Opinion

Museums can't change canal alone

August 28, 2010
As a longtime downtown resident and property owner, and frequent user of the Central Canal, I read with great interest the [Aug. 16] article “Missing the action: Museums struggle to capture foot traffic from busy canal."
More

EDITORIAL: GM dispute deserves vote

August 21, 2010
It’s puzzling to us that leaders of the United Auto Workers Local 23 are against members even casting a vote on the proposed takeover of GM's Indianapolis metal-stamping plant by Illinois-based J.D. Norman Industries.
More

MAURER: If it feels right, take the leapRestricted Content

August 21, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School”—at least I didn’t learn them in school. Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the fourth installment.
More

MARCUS: Metrics no substitute for management

August 21, 2010
Morton Marcus
Most companies select from a work force that has a mixed quality of education. Instead of using this diversity as an asset, management today tries to impose ‘behavioral metrics’ on its workers independent of their individual strengths.
More

LOUGHREY: Hoosier leaders can fight global poverty

August 21, 2010
Joe Loughrey
Our world is quite different from the one President Truman and George Marshall faced in 1947. But the strategy for recovery and broad-based development should be built on a similar foundation of public- and private-sector collaboration.
More

SKARBECK: Investors may miss mark by switching to bonds

August 21, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
It seems more likely that bond investors today are making the same mistake stock investors made back at the peak of the stock-market bubble.
More

HICKS: Good reads on America's automobile industry

August 21, 2010
Mike Hicks
If you'd like to satiate your interest in the domestic automobile market, may I recommend three fine books?
More

BENNER: Bird's trust goes unrewarded in new debacleRestricted Content

August 21, 2010
Bill Benner
Face it, Larry; you messed up. You trusted a 19-year-old with a questionable past.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dancing to the classics

August 21, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre uses American lit as a launch pad; plus: books by local authors.
More

HETRICK: How to make our recession last foreverRestricted Content

August 21, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Today’s and tomorrow’s jobs are increasingly dependent upon more and better education
More

DINING: Chancy upgrade at IUPUI eatery

August 21, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Chancellor's has high aspirations, with a seasonal, locally sourced menu clearly designed to appeal more to diners on an expense account than college students on a budget.
More

Mentor knew how to keep his head

August 21, 2010
In reference to Mickey Maurer’s column in the Aug. 9 edition, Mickey and I, along with probably many others, had the same mentor, Gene Glick.
More

GM deal promising for local automaker

August 21, 2010
Now that Bright Automotive has announced a strategic partnership [with] General Motors, we think IBJ should reconsider the title it gave a recent article about the company (Aug 2, “Losing power?”). We’d suggest “Powering up!”
More

Coaches, mentors often confused

August 21, 2010
[Mickey Maurer] really did a great job in [his Aug. 9 column,] “Even CEOs need mentors.” I agree that having a mentor, or having someone to coach you, is valuable.
More

Attendance figures were inconsistent

August 21, 2010
I was disappointed in the lack of fair and accurate reporting in Kathleen McLaughlin’s article, “Missing the action: Museums struggle to capture foot traffic from busy Central Canal,” which was published in the Aug. 16 edition.
More

EDITORIAL: Raising parking fees is wise step

August 14, 2010
It isn’t difficult to grasp the reasoning behind Mayor Greg Ballard’s proposal to privatize the city’s parking operations.
More

MORRIS: Give and volunteer to Live United

August 14, 2010
Greg Morris
Many people in our community, state, country and around the globe need our help. The numbers are staggering.
More

MARCUS: Unemployment is a waste of our resources

August 14, 2010
Morton Marcus
People have to be hired to do valuable things with the money the government pumps into the economy. That money can’t be given to people or to businesses with the hope that they will use it. It has to be spent on activities that increase employment.
More

MERISOTIS: Boosting education boosts your company

August 14, 2010
Jamie Merisotis
By 2018, 63 percent of all jobs in this country will require some form of postsecondary education or training. That’s a huge increase since the mid-’70s.
More

DINING: A fair amount of pork

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
Lou's fair food review WVThis year, the Indiana State Fair is celebrating the Year of the Pig. And that means pork is the main attraction in five dishes that were selected as finalists in the fair’s Signature Food contest.
More

ALTOM: What can business learn from techies?

August 14, 2010
Tim Altom
There have been some technical materials that have taught me a great deal about how business should be conducted. I’d like to share a few with you.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The playing's the thing at GenCon

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
While fantasy role-playing games form the core of GenCon, the convention has a lot to offer casual game players whose comfort zone is closer to Yahtzee and Monopoly than Wizards of Warcraft.
More

BENNER: You can help save the lives of young Hoosiers

August 14, 2010
Bill Benner
Feleica Locklear-Stewart’s attention. And she is on a mission to make sure we do more, not just for athletes, but for all our young.
More

HICKS: Expectations can't erase sluggish recoveryRestricted Content

August 14, 2010
Mike Hicks
While the economy continues to recover, the pace is agonizingly slow. The reasons for this are becoming clear.
More

We must explore alternative energy

August 14, 2010
The Viewpoint essay penned by Peter Grossman [in the July 26 issue] was infuriating.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. These liberals are out of control. They want to drive our economy into the ground and double and triple our electric bills. Sierra Club, stay out of Indy!

  2. These activist liberal judges have gotten out of control. Thankfully we have a sensible supreme court that overturns their absurd rulings!

  3. Maybe they shouldn't be throwing money at the IRL or whatever they call it now. Probably should save that money for actual operations.

  4. For you central Indiana folks that don't know what a good pizza is, Aurelio's will take care of that. There are some good pizza places in central Indiana but nothing like this!!!

  5. I am troubled with this whole string of comments as I am not sure anyone pointed out that many of the "high paying" positions have been eliminated identified by asterisks as of fiscal year 2012. That indicates to me that the hospitals are making responsible yet difficult decisions and eliminating heavy paying positions. To make this more problematic, we have created a society of "entitlement" where individuals believe they should receive free services at no cost to them. I have yet to get a house repair done at no cost nor have I taken my car that is out of warranty for repair for free repair expecting the government to pay for it even though it is the second largest investment one makes in their life besides purchasing a home. Yet, we continue to hear verbal and aggressive abuse from the consumer who expects free services and have to reward them as a result of HCAHPS surveys which we have no influence over as it is 3rd party required by CMS. Peel the onion and get to the root of the problem...you will find that society has created the problem and our current political landscape and not the people who were fortunate to lead healthcare in the right direction before becoming distorted. As a side note, I had a friend sit in an ED in Canada for nearly two days prior to being evaluated and then finally...3 months later got a CT of the head. You pay for what you get...

ADVERTISEMENT