Restaurant reviews

DINING: Family-owned Shebella's defies expectations

July 31, 2010
Lou Harry
I’m happy to report that the new, locally owned Shebella’s exceeds pizza buffet expectations and, with some of the items we sampled, exceeds even those of traditional pizza joints and sub shops.
More

DINING: Blu lunch just pretense for dessert

July 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At Blue Moon Cafe, the difficult-to-resist pastry case is right inside the front door.
More

DINING: A chorizo line forms for Westfield Mexican eatery

July 17, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
There was nothing fancy about the neighborhood restaurant, but Queso Blanco was packing them in despite nearby competition from two of the nearly ubiquitous strip-mall chains.
More

DINING: Eye has new Broad Ripple focus

July 10, 2010
Lou Harry
The new edition of The Red Eye is only a short designated-driver ride from most Broad Ripple night spots.
More

DINING: Clubhouse serves mixed messages

July 3, 2010
Lou Harry
Southside newcomer serves a memorable burger.
More

DINING: Nothing alarming at sub shop

June 19, 2010
Lou Harry
Third in our month-long series of "elemental" restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Spice is nice at Main St. Carmel Cajun

June 12, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of "elemental" eateries.
More

DINING: Keeping customers happy an elemental test of eateries

June 5, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Our waiter forgot to ring in our order. Mistakes happen, but how such problems are fixed says a lot about a restaurant’s culture.
More

DINING: Dog days in Broad Ripple at Gourmet Frank's

May 29, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
I’m a grammar snob, which is one reason it took me so long to make the trek to Broad Ripple to try Gourmet Frank’s. There is no Frank, just an unnecessary apostrophe—which I call the Hoosier possessive—in the simple description of its star menu item: franks, as in hot dogs.
More

DINING: Come fry with me at Fat Dan's

May 22, 2010
Lou Harry
The fries at Fat Dan’s Chicago-style Deli in Broad Ripple are, in short, delicious and enough of a draw on their own to merit a visit (though we realize it’s unlikely you’ll stop with just fries).
More

DINING: Off-the-trail eatery excels

May 15, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
My soiled shirt was a reminder of the best fish tacos I've had outside my dad's kitchen.
More

DINING: Patachou spins off pleasing pizzeria Napolese

May 8, 2010
Lou Harry
Since none of its initials stand for things one would find on a traditional pizzeria-style pizza, let’s break down the P, the F, and the G in the PFG at Napolese.
More

DINING: Nothing fowl at canal-side newcomer

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of new Broad Ripple restaurant reviews. This week: Flatwater.
More

DINING: Experiencing pub style, the Brockway way

April 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Carmel eatery bills itself as the country's first Dublin-inspired "industrial" pub.
More

DINING: Ice House offers cold comfort

April 17, 2010
Lou Harry
One of the advantages of our month-long restaurant themes is that it gives us an excuse to visit old favorites, and this landmark certainly qualifies.
More

DINING: Barbecue joint offers smoked Southern comfort (food)

April 10, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Second in our month-long series of "House" restaurant reviews.
More

DINING: Scotty's spin-off offers pier-less dining at Lakehouse

April 3, 2010
Lou Harry
There's no water in view, but Scotty's Lakehouse is true to its subtitle: A Burger Joint.
More

DINING: Fishers diners need not fear Wolfie's Den

March 27, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Just walking into Wolfie’s Den made me want to take up hunting. Well, OK, maybe it just made me want to eat some meat.
More

DINING: Looking back and forward--Inside the Scottish Rite Cathedral at the Double Eagle Cafe

March 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Fourth in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

DINING: Bearcats revs up for diners in the Stutz Building

March 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

DINING: With a bit of pluck, wing chain takes first Indy outpost

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries. This week: Buffalo Wings and Rings.
More

DINING: Mane attraction added to Fountain Square fare

February 27, 2010
Lou Harry
Fish and chips are, of course, a staple at new pub.
More

DINING: Northside Social lives up to its name

February 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries. This week: The Northside Social.
More

DINING: A Taste sensation in 'gourmet ghetto'

February 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries. This week: Taste Cafe and Marketplace.
More

DINING: Exploring a new Broad Ripple "Island"

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. President Obama has referred to the ACA as "Obamacare" any number of times; one thing it is not, if you don't qualify for a subsidy, is "affordable".

  2. One important correction, Indiana does not have an ag-gag law, it was soundly defeated, or at least changed. It was stripped of everything to do with undercover pictures and video on farms. There is NO WAY on earth that ag gag laws will survive a constitutional challenge. None. Period. Also, the reason they are trying to keep you out, isn't so we don't show the blatant abuse like slamming pigs heads into the ground, it's show we don't show you the legal stuf... the anal electroctions, the cutting off of genitals without anesthesia, the tail docking, the cutting off of beaks, the baby male chicks getting thrown alive into a grinder, the deplorable conditions, downed animals, animals sitting in their own excrement, the throat slitting, the bolt guns. It is all deplorable behavior that doesn't belong in a civilized society. The meat, dairy and egg industries are running scared right now, which is why they are trying to pass these ridiculous laws. What a losing battle.

  3. Eating there years ago the food was decent, nothing to write home about. Weird thing was Javier tried to pass off the story the way he ended up in Indy was he took a bus he thought was going to Minneapolis. This seems to be the same story from the founder of Acapulco Joe's. Stopped going as I never really did trust him after that or the quality of what being served.

  4. Indianapolis...the city of cricket, chains, crime and call centers!

  5. "In real life, a farmer wants his livestock as happy and health as possible. Such treatment give the best financial return." I have to disagree. What's in the farmer's best interest is to raise as many animals as possible as quickly as possible as cheaply as possible. There is a reason grass-fed beef is more expensive than corn-fed beef: it costs more to raise. Since consumers often want more food for lower prices, the incentive is for farmers to maximize their production while minimizing their costs. Obviously, having very sick or dead animals does not help the farmer, however, so there is a line somewhere. Where that line is drawn is the question.

ADVERTISEMENT