Restaurant reviews

DINING: New IMA eatery keeps things new

September 19, 2009
Lou Harry
The menu changes weekly at the Indianapolis Museum of Art's new eatery, Nourish.
More

DINING: Soup is center stage at revamped downtown eatery

September 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Cafe Zuppa fills in for the departed Gabriel's Cafeteria, offering an ample—and ambitious—menu.
More

DINING: Canal eatery recreated

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It’s called Creation Cafe (337 W. 11th St., 955-2389), but a better name for the restaurant at the top of the downtown canal might be Re-creation Café.
More

DINING: A worthwhile stop on the road to IU

August 29, 2009
Lou Harry
Even the most hard-core local-restaurant advocates make exceptions when they hit the road. But on a recent drive, I found an alternative to fast-food pit stops.
More

DINING: Tomato fare at the fair

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
How do the five finalists in the Indiana State Fair signature food competition hold up for our taste-testers?
More

DINING: Iaria's name may provide jokes, but Italian classics satisfy

August 10, 2009
Lou Harry
Iaria’s Italian Restaurant has been around since 1933, but that’s no reason to feel guilty about making fun of its name. Go on, chuckle about how it’s only a slightly better name than “Isintary.” You are forgiven.
More

DINING: I Love Sushi feeds raw fish ardor

August 3, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
When we chose our review theme for August—The “I”s Have It—I jumped at the chance to try I Love Sushi.
More

DINING: The Eiteljorg cafe where soup is always on

July 27, 2009
Lou Harry
If all outdoor dining were as comfortable and stress-free as Sky City Cafe's, maybe I'd do it more often.
More

DINING: We'll take sushi over cigars, now and Zen

July 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
This week, our exploration of the city’s cultural district dining took us to Mass Ave, where the culinary cultural offerings just might outnumber the artsy fartsy stuff. Our destination: Bu Da Lounge (429 Massachusetts Ave., 602-3643), which bills itself as an Asian-inspired cigar bar but is generating buzz for its sushi selection.
More

DINING: (Piz)'Za made for the middle of the night

July 13, 2009
Lou Harry
If you’re in Broad Ripple and hungry for pizza, you’ve got lots of options. But what do you do if it’s the middle of the night on a Thursday and you and your entourage have the munchies? Well, for that very specific demographic group of pizza eaters, there’s now ’Za, which is open until 4 a.m. Wednesday to Saturday.
More

DINING: Backward-named eatery, forward-thinking fusion

July 6, 2009
Lou Harry
Search the Web for Naisa and you may come up with the North American International Auto Show or the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association. Neither has anything to do with the new Naisa Pan-Asian Cafe (1025 Virginia Ave., 602-3708), where the name comes from simply reversing the letters in the word Asian.
More

DINING: Upscale eatery makes its mark on Shelbyville casino

June 29, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
One of just three Maker’s Mark restaurants in the country—the others are in Louisville, Ky., and Kansas City, Mo.—the upscale eatery would have been a good fit in downtown Indianapolis or in one of the suburban dining-and-shopping meccas.
More

DINING: Game on at food-and-play spot

June 22, 2009
Lou Harry
When you play Skee-ball and aim for the 100-point hole, you miss most of the time. However, if you aim for the 30, you have a much better chance of scoring. You might not get a high score, but you'll win enough tickets to want to play again. How does that translate into my dining experience at the new Dave & Buster's?
More

DINING: No waffling, Maxine's delivers

June 15, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It felt weird to pull into a gas station parking lot in search of lunch. But we forgot we were in a former auto repair shop as soon as we walked into Maxine's Chicken & Waffles, attached to the Citgo station at Ohio and East streets.
More

DINING: Binkley's Kitchen & Bar reclaims former drug store site

June 8, 2009
Lou Harry
Binkley's Drug Store occupied the corner of Kessler and College from 1928 to the early 1970s. Its namesake now occupying the same spot, Binkley's Kitchen & Bar, seems equally built to last—a friendly neighborhood joint that glances back without wallowing in nostalgia and stays progressive without being trendy.
More

DINING: Quick-serve Roscoe's Tacos keeps quality intact

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
I'll make the case that Roscoe's Tacos (642 S. Madison Ave., Greenwood) deserves a spot among those who rotate among the area's many Mexican restaurants. That's because this eatery's operators know what they want to do and do it well.
More

DINING: Cobblestone Grill offers tasty lunch until 5

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry

One of the pleasures—and there are numerous ones—of Zionsville’s Cobblestone Grill (160 S. Main St., Zionsville, 873-4745) is that its lunch menu is offered beyond the traditional midday-meal hours.

More

DINING: East-side retro diner serves up the classics

May 11, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
With a fading classic car painted on the side of the building, Rock Cola 50's Cafe looks a lot older than its 16 years. But that's the idea.
More

DINING: Granite City is a chain champion

May 2, 2009
Lou Harry
People will always make the case that Indianapolis doesn't need any more chain or franchised restaurants. I understand the big-picture argument. I understand the desire for a greater regional culinary identity and the wish for a more adventurous restaurant clientele. To be honest, though, a good meal can temporarily dismantle my regional pride.
More

DINING: At this Fishers find, bacon dominates the menu

April 20, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Bacon—it's not just for breakfast anymore. At the Old Town Ale House in Fishers, in fact, it's practically the main course. What's not to love about that?
More

DINING: Saffron's food, customer service is exemplary

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
Saffron Cafe's staff is so friendly and courteous and its food so delicious that I am urging everyone to eat at this downtown restaurant.
More

DINING: Stanley's New York Deli serves 86th and Ditch neighborhood

April 6, 2009
Lou Harry

While newcomer Stanley's doesn't have the scale or history of Shapiro's, it's making a valiant effort to bring real deli back to the neighborhoods near 86th Street and Ditch Road.

More

DINING: In Irvington, an eatery that lives up to its 'Legend' name

March 30, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
With a name like The Legend, expectations run high. Luckily for us, The Legend Classic Irvington Cafe (5614 E. Washington St., 536-2028) met them.
More

DINING: Zionsville eatery 'Noahs' how to please diners

March 23, 2009
Lou Harry
This Noah Grant character knows how to entertain and provide an exceptional meal.
More

DINING: Mudsocks Grill doesn't mess around

March 16, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Mudsocks Grill offers a delicious grilled tilapia sandwich, blue-cheese-laden-pasta and Chili Con Queso. Try the fried cheesecake too.
More
Page  << 11 12 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT