Opinion

LOU'S VIEWS: Feinstein more than fine at Great American Songbook Competition

June 12, 2010
Lou Harry
High school vocal competition soared in second year. Winner landed New York gig.
More

DINING: Spice is nice at Main St. Carmel Cajun

June 12, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of "elemental" eateries.
More

HETRICK: The irony of government foes wanting more governmentRestricted Content

June 12, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
We're all quick to say we want lower taxes, but we're slow to sacrifice services that affect us.
More

BENNER: John Wooden would have been proud of these kidsRestricted Content

June 12, 2010
Bill Benner
There is little I can add to the deserved tributes ... except to place a couple of recent events in a Wooden-like perspective.
More

SKARBECK: Municipal bond defaults might be next crisisRestricted Content

June 12, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
for decades, politicians have regularly boosted public pension benefits to score election gains, while neglecting the long-term costs to municipal budgets. Now the bills are coming due.
More

HICKS: Derivatives don't deserve their scary reputationRestricted Content

June 12, 2010
Mike Hicks
One major part of the legislation will target derivatives. This is an arena where the financial services industry does itself no good from a public relations sense.
More

EDITORIAL: Lots of promising local firms in IPO pipeline

June 5, 2010
There’s a reason we’re thrilled to see the Indianapolis area is building a healthy pipeline of firms primed to go public: It bodes well for our economy.
More

MORRIS: An introduction and invitation from the publisher

June 5, 2010
Greg Morris
I am grateful and humbled for the opportunity to serve as the sixth publisher in IBJ’s history, succeeding Chris Katterjohn, who was publisher the past 20 years.
More

MARCUS: How much do workers want to earn?

June 5, 2010
Morton Marcus
Regular readers know I’m a numbers guy. Give me a set of data and I can be happily occupied for hours. A simple visit to Hoosiers by the Numbers on the Indiana Department of Workforce Development website is a data junkie’s joy.
More

SHOBERT: Could new model save manufacturing?

June 5, 2010
Benjamin A. Shobert
On my most recent trip to China, it was not without some heaviness of heart that I again found myself comparing the newness of the country’s infrastructure—and the teeming activity that seems to have enveloped this part of the world—with much of what I see, or do not, around Indiana and the United States.
More

SURF THIS: Web Research 101 ... going beyond Wikipedia

June 5, 2010
Jim Cota
Wikipedia remains the de facto standard for research, having an archive containing more than 15 million articles. But if you need to go beyond the basic facts, there are a variety of places to turn.
More

BENNER: The good, bad and ugly of this year's Indy 500Restricted Content

June 5, 2010
Bill Benner
The Greatest Spectacle in Racing was, once again, a spectacle. Now that it’s in the rearview mirror, an accounting is in order.
More

DINING: Keeping customers happy an elemental test of eateries

June 5, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Our waiter forgot to ring in our order. Mistakes happen, but how such problems are fixed says a lot about a restaurant’s culture.
More

ALTOM: Securing your Wi-Fi is worth your trouble

June 5, 2010
Tim Altom
If you’ve got a wireless (Wi-Fi) router, you could be in some serious hot water if it’s not properly secured.
More

HICKS: State both good, bad in human-capital gameRestricted Content

June 5, 2010
Mike Hicks
Suppose we lived in a perfectly flat world that is a vast, featureless plain of identical square counties.
More

Give 2 hours a week to schoolchildren

June 5, 2010
Mickey Maurer’s article in the May 31 edition re: the need for support and mentoring of kids coming from disadvantaged backgrounds hit the nail on the head.
More

Bardon was key to new legislation

June 5, 2010
I enjoyed your coverage [in the Mat 24 Banking and Finance Focus] of new Indiana legislation promoting traditional mortgages and increasing the protection afforded to deposits of state and local funds.
More

EDITORIAL: Executive pay policies, not salaries, need reform

May 29, 2010
In the wake of a recession blamed largely on Wall Street, boards need to act. But reducing executive pay shouldn’t be their primary objective.
More

MAURER: Early education leads to successRestricted Content

May 29, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Not only is early childhood education essential to supplement and often reverse the effects of a deficient home environment, but a rich preschool home environment is also an important indicator of high achievement.
More

MARCUS: Health care bill opens doors to change

May 29, 2010
Morton Marcus
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act is a major step forward. It widens the door to health insurance for those with pre-existing conditions, for employees of small businesses and others currently not covered.
More

BASILE: Greenland has little dramatic history ... or greenery

May 29, 2010
Frank Basile
The highlight of the trip: the inspiring ice fields of Ilulissat.
More

DINING: Dog days in Broad Ripple at Gourmet Frank's

May 29, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’m a grammar snob, which is one reason it took me so long to make the trek to Broad Ripple to try Gourmet Frank’s. There is no Frank, just an unnecessary apostrophe—which I call the Hoosier possessive—in the simple description of its star menu item: franks, as in hot dogs.
More

BOULET: Has civility become a quaint and obsolete concept?

May 29, 2010
Larry S. Boulet
Americans are not as civil as they used to be. Daily, there are doses of uncivil behavior reported by the media. And bad behavior isn’t limited to highly visible people.
More

SKARBECK: Why do Fannie, Freddie deserve a free pass?Restricted Content

May 29, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
One crisis that continues to simmer under the public radar is the endless taxpayer support needed to prop up Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.
More

HICKS: Memorial Day puts economics in perspectiveRestricted Content

May 29, 2010
Mike Hicks
the things that determine our ultimate prosperity and happiness are not the vacillations of markets.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT