Opinion

SHELLA: Pence still keeping options wide open for 2016Restricted Content

May 17, 2014
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Take a second, please, to think back to the evening of May 2. It was just a couple of weeks ago, a Saturday, and, just possibly, a day worth remembering.
More

TAFT: Another chance to enlist neighborhoods to fight crimeRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Bill Taft / Special to IBJ
Indianapolis is grappling with one of its most violent years, leading citizens to ask hard questions about why such crime is growing and what we can do about it. While this crime spike has generated loud calls for a much larger police force, the city’s lean budget cannot be our only solution.
More

ANDREWS: Circuits fry in outbreak of local government warfareRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Pat Andrews / Special to IBJ
I am an accidental tourist in the land of government finance. The natives are friendly enough to me, but they seem to like one another less and less.
More

BOHANON: Tax burdens are significantly worse outside IndianaRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Cecil Bohanon / Special to IBJ
Two years into the Pence administration, claims and counterclaims abound about its tax policy. Critics claim the policies shower unwarranted benefits on those who need it least at the expense of the middle class, while supporters claim the policies promote economic growth and prosperity.
More

GARRISON: Fierce hatred of the T.E.A. Party is a conundrumRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Greg Garrison / Special to IBJ

T.E.A Party: Taxed Enough Already. How hard is that? I was privileged to speak at the first rally of these fine folks April 15, 2009, when about 3,000 Hoosiers gathered on the south lawn of the Statehouse in a 40-degree drizzling rain. No burning underwear, no stolen bicycles, no tussles with the police and not a single potty-mouth slogan or sign. Just folks who could make it to the event because it was held late enough in the day that they were finished with the day’s work. Yes, work, as in “having a job.”

More

PARR: Poli sci class was glimpse of liberal IU cultureRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Riley Parr / Special to IBJ
As the end of the school year quickly approaches, it seems prudent to let you, the Hoosier taxpayer, know exactly what your hard-earned dollars are going to support.
More

ODLE: Money, people better directed at preventing crimeRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Samuel L. Odle / Special to IBJ
Donald Sterling has caught the attention of America and reminds that the struggle to combat inequality and discrimination is ongoing and that the idea that we are living in a post-racial America is truly inaccurate. Every now and then, the negative perceptions we harbor about those different from us become public and we declare how unacceptable it is in our modern society.
More

MADISON: Lamenting the young politicos missing in actionRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
James H. Madison / Special to IBJ
There have been times young Hoosiers flooded into the political arena. Indiana’s first territorial governor, William Henry Harrison, was in his late 20s when he assumed office. Jonathan Jennings just turned 30 when he became the first state governor.
More

No place to hideRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
I am definitely a free speech advocate, even if the opinion being expressed is reprehensible [May 5 Lopresti column].
More

VOSS: Core supporters count more than ever with new mediaRestricted Content

May 13, 2014
Jonathan Voss / Special to IBJMore

MATTHEWS: Lawmakers increasingly edge into ideological cornersRestricted Content

May 13, 2014
Christine Matthews / Special to IBJMore

RUSTHOVEN: The union vote proved toothlessRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
Two races on my 2014 watch list were challenges to GOP state representatives Bob Behning of Indianapolis and Jerry Torr of Carmel. The issues differed, but each race showed continued erosion of union political power.
More

KEY: End the end-runs around public businessRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Steve Key / Special to IBJ
Technology that makes a vast amount of public records available with a few keystrokes can also make monitoring government actions more difficult for Hoosiers.
More

Hicks: Many women sacrifice careers for their childrenRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Mike Hicks
Mother’s Day is a splendid opportunity to think about the evolving economic effects of women as parents, how this influences their economic lives, and how women value motherhood in economic terms.
More

Kim: Graduating from college entitles you to nothingRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Mickey Kim
Despite your newly obtained degree, you don’t know anything. You have no skills. If you are really lucky, you will soon land your first job. You are not entitled to that job. If you get it, you should be grateful for your good fortune and make the most of it.
More

Senators to sausage—Mickey's Camp has it allRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Mickey Maurer
Spaces fill up fast in the annual men's and women's camps that send money to favorite charities.
More

LOPRESTI: Indiana—that northern school that plays good baseball

May 10, 2014
IU beats the odds by creating a baseball power in Bloomington.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Children’s Museum brings 2,200-year-old statues to Indy

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
Terra Cotta Warriors make rare U.S. appearance. Chinese treasures were commissioned by the first emperor of China.
More

DINING: Newcomer Chuy’s stands out in crowded Tex-Mex field

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
It's difficult to imagine a chain Tex-Mex restaurant generating much excitement. But crowds are flocking to the Hamilton Town Center newcomer.
More

Citizens deal is workingRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Recently, Citizens Energy Group received regulatory approval to raise rates [April 23 IBJ] to continue updating the community’s aging water and wastewater systems.
More

EDITORIAL: Fadness agenda should advanceRestricted Content

May 8, 2014
Fishers voters made their second forward-thinking choice in as many years on May 6 when they picked Town Manager Scott Fadness in the primary election to run as the Republican nominee for mayor.
More

EDITORIAL: Justice center move can benefit downtownRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Most of the conversation surrounding the city’s proposed criminal justice center has focused on what the heart of downtown stands to lose when the courts and jails move out Rarely discussed is what downtown can gain from the new center, which is now officially slated for about a third of the 110-acre GM Stamping Plant site just west of White River.
More

MORRIS: Your vote counts this primary seasonRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Not sure about races and who's running? Here's where you can find what you need to know.
More

KENNEDY: The tax-cutters are too clever by halfRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Tax cuts have consequences as predictable as the sunrise. The politicians who cut taxes boast about their concern for taxpayers and their superior efficiency; they assure us that our low taxes will lure new business, then they run for higher office or otherwise head for greener pastures where the accuracy of those claims is unlikely to be tested. The politicians who have been left to operate with less money engage in equally predictable behaviors.
More

Hicks: State, local government unbalanced in IndianaRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Mike Hicks
Having lived and worked in three states over the past decade, I have watched how state policy influences local government.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. These liberals are out of control. They want to drive our economy into the ground and double and triple our electric bills. Sierra Club, stay out of Indy!

  2. These activist liberal judges have gotten out of control. Thankfully we have a sensible supreme court that overturns their absurd rulings!

  3. Maybe they shouldn't be throwing money at the IRL or whatever they call it now. Probably should save that money for actual operations.

  4. For you central Indiana folks that don't know what a good pizza is, Aurelio's will take care of that. There are some good pizza places in central Indiana but nothing like this!!!

  5. I am troubled with this whole string of comments as I am not sure anyone pointed out that many of the "high paying" positions have been eliminated identified by asterisks as of fiscal year 2012. That indicates to me that the hospitals are making responsible yet difficult decisions and eliminating heavy paying positions. To make this more problematic, we have created a society of "entitlement" where individuals believe they should receive free services at no cost to them. I have yet to get a house repair done at no cost nor have I taken my car that is out of warranty for repair for free repair expecting the government to pay for it even though it is the second largest investment one makes in their life besides purchasing a home. Yet, we continue to hear verbal and aggressive abuse from the consumer who expects free services and have to reward them as a result of HCAHPS surveys which we have no influence over as it is 3rd party required by CMS. Peel the onion and get to the root of the problem...you will find that society has created the problem and our current political landscape and not the people who were fortunate to lead healthcare in the right direction before becoming distorted. As a side note, I had a friend sit in an ED in Canada for nearly two days prior to being evaluated and then finally...3 months later got a CT of the head. You pay for what you get...

ADVERTISEMENT