Year in Review

Smulyan fails to take Emmis private

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
Jeff Smulyan in 2010 tried for the second time in four years to take Emmis Communications Corp. private, only to see a group of dissident investors band together to block the deal at the 11th hour.
More

Weak real estate market slams developers, banks

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
One local developer emerged from bankruptcy and another fought off growing financial woes as the commercial real estate market remained challenging.
More

Arts groups prepare fundraising campaigns

December 24, 2010
Kathleen McLaughlin
This year, five organizations announced or began preparing for the launch of major campaigns. The targets ranged from $12.5 million for Heartland Truly Moving Pictures to $100 million for the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra.
More

Businesses saw shake-ups in 2010

December 24, 2010
Other news of note from the year.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Daniels keeps fans in suspense

December 24, 2010
Francesca Jarosz
Political observers of Gov. Mitch Daniels see plenty of signs that the 61-year-old Republican is eyeing a presidential run in 2012.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: NCAA chief Emmert makes bold moves

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
Mark Emmert, who left his post in 2010 as University of Washington president to become president of the NCAA, didn’t waste any time making his first round of big decisions.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Lucas lands Hilbert mansion

December 24, 2010
Scott Olson
Lucas Oil Products Inc. owners Forrest and Charlotte Lucas in October purchased the 25,000-square-foot Carmel mansion built by Conseco Inc. co-founder Stephen Hilbert.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Lubbers changes higher-ed funding

December 24, 2010
J.K. Wall
Higher education Commissioner Teresa Lubbers ushered in a new era in higher education financing this year. But she’ll need to persuade the General Assembly to stick with it in 2011.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Butler's Stevens scored along with team

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
In April, Butler University men's basketball coach Brad Stevens coached the Bulldogs to the NCAA Final Four, where Butler lost to heavy favorite Duke University by two points in the championship game at Lucas Oil Stadium.
More

2009: Year in review

January 1, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Economists say the recession ended in 2009, but it sure didn’t feel like it. Unemployment is up and revenue is down. And yet there are some signs of hope on the horizon. Recap the highs and lows of 2009 on our special Year in Review page. Read the stories. Check out the pictures. Play the game. And get ready for 2010.
More

Local losses lead other '09 news of note

December 26, 2009
 IBJ Staff
A look back at some of the top business news stories from 2009.
More

NEWSMAKER: Myles Brand led NCAA reforms

December 26, 2009
Anthony Schoettle
President Myles Brand died after a battle with pancreatic cancer. He is remembered for firing Indiana University basketball coach Bob Knight, but he later became hailed as a reformer as head of the NCAA.
More

NEWSMAKER: Clark lands jobs as airport CEO

December 26, 2009
Chris O'Malley
The Indianapolis Airport Authority hired John D. Clark III as CEO, luring him away from Jacksonville Florida.
More

Newly opened racinos already face credit crunch

December 26, 2009
Peter Schnitzler
Clear signs emerged in 2009 that the Hoosier gambling market is oversaturated. Major credit rating agencies expressed concerns that several casinos, including the state’s new horse track “racinos” on the outskirts of Indianapolis, might go bust before the year was finished.
More

NEWSMAKER: Lathrop named new CIB chief

December 26, 2009
Peter Schnitzler
Ann Lathrop is the new CEO of the Marion County Capital Improvement Board, which oversees the Indiana Convention Center, Conseco Fieldhouse and Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.
More

NEWSMAKER: Mel Simon was shopping mall pioneer

December 26, 2009
Cory Schouten
Mel Simon, who died at 82 on Sept. 16, changed how America shops. He was chairman emeritus of locally based Simon Property Group Inc., the nation’s largest owner of retail real estate.
More

CIB financial situation improving

December 26, 2009
Scott Olson
The past year has been mighty unkind to the Capital Improvement Board, the entity charged with operating the city’s professional sports venues and Indiana Convention Center.
More

Housing meltdown claims at least one homebuilder

December 26, 2009
Scott Olson
Two more local homebuilders fell victim in 2009 to the prolonged meltdown of the housing market. Carmel-based C.P. Morgan Communities LP closed in February, and Indianapolis-based Hansen & Horn Group Inc. is teetering on the edge of bankruptcy.
More

NEWSMAKER: Republic's Bedford keeps low profile, makes big impact

December 26, 2009
Chris O'Malley
For the head of an 11,000-employee company, Bryan Bedford has all the profile around these parts as a participant in the federal witness protection program.
More

City tries to raise cash by privatizing operations

December 26, 2009
Peter Schnitzler
Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard pulled out his predecessor Steve Goldsmith's Republican playbook and began exploring a host of privatization proposals in an effort to save money.
More

Tony George ousted after nearly 20 years leading IMS

December 26, 2009
Anthony Schoettle
Faced with the need to save money, the six-member board of the IMS and IRL voted on May 26 to replace George.
More

NEWSMAKER: High-flying exec Durham ensnared in probe

December 26, 2009
Greg Andrews
The U.S. Attorney's Office alleged in court papers that one of his businesses, Ohio-based Fair Finance Co., operated as a Ponzi scheme.
More

Lilly scurries to get out from under Zyprexa cloud

December 26, 2009
J.K. Wall
Another year of rapid change at Eli Lilly and Co. did little to move the company out from under the cloud cast by its best-selling drug, Zyprexa.
More

Republic flies boldly into branded-carrier business

December 26, 2009
Chris O'Malley
After 36 years of flying smaller planes painted in the colors of the major airlines for which it flies under contract, Republic Airways Holdings in 2009 became a branded airline operator of its own.
More

Lauth Group leads slide in commercial real estate

December 26, 2009
Cory Schouten
The outlook for commercial real estate development continued to worsen in 2009, as one major name faltered and other companies scrambled to redesign their business models and capitalize on the carnage.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Hello Dear Are you tired of Seeking Loans and Mortgages,have you Been Turned down constantly By your banks and Other Financial Institutions or Micro Finance scheme. This is let you know with 100% guarantee that we Offer loans ranging from $1,000 Minimum to $1,000,000.00 Maximum at 3% interest rate per Month. We give out LOANS for developing business. a competitive edge/business expansion. email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com We offer the following kinds of loans and many more; * Personal Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Business Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Consolidation Loan * Combination Loan * Home Improvement * Xmas Loans for contact to seek for loan email this email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com Thanks

  2. My name is Mr Henry Josh and i live in the USA California and life is worth living right now for me and my family and all this is because of one man sent by GOD to help me and my family, i once had a life filled with sorrow because my first SON needed a kidney transplant and all our savings were going towards his medications and this normally leaves us with no money to pay our bills or even put enough food on our table and our rent was due and no funds to pay these bills and life felt so unfair to me and every night my wife will cry herself to sleep every night until one day, i was browsing through yahoo answers and i saw a striking advert of a man that gives out personal loans and that the offer is opened to all and i have heard so many things about internet scams but at this point of my life, i was very desperate and ready to take any risk and at the end of the day, i applied for this loan and from one step to another, i got my loan within 12 hours through bank transfer and you know, it was all like a dream and i called Mr Daniel Jones A Man who is the GOD sent lender i found and said, i have received my loan and he smiled stating that to GOD be the glory and i was so shocked as i have never ever seen anyone with such a GOD fearing and kind heart and today, i am the happiest man on earth because by GOD’S grace, my SON kidney transplant was successful and today he is healthy, i and my family are living very comfortable and happy and if you are in my former situation or in serious and legitimate need of a loan, you can reach this GOD sent lender via fidelityloanfirm@outlook.com

  3. Greetings to everyone reading this comment!!! I am Greg William by name. I am out here to recommend the effort of Mark Oscar,I was in need of a consolidation loan amount of 50,000 and as soon as I got in contact with Mark Oscar Loan Firm on Wednesday last week and on Friday last week as well I receive an alert from my bank(Royal Bank of Scotland Group) that the fund was transferred,I want everybody on this site to contact Mark Oscar now via email on how to get a loan because I got my loan from them and I am very happy,so contact them now. Oscarloanfinance@hotmail.com Thanks!!!!!!

  4. Elected officials, like Mourdock, get vested in 8 years. It takes 10 years for all other public employees, most of whom make a lot less money. So much for the promise to finish out his term.

  5. Great state treasurer and a good man!! Just curious if the folks who didn't quite understand his quote would like to tell my daughter-in-law that God didn't intend her! Mourdock's comment was correct but twisted and the article didn't mention that his opponent and the press let the impression stand that Mourdock meant that the rape was intended. Stupid people!!

ADVERTISEMENT