Opinion

Hudnut merits honorRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
I wish to give a resounding “second” to Louis Mahern’s “Call to properly honor civic giant Hudnut” in [Forefront, June 27].
More

BOEHM: Mayor's touch is key to IPS improvementRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
We are at risk of ... bad outcomes from the way we choose the top leadership of our school systems.
More

CAMPBELL: Let's hear more trees falling in IndianapolisRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Steve Campbell / Special to IBJ
The campaigns for these new developments were essentially commercials for all these nice and livable communities outside the city.
More

HUDNUT: Nordstrom loss is setback ... and opportunityRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Bill Hudnut
When I first heard about the downtown Nordstrom store closing, of course I was disappointed.
More

GARCIA: Demonize one minority, demonize them allRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Charles J. Garcia / Special to IBJ
Reasonable politicians begin their descent into hell as they look away while others within their constituency have their civil rights eroded.
More

KETZENBERGER: Polarizing politics paralyzes public policyRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
If we’re not careful with this increasingly all-or-nothing mentality, we’ll find ourselves living with tumbleweeds and dirt streets.
More

SHELLA: Print's decline is bad for this news junkieRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
I appreciate the fact that a team of people go through a day’s worth of information and try to prioritize it for me.
More

HARRIS: We need a system to make high school diplomas countRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
Unfortunately, too many students who make it through high school aren’t well prepared for what comes next.
More

MEREDITH: Diplomas don't guarantee mastery of work or life skillsRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
A diploma cannot guarantee commendable performance in college, respectable employment or even success in life.
More

EARLY: Loudly singing praises of education reformRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
Vince Lombardi would want Bennett and Daniels on his team. These two bold leaders refused to quit on our kids.
More

WOUDENBERG: Feds don't call all shots on MedicaidRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Anita Y. Woudenberg / Special to IBJ
The states are free to exclude a provider from its Medicaid program for any reason provided under state law.
More

VAUGHN: Privatization punishes many, rewards fewRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
The only winners in this game are the attorneys and bureaucrats who make, and often end up breaking, the deals.
More

WEB REVIEW: Searching, for free, for the next great song

July 2, 2011
Jim Cota
NoiseTrade helps you discover, download and keep songs...in exchange for your e-mail address and ZIP code.
More

EDITORIAL: Lessons to draw from Republic-Frontier dealRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Despite some post-acquisition stumbles, the moral of the story should not be that Hoosier executives need to proceed with greater caution.
More

MORRIS: Roadwork as far as the eye can seeRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Greg Morris
It doesn’t matter whether you are in the city, in the county, in the suburbs, or on state or interstate highways. You can’t avoid it. And that has a lot of people complaining.
More

MARCUS: Should we be offended by Times story?Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Morton Marcus
Last month, The New York Times ran a story under the headline “Indiana: The Exception? Yes, but …” The story gave a factual presentation of our state’s economic circumstances, but with an overriding sarcasm that left a bad taste in Hoosier mouths.
More

KENNEDY: A regulatory no-brainer could save livesRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Cell phone users in the United States can’t choose to have radio on our phones because, when the ability to download first threatened the music industry’s business model, the carriers thought including broadcast radio would undermine their ability to sell music packages.
More

ALTOM: Smartphone makers rarely flip 'kill switch'Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Tim Altom
When you bought your new smartphone, did the dealer tell you it had a remote “kill switch” that could summarily wipe out apps you’d downloaded to it? Probably not.
More

HICKS: Founding document holds lessons for todayRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Mike Hicks
The Declaration of Independence has some key tenets that bear mentioning in these times.
More

SKARBECK: Getting out of a hole requires digging by allRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
We live in a fantasy world if everyone thinks we need to cut back on spending unless it affects them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie's best raid plans

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
If you asked me a week ago what I knew about Indiana’s direct involvement in the Civil War, you would have been met with a blank stare. Then I was part of the regiment that helped kick the raiding party out of Indiana as part of the new “1863 Civil War Journey: Raid on Indiana” interactive exhibit at Conner Prairie.
More

DINING: Transitional signage masks above-average pizza

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of reviews of newish pizza places. This week: Eagle Creek Pizza.
More

Chipping away at our rightsRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Anita Woudenberg, [in her June 13 Forefront column “Indiana Supremes blew it with police case”] didn’t go far enough.
More

Indy Partnership has lost independenceRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
After reading [Morton Marcus’ June 13] column on regionalism and more specifically adding layers, my mind immediately went to the Indy Partnership.
More

A twisted definition of pro-lifeRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
A political movement that sacrificed the contraceptive continuity of low income families does not deserve to be called pro life.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT