Opinion

LOU'S VIEWS: Best-selling author's words take center stage

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Cincinnati’s Playhouse in the Park launches novelist Walter Mosley’s first play,"The Fall of Heaven," just in time for my cultural road trip.
More

Billboard decision was defiant

February 6, 2010
[In the Jan. 4 issue], IBJ covered the State Fair board’s decision to permit a digital billboard at the Fairgrounds on Fall Creek Parkway. One of the opening lines, “Take that, Indianapolis” in the article was apt.
More

You don't have to travel to find nature

February 6, 2010
I have learned that the exploration of natural areas can take place year-round, not just while on vacation.
More

PARENT: Why I'm rooting for the Saints in the land of Blue

February 3, 2010
Tawn Parent
The Indianapolis Colts may be the home team, but this Hoosier sits squarely in the New Orleans Saints' corner.
More

EDITORIAL: Lawmakers should save tobacco agency and ban smoking

January 30, 2010
 IBJ Staff
If the General Assembly wants to create some good news in this budget-conscious short session, it will continue our wise investment in Hoosier health, and go one better by passing a statewide smoking ban.
More

KATTERJOHN: Stupid Bowl not so stupid anymore

January 30, 2010
Chris Katterjohn
In recent years, my two brothers have been fond of referring to the Super Bowl as The Stupid Bowl. Disgusted by the crass commercialism that has overtaken professional sports, they view The Stupid Bowl as the zenith of hype.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Debate rages over the right to bear arms

January 30, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
House Bill 1065 would bar business owners from prohibiting an employee from keeping a legally owned firearm in his or her locked vehicle at work.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Race colors IRT's 'Romeo and Juliet'

January 30, 2010
Lou Harry
Shakespeare's iconic show gets a post-WWII redo.
More

BENNER: A different take - or not - on Super Bowl-bound Colts

January 30, 2010
Bill Benner
Once again, our city is blowing up over the Blue.
More

ALTOM: Does instant messaging make business sense?Restricted Content

January 30, 2010
Tim Altom
An instant messenger is one of those technologies that seems silly until you start using it.
More

HICKS: So far, federal stimulus plan isn't stimulating

January 30, 2010
Mike Hicks
It has been roughly a year since the passage of the economic stimulus, formally the more harmonious American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. This stimulus is a textbook example of what we economists call counter-cyclical fiscal policy.
More

MARCUS: A heavenly suggestion for economic recovery

January 30, 2010
Morton Marcus
The federal stimulus programs are based largely on borrowing, not on taxation.
More

WIEGAND: Who's monitoring home construction?

January 30, 2010
Kurt Wiegand
About 18 months ago, I watched as the entire exterior of an expensive condo on the Central Canal—originally built in 1996—was rebuilt. Among the issues: There was no building paper (Tyvek) under the siding, treated lumber wasn’t used on the exposed porches, and neither was there any drainage.
More

Salvation Army story deserved better

January 30, 2010
A little more research on the comparison of housing costs in Indianapolis vs. Needham, Mass., was needed [in the Jan. 25 story on Salvation Army].
More

Anyone can feel the power of mentoring

January 30, 2010
Your headline [on the Jan. 25 Viewpoint] said it all: “Find a mentor to make you better.” January was national mentoring month to raise awareness of the power of mentoring, which is often thought of as valuable for youth.
More

EDITORIAL: Legislators should stick to the basics and go home

January 23, 2010
 IBJ Staff
We like the Indiana General Assembly’s no-nonsense approach to this year’s short legislative session—at least it looks good on the surface.
More

MAURER: Here's how Katz Sapper Miller balanced its books

January 23, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Last November, Katz Sapper and Miller went back to schooll—Broad Ripple High School.
More

MARCUS: Is health care reform socialism?

January 23, 2010
Morton Marcus
The time is coming when everyone will recognize that, as every structure in a city is entitled fire department services, so, too, each individual should receive appropriate health care, whether or not he or she can pay for it.
More

GARNER: Find a mentor to make you better

January 23, 2010
Sanford Garner
Most people muddle through, often learning the hard way. But those who are successful will point to mentors who helped them find their way.
More

Bring back IBJ stock charts

January 23, 2010
Your decision to discontinue the printing of stock prices and economic activity charts, as announced in your Jan. 17 issue, was extremely disappointing to us as well as, surely, to other paid subscribers.
More

Why more taxes for education?

January 23, 2010
Re: Bruce Hetrick’s [Jan. 11 column] “Hey kids! Come and get your pound of flesh,” at first I was stunned. Then I was speechless. After that I was just plain mad.
More

Are fans ready to forgive Polian?

January 23, 2010
By the time the next IBJ hits the newsstands we’ll know whether it’s the Colts or The Team the Colts Enabled (the Jets) that will be playing in the Super Bowl.
More

Concert review was right on

January 23, 2010
Since I canâ??t summarize this exciting four-plus-hour [Hoosier Dylan] concert nearly as well as [the Jan. 18 Louâ??s Views column], I will merely agree with you verbatim on your precise review—including your disappointment with Indianaâ??s poet laureate.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Daniels' agenda built on avoiding new taxes, programs

January 23, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
The State of the State address delivered by Gov. Mitch Daniels Jan. 19 contained no surprises at all, except, perhaps in his optimism.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Flagrant fouls make Globetrotter win dubious

January 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Globetrotters, Phoenix Theatre's "Housewives of Mannheim," and Beef & Boards' "The Foreigner."
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. A Tilted Kilt at a water park themed hotel? Who planned that one? I guess the Dad's need something to do while the kids are on the water slides.

  2. Don't come down on the fair for offering drinks. This is a craft and certainly one that belongs in agriculture due to ingredients. And for those worrying about how much you can drink. I'm sure it's more to do with liability than anything else. They don't want people suing for being over served. If you want a buzz, do a little pre-drinking before you go.

  3. I don't drink but go into this "controlled area" so my friend can drink. They have their 3 drink limit and then I give my friend my 3 drink limit. How is the fair going to control this very likely situation????

  4. I feel the conditions of the alcohol sales are a bit heavy handed, but you need to realize this is the first year in quite some time that beer & wine will be sold at the fair. They're starting off slowly to get a gauge on how it will perform this year - I would assume if everything goes fine that they relax some of the limits in the next year or couple of years. That said, I think requiring the consumption of alcohol to only occur in the beer tent is a bit much. That is going to be an awkward situation for those with minors - "Honey, I'm getting a beer... Ok, sure go ahead... Alright see you in just a min- half an hour."

  5. This might be an effort on the part of the State Fair Board to manage the risk until they get a better feel for it. However, the blanket notion that alcohol should not be served at "family oriented" events is perhaps an oversimplification. and not too realistic. For 15 years, I was a volunteer at the Indianapolis Air Show, which was as family oriented an event as it gets. We sold beer donated by Monarch Beverage Company and served by licensed and trained employees of United Package Liquors who were unpaid volunteers. And where did that money go? To central Indiana children's charities, including Riley Hospital for Children! It's all about managing the risk.

ADVERTISEMENT