Opinion

Coaches, mentors often confused

August 21, 2010
[Mickey Maurer] really did a great job in [his Aug. 9 column,] “Even CEOs need mentors.” I agree that having a mentor, or having someone to coach you, is valuable.
More

Attendance figures were inconsistent

August 21, 2010
I was disappointed in the lack of fair and accurate reporting in Kathleen McLaughlin’s article, “Missing the action: Museums struggle to capture foot traffic from busy Central Canal,” which was published in the Aug. 16 edition.
More

EDITORIAL: Raising parking fees is wise step

August 14, 2010
It isn’t difficult to grasp the reasoning behind Mayor Greg Ballard’s proposal to privatize the city’s parking operations.
More

MORRIS: Give and volunteer to Live United

August 14, 2010
Greg Morris
Many people in our community, state, country and around the globe need our help. The numbers are staggering.
More

MARCUS: Unemployment is a waste of our resources

August 14, 2010
Morton Marcus
People have to be hired to do valuable things with the money the government pumps into the economy. That money can’t be given to people or to businesses with the hope that they will use it. It has to be spent on activities that increase employment.
More

MERISOTIS: Boosting education boosts your company

August 14, 2010
Jamie Merisotis
By 2018, 63 percent of all jobs in this country will require some form of postsecondary education or training. That’s a huge increase since the mid-’70s.
More

DINING: A fair amount of pork

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
Lou's fair food review WVThis year, the Indiana State Fair is celebrating the Year of the Pig. And that means pork is the main attraction in five dishes that were selected as finalists in the fair’s Signature Food contest.
More

ALTOM: What can business learn from techies?

August 14, 2010
Tim Altom
There have been some technical materials that have taught me a great deal about how business should be conducted. I’d like to share a few with you.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The playing's the thing at GenCon

August 14, 2010
Lou Harry
While fantasy role-playing games form the core of GenCon, the convention has a lot to offer casual game players whose comfort zone is closer to Yahtzee and Monopoly than Wizards of Warcraft.
More

BENNER: You can help save the lives of young Hoosiers

August 14, 2010
Bill Benner
Feleica Locklear-Stewart’s attention. And she is on a mission to make sure we do more, not just for athletes, but for all our young.
More

HICKS: Expectations can't erase sluggish recoveryRestricted Content

August 14, 2010
Mike Hicks
While the economy continues to recover, the pace is agonizingly slow. The reasons for this are becoming clear.
More

We must explore alternative energy

August 14, 2010
The Viewpoint essay penned by Peter Grossman [in the July 26 issue] was infuriating.
More

STYLE: A N.Y. fashion writer brings her blog back home

August 14, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
I’ve heard that there were people out there who quit their day jobs to take pictures of their outfits for a living, but I couldn’t begin to imagine a business plan that could make that lifestyle happen.
More

EDITORIAL: In Indianapolis, sports venues aren't built to last

August 7, 2010
Indianapolis has made strides toward becoming a “greener” city in the last few years. Reusing what we discard makes sense, but not everything should be disposable. That includes the sports landmarks we’ve made a habit of turning into rubble.
More

MAURER: Even CEOs need mentorsRestricted Content

August 7, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment strategy, I developed “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School.” Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the third installment.
More

MARCUS: Tax expenditures are back door to spending

August 7, 2010
Morton Marcus
People are divided on what they want, skeptical about the ability of government to provide services, and resentful about paying for those services they do not perceive as benefiting themselves.
More

FELDMANN: Copying others' tactics won't always pay off

August 7, 2010
Derrick Feldmann
It’s common in any business or organization that hears about an incredible success and tries to replicate it by following the same steps.
More

DINING: It's Turner's turn at revamped Canterbury eatery

August 7, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Named for hotel owner and local businessman Turner Woodard, Turner’s Restaurant maintains a cozy feel despite the decidedly upscale environment.
More

BENNER: Carving up the Big Ten ... and other hot topicsRestricted Content

August 7, 2010
Bill Benner
Of this, that and the other as the lazy, hazy, not-so-crazy days of summer begin to wind down.
More

SKARBECK: U.S. will someday have to deal with debt

August 7, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
After years of easy borrowing that helped boost economic growth, governments around the globe are dealing with evil twinsâ??high levels of debt and shrinking revenue to repay.
More

HICKS: What silly bands say about the value of things

August 7, 2010
Mike Hicks
There are economic lessons here. The most important is that the value of things is necessarily determined by what is known in econo-jargon as utility.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Local music makes 24-hour road trip sound sweet

August 7, 2010
Lou Harry
With apologies to Willie Nelson, the truth is I could wait to get on the road again.
More

ICVA does assist bed-and-breakfasts

August 7, 2010
As the owners and innkeepers of Nestle Inn B&B downtown for the past 11 years, we were perplexed by your investigative report [in the Aug. 2 Focus], “Overshadowed and underappreciated?”
More

WEB REVIEW: Two sites meet demands of meeting planners

August 6, 2010
Jim Cota
E-mail is a great communication tool. But sometimes, it simply falls flat on its face.<
More

EDITORIAL: City needs to keep momentum from utilities deal

July 31, 2010
We’re happy to see that partisanship didn’t sink Mayor Greg Ballard’s plan to sell Indianapolis’ water and sewer utilities to Citizens Energy Group. Now city leaders need to make sure they spend the money wisely.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. If I were a developer I would be looking at the Fountain Square and Fletcher Place neighborhoods instead of Broad Ripple. I would avoid the dysfunctional BRVA with all of their headaches. It's like deciding between a Blackberry or an iPhone 5s smartphone. BR is greatly in need of updates. It has become stale and outdated. Whereas Fountain Square, Fletcher Place and Mass Ave have become the "new" Broad Ripples. Every time I see people on the strip in BR on the weekend I want to ask them, "How is it you are not familiar with Fountain Square or Mass Ave? You have choices and you choose BR?" Long vacant storefronts like the old Scholar's Inn Bake House and ZA, both on prominent corners, hurt the village's image. Many business on the strip could use updated facades. Cigarette butt covered sidewalks and graffiti covered walls don't help either. The whole strip just looks like it needs to be power washed. I know there is more to the BRV than the 700-1100 blocks of Broad Ripple Ave, but that is what people see when they think of BR. It will always be a nice place live, but is quickly becoming a not-so-nice place to visit.

  2. I sure hope so and would gladly join a law suit against them. They flat out rob people and their little punk scam artist telephone losers actually enjoy it. I would love to run into one of them some day!!

  3. Biggest scam ever!! Took 307 out of my bank ac count. Never received a single call! They prey on new small business and flat out rob them! Do not sign up with these thieves. I filed a complaint with the ftc. I suggest doing the same ic they robbed you too.

  4. Woohoo! We're #200!!! Absolutely disgusting. Bring on the congestion. Indianapolis NEEDS it.

  5. So Westfield invested about $30M in developing Grand Park and attendance to date is good enough that local hotel can't meet the demand. Carmel invested $180M in the Palladium - which generates zero hotel demand for its casino acts. Which Mayor made the better decision?

ADVERTISEMENT