Year in Review

Top 2012 news and newsmakers

December 29, 2012
Reflect on the biggest business news of 2012 with IBJ's complete year-in-review coverage, including a photo gallery, video highlights and A&E recap.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 2012 A&E favorites

December 28, 2012
Lou Harry
With so much to choose from, it's impossible to say what was best. Instead, here are some of my favorites of the year.
More

Indiana adopts right to work

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Indiana in February became the first state in a decade to pass such a law, and it was all the more significant because of the state’s heavy concentration of manufacturing jobs and sizable union presence.
More

WellPoint investors force Braly ouster

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Braly’s five-year tenure leading the Indianapolis-based health insurer was hurt by the recession but also by repeated missteps.
More

In election shocker, voters bounce schools chief Bennett

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
After becoming a celebrity in national education reform for spearheading sweeping changes in Indiana’s schools, Tony Bennett was bounced out of office by strong opposition from teachers, parents and their friends.
More

City projects move ahead, following clash over TIF

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard charged forward on government-supported downtown development efforts after successfully shepherding an expansion of a TIF district over Democratic opposition.
More

Digital marketer ExactTarget splashed onto NYSE

December 28, 2012
After an aborted attempt to go public in 2007, marketing software giant ExactTarget rang the bell on the New York Stock Exchange last March in an IPO that raised $162 million.
More

Daniels wins presidency ... at Purdue

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
About a year after deciding not to campaign for president of the United States, Gov. Mitch Daniels agreed to become the next president of Purdue University.
More

Indy airport sends CEO Clark packing

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard apparently was unhappy with the pace of economic development at the airport under Clark. The CEO's extensive overseas travels also generated controversy.
More

Bernard bounced as IndyCar Series CEO

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
The ouster of Randy Bernard as IndyCar CEO led to new leadership for Hulman & Co., parent of the series and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
More

ISO reaches new contract, launches fundraising spree

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Negotiations over musicians’ contracts hit a crescendo in September with a month-long lockout that ended when performers agreed to a shorter schedule to save money at the cash-strapped Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra.
More

Developers unleash blitz of apartment projects

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Construction began or was to begin soon on dozens of projects with thousands of units, most quite upscale and aimed at one of two growing segments of the population who increasingly see no stigma in renting: aging boomers and young families.
More

Judge lays into Durham, sentences him to 50 years

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Tim Durham, the Indianapolis businessman who used to dream of becoming the world’s richest man, ended 2012 broke and facing a 50-year prison sentence for orchestrating a $250 million Ponzi scheme.
More

City successfully stages Super Bowl, shoots for another

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
More than 1.1 million people poured into downtown Indianapolis for Super Bowl festivities in the 10 days leading up to the big game, held Feb. 5 at Lucas Oil Stadium.
More

Hoosier voters tap Pence to continue Daniels' legacy

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Pence, who served in the U.S. House of Representatives since 2001, left his strident rhetoric on abortion and other social causes in Washington, D.C., as he toured Indiana in a red pickup truck and talked about his policy “Roadmap.”
More

Other news: From Allison's IPO to Lugar's defeat

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Politics and real estate helped round out 2012's news of note.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: School librarian Ritz won with grass-roots campaign

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Democrat Glenda Ritz pulled off a David-versus-Goliath victory to unseat Republican Tony Bennett as Indiana’s superintendent of public instruction.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Crime stance returns Hogsett to political spotlight

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
U.S. Attorney Joseph Hogsett’s openly tough-on-crime approach has some political insiders speculating whether he’s seeking a higher office.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Council Dem Mahern plays role of antagonist

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
City-County Council Vice President Brian Mahern emerged as the chief foe of Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard’s redevelopment agenda.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: CEO keeps Simon stock surging

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
If there were an MVP for local CEOs, David Simon would again find himself at or near the top of the list in 2012.
More

2012 NEWSMAKER: Miles adds to diverse business, sports career

December 28, 2012
 IBJ Staff
Veteran executive Mark Miles now has one of the most difficult jobs in sports—putting open-wheel racing on sound financial footing.
More

State's economy still stuck in neutral

December 24, 2011
The year started with a sense that slowly—not fast enough for anyone’s liking—but steadily, Indiana’s economy was coming back. But then a spike in gas prices and the never-ending sovereign debt crisis in Europe created a summer of setbacks.
More

Indictment: Durham looted Fair Finance

December 24, 2011
Indianapolis financier Tim Durham was indicted on wire and securities fraud charges in March—the culmination of a federal probe that began in 2009.
More

Political neophyte Ballard cruises to second term

December 24, 2011
A contentious battle for Indianapolis mayor culminated in a second term for Republican Mayor Greg Ballard, who won the race with 51 percent of the vote. His Democratic challenger, Melina Kennedy, garnered 47 percent.
More

City backs string of high-profile real estate projects

December 24, 2011
The administration of Mayor Greg Ballard found its stride in the final year of its first four-year term, at least when it comes to major publicly supported real estate projects.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT