Opinion

DINING: Chancy upgrade at IUPUI eatery

August 21, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Chancellor's has high aspirations, with a seasonal, locally sourced menu clearly designed to appeal more to diners on an expense account than college students on a budget.
More

Mentor knew how to keep his head

August 21, 2010
In reference to Mickey Maurer’s column in the Aug. 9 edition, Mickey and I, along with probably many others, had the same mentor, Gene Glick.
More

GM deal promising for local automaker

August 21, 2010
Now that Bright Automotive has announced a strategic partnership [with] General Motors, we think IBJ should reconsider the title it gave a recent article about the company (Aug 2, “Losing power?”). We’d suggest “Powering up!”
More

Coaches, mentors often confused

August 21, 2010
[Mickey Maurer] really did a great job in [his Aug. 9 column,] “Even CEOs need mentors.” I agree that having a mentor, or having someone to coach you, is valuable.
More

Attendance figures were inconsistent

August 21, 2010
I was disappointed in the lack of fair and accurate reporting in Kathleen McLaughlin’s article, “Missing the action: Museums struggle to capture foot traffic from busy Central Canal,” which was published in the Aug. 16 edition.
More

EDITORIAL: Raising parking fees is wise step

August 14, 2010
It isn’t difficult to grasp the reasoning behind Mayor Greg Ballard’s proposal to privatize the city’s parking operations.
More

MORRIS: Give and volunteer to Live United

August 14, 2010
Greg Morris
Many people in our community, state, country and around the globe need our help. The numbers are staggering.
More

MARCUS: Unemployment is a waste of our resources

August 14, 2010
Morton Marcus
People have to be hired to do valuable things with the money the government pumps into the economy. That money can’t be given to people or to businesses with the hope that they will use it. It has to be spent on activities that increase employment.
More

MERISOTIS: Boosting education boosts your company

August 14, 2010
Jamie Merisotis
By 2018, 63 percent of all jobs in this country will require some form of postsecondary education or training. That’s a huge increase since the mid-’70s.
More

DINING: A fair amount of pork

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
Lou's fair food review WVThis year, the Indiana State Fair is celebrating the Year of the Pig. And that means pork is the main attraction in five dishes that were selected as finalists in the fair’s Signature Food contest.
More

ALTOM: What can business learn from techies?

August 14, 2010
Tim Altom
There have been some technical materials that have taught me a great deal about how business should be conducted. I’d like to share a few with you.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The playing's the thing at GenCon

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
While fantasy role-playing games form the core of GenCon, the convention has a lot to offer casual game players whose comfort zone is closer to Yahtzee and Monopoly than Wizards of Warcraft.
More

BENNER: You can help save the lives of young Hoosiers

August 14, 2010
Bill Benner
Feleica Locklear-Stewart’s attention. And she is on a mission to make sure we do more, not just for athletes, but for all our young.
More

HICKS: Expectations can't erase sluggish recoveryRestricted Content

August 14, 2010
Mike Hicks
While the economy continues to recover, the pace is agonizingly slow. The reasons for this are becoming clear.
More

We must explore alternative energy

August 14, 2010
The Viewpoint essay penned by Peter Grossman [in the July 26 issue] was infuriating.
More

STYLE: A N.Y. fashion writer brings her blog back home

August 14, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
I’ve heard that there were people out there who quit their day jobs to take pictures of their outfits for a living, but I couldn’t begin to imagine a business plan that could make that lifestyle happen.
More

EDITORIAL: In Indianapolis, sports venues aren't built to last

August 7, 2010
Indianapolis has made strides toward becoming a “greener” city in the last few years. Reusing what we discard makes sense, but not everything should be disposable. That includes the sports landmarks we’ve made a habit of turning into rubble.
More

MAURER: Even CEOs need mentorsRestricted Content

August 7, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment strategy, I developed “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School.” Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the third installment.
More

MARCUS: Tax expenditures are back door to spending

August 7, 2010
Morton Marcus
People are divided on what they want, skeptical about the ability of government to provide services, and resentful about paying for those services they do not perceive as benefiting themselves.
More

FELDMANN: Copying others' tactics won't always pay off

August 7, 2010
Derrick Feldmann
It’s common in any business or organization that hears about an incredible success and tries to replicate it by following the same steps.
More

DINING: It's Turner's turn at revamped Canterbury eatery

August 7, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Named for hotel owner and local businessman Turner Woodard, Turner’s Restaurant maintains a cozy feel despite the decidedly upscale environment.
More

BENNER: Carving up the Big Ten ... and other hot topicsRestricted Content

August 7, 2010
Bill Benner
Of this, that and the other as the lazy, hazy, not-so-crazy days of summer begin to wind down.
More

SKARBECK: U.S. will someday have to deal with debt

August 7, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
After years of easy borrowing that helped boost economic growth, governments around the globe are dealing with evil twinsâ??high levels of debt and shrinking revenue to repay.
More

HICKS: What silly bands say about the value of things

August 7, 2010
Mike Hicks
There are economic lessons here. The most important is that the value of things is necessarily determined by what is known in econo-jargon as utility.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Local music makes 24-hour road trip sound sweet

August 7, 2010
Lou Harry
With apologies to Willie Nelson, the truth is I could wait to get on the road again.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Kent's done a good job of putting together some good guests, intelligence and irreverence without the inane chatter of the other two shows. JMV is unlistenable, mostly because he doesn't do his homework and depends on non-sports stuff to keep HIM interested. Query and Shultz is a bit better, but lack of prep in their show certainly is evident. Sterling obviously workes harder than the other shows. We shall see if there is any way for a third signal with very little successful recent history to make it. I always say you have to give a show two years to grow into what it will become...

  2. Lafayette Square, Washington Square should be turned into office parks with office buildings, conversion, no access to the public at all. They should not be shopping malls and should be under tight security and used for professional offices instead of havens for crime. Their only useage is to do this or tear them down and replace them with high rise office parks with secured parking lots so that the crime in the areas is not allowed in. These are prime properties, but must be reused for other uses, professional office conversions with no loitering and no shopping makes sense, otherwise they have become hangouts long ago for gangs, groups of people who have no intent of spending money, and are only there for trouble and possibly crime, shoplifting, etc. I worked summers at SuperX Drugs in Lafayette Square in the 1970s and even then the shrinkage from shoplifting was 10-15 percent. No sense having shopping malls in these areas, they earn no revenue, attract crime, and are a blight on the city. All malls that are not of use should be repurposed or torn down by the city, condemned. One possibility would be to repourpose them as inside college campuses or as community centers, but then again, if the community is high crime, why bother.

  3. Straight No Chaser

  4. Seems the biggest use of TIF is for pet projects that improve Quality Of Life, allegedly, but they ignore other QOL issues that are of a more important and urgent nature. Keep it transparent and try not to get in ready, fire, Aim! mode. You do realize that business the Mayor said might be interested is probably going to want TIF too?

  5. Gary, I'm in complete agreement. The private entity should be required to pay IPL, and, if City parking meters are involved, the parking meter company. I was just pointing out how the poorly-structured parking meter deal affected the car share deal.

ADVERTISEMENT