Restaurant reviews

DINING: I Love Sushi feeds raw fish ardor

August 3, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When we chose our review theme for August—The “I”s Have It—I jumped at the chance to try I Love Sushi.
More

DINING: The Eiteljorg cafe where soup is always on

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
If all outdoor dining were as comfortable and stress-free as Sky City Cafe's, maybe I'd do it more often.
More

DINING: We'll take sushi over cigars, now and Zen

July 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
This week, our exploration of the city’s cultural district dining took us to Mass Ave, where the culinary cultural offerings just might outnumber the artsy fartsy stuff. Our destination: Bu Da Lounge (429 Massachusetts Ave., 602-3643), which bills itself as an Asian-inspired cigar bar but is generating buzz for its sushi selection.
More

DINING: (Piz)'Za made for the middle of the night

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
If you’re in Broad Ripple and hungry for pizza, you’ve got lots of options. But what do you do if it’s the middle of the night on a Thursday and you and your entourage have the munchies? Well, for that very specific demographic group of pizza eaters, there’s now ’Za, which is open until 4 a.m. Wednesday to Saturday.
More

DINING: Backward-named eatery, forward-thinking fusion

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
Search the Web for Naisa and you may come up with the North American International Auto Show or the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association. Neither has anything to do with the new Naisa Pan-Asian Cafe (1025 Virginia Ave., 602-3708), where the name comes from simply reversing the letters in the word Asian.
More

DINING: Upscale eatery makes its mark on Shelbyville casino

June 29, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
One of just three Maker’s Mark restaurants in the country—the others are in Louisville, Ky., and Kansas City, Mo.—the upscale eatery would have been a good fit in downtown Indianapolis or in one of the suburban dining-and-shopping meccas.
More

DINING: Game on at food-and-play spot

June 22, 2009
Lou Harry
When you play Skee-ball and aim for the 100-point hole, you miss most of the time. However, if you aim for the 30, you have a much better chance of scoring. You might not get a high score, but you'll win enough tickets to want to play again. How does that translate into my dining experience at the new Dave & Buster's?
More

DINING: No waffling, Maxine's delivers

June 15, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It felt weird to pull into a gas station parking lot in search of lunch. But we forgot we were in a former auto repair shop as soon as we walked into Maxine's Chicken & Waffles, attached to the Citgo station at Ohio and East streets.
More

DINING: Binkley's Kitchen & Bar reclaims former drug store site

June 8, 2009
Lou Harry
Binkley's Drug Store occupied the corner of Kessler and College from 1928 to the early 1970s. Its namesake now occupying the same spot, Binkley's Kitchen & Bar, seems equally built to last—a friendly neighborhood joint that glances back without wallowing in nostalgia and stays progressive without being trendy.
More

DINING: Quick-serve Roscoe's Tacos keeps quality intact

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
I'll make the case that Roscoe's Tacos (642 S. Madison Ave., Greenwood) deserves a spot among those who rotate among the area's many Mexican restaurants. That's because this eatery's operators know what they want to do and do it well.
More

DINING: Cobblestone Grill offers tasty lunch until 5

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry

One of the pleasures—and there are numerous ones—of Zionsville’s Cobblestone Grill (160 S. Main St., Zionsville, 873-4745) is that its lunch menu is offered beyond the traditional midday-meal hours.

More

DINING: East-side retro diner serves up the classics

May 11, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
With a fading classic car painted on the side of the building, Rock Cola 50's Cafe looks a lot older than its 16 years. But that's the idea.
More

DINING: Granite City is a chain champion

May 2, 2009
Lou Harry
People will always make the case that Indianapolis doesn't need any more chain or franchised restaurants. I understand the big-picture argument. I understand the desire for a greater regional culinary identity and the wish for a more adventurous restaurant clientele. To be honest, though, a good meal can temporarily dismantle my regional pride.
More

DINING: At this Fishers find, bacon dominates the menu

April 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Bacon—it's not just for breakfast anymore. At the Old Town Ale House in Fishers, in fact, it's practically the main course. What's not to love about that?
More

DINING: Saffron's food, customer service is exemplary

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
Saffron Cafe's staff is so friendly and courteous and its food so delicious that I am urging everyone to eat at this downtown restaurant.
More

DINING: Stanley's New York Deli serves 86th and Ditch neighborhood

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry

While newcomer Stanley's doesn't have the scale or history of Shapiro's, it's making a valiant effort to bring real deli back to the neighborhoods near 86th Street and Ditch Road.

More

DINING: In Irvington, an eatery that lives up to its 'Legend' name

March 30, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
With a name like The Legend, expectations run high. Luckily for us, The Legend Classic Irvington Cafe (5614 E. Washington St., 536-2028) met them.
More

DINING: Zionsville eatery 'Noahs' how to please diners

March 23, 2009
Lou Harry
This Noah Grant character knows how to entertain and provide an exceptional meal.
More

DINING: Mudsocks Grill doesn't mess around

March 16, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Mudsocks Grill offers a delicious grilled tilapia sandwich, blue-cheese-laden-pasta and Chili Con Queso. Try the fried cheesecake too.
More

DINING: Rooting for Broad Ripple's Canal Bistro

March 9, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, our month-long experiment with the iPhone Urban Spoon feature (type in a region, shake, and get a restaurant recommendation) led us to Canal Bistro International Grille (6349 N. Guilford Ave., 254-8700).
More

DINING: iPhone app leads us to Siam Square

March 2, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
This month, we threw caution — and dining preferences — to the wind and employed the help of the Urban Spoon iPhone application to make our dining choices.
More

DINING: Adobo Grill's fresh guac, ceviche delicious

February 23, 2009
Lou Harry
About everything we tried on visits to Adobo Grill was delicious and suitable for sharing, and that's good because I'd like to try a taste of as many dishes there as possible.
More

DINING: Buffalo Wild Wings offers lots of flavorful sauces

February 16, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I recommend diners try out crisp wings in spicy garlic and Asian zing sauces. The non-wing choices, such as pulled pork sandwiches, are also delicious.
More

DINING: Taste of Tango delivers Argentinian food with little fanfare

February 9, 2009
Lou Harry
The Taste of Tango offers Argentinean food in an elegant atmosphere in an old downtown building. Try the empanadas.
More

DINING: Rockstar and Gusto! are put to the pizza test

January 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Brownsburg's Rockstar Pizza and Fountain Square's Gusto! are put to the test.
More
Page  << 11 12 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. How is the private developer going to repay the bonds. Is this going to be a toll road?

  2. As well as a Portillio'S!!!!!!

  3. A Lou Malnati's would be awesome!!!!!!!!

  4. We aren't broke. We just aren't willing to raise revenues for this that we should be raising them.

  5. OK. now that the state is taking illegal immigrants, willing or not. There is a major concern that needs to be addressed. First: School starts here in 3 weeks in most parts of the country and probably in Indiana. So is the state going to vaccinate these kids before they intermingle with our kids in school? The problem we are going to have here in the US and possibly in Indiana is that some of these kids could be carrying health issues or diseases that are pretty much eradicated in the US. This could cause a major health issue in the US. Second: Who is going to pay for this building disaster? We are flat out broke….. Down here in Texas, we have 14 counties that have been so swamped with kids, (numerous thousands of them), they are on the verge of financial collapse. Now this is happening in counties in New Mexico, Arizona and California. The system is massively overloaded. Swine flu has started back up in San Antonio since they have nearly 2500 kids that have been placed there and lice is rampant. Not to be insensitive, but we need to stop this madness. I find it amazing that we cannot take care of our veterans and yet give carte blanche to illegals entering the country. Recently an article mentioned that these kids and teenagers can get on planes without TSA screening? What? What the Hell???? Keep in mind this about protecting our national sovereignty as a nation and also living under the rule of law. Not only the terrorist threat that can come over the border. This is a deliberate and irresponsible and illegal act from administration ignoring the constitutional duty of protecting the borders and also upholding the supreme law of the land. This is a classic Cloward and Piven strategy to overload the system until it collapses.

ADVERTISEMENT