Opinion

HICKS: A modest proposal: The SUN tax of 2010Restricted Content

July 10, 2010
Mike Hicks
The problem is that the tanning tax fails every single criterion of effective tax policy. It is narrow, easily avoided, suffers high administrative costs, and distorts consumer and producer behavior.
More

EDITORIAL: New gun, booze laws make no sense

July 3, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Businesses no longer can prohibit their employees from bringing firearms to work, and everyone buying alcohol must show ID. Say what?
More

MORRIS: First Amendment protects five freedoms

July 3, 2010
Greg Morris
The First Amendment is the cornerstone of democracy and truly guarantees freedom for all.
More

MARCUS: Let's focus on keeping retirees in Indiana

July 3, 2010
Morton Marcus
It is counterproductive to have Hoosier children stay in Indiana as young adults. Let them come back when they have something to offer.
More

HENDERSON: On civility and donning the brain bucket

July 3, 2010
Tom Henderson
Some of the things I was warned as a young man that I should never get into arguments over were—in no particular order—religion, politics, which hand in a card game wins, and whether there should be a motorcycle-helmet law.
More

ALTOM: Is Pac-Man robbing your workers of productivity?

July 3, 2010
Tim Altom
When Google users stumbled on a surprise gift from the giant search company, it was inevitable that in business offices everywhere, the long-forgotten sounds of Pac-Man would come to life again.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: The King without kitsch and other Brown County pleasures

July 3, 2010
Lou Harry
It didn’t occur to me on the drive down Interstate 65 for a Brown County getaway that I’d be returning with praise for an Elvis impersonator.
More

BENNER: Blown calls aren't a tradition worth preservingRestricted Content

July 3, 2010
Bill Benner
When glaring, outcome—or history-altering—gaffes can be almost immediately rectified, why wouldn't anyone want to get it right?
More

SURF THIS: Two sites meet demands of meeting planners

July 3, 2010
Jim Cota
E-mail is a great communication tool. But sometimes, it simply falls flat on its face. TimeBridge and Tungle help users get down to business.
More

HICKS: Town squares reflect forefathers' optimismRestricted Content

July 3, 2010
Mike Hicks
In my line of work, I travel to many small towns. One eccentricity I indulge in on these trips is to drive around town squares.
More

Arts groups support each other

July 3, 2010
We are writing to give our wholehearted endorsement to [columnist] Greg Morris’ appeal for generous support for the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra (“Confessions of a symphony newbie,” June 21).
More

City Market should build on immigrant roots

July 3, 2010
I would like to suggest that the 124-year-old landmark serve as an anchor for a broader vision of the near-east side.
More

Avoiding fraud easier than recovery

July 3, 2010
We want to emphasize ways that investors can avoid fraudulent schemes, as the opportunity for restitution rarely compensates investors for their losses.
More

World Cup nations were confused

July 3, 2010
Bill Benner' sopinion lost all credibility for me in the end, though, because he obviously didn’t do his homework.
More

Utility user fees to be diverted

July 3, 2010
A [wrong] is being perpetrated on the citizens of Indianapolis by our city-county councilors, Mayor Greg Ballard and the board of Citizens Energy, by negotiating a “sale” of the water company to Citizens.
More

DINING: Clubhouse serves mixed messages

July 3, 2010
Lou Harry
Southside newcomer serves a memorable burger.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 100 thoughts on 100 Acres

June 26, 2010
Lou Harry
Watch video icon for 100 Acres100 Acres, a new art and nature park, opened behind the Indianapolis Museum of Art June 19. This major addition to the city’s cultural and social landscape seemed worthy of at least 100 thoughts—and two videos.
More

EDITORIAL: Circle Centre worth watching

June 26, 2010
 IBJ Staff
City government brought Circle Centre into this world. It makes sense, then, that city government is involved in positioning it for the future.
More

MAURER: Exercise your creative muscleRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Creativity, like muscle tone, must be exercised if one is to increase it. We need to seize opportunities to think creatively. Challenging riddles like the one above interrupt the normal routine and rev up our brains.
More

MARCUS: Fed programs get credit for improvements

June 26, 2010
Morton Marcus
The federal government pumped $6.3 billion into the Indiana economy through higher unemployment compensation and increased Social Security and Medicare payments.
More

SLAUGHTER: Do you let the telephone control you?

June 26, 2010
Robby Slaughter
The telephone has incredible value. It’s also among the most effective ways to destroy productivity.
More

HICKS: Roots of recession found in homes, stocksRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Mike Hicks
When the Business Cycle Dating Committee of the National Bureau of Economic Research meets later this year or next, I believe they’ll say the recession hit bottom in June or July of 2009. Recessions end when the economy bottoms out.
More

SKARBECK: Even investment stars have losing periodsRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
Most investors have heard the cautionary statement “past performance is not indicative of future results.” This oft-repeated caveat reveals its truth time and again in the investment industry.
More

Indiana municipal bonds are faring well

June 26, 2010
The “Investing” column of June 14, “Municipal bond defaults might be next crisis,” raises some valid points, but portrays municipal bonds in such a manner that is too general.
More

HETRICK: If you've botched the job, don't botch the PR, tooRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
If a crisis leaves you on the receiving end of Wisconsin football fans’ favorite chant, every detail of your response matters.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. By Mr. Lee's own admission, he basically ran pro-bono ads on the billboard. Paying advertisers didn't want ads on a controversial, ugly billboard that turned off customers. At least one of Mr. Lee's free advertisers dropped out early because they found that Mr. Lee's advertising was having negative impact. So Mr. Lee is disingenous to say the city now owes him for lost revenue. Mr. Lee quickly realized his monstrosity had a dim future and is trying to get the city to bail him out. And that's why the billboard came down so quickly.

  2. Merchants Square is back. The small strip center to the south of 116th is 100% leased, McAlister’s is doing well in the outlot building. The former O’Charleys is leased but is going through permitting with the State and the town of Carmel. Mac Grill is closing all of their Indy locations (not just Merchants) and this will allow for a new restaurant concept to backfill both of their locations. As for the north side of 116th a new dinner movie theater and brewery is under construction to fill most of the vacancy left by Hobby Lobby and Old Navy.

  3. Yes it does have an ethics commission which enforce the law which prohibits 12 specific items. google it

  4. Thanks for reading and replying. If you want to see the differentiation for research, speaking and consulting, check out the spreadsheet I linked to at the bottom of the post; it is broken out exactly that way. I can only include so much detail in a blog post before it becomes something other than a blog post.

  5. 1. There is no allegation of corruption, Marty, to imply otherwise if false. 2. Is the "State Rule" a law? I suspect not. 3. Is Mr. Woodruff obligated via an employment agreement (contractual obligation) to not work with the engineering firm? 4. In many states a right to earn a living will trump non-competes and other contractual obligations, does Mr. Woodruff's personal right to earn a living trump any contractual obligations that might or might not be out there. 5. Lawyers in state government routinely go work for law firms they were formally working with in their regulatory actions. You can see a steady stream to firms like B&D from state government. It would be interesting for IBJ to do a review of current lawyers and find out how their past decisions affected the law firms clients. Since there is a buffer between regulated company and the regulator working for a law firm technically is not in violation of ethics but you have to wonder if decisions were made in favor of certain firms and quid pro quo jobs resulted. Start with the DOI in this review. Very interesting.

ADVERTISEMENT