Opinion

Plenty of credit for bike progressRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
I would like to thank the IBJ’s [April 14] editorial writers for acknowledging the explosion of Indy’s bicycling culture and amenities in the seven years since I took office, but I cannot in good conscience accept the credit single-handedly.
More

Bike legacy? Really?Restricted Content

April 19, 2014
Is [bike-share] worthy of an editorial [April 14]? A substantive accomplishment would be getting a large number of commuters to use bicycles rather than cars.
More

SHEPARD: Protect working class with better panhandling ordinanceRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Randall Shepard / Special to IBJ
A recent settlement between the city of Indianapolis and the Indiana ACLU over enforcement of the present ordinance about panhandling has put the question of writing a new ordinance back on the table.
More

BARLOW: Does Donnelly listen to Hoosiers or to Pelosi?Restricted Content

April 19, 2014
Marcus Barlow / Special to IBJ
I get it. I understand why Democrats voted for the Affordable Care Act. I understand party loyalty and I understand that going against your party on such a key piece of legislation would be extremely difficult.
More

Lawyer stirs up troubleRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
After reading the lunacy involved in the [April 14] article concerning Richard Bell, I’m reminded of one of my favorite jokes:
More

VAUGHN: Turner stink should be cleansed from StatehouseRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Now that April has arrived, it’s time for spring cleaning. Let’s hope the growing stink surrounding state Rep. Eric Turner prompts the General Assembly to begin a cleanup of its own.
More

HEAD: If legalization sounds too good to be true, you're rightRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Randy Head / Special to IBJ
Have you ever seen a commercial for what looks like a fantastic product? Despite some convincing advertisements, after five easy payments and much anticipation these products often fail to deliver what they promise.
More

TALLIAN: Indiana's laws are draconian and counterproductiveRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
The young woman called my law office, tearfully pouring out her story. As an 18-year-old at a graduation party, she had been arrested and charged with possession of a small amount of marijuana. She was booked and made bond, pleaded guilty, went through substance abuse evaluation, did community service, paid a fine, and went through probation for a year.
More

BECK: Committee might dent the sexual assault epidemicRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Lara Beck / Special to IBJ
I hope you will join me in observing Sexual Assault Awareness Month, which is marked each April across our country.
More

FROEHLE: A bright silver lining from the teacher evaluationsRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Kristin Froehle / Special to IBJ
After the educational community waited months for results to be released, the Department of Education made public its grades on teacher effectiveness in the 2012-2013 school year. Only 2 percent were rated “needs improvement” and even fewer—less than half of 1 percent—were “ineffective.”
More

KRULL: Teachers are only part of 'education reform' equationRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
John Krull / Special to IBJ
Some things are just hard to measure.That’s the real message of the teacher evaluations the Indiana Department of Education released this month. Twenty-five percent of Hoosier teachers were rated highly effective and another 61 percent as effective. Less than half a percent were deemed “ineffective.”
More

MACALLISTER: Better ways for higher education to measure itselfRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
P.E. MacAllister / Special to IBJ
Mitch Daniels made an almost iconoclastic observation about evaluating the value of a college (or university) education. He implied that the arbiter of its value is not reflected necessarily in grade point average or the number of Ph.D’s matriculating but in the degree of success students achieve as they find a career and then how quickly they advance in their chosen vocation.
More

STYRING: Utopian transit dreamers could railroad taxpayersRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Bill Styring / Special to IBJ
After years of trying, mass transit advocates have finally steered a central Indiana transit bill through the General Assembly. It authorizes county councils and, in some cases, township boards to approve ballot referenda imposing up to a 0.25-percent transit income tax.
More

MAHERN: Ozdemir's Indy Eleven projections don't add upRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Louis Mahern / Special to IBJ
The North American Soccer League will have 10 members when Indy Eleven joins this year. Teams in the NASL play 12 games in the early season and after a four-week break in July play another 14 games. Fourteen are played at home.
More

SIDDIQUI: Indianapolis needs faster Internet, and quicklyRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Shariq Siddiqui / Special to IBJ
My congregation recently purchased a former day care in the middle of a business district to house our congregation and private school. Before purchasing this facility, we did our due diligence. We checked with zoning, had an appraisal and inspection, brought in the plumber and electrician. Satisfied with all the reports, we went ahead and purchased the building.
More

MARCUS: It would have been different had Noah been a HoosierRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Morton Marcus
The new movie about Noah and his ark, combined with the antics of the General Assembly, led me to setting the fabled story here in the Hoosier state.
More

VANE: Pining for more pols like congressman Andy JacobsRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Robert Vane / Special to IBJ
My mother was a diehard Democrat. She’s been gone for more than five years now, but I can still hear her telling me to be quiet when Ann DeLaney started to speak on “Indiana Week in Review.”
More

Hicks: Tax rates only half the story of governmentRestricted Content

April 17, 2014
Mike Hicks
With the passing of April 15 and the annual ritual of tax filings, news pages are filled with discussion about the size of federal, state and local tax burdens.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

EDITORIAL: Bike-share cements cycling legacy

April 12, 2014
Mayor Greg Ballard has accomplished plenty during his seven years in office, but his most enduring legacy may be in building a bicycle-friendly Indianapolis.
More

LANNAN: Cash could swing sprawling Fishers mayor's raceRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Larry Lannan / Special to IBJ
A large amount of money is pouring into the Republican primary election for the mayor of Fishers. Don’t be swayed by the amount of money a campaign has raised.
More

MAURER: Does She Love Me?Restricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mickey Maurer
Work this week's crossword puzzle for a reassuring answer.
More

LOPRESTI: North Texas wins battles, but Indy wins Final Four warRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Comparing this year's host to next year's reveals city's big advantage.
More

Hicks: Measuring the immeasurable is huge challengeRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mike Hicks
One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent.
More

Kim: Human nature stands in way of earning robust returnsRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mickey Kim
'Behavior gap' is the difference between what an average investment returns and what the average investor actually earns, because he or she can't leave investments alone long enough for them to prosper.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I had read earlier this spring that Noodles & Co was going to open in the Fishers Marketplace (which is SR 37 and 131st St, not 141st St, just FYI). Any word on that? Also, do you happen to know what is being built in Carmel at Pennsylvania and Old Meridian? May just be an office building but I'm not sure.

  2. I'm sorry, but you are flat out wrong. There are few tracks in the world with the history of IMS and probably NO OTHER as widely known and recognized. I don't care what you think about the stat of Indy Car racing, these are pretty hard things to dispute.

  3. Also wondering if there is an update on the Brockway Pub-Danny Boy restaurant/taproom that was planned for the village as well?

  4. Why does the majority get to trample on the rights of the minority? You do realize that banning gay marriage does not rid the world of gay people, right? They are still going to be around and they are still going to continue to exist. The best way to get it all out of the spotlight? LEGALIZE IT! If gay marriage is legal, they will get to stop trying to push for it and you will get to stop seeing it all over the news. Why do Christians get to decide what is moral?? Why do you get to push your religion on others? How would legalizing gay marriage expose their lifestyle to your children? By the way, their lifestyle is going to continue whether gay marriage is legalized or not. It's been legal in Canada for quite a while now and they seem to be doing just fine. What about actual rules handed down by God? What about not working on Sundays? What about obeying your parents? What about adultery? These are in the 10 Commandments, the most important of God's rules. Yet they are all perfectly legal. What about divorce? Only God is allowed to dissolve a marriage so why don't you work hard to get divorce banned? Why do you get to pick and choose the parts of the Bible you care about?

  5. Look at the bright side. With the new Lowe's call center, that means 1000 jobs at $10 bucks an hour. IMS has to be drooling over all that disposable income. If those employees can save all their extra money after bills, in five years they can go to the race LIVE. Can you say attendance boost?

ADVERTISEMENT