Opinion

Voters should do their jobsRestricted Content

June 21, 2014
State Sen. Jim Smith claims in his [June 2] letter to the editor that Doug Masson missed most of the story regarding the legislation to repeal the 17th Amendment.
More

EDITORIAL: Indianapolis Public Schools must rebuild trustRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
If any local organization needs the public’s trust, it’s Indianapolis Public Schools, considering the challenges the district faces educating often-disadvantaged students.
More

KENNEDY: Constitutional convention is idea whose time is not nowRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Periodically, lawmakers impatient to change government policies of which they disapprove will call for a constitutional convention.
More

MADDOX: Bells toll for Indiana primary electionsRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Mark Maddox
It’s time to get rid of primary elections in Indiana. Just because we’ve been using them for every race from dog catcher up to president is not good enough to keep incurring these unnecessary costs while disengaging our voters.
More

LOPRESTI: Dissed by cricket, dumped by the Heat—an ode to springRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Not all the news was bad in what turned out to be an interesting spring for Indy sports.
More

MORRIS: If only I were a member of the clubRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Greg Morris
The Columbia Club has many attributes, but it's outdated membership policy isn't one of them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Neo-Impressionist show impresses at IMA

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
They shimmer. And that's just the surface appeal of many of the works at this new exhibition.
More

DINING: New Anchor at Ambassador could turn around troubled spot

June 14, 2014
Lou Harry
Plow & Anchor is the latest eatery on the ground floor of the Ambassador. The pleasures start with Salt Cod Croquettes.
More

Hicks: Subsidizing filmmaking is a losing proposition

June 14, 2014
Mike Hicks
Without even touching upon the fairness of Indiana taxpayers subsidizing Hollywood studios, film tax credits are of dubious value. The jobs they generate are transient, often low-paying and unlikely to meet the simplest benefit-cost calculus.
More

Skarbeck: Hedge fund fees pile up despite bad performanceRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
Investors continue to pour money into hedge funds, even though their performance has been downright awful.
More

Healthy Indiana Plan will improve careRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Little Red Door Cancer Agency would like to express its support for the expansion of health coverage to hundreds of thousands of Hoosiers through HIP 2.0.
More

GREGG: GOP plays Chicken Little politics with ConstitutionRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
John R. Gregg / Special to IBJ
Recently, House Speaker Brian Bosma and Senate President Pro Tem David Long announced their support for having Indiana join the ranks of states calling for a constitutional convention.
More

STYRING: Considering a weapon of last resort against the fedsRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Bill Styring / Special to IBJ
Chances are you’d never heard of something called the “Mount Vernon Assembly” before reading this column.
More

SHEPARD: Voting centers might not be a great idea, after allRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Randall Shepard / Special to IBJ
Voter turnout in Indiana’s recent primary election was the lowest in 20 years, 35 percent below average. It’s time for a serious conversation about whether the growing use of voting centers is bad for turnout.
More

HADLEY: Business, social issues prevail under Republicans in Indiana LegislatureRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Having observed the Legislature for 45 years, I have to say, it depends! It depends on when you ask the question. It depends on which party controls the House, Senate and Governor’s Office. And, increasingly, it depends on the issues confronting the state in a given session.
More

KELLEMS: Think tanks, information strategies pick up clout in Indiana LegislatureRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
he question can be viewed several ways. One approach is simply ranking industry groups and associations—by appraising perceived wins and losses. A second is to assess the role of the individual lobbyist representing them to legislators and the governor’s office. Then consider which characteristics and qualifications are common among those who wield influence successfully on behalf of clients. And how important is party affiliation of both the individuals and institutions involved?
More

VAUGHN: Admitting problem is first step to ethics reform

June 14, 2014
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
While I was disappointed the House Ethics Committee didn’t even slap Rep. Eric Turner’s wrist for his behavior surrounding the failed nursing home moratorium, I was surprised and pleased the committee report admitted that our Legislature’s ethics rules and statutes are too lax.
More

MAHERN: Has Legislature lost its 'do the right thing' members?Restricted Content

June 14, 2014
Louis Mahern / Special to IBJ
Forgive my nostalgia. I had a fairly serious health scare a little over a month ago and find myself quite involuntarily looking back.
More

BARLOW: Dems now importing candidates ... bad onesRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Marcus Barlow / Special to IBJ
I am going to start with a confession: I am a conservative Republican, so it should be no surprise that I cracked up while reading tweets, Facebook posts and stories about the Indiana Democratic Party’s State Convention, or the “Big Dem Weekend.”
More

KRULL: EPA battle leaves Indiana stranded on the shoreRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
So, Gov. Mike Pence wants to have a fight with the Environmental Protection Agency.
More

CARPENTER: Pence is letting Indiana's coal habit cloud our futureRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Dan Carpenter / Special to IBJ
Protesting that you can’t meet power-plant-emissions reduction goals because you’re too coal-dependent is a bit like saying you can’t arrest liver damage because you’ve got this taste for liquor.
More

FROEHLE: The economics of environment in Hoosier NationRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Kristin Froehle / Special to IBJ
It seems that what is right for America must not be right for Hoosiers. At least, that is what our governor would have us believe.
More

MACALLISER: Ballard has characteristics that transcend politicsRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
P.E. MacAllister / Special to IBJ
I go back to that happy time when elections (and campaigns) occurred on a fixed, periodic schedule versus campaigning incessantly every day, of every month, of every year. Although our municipal election is 18 months off, the political winds have been blowing for a full year—and we don’t even know who’s running for mayor.
More

DANIELS: To compete, Indianapolis must be aggressiveRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Deborah Daniels
Want more police officers? Want those winter-battered streets repaired? Want more sidewalks and street lights? Better parks and green spaces?
More

VANE: Ballard counters anemic national economy with growthRestricted Content

June 14, 2014
Robert Vane / Special to IBJ
It is always disheartening to read about the national economy’s not growing, but rather contracting, in the last quarter and that hundreds of thousands of people simply have quit looking for work.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Cramer agrees...says don't buy it and sell it if you own it! Their "pay to play" cost is this issue. As long as they charge customers, they never will attain the critical mass needed to be a successful on company...Jim Cramer quote.

  2. My responses to some of the comments would include the following: 1. Our offer which included the forgiveness of debt (this is an immediate forgiveness and is not "spread over many years")represents debt that due to a reduction of interest rates in the economy arguably represents consideration together with the cash component of our offer that exceeds the $2.1 million apparently offered by another party. 2. The previous $2.1 million cash offer that was turned down by the CRC would have netted the CRC substantially less than $2.1 million. As a result even in hindsight the CRC was wise in turning down that offer. 3. With regard to "concerned Carmelite's" discussion of the previous financing Pedcor gave up $16.5 million in City debt in addition to the conveyance of the garage (appraised at $13 million)in exchange for the $22.5 million cash and debt obligations. The local media never discussed the $16.5 million in debt that we gave up which would show that we gave $29.5 million in value for the $23.5 million. 4.Pedcor would have been much happier if Brian was still operating his Deli and only made this offer as we believe that we can redevelop the building into something that will be better for the City and City Center where both Pedcor the citizens of Carmel have a large investment. Bruce Cordingley, President, Pedcor

  3. I've been looking for news on Corner Bakery, too, but there doesn't seem to be any info out there. I prefer them over Panera and Paradise so can't wait to see where they'll be!

  4. WGN actually is two channels: 1. WGN Chicago, seen only in Chicago (and parts of Canada) - this station is one of the flagship CW affiliates. 2. WGN America - a nationwide cable channel that doesn't carry any CW programming, and doesn't have local affiliates. (In addition, as WGN is owned by Tribune, just like WTTV, WTTK, and WXIN, I can't imagine they would do anything to help WISH.) In Indianapolis, CW programming is already seen on WTTV 4 and WTTK 29, and when CBS takes over those stations' main channels, the CW will move to a sub channel, such as 4.2 or 4.3 and 29.2 or 29.3. TBS is only a cable channel these days and does not affiliate with local stations. WISH could move the MyNetwork affiliation from WNDY 23 to WISH 8, but I am beginning to think they may prefer to put together their own lineup of syndicated programming instead. While much of it would be "reruns" from broadcast or cable, that's pretty much what the MyNetwork does these days anyway. So since WISH has the choice, they may want to customize their lineup by choosing programs that they feel will garner better ratings in this market.

  5. The Pedcor debt is from the CRC paying ~$23M for the Pedcor's parking garage at City Center that is apprased at $13M. Why did we pay over the top money for a private businesses parking? What did we get out of it? Pedcor got free parking for their apartment and business tenants. Pedcor now gets another building for free that taxpayers have ~$3M tied up in. This is NOT a win win for taxpayers. It is just a win for Pedcor who contributes heavily to the Friends of Jim Brainard. The campaign reports are on the Hamilton County website. http://www2.hamiltoncounty.in.gov/publicdocs/Campaign%20Finance%20Images/defaultfiles.asp?ARG1=Campaign Finance Images&ARG2=/Brainard, Jim

ADVERTISEMENT