Opinion

Lilly shareholders deserve protection

March 20, 2010
This is the wrong time, in my opinion, and I may not have all the facts, to open up Eli Lilly to an outside takeover.
More

We should all have Forsell's fortitude

March 20, 2010
Sometimes we think we’re having a bad day, until we consider the plight of others. I was recently reminded of this when I came across David Forsell’s article in the March 15 issue.
More

EDITORIAL: Citizens' utility deal is smart move

March 13, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Much work remains before the city’s water and sewer utilities are sold to Citizens Energy Group, but the general outline of the deal makes sense and deserves support—not political posturing—as final terms are hammered out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dog days at Clowes with national tour of 'Dalmatians' musical

March 13, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, canines at Clowes, sisters in the suburbs, pals searching for Paul, and the Cabaret's new digs at the Columbia Club.
More

PARENT: Take your brain out for a walkRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Tawn Parent
Urban life has serious costs; it actually impairs our ability to think.
More

DINING: Bearcats revs up for diners in the Stutz Building

March 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

ALTOM: Who knew YouTube had potential as a free university?Restricted Content

March 13, 2010
Tim Altom
As much as I love and happily use technology, I come from a different age and time when, as they say, life was simpler. I have students who are aghast that I’d rather use a folded paper map to get around town than a GPS and Google Maps in a smart phone.
More

BENNER: Let Big Ten grow, but keep NCAA tournament as isRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Bill Benner
The concept of more being better could be coming to a couple of institutions we know well.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Legislature heads toward bumpy conclusionRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
OK, I admit that I’m still wincing about last week’s column about a peaceful, easy feeling in the General Assembly as it approached the leadership-targeted early-adjournment date.
More

MARCUS: It's not too late for a high-speed stimulus

March 13, 2010
Morton Marcus
“Too little, too late” is the standard objection to the economic stimulus program now in effect. That criticism is based on opinion, not fact. It will take several years to know whether the stimulus (or stimuli, because there was more than a single stimulus) worked.
More

FORSELL: Look beyond results for reciprocity in health care

March 13, 2010
David Forsell
I want to matter to the nurse standing next to me. I want to be more than a number, more than just a name on a list of hundreds of patients on a research protocol.
More

HICKS: Recession slows with costly job creationRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Mike Hicks
While economists share broad agreement on a surprisingly large number of issues, the most visible discord lies in how two groups view the causes of recession.
More

Bars should cater to smokers, too

March 13, 2010
I am replying to the article in the March 1 IBJ where [Indianapolis Convention and Visitors Association President Don] Welsh made his nebulous claims that Indy’s weak smoking ban hurts his ability to market the city to visitors and convention business.
More

Praise for Marcus

March 13, 2010
I am a probably [columnist Morton Marcus’] biggest fan in Indiana whom you never have met.
More

EDITORIAL: Run for president, Gov. Daniels

March 6, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Gov. Mitch Daniels should step through the door he cracked open last month and throw his hat in the ring. Voters would benefit from a new voice.
More

MAURER: WellPoint's Braly bravely takes on fussRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Wellpoint CEO Angela Braly was criticized by President Obama on national television. She incurred the wrath of health insurance policyholders in California and Indiana. She reignited debate on the moribund national health care reform bill. A woman hasn’t caused this much turmoil since all those ships were launched by Helen of Troy.
More

DINING: With a bit of pluck, wing chain takes first Indy outpost

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries. This week: Buffalo Wings and Rings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Bill T. Jones' company dances through history at IU

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
A few weeks back, I wrote about the two collections of Abraham Lincoln memorabilia on display at the Indiana State Museum. Over the past week, two additional encounters with Abe reminded me that there is no shortage of material to be mined from the life of the 16th president.
More

HETRICK: Like natural disasters, aftershocks of grief lingerRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Five years ago this week, I took figurative bullets to the head and heart. My personal Richter scale was shaken more violently than by any tremor ever measured on any anthill, or Port-au-Prince or Concepción.
More

BENNER: Erskine shows us why he's a Hoosier gem -- twiceRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Bill Benner
Carl Erskine isn't just from Anderson, Indiana. He is Anderson, Indiana.
More

MARCUS: Hoosiers hear gospel of gambling

March 6, 2010
Morton Marcus
Gamblers wagered nearly $30 billion in 13 Indiana casinos last year. Now, fellow taxpayers, if I understand these numbers, 91 percent of these dollars were returned as winnings and an additional $876 million (3 percent) went to our state and local governments for our benefit.
More

SHOBERT: Who's your in-house entrepreneur?

March 6, 2010
Benjamin A. Shobert
Times like this are ripe for pioneering activities. Now that your business knows it can operate profitably even in a down economy—no small thing—the next question is what you need to be doing to grow.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Session heads toward early, quiet completion

March 6, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
The buzz as the days ran out suggested that nothing on the agenda was “must-pass” legislation, leaving Democrats and Republicans, the House and the Senate, and the governor and the General Assembly with little leverage to exert.
More

SKARBECK: Financial reform should start with derivativesRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
At the very least, regulators need to get control of derivative trading—transactions need to be more transparent and carried out on an exchange.
More

HICKS: Courage will be necessary to curb inflationRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Mike Hicks
Inflation causes lenders to raise interest rates. Businesses slow their borrowing, produce less and require fewer workers. Within a year or so, inflation becomes everyoneâ??s problem.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I am so impressed that the smoking ban FAILED in Kokomo! I might just move to your Awesome city!

  2. way to much breweries being built in indianapolis. its going to be saturated market, if not already. when is enough, enough??

  3. This house is a reminder of Hamilton County history. Its position near the interstate is significant to remember what Hamilton County was before the SUPERBROKERs, Navients, commercial parks, sprawling vinyl villages, and acres of concrete retail showed up. What's truly Wasteful is not reusing a structure that could still be useful. History isn't confined to parks and books.

  4. To compare Connor Prairie or the Zoo to a random old house is a big ridiculous. If it were any where near the level of significance there wouldn't be a major funding gap. Put a big billboard on I-69 funded by the tourism board for people to come visit this old house, and I doubt there would be any takers, since other than age there is no significance whatsoever. Clearly the tax payers of Fishers don't have a significant interest in this project, so PLEASE DON'T USE OUR VALUABLE MONEY. Government money is finite and needs to be utilized for the most efficient and productive purposes. This is far from that.

  5. I only tried it 2x and didn't think much of it both times. With the new apts plus a couple other of new developments on Guilford, I am surprised it didn't get more business. Plus you have a couple of subdivisions across the street from it. I hope Upland can keep it going. Good beer and food plus a neat environment and outdoor seating.

ADVERTISEMENT