Opinion

MORRIS: Be healthy, wealthy and wise

July 31, 2010
Greg Morris
We’ve had a wellness program at IBJ for seven years. However, it became clear to me recently that we have only been scratching the surface with what should be a top priority.
More

MARCUS: Economy as diverse as pierogi in Whiting

July 31, 2010
Morton Marcus
The simple fact is that we are having a recession on top of the continuing restructuring of the economy that has been going on since the 1980s.
More

WEIGAND: Reinvesting in neighborhoods is essential

July 31, 2010
Kurt Wiegand
Our city is about to engage in a high-stakes gamble to avert a death spiral—or accelerate it and make it much more of a certainty.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'A Funny Thing' happening at Athenaeum

July 31, 2010
Lou Harry
In most productions of the raucous musical comedy “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum,” the lead character, Pseudolus, is a just-this-side-of desperate middle-age guy with an overactive libido who could break out in a major sweat at any moment.
More

ALTOM: Bar-coding could help your business for as little as $200

July 31, 2010
Tim Altom
Years ago, when technology was just starting to classify and count all of us, we worried we’d become merely numbers. Now we may not even be readable numbers, but just ink on a bar code. And that’s a good thing, as it turns out.
More

DINING: Family-owned Shebella's defies expectations

July 31, 2010
Lou Harry
I’m happy to report that the new, locally owned Shebella’s exceeds pizza buffet expectations and, with some of the items we sampled, exceeds even those of traditional pizza joints and sub shops.
More

BENNER: 'Empty' Brickyard still pulls a pretty good crowdRestricted Content

July 31, 2010
Bill Benner
We need to provide some perspective. If Brickyard 400 attendance was, as estimated, somewhere between 130,000 and 150,000, that still makes it the second-largest single-day sporting event in the world and represents a healthy influx of cash, much of it coming from elsewhere, spent in the area over the weekend.
More

SURF THIS: Start benefiting from a social media platform

July 31, 2010
Jim Cota
Seems like almost every day a new social media platform is born. If you added them all up, you would easily be in the hundreds. Obviously, all of them are too much for all of us to pay much attention to, but there are a few you should not only know about, but participate in.
More

HICKS: Twenty years later, the impact of Desert StormRestricted Content

July 31, 2010
Mike Hicks
Wartime familiarity should make us more tolerant of our differences and care more for one another's children.
More

Don't make hires too quickly

July 31, 2010
Mickey Maurer’s [July 12 column offering] advice on exercising care in hiring is well-taken. Busy people often decide to hire too quickly and to correct the resulting error too slowly.
More

Move Black Expo to fairgrounds

July 31, 2010
As a downtown resident of over 30 years I feel that it is a privilege to use the facilities that we as a city have created downtown. Black Expo has violated that privilege.
More

Poverty doesn't explain shooting

July 31, 2010
This problem [at Black Expo] is nothing new; it has a long history of violence and disrespect for the community we all live in.
More

EDITORIAL: Timid talk won't stop violence during Indiana Black Expo

July 24, 2010
The violence that sometimes erupts on the streets of downtown during Summer Celebration’s final weekend can no longer be tolerated.
More

MAURER: Low barriers to entry breed business competitionRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Based primarily upon hard lessons learned, I developed “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship that You Didn’t Learn in School”—at least I didn’t learn them in school. This is Lesson 2.
More

MARCUS: Is suburbia the root of all evil?

July 24, 2010
Morton Marcus
Once upon a time, school transportation eased the journey of farm kids going to school. Today, it’s a massive subsidy for suburban kids whose parents have chosen to live far from a school in a place without sidewalks.
More

GROSSMAN: Bill Gates wants to spend your money

July 24, 2010
Peter Z. Grossman
Just as the government built an atomic bomb during World War II, the government should spend billions of dollars to create the energy innovations for a low-carbon economy, according to Gates and friends.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Record-breaking artist offers the vinyl word on music stars

July 24, 2010
Lou Harry
Seen from a distance, Lobyn Hamilton’s work might seem like something you’d find in a music shop—simple, faithful re-creations of familiar portraits of the likes of Jimi Hendrix and Bob Dylan. Get a little closer, though, and the medium becomes part of the message.
More

DINING: Blu lunch just pretense for dessert

July 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At Blue Moon Cafe, the difficult-to-resist pastry case is right inside the front door.
More

HETRICK: Hoosier thrillers should stay on the pageRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Reading Indiana crime fiction is great for vacation. Learning of true Indiana crime isn't.
More

BENNER: Still pulling for Tiger in spite of his transgressionsRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Bill Benner
Let me be the last (quasi) sports journalist in America to weigh in on Tiger Woods.
More

SKARBECK: Financial overhaul law leaves much uncertaintyRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
The public, to no surprise, is skeptical that the new regulations will succeed. A Bloomberg poll shows nearly four out of five Americans have little confidence the measures will prevent a crisis.
More

HICKS: What we can learn from forecasting blundersRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Mike Hicks
It begs the question, just what should economists be expected to know and how should we explain it?
More

Employees drive company success

July 24, 2010
Mickey Maurer’s [July 12] column on choosing the right people is so “right on.”
More

Maurer's employee column was spot-on

July 24, 2010
Without a doubt, it is people that will either make or break you. Their success will absolutely determine yours.
More

Fieldhouse could have life without Pacers

July 24, 2010
The IBJ and others keep repeating that, should the Pacers leave, the city would be stuck with paying $14 [million]-$18 million a year in fieldhouse operating costs. Are you all assuming the facility will sit vacant? Come on.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. If I were a developer I would be looking at the Fountain Square and Fletcher Place neighborhoods instead of Broad Ripple. I would avoid the dysfunctional BRVA with all of their headaches. It's like deciding between a Blackberry or an iPhone 5s smartphone. BR is greatly in need of updates. It has become stale and outdated. Whereas Fountain Square, Fletcher Place and Mass Ave have become the "new" Broad Ripples. Every time I see people on the strip in BR on the weekend I want to ask them, "How is it you are not familiar with Fountain Square or Mass Ave? You have choices and you choose BR?" Long vacant storefronts like the old Scholar's Inn Bake House and ZA, both on prominent corners, hurt the village's image. Many business on the strip could use updated facades. Cigarette butt covered sidewalks and graffiti covered walls don't help either. The whole strip just looks like it needs to be power washed. I know there is more to the BRV than the 700-1100 blocks of Broad Ripple Ave, but that is what people see when they think of BR. It will always be a nice place live, but is quickly becoming a not-so-nice place to visit.

  2. I sure hope so and would gladly join a law suit against them. They flat out rob people and their little punk scam artist telephone losers actually enjoy it. I would love to run into one of them some day!!

  3. Biggest scam ever!! Took 307 out of my bank ac count. Never received a single call! They prey on new small business and flat out rob them! Do not sign up with these thieves. I filed a complaint with the ftc. I suggest doing the same ic they robbed you too.

  4. Woohoo! We're #200!!! Absolutely disgusting. Bring on the congestion. Indianapolis NEEDS it.

  5. So Westfield invested about $30M in developing Grand Park and attendance to date is good enough that local hotel can't meet the demand. Carmel invested $180M in the Palladium - which generates zero hotel demand for its casino acts. Which Mayor made the better decision?

ADVERTISEMENT