Opinion

MACALLISTER: Better ways for higher education to measure itselfRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
P.E. MacAllister / Special to IBJ
Mitch Daniels made an almost iconoclastic observation about evaluating the value of a college (or university) education. He implied that the arbiter of its value is not reflected necessarily in grade point average or the number of Ph.D’s matriculating but in the degree of success students achieve as they find a career and then how quickly they advance in their chosen vocation.
More

STYRING: Utopian transit dreamers could railroad taxpayersRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Bill Styring / Special to IBJ
After years of trying, mass transit advocates have finally steered a central Indiana transit bill through the General Assembly. It authorizes county councils and, in some cases, township boards to approve ballot referenda imposing up to a 0.25-percent transit income tax.
More

MAHERN: Ozdemir's Indy Eleven projections don't add upRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Louis Mahern / Special to IBJ
The North American Soccer League will have 10 members when Indy Eleven joins this year. Teams in the NASL play 12 games in the early season and after a four-week break in July play another 14 games. Fourteen are played at home.
More

SIDDIQUI: Indianapolis needs faster Internet, and quicklyRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Shariq Siddiqui / Special to IBJ
My congregation recently purchased a former day care in the middle of a business district to house our congregation and private school. Before purchasing this facility, we did our due diligence. We checked with zoning, had an appraisal and inspection, brought in the plumber and electrician. Satisfied with all the reports, we went ahead and purchased the building.
More

MARCUS: It would have been different had Noah been a HoosierRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Morton Marcus
The new movie about Noah and his ark, combined with the antics of the General Assembly, led me to setting the fabled story here in the Hoosier state.
More

VANE: Pining for more pols like congressman Andy JacobsRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Robert Vane / Special to IBJ
My mother was a diehard Democrat. She’s been gone for more than five years now, but I can still hear her telling me to be quiet when Ann DeLaney started to speak on “Indiana Week in Review.”
More

Hicks: Tax rates only half the story of governmentRestricted Content

April 17, 2014
Mike Hicks
With the passing of April 15 and the annual ritual of tax filings, news pages are filled with discussion about the size of federal, state and local tax burdens.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

EDITORIAL: Bike-share cements cycling legacy

April 12, 2014
Mayor Greg Ballard has accomplished plenty during his seven years in office, but his most enduring legacy may be in building a bicycle-friendly Indianapolis.
More

LANNAN: Cash could swing sprawling Fishers mayor's raceRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Larry Lannan / Special to IBJ
A large amount of money is pouring into the Republican primary election for the mayor of Fishers. Don’t be swayed by the amount of money a campaign has raised.
More

MAURER: Does She Love Me?Restricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mickey Maurer
Work this week's crossword puzzle for a reassuring answer.
More

LOPRESTI: North Texas wins battles, but Indy wins Final Four warRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Comparing this year's host to next year's reveals city's big advantage.
More

Hicks: Measuring the immeasurable is huge challengeRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mike Hicks
One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent.
More

Kim: Human nature stands in way of earning robust returnsRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mickey Kim
'Behavior gap' is the difference between what an average investment returns and what the average investor actually earns, because he or she can't leave investments alone long enough for them to prosper.
More

DINING: Tow Yard Brewing hooks up beer and grub

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Do such dated references as the Tonya Harding and the Sonny Crockett really belong on the menu of such a handsome new drinkery?
More

An alternate plan to repair streetsRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mayor Ballard is criss-crossing Indy promoting Rebuild Indy 2.0 to make street, road, curb and sidewalk improvements. I agree; we need to make critical investment in our infrastructure. And quickly.
More

EDITORIAL: Find the money to attack crimeRestricted Content

April 5, 2014
By all accounts, Nathan Trapuzzano was the kind of citizen Indianapolis is trying to recruit.
More

KENNEDY: Hobby Lobby’s unintended consequencesRestricted Content

April 5, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
All eyes are on the Hobby Lobby lawsuit before the U.S. Supreme Court. Most of the commentary revolves around whether a for-profit corporation should be able to disregard a law of general application if that law offends its shareholder/owners’ “sincerely held” religious beliefs.
More

FULGHAM: Beyond the public school culture warsRestricted Content

April 5, 2014
Nicole Baker Fulgham / Special to IBJ
It’s time to begin engaging public schools in ways that help ensure all children reach their God-given potential.
More

LOPRESTI: One Indy 500 race car will be covered with poignant stories

April 5, 2014
So maybe you’ve heard of Cutters Race Team. That’s the new idea where, for a few bucks, you can help sponsor an Indianapolis 500 race car.
More

Great public architecture is worth the priceRestricted Content

April 5, 2014
Bruce Race / Special to IBJ
Public architecture represents a community’s confidence and aspirations. Public buildings are landmarks that welcome and connect us. They celebrate our arrival, become intersections for culture, symbolize our commitment to democracy and justice, and sometimes they heal us.
More

DINING: Hidden hospital eatery offers calm dining retreat

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Café Soleil on the Eskenazi Hospital campus offers a peaceful, inexpensive lunch that transcends stereotypical hospital fare.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eskenazi Hospital's healthy dose of art

April 5, 2014
Lou Harry
Here’s just a sampling of the work found in its halls, lobbies and waiting rooms, making a visit worthwhile even if you are in perfect health.
More

Hicks: Economics lessons for today are simple, hardRestricted Content

April 5, 2014
Mike Hicks
Far too much worry is placed in the short-run ups and downs of the economy, but I am not worried about business where errors are ultimately punished. The real worry is that public policy will extend its embrace of short-run fixes, which are chimerical.
More

Skarbeck: Being a company director can be a lucrative gigRestricted Content

April 5, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
As another annual report season arrives, the compensation tables in proxy statements clearly show that it pays to be a director of a public company.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT