Opinion

MAURER: If it feels right, take the leapRestricted Content

August 21, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School”—at least I didn’t learn them in school. Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the fourth installment.
More

MARCUS: Metrics no substitute for management

August 21, 2010
Morton Marcus
Most companies select from a work force that has a mixed quality of education. Instead of using this diversity as an asset, management today tries to impose ‘behavioral metrics’ on its workers independent of their individual strengths.
More

LOUGHREY: Hoosier leaders can fight global poverty

August 21, 2010
Joe Loughrey
Our world is quite different from the one President Truman and George Marshall faced in 1947. But the strategy for recovery and broad-based development should be built on a similar foundation of public- and private-sector collaboration.
More

SKARBECK: Investors may miss mark by switching to bonds

August 21, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
It seems more likely that bond investors today are making the same mistake stock investors made back at the peak of the stock-market bubble.
More

HICKS: Good reads on America's automobile industry

August 21, 2010
Mike Hicks
If you'd like to satiate your interest in the domestic automobile market, may I recommend three fine books?
More

BENNER: Bird's trust goes unrewarded in new debacleRestricted Content

August 21, 2010
Bill Benner
Face it, Larry; you messed up. You trusted a 19-year-old with a questionable past.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dancing to the classics

August 21, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre uses American lit as a launch pad; plus: books by local authors.
More

HETRICK: How to make our recession last foreverRestricted Content

August 21, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Today’s and tomorrow’s jobs are increasingly dependent upon more and better education
More

DINING: Chancy upgrade at IUPUI eatery

August 21, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Chancellor's has high aspirations, with a seasonal, locally sourced menu clearly designed to appeal more to diners on an expense account than college students on a budget.
More

Mentor knew how to keep his head

August 21, 2010
In reference to Mickey Maurer’s column in the Aug. 9 edition, Mickey and I, along with probably many others, had the same mentor, Gene Glick.
More

GM deal promising for local automaker

August 21, 2010
Now that Bright Automotive has announced a strategic partnership [with] General Motors, we think IBJ should reconsider the title it gave a recent article about the company (Aug 2, “Losing power?”). We’d suggest “Powering up!”
More

Coaches, mentors often confused

August 21, 2010
[Mickey Maurer] really did a great job in [his Aug. 9 column,] “Even CEOs need mentors.” I agree that having a mentor, or having someone to coach you, is valuable.
More

Attendance figures were inconsistent

August 21, 2010
I was disappointed in the lack of fair and accurate reporting in Kathleen McLaughlin’s article, “Missing the action: Museums struggle to capture foot traffic from busy Central Canal,” which was published in the Aug. 16 edition.
More

EDITORIAL: Raising parking fees is wise step

August 14, 2010
It isn’t difficult to grasp the reasoning behind Mayor Greg Ballard’s proposal to privatize the city’s parking operations.
More

MORRIS: Give and volunteer to Live United

August 14, 2010
Greg Morris
Many people in our community, state, country and around the globe need our help. The numbers are staggering.
More

MARCUS: Unemployment is a waste of our resources

August 14, 2010
Morton Marcus
People have to be hired to do valuable things with the money the government pumps into the economy. That money can’t be given to people or to businesses with the hope that they will use it. It has to be spent on activities that increase employment.
More

MERISOTIS: Boosting education boosts your company

August 14, 2010
Jamie Merisotis
By 2018, 63 percent of all jobs in this country will require some form of postsecondary education or training. That’s a huge increase since the mid-’70s.
More

DINING: A fair amount of pork

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
Lou's fair food review WVThis year, the Indiana State Fair is celebrating the Year of the Pig. And that means pork is the main attraction in five dishes that were selected as finalists in the fair’s Signature Food contest.
More

ALTOM: What can business learn from techies?

August 14, 2010
Tim Altom
There have been some technical materials that have taught me a great deal about how business should be conducted. I’d like to share a few with you.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The playing's the thing at GenCon

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
While fantasy role-playing games form the core of GenCon, the convention has a lot to offer casual game players whose comfort zone is closer to Yahtzee and Monopoly than Wizards of Warcraft.
More

BENNER: You can help save the lives of young Hoosiers

August 14, 2010
Bill Benner
Feleica Locklear-Stewart’s attention. And she is on a mission to make sure we do more, not just for athletes, but for all our young.
More

HICKS: Expectations can't erase sluggish recoveryRestricted Content

August 14, 2010
Mike Hicks
While the economy continues to recover, the pace is agonizingly slow. The reasons for this are becoming clear.
More

We must explore alternative energy

August 14, 2010
The Viewpoint essay penned by Peter Grossman [in the July 26 issue] was infuriating.
More

STYLE: A N.Y. fashion writer brings her blog back home

August 14, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
I’ve heard that there were people out there who quit their day jobs to take pictures of their outfits for a living, but I couldn’t begin to imagine a business plan that could make that lifestyle happen.
More

EDITORIAL: In Indianapolis, sports venues aren't built to last

August 7, 2010
Indianapolis has made strides toward becoming a “greener” city in the last few years. Reusing what we discard makes sense, but not everything should be disposable. That includes the sports landmarks we’ve made a habit of turning into rubble.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Great article and post scripts by Mike L (Great addition to IBJ BTW). Bobby's stubborn as a mule, and doubt if he ever comes back to IU. But the love he would receive would be enormous. Hope he shows some time, but not counting on it.

  2. When the Indiana GOP was going around the State selling the Voucher bill they were promising people that the vouchers would only be for public charter schools. They lied. As usual.

  3. I am Mr. Morris Ray, a Legitimate And a Reputable money Lender. We lend funds out to individuals in need of financial assistance, we give loan to people that have a bad credit or in need of money to pay bills, to invest on business. Have you been looking for loan? you have not to worry, because you are in the right place i offer loan at low interest rate of 2% so if you are in need of a loan i want you to just contact me via this email Address: morris_ray123@outlook.com

  4. Jim, your "misleading" numbers comment is spot on. This is the spin these posers are putting on it. News flash, fans: these guys lie. They are not publicly traded so no one holds them accountable for anything they say. The TV numbers are so miniscule to begin with any "increase" produces double digit "growth" numbers. It's ridiculous to think that anything these guys have done has awakened the marketplace. What have they done? Consolidate the season so they run more races on consecutive weekends? And this creates "momentum." Is that the same momentum you enjoy when you don't race between August and March? Keep in mind that you are running teams who barely make ends meet ragged over the summer to accomplish this brilliant strategy of avoiding the NFL while you run your season finale at midnight on the East Coast. But I should not obfuscate my own point: any "ratings increase" is exactly what Jim points to - the increased availability of NBC Sports in households. Look fans, I love the sport to but these posers are running it off a cliff. Miles wants to declare victory and then run for Mayor. I could go on and on but bottom line for God's sake don't believe a word they say. Note to Anthony - try doing just a little research instead of reporting what these pretenders say and then offering an "opinion" no more informed than the average fan.

  5. If he's finally planning to do the right thing and resign, why not do it before the election? Waiting until after means what - s special election at tax payer expense? Appointment (by whom?) thus robbing the voters of their chance to choose? Does he accrue some additional financial advantage to waiting, like extra pension payments? What's in it for him? That's the question that needs to be asked.

ADVERTISEMENT