Year in Review

Smulyan fails to take Emmis private

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
Jeff Smulyan in 2010 tried for the second time in four years to take Emmis Communications Corp. private, only to see a group of dissident investors band together to block the deal at the 11th hour.
More

Weak real estate market slams developers, banks

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
One local developer emerged from bankruptcy and another fought off growing financial woes as the commercial real estate market remained challenging.
More

Arts groups prepare fundraising campaigns

December 24, 2010
Kathleen McLaughlin
This year, five organizations announced or began preparing for the launch of major campaigns. The targets ranged from $12.5 million for Heartland Truly Moving Pictures to $100 million for the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra.
More

Businesses saw shake-ups in 2010

December 24, 2010
Other news of note from the year.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Daniels keeps fans in suspense

December 24, 2010
Francesca Jarosz
Political observers of Gov. Mitch Daniels see plenty of signs that the 61-year-old Republican is eyeing a presidential run in 2012.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: NCAA chief Emmert makes bold moves

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
Mark Emmert, who left his post in 2010 as University of Washington president to become president of the NCAA, didn’t waste any time making his first round of big decisions.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Lucas lands Hilbert mansion

December 24, 2010
Scott Olson
Lucas Oil Products Inc. owners Forrest and Charlotte Lucas in October purchased the 25,000-square-foot Carmel mansion built by Conseco Inc. co-founder Stephen Hilbert.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Lubbers changes higher-ed funding

December 24, 2010
J.K. Wall
Higher education Commissioner Teresa Lubbers ushered in a new era in higher education financing this year. But she’ll need to persuade the General Assembly to stick with it in 2011.
More

2010 NEWSMAKER: Butler's Stevens scored along with team

December 24, 2010
Anthony Schoettle
In April, Butler University men's basketball coach Brad Stevens coached the Bulldogs to the NCAA Final Four, where Butler lost to heavy favorite Duke University by two points in the championship game at Lucas Oil Stadium.
More

2009: Year in review

January 1, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Economists say the recession ended in 2009, but it sure didn’t feel like it. Unemployment is up and revenue is down. And yet there are some signs of hope on the horizon. Recap the highs and lows of 2009 on our special Year in Review page. Read the stories. Check out the pictures. Play the game. And get ready for 2010.
More

Local losses lead other '09 news of note

December 26, 2009
 IBJ Staff
A look back at some of the top business news stories from 2009.
More

NEWSMAKER: Myles Brand led NCAA reforms

December 26, 2009
Anthony Schoettle
President Myles Brand died after a battle with pancreatic cancer. He is remembered for firing Indiana University basketball coach Bob Knight, but he later became hailed as a reformer as head of the NCAA.
More

NEWSMAKER: Clark lands jobs as airport CEO

December 26, 2009
Chris O'Malley
The Indianapolis Airport Authority hired John D. Clark III as CEO, luring him away from Jacksonville Florida.
More

Newly opened racinos already face credit crunch

December 26, 2009
Peter Schnitzler
Clear signs emerged in 2009 that the Hoosier gambling market is oversaturated. Major credit rating agencies expressed concerns that several casinos, including the state’s new horse track “racinos” on the outskirts of Indianapolis, might go bust before the year was finished.
More

NEWSMAKER: Lathrop named new CIB chief

December 26, 2009
Peter Schnitzler
Ann Lathrop is the new CEO of the Marion County Capital Improvement Board, which oversees the Indiana Convention Center, Conseco Fieldhouse and Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.
More

NEWSMAKER: Mel Simon was shopping mall pioneer

December 26, 2009
Cory Schouten
Mel Simon, who died at 82 on Sept. 16, changed how America shops. He was chairman emeritus of locally based Simon Property Group Inc., the nation’s largest owner of retail real estate.
More

CIB financial situation improving

December 26, 2009
Scott Olson
The past year has been mighty unkind to the Capital Improvement Board, the entity charged with operating the city’s professional sports venues and Indiana Convention Center.
More

Housing meltdown claims at least one homebuilder

December 26, 2009
Scott Olson
Two more local homebuilders fell victim in 2009 to the prolonged meltdown of the housing market. Carmel-based C.P. Morgan Communities LP closed in February, and Indianapolis-based Hansen & Horn Group Inc. is teetering on the edge of bankruptcy.
More

NEWSMAKER: Republic's Bedford keeps low profile, makes big impact

December 26, 2009
Chris O'Malley
For the head of an 11,000-employee company, Bryan Bedford has all the profile around these parts as a participant in the federal witness protection program.
More

City tries to raise cash by privatizing operations

December 26, 2009
Peter Schnitzler
Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard pulled out his predecessor Steve Goldsmith's Republican playbook and began exploring a host of privatization proposals in an effort to save money.
More

Tony George ousted after nearly 20 years leading IMS

December 26, 2009
Anthony Schoettle
Faced with the need to save money, the six-member board of the IMS and IRL voted on May 26 to replace George.
More

NEWSMAKER: High-flying exec Durham ensnared in probe

December 26, 2009
Greg Andrews
The U.S. Attorney's Office alleged in court papers that one of his businesses, Ohio-based Fair Finance Co., operated as a Ponzi scheme.
More

Lilly scurries to get out from under Zyprexa cloud

December 26, 2009
J.K. Wall
Another year of rapid change at Eli Lilly and Co. did little to move the company out from under the cloud cast by its best-selling drug, Zyprexa.
More

Republic flies boldly into branded-carrier business

December 26, 2009
Chris O'Malley
After 36 years of flying smaller planes painted in the colors of the major airlines for which it flies under contract, Republic Airways Holdings in 2009 became a branded airline operator of its own.
More

Lauth Group leads slide in commercial real estate

December 26, 2009
Cory Schouten
The outlook for commercial real estate development continued to worsen in 2009, as one major name faltered and other companies scrambled to redesign their business models and capitalize on the carnage.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT