Opinion

Bardon was key to new legislation

June 5, 2010
I enjoyed your coverage [in the Mat 24 Banking and Finance Focus] of new Indiana legislation promoting traditional mortgages and increasing the protection afforded to deposits of state and local funds.
More

EDITORIAL: Executive pay policies, not salaries, need reform

May 29, 2010
In the wake of a recession blamed largely on Wall Street, boards need to act. But reducing executive pay shouldn’t be their primary objective.
More

MAURER: Early education leads to successRestricted Content

May 29, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Not only is early childhood education essential to supplement and often reverse the effects of a deficient home environment, but a rich preschool home environment is also an important indicator of high achievement.
More

MARCUS: Health care bill opens doors to change

May 29, 2010
Morton Marcus
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act is a major step forward. It widens the door to health insurance for those with pre-existing conditions, for employees of small businesses and others currently not covered.
More

BASILE: Greenland has little dramatic history ... or greenery

May 29, 2010
Frank Basile
The highlight of the trip: the inspiring ice fields of Ilulissat.
More

DINING: Dog days in Broad Ripple at Gourmet Frank's

May 29, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’m a grammar snob, which is one reason it took me so long to make the trek to Broad Ripple to try Gourmet Frank’s. There is no Frank, just an unnecessary apostrophe—which I call the Hoosier possessive—in the simple description of its star menu item: franks, as in hot dogs.
More

BOULET: Has civility become a quaint and obsolete concept?

May 29, 2010
Larry S. Boulet
Americans are not as civil as they used to be. Daily, there are doses of uncivil behavior reported by the media. And bad behavior isn’t limited to highly visible people.
More

SKARBECK: Why do Fannie, Freddie deserve a free pass?Restricted Content

May 29, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
One crisis that continues to simmer under the public radar is the endless taxpayer support needed to prop up Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.
More

HICKS: Memorial Day puts economics in perspectiveRestricted Content

May 29, 2010
Mike Hicks
the things that determine our ultimate prosperity and happiness are not the vacillations of markets.
More

Race has lost its magic

May 29, 2010
I hope [Bill Benner’s May 17 column is] right and that the new management at the Speedway finds ways to bring back the “luster” of the old 500s. But it just doesn’t appear that way.
More

EDITORIAL: Business strength benefits city

May 22, 2010
The recession is dragging on, unemployment remains above 9 percent, and Lilly is chopping its way through 5,500 layoffs. Business bummers abound. But it’s not all bad news.
More

KING: News in the age of instant feedback

May 22, 2010
Mason King
Most IBJ editors and bloggers now can access readership stats for every bit of news content on our website. We know how many times each story, blog and video has been viewed and for how long, for any month, week or day.
More

MARCUS: Knowledge economy is not new

May 22, 2010
Morton Marcus
Few matters in life are clear and definitive. Sadly, we grow up learning that all can or should be reduced (or elevated) to mathematical modeling. We have no courses or TV channels specializing in ambiguity, no college major in uncertainty.
More

BURNEY: Keep drive for high-ability education

May 22, 2010
Ginny Burney
In 2007, the Indiana General Assembly unanimously put into place the requirement for all Indiana schools to identify students with advanced potential from all groups and provide them with appropriate curriculum and instruction needed to develop their potential.
More

DINING: Come fry with me at Fat Dan's

May 22, 2010
Lou Harry
The fries at Fat Dan’s Chicago-style Deli in Broad Ripple are, in short, delicious and enough of a draw on their own to merit a visit (though we realize it’s unlikely you’ll stop with just fries).
More

BENNER: Misdeeds magnified by ratings-hungry TVRestricted Content

May 22, 2010
Bill Benner
If the events at Carmel High School had occurred outside the realm of sports, would the scrutiny have been this intense, and this sensationalized?
More

ALTOM: Is your computer being commandeered under your nose?Restricted Content

May 22, 2010
Tim Altom
Around the world, tens of millions of computers are infected with sly viruses that invisibly take over a machine, letting it continue working but redirecting part of its time to doing nefarious things, like storing ill-gotten data or sending out spam ads for improbable enlargements of body parts.
More

HICKS: State lucky to have community foundationsRestricted Content

May 22, 2010
Mike Hicks
A good community foundation knows when there is an unmet need. After faith-based organizations, nobody is closer to understanding immediate needs better than a strong community foundation.
More

HETRICK: Men and boys behaving badly from Carmel to D.C.Restricted Content

May 22, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
One hurdle is that too few people understand what constitutes hazing.
More

School districts take different paths

May 22, 2010
Two Indianapolis-area school districts have taken different routes to dealing with large budget shortfalls in the wake of significant cuts to state education funding. The results speak volumes about the priorities of their local teachers’ unions.
More

EDITORIAL: Ballard making good moves a habit

May 15, 2010
 IBJ Staff
More than two years into his term, Mayor Greg Ballard has shown a creative flair and a pragmatic streak the city needs.
More

MAURER: Pack your bags ... it's time for campRestricted Content

May 15, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Mickey's Camp presents a chance to learn new skills or polish old ones, including backgammon, canoeing, badminton, darts, bass fishing, fly fishing, golf, self-defense, magic, jewelry making, knitting, arts and crafts, and CPR.
More

MARCUS: The economy is better, but pain persists

May 15, 2010
Morton Marcus
Unemployment numbers come out monthly and the news media cover them as diligently as violations of selected commandments.
More

DUNN: Let's utilize Indiana's energy resources

May 15, 2010
Peter Dunn
Recent events in the Gulf of Mexico have placed considerable focus on the everyday contributions the men and women in the oil and natural gas industry make to help fuel and power our way of life.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix premiere is more than a John Prine tribute show

May 15, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, a tribute that transcends at the Phoenix Theatre, plus thoughts on this year's Spotlight benefit.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT