-to-head with Team IBJ next year!
More

'Greener Welcome' will be powerful

October 2, 2010
In just a few days, thousands of Lilly employees will descend upon Interstate 70. The purpose: a massive makeover we’re calling “A Greener Welcome.” It will naturalize 10 acres of vacant interchanges.
More

EDITORIAL: Tough economy exacerbates charities' needs

September 25, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Recent economic times have been tough on many Americans. But those who already were suffering most often have taken the hardest blows.
More

MORRIS: Don't fear diversity; embrace it

September 25, 2010
Greg Morris
We cannot allow this failure of our government to tear apart the benefits of diversity that helped make this country great.
More

MARCUS: Does economy depend on manufacturing?

September 25, 2010
Morton Marcus
Bloomington, in 2009, had the state's strongest private-sector earnings growth. But that was only a pathetic 0.1 percent.
More

FAENZI: We're more connected, but less engaged

September 25, 2010
Carol Faenzi
I am appalled at the number of businesspeople who have their heads down, texting and checking their messages or the latest stock quotes while in meetings, attending a lecture, making a call on a customer, or interviewing a potential employee.
More

DINING: The Bar at the Ambassador goes beyond 'Nawlins

September 25, 2010
Lou Harry
What's now called the Bar at the Ambassador at Pennsylvania and Ninth streets may have swapped a familiar name for a generic one, but there are still plenty of reasons to stop in.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lost & found at state museum's 'Titanic' exhibit

September 25, 2010
Lou Harry
What is it about the “Titanic” that continues to attract us—through books, films, a stage musical and, in the case of the touring show at the Indiana State Museum, an exhibition of artifacts?
More

HETRICK: If only we could enroll the pols in leadership campRestricted Content

September 25, 2010
Bruce Hetrick

We learned that if anyone in the group moved too slowly or too quickly—or stopped altogether—the ball would fall.

More

BENNER: Issue of women in locker room crops up ... againRestricted Content

September 25, 2010
Bill Benner
If I could add the wasted time I spent waiting outside locker rooms with the wasted time encountered once inside, I might be able to get three or four years of my life back.
More

HICKS: The end of a recession doesn't feel like oneRestricted Content

September 25, 2010
Mike Hicks
It is good to look back on the recession and think about where we've been and how this recession stacked up against others.
More

ALTOM: Think before selling your old software

September 25, 2010
Tim Altom
The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has made it official: You don’t own your software if the software maker says you don’t own it.
More

Parking meter deal is boon for city

September 25, 2010
The proposed parking transaction with ACS is another example of the mayor streamlining government, maximizing the value of existing assets, and securing millions of dollars for infrastructure improvements.
More

NFL lockout risky

September 25, 2010
I hope NFL owners and players take into account, while contemplating a lockout, the effect on the fans.
More

EDITORIAL: City's parking plan needs work

September 18, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard strikes us as someone who puts pragmatism over politics. That’s why we’re hopeful he’ll reconsider details of the controversial plan to turn over the city’s metered parking to a private vendor.
More

MAURER: Get and keep controlRestricted Content

September 18, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved from my experience, “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School”. Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the sixth installment.
More

MARCUS: Airport conversations reveal concerns

September 18, 2010
Morton Marcus
There’s no reason to use the valuable land at the airport for new hotels that will drive out existing facilities nearby.
More

GARNER: Multifamily housing is not the enemy

September 18, 2010
Sanford Garner
It would be easy to blame the economy for our blighted urban neighborhoods. True, these tough economic times have led to more vacant and foreclosed houses than we can count. But the key to revitalizing a neighborhood stretches far beyond boarded-up houses.
More

DINING: Square Rootz Deli shapes sandwiches with style

September 18, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It's easy to miss this new Fountain Square eatery, but it's worth finding.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City Ballet benefit rises to the occasion again

September 18, 2010
Lou Harry
Ballet's “An Evening with the Stars” fundraising event featured stars of the Bolshoi Ballet, American Ballet Theatre and much more.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT