Opinion

MARCUS: 90 counties show income improvement

May 1, 2010
Morton Marcus
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis has released personal-income data for each county in the nation. The Indianapolis area did not fare well.
More

DINING: Nothing fowl at canal-side newcomer

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of new Broad Ripple restaurant reviews. This week: Flatwater.
More

Simons already support library

May 1, 2010
In response to IBJ’s April 26 editorial, “Simon could score for city library,” I thought it important for your readers to know members of the Simon family have a long history of supporting Indianapolis’ public library system and continue to be regular donors.
More

WEB REVIEW: Save the long words for Scrabble

May 1, 2010
Jim Cota
The golden rule should be to communicate clearly.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Take a seat for 2010/2011

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
It's not too early to think about next season at the Indiana Repertory Theatre, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, and more.
More

BENNER: Balancing academics, big business is part of NCAA jobRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Bill Benner
On April 27, the NCAA unveiled its fifth president: Dr. Mark Emmert, currently president of the University of Washington.
More

HICKS: How competition sped up broadband adoptionRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Mike Hicks
Our study found that simply permitting deregulation of cable TV caused a pleasing increase in broadband adoption.
More

Donations to Brizzi were appropriate

May 1, 2010
Over the course of my 41 years as a member of the Indiana Bar, I have worked to help improve the justice system in Marion County and the state.
More

Losing Pacers wouldn't help library

May 1, 2010
The truth is all it takes to keep [the Pacers] is paying the expenses of a building we would have to pay for anyway.
More

Benner column is a must-read

May 1, 2010
I wanted to let you know that I have really enjoyed reading your articles about Butler, especially the [April 19] “in another universe” piece. As a Butler alum, I still cannot believe we were in the championship and almost won it.
More

Health by Design deserves publicity

May 1, 2010
Thank you for [columnist Tom Harton’s] well-thought-out piece in [the April 26] edition on Health by Design. As Kim Irwin noted, this coalition is primarily aimed at obesity prevention.
More

Woman performed work as contractor

May 1, 2010
I read your article on Vida Aventura and Deseri Garcia in the April 12 issue with interest since Garcia once worked for my company, Team Summit. However, I feel it is important to clarify some of the information contained in the story.
More

EDITORIAL: Simon could score for city library

April 24, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Perhaps it’s time for Pacers owner Herb Simon—a billionaire like his late brother—to burnish his credentials as a philanthropist who makes the city a better place to live and work.
More

HARTON: Our environment provides another path to better health

April 24, 2010
Tom Harton
One recent study showed that medical costs fall more than $3 for every $1 spent on wellness programs. But something doesn’t add up.
More

MARCUS: Privatization not the only answer

April 24, 2010
Morton Marcus
Privatization is a popular political parlor game. Instead of providing thoughtful reasoning for consideration by an informed electorate, officials try to meet public needs through artfulness.
More

COOK: Restoring buildings revitalizes communities

April 24, 2010
William A. Cook
I got involved in restoration projects more than 30 years ago when a serious cardiac illness sidelined me from my medical-device business.
More

ALTOM: Is your smartphone good for business use?

April 24, 2010
Tim Altom
I love smartphones. No other form of biz-tech allows me so much opportunity to be so curmudgeonly about something so popular.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You won't be bored with Weegee

April 24, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, photographs by the legendary Weegee at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Plus a visit from the national tour of “A Chorus Line.”
More

DINING: Experiencing pub style, the Brockway way

April 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Carmel eatery bills itself as the country's first Dublin-inspired "industrial" pub.
More

BENNER: Think twice before ripping the blue and goldRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bill Benner
I defy anyone to tell me that losing the Pacers would be a positive thing for Indianapolis.
More

HETRICK: Job-seeking advice for graduates and grownups, tooRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
My advice has undergone a course correction to adapt to these challenging times.
More

HICKS: Unemployment situation brings up questionsRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Mike Hicks
Perhaps the biggest problem is in estimating who is in and not in the formal work force. Even in good times, a surprising number of workers labor in the shadow economy, invisible to government statisticians.
More

Let Citizens take over sports venues

April 24, 2010
There may be a solution to the Capital Improvement Board’s financial problems, described in [the April 19] IBJ, that are further complicated by the Pacers wanting to renegotiate their Conseco agreement.
More

Citizens' takeover of water will be a relief

April 24, 2010
Tom Henderson gets it wrong in his [April 12] view that “Part of the overall utility problem is that lack of government oversight and public policy vision has made Indianapolis one of the highest-polluting and just plain ugliest cities in the Midwest.”
More

Colleges should target learning, not time

April 24, 2010
The Morton Marcus [March 29] column on graduation rates hit home. I too do not like credentialism as an excuse to avoid evaluating performance.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. If what you stated is true, then this article is entirely inaccurate. "State sells bonds" is same as "State borrows money". Supposedly the company will "pay for them". But since we are paying the company, we are still paying for this road with borrowed money, even though the state has $2 billion in the bank.

  2. Andrew hit the nail on the head. AMTRAK provides terrible service and that is why the state has found a contractor to improve the service. More trips, on-time performance, better times, cleanliness and adequate or better restrooms. WI-FI and food service will also be provided. Transit from outlying areas will also be provided. I wouldn't take it the way it is but with the above services and marketing of the service,ridership will improve and more folks will explore Indy and may even want to move here.

  3. They could take the property using eminent domain and save money by not paying the church or building a soccer field and a new driveway. Ctrwd has monthly meetings open to all customers of the district. The meetings are listed and if the customers really cared that much they would show. Ctrwd works hard in every way they can to make sure the customer is put first. Overflows damage the surrounding environment and cost a lot of money every year. There have been many upgrades done through the years to help not send flow to Carmel. Even with the upgrades ctrwd cannot always keep up. I understand how a storage tank could be an eye sore, but has anyone thought to look at other lift stations or storage tanks. Most lift stations are right in the middle of neighborhoods. Some close to schools and soccer fields, and some right in back yards, or at least next to a back yard. We all have to work together to come up with a proper solution. The proposed solution by ctrwd is the best one offered so far.

  4. Fox has comments from several people that seem to have some inside information. I would refer to their website. Changed my whole opionion of this story.

  5. This place is great! I'm piggy backing and saying the Cobb salad is great. But the ribs are awesome. $6.49 for ribs and 2 sides?! They're delicious. If you work downtown, head over there.

ADVERTISEMENT